SKYLINE STEEL Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and laid back workplace
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Morrisville, PAMay 14, 2015
I would assist any co-workers that needed help. Do clean up of work areas to make sure everything is organized. Use a torch to cut the sections of metal. I learned how a manufacturing company is run. I learned how to operate an overhead crane as well as forklift. I also learned how to use a plasma cutter. The management and my co-workers were very laid back and friendly, always willing to help or show me how things are done. The hardest part of the job was moving the material with the overhead crane. The most enjoyable part was learning new things and getting experience.
Pros
Laid back and easy going
Cons
the work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Iuka, MSApril 23, 2015
Overall good place to work with the exclusion of night shift. Great benefits, bad working hours for shifts. Wonderful benefits for employees, worked most Saturdays.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great surrounding employees horrible management
Welder/Fitter (Former Employee) –  Fairless Hills, PAMarch 7, 2015
I worked there when it was very fairly new and had a huge roll in the new out look loved my co-workers but the safety and lack of work knowledge the management has destroy the work environment
Pros
nice hours, good pay, benifits, nice and knowledgeable co-workers
Cons
horrible management, safety, job security, communication
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An overall good place to work
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Cartersville, GADecember 3, 2014
I worked at Skyline for 2 years. Overall it was fantastic. My co-workers were competent, and hard working, and we all got along. My only major complaint is the management. Our boss wouldn't listen much, until he saw you put it into action, even then he was sceptical.
Pros
great people, worki sn't too strenuous
Cons
lask of knowledge and understanding from management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, need more hours
CERTIFIED WELDER (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 16, 2014
fabricated and installed beams,collumns,staircases and handrails.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
no health care
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great enviroment, and great co-workers
Plasma Torch Operator (Former Employee) –  belpre, OHNovember 19, 2013
ran a computer program that operated three plasma torches on robotic arms that cut the steel as it comes out the mill. stacked into to bundles and moved onto a railcar by overhead cranes to be sent outside and shipped.
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Driven, Engineers Undervalued
Product Development (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 2, 2013
This is my first company since graduating college, so I don't have much experience with sales companies. But the people are amicable to work with and flexible. I've been serving an engineer role, which could be better summarized as technical sales. Mostly just assisting sales people with selling jobs. Some design work is involved, but nothing gets stamped. It's a lot of talking to real engineers and making the changes they address.
Pros
good pay, good benefits
Cons
management will move you around, never seem to commit to any one direction
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the people I worked with., I was hoping for more breaks.
Steel beam painter (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZSeptember 1, 2012
It was a very long and hot work day. I did not understand
my job all that much. I would get confused and frustrated.
Pros
great people to work with, excellent pay.
Cons
too long of a work day, usually only 1 break.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the people I worked with.
Steel beam painter (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZAugust 29, 2012
It was a very long and hot experience. It was 10 hours
a day in the hot sun. I was not used to that. It was a
good company to work for.
Pros
i enjoyed the people i worked with.
Cons
too long of a work day, usually only 1 break.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
PIPE REPAIR WELDER (Former Employee) –  Iuka, MSApril 27, 2012
it need to study more for health issue like weld inside small pipe were it most hazard to breathing fumes and dust from grinding. it has a good work force and good safely training every year as plant shuts down for 8 hours of safely training that provide by this company. great people to work with good management.
Pros
free lunches for safely monthly
Cons
no comments
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.2
Management
2.7
Culture
3.0