SKYLINE STEEL Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor safety. Poor management
Welder (Current Employee) –  Fairless Hills, PA24 September 2017
Work on your assigned task and do what is asked of you and you will have a successful day. I have learned general welding tips from other welders I have worked with. Management is unexperienced in the welding and metal work trade and often is uneducated and uninformed in the daily tasks you are expected to perform. Work environment is laid back and easy going. Hardest part of the job is dealing with the non-existent plant safety program. The most enjoyable part of the job is using your skills and knowledge to accomplish your job.
Pros
Laid back work environment.
Cons
Lack of safe work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible pay and horrible management
Crane Operator/Taylor Driver (Current Employee) –  Armorel, AR19 August 2017
I would not recommend this company for either work and/or looking to buy steel products. The management pushes nothing but production not caring about quality or safety! They take to many orders at once and rush everyone to get it done!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work.....
Welder/Fabricator (Current Employee) –  Camp Hill, PA26 April 2017
Skyline was a great place to work for years ago... I loved getting up every morning and going to work however over the years the management of this company had started slacking big time by being very unprofessional, disregarded safety procedures, talking about workers personal situations, threatening employees, playing favorites towards certain employees, and harassing workers... Over the years the best employees were, and are being pushed out the door because of this... Nowadays I would not recommend this place to work for anyone that is looking to progress forward and make a future there!
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Welder/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Rockaway, NJ8 December 2016
Fabricate steel to make cell towers.
Great group of employees
Always Tired to keep everyone busy when slow
Hard working shop
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place and a time for everything
Staff Accountant (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NY17 March 2016
Skyline Steel Corp in Brooklyn is where individuals come to the tail end of their career. It was an excellent start and I was really thrown into the fire; however, that was due to the instability of the accounting department. Not everyone here is a team player.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and laid back workplace
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Morrisville, PA14 May 2015
I would assist any co-workers that needed help. Do clean up of work areas to make sure everything is organized. Use a torch to cut the sections of metal. I learned how a manufacturing company is run. I learned how to operate an overhead crane as well as forklift. I also learned how to use a plasma cutter. The management and my co-workers were very laid back and friendly, always willing to help or show me how things are done. The hardest part of the job was moving the material with the overhead crane. The most enjoyable part was learning new things and getting experience.
Pros
Laid back and easy going
Cons
the work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Iuka, MS23 April 2015
Overall good place to work with the exclusion of night shift. Great benefits, bad working hours for shifts. Wonderful benefits for employees, worked most Saturdays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great surrounding employees horrible management
Welder/Fitter (Former Employee) –  Fairless Hills, PA7 March 2015
I worked there when it was very fairly new and had a huge roll in the new out look loved my co-workers but the safety and lack of work knowledge the management has destroy the work environment
Pros
nice hours, good pay, benifits, nice and knowledgeable co-workers
Cons
horrible management, safety, job security, communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An overall good place to work
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Cartersville, GA3 December 2014
I worked at Skyline for 2 years. Overall it was fantastic. My co-workers were competent, and hard working, and we all got along. My only major complaint is the management. Our boss wouldn't listen much, until he saw you put it into action, even then he was sceptical.
Pros
Great people, worki sn't too strenuous
Cons
Lask of knowledge and understanding from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, need more hours
CERTIFIED WELDER (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FL16 July 2014
fabricated and installed beams,collumns,staircases and handrails.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
no health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great enviroment, and great co-workers
Plasma Torch Operator (Former Employee) –  belpre, OH19 November 2013
ran a computer program that operated three plasma torches on robotic arms that cut the steel as it comes out the mill. stacked into to bundles and moved onto a railcar by overhead cranes to be sent outside and shipped.
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Driven, Engineers Undervalued
Product Development (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GA2 March 2013
This is my first company since graduating college, so I don't have much experience with sales companies. But the people are amicable to work with and flexible. I've been serving an engineer role, which could be better summarized as technical sales. Mostly just assisting sales people with selling jobs. Some design work is involved, but nothing gets stamped. It's a lot of talking to real engineers and making the changes they address.
Pros
good pay, good benefits
Cons
management will move you around, never seem to commit to any one direction
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the people I worked with., I was hoping for more breaks.
Steel beam painter (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZ1 September 2012
It was a very long and hot work day. I did not understand
my job all that much. I would get confused and frustrated.
Pros
great people to work with, excellent pay.
Cons
too long of a work day, usually only 1 break.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the people I worked with.
Steel beam painter (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZ29 August 2012
It was a very long and hot experience. It was 10 hours
a day in the hot sun. I was not used to that. It was a
good company to work for.
Pros
i enjoyed the people i worked with.
Cons
too long of a work day, usually only 1 break.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
PIPE REPAIR WELDER (Former Employee) –  Iuka, MS27 April 2012
it need to study more for health issue like weld inside small pipe were it most hazard to breathing fumes and dust from grinding. it has a good work force and good safely training every year as plant shuts down for 8 hours of safely training that provide by this company. great people to work with good management.
Pros
free lunches for safely monthly
Cons
no comments
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SKYLINE STEEL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.2
Management
2.3
Culture
2.8