Find companies:
Skyjack
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Skyjack Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Young new employees with on hands on skills
Production welder (Former Employee), GuelphAugust 18, 2015
Pros: 7.5 hour days
Cons: unorginized
Working for Skyjack was just ok. New H&S and other young office staff have no real hands on skills and make working there difficult for plant workers to do there every day job. Large employee turn over from unsatisfied work condition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the type of work day
Welder/fitter (Current Employee), 201 woodlawn rd guelph ontarioAugust 17, 2015
Pros: working at your own pace to make sure the job is completed properly
Cons: Only one 10min break and a 20min lunch along with no heat breaks makes it a long day
the type of work day at skyjack is sometimes very unorganized but all and all its a great place to work when u get into work and start your day with no distractions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized fairly well with a high target fast pace, too pushy on pushing up production numbers
Assembler/Builder (Former Employee), Guelph, ONAugust 7, 2015
Pros: day shift
Cons: not always smart
decent with the workers needs a better ventilation system too much smoke from weld side but it is still ok considering some of the jobs inside of the factory
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
materials, material handler (Current Employee), Guelph, ONMarch 17, 2015
Pros: profit share
Cons: unorganized
Skyjack is a great place to work just not organized. It is extremely busy due to high sales, but safety is not good. My coworkers are great to work with. The hardest part of the job is locating parts that are not put away in the correct location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers not so great workplace
GMAW Welder (Former Employee), Guelph, ONFebruary 27, 2015
Pros: paid lunch, great co-workers
Cons: short breaks, very physically demanding
Lots of hard work involved, standing for long periods of time, always rushing around. I learned a lot of different jobs and it made the day go by fast but the workplace is so unorganized its sad. The best part about this job was the people I worked with, they were great co-workers and I will miss working with those people. this job is extremely physically demanding and not everyone is treated fairly. They push production beyond a persons physical limits and expectations are way too high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall nice place to work in.
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee), Guelph, ONJanuary 12, 2015
Pros: good management and clean and safe place to work.
Cons: was a bit physical for me.
I enjoyed working here and found it safe and clean. i found my supervisors and co workers very nice and friendly. The only hard time that i had was working with overhead cranes for the first time.
I am still missing this place my co workers, and some of my supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Welder/Fitter (Former Employee), Guelph, ONDecember 2, 2014
Pros: organized
Cons: exploitive
• Blue print and detail reading/ interpretation for product expectations
• Inspection and preparations of materials prior to fit/ assembly
• Layout and fabrication of parts/detail, equipment and consumables
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers were awesome
Materials (Former Employee), woodlawnOctober 28, 2014
Pros: co-workers awesome
Cons: mangement cares less about the employee and more about saving money
I loved my job and put 110 percent daily, the co-workers were awesome, great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine place to turn into a drone
Welder (Former Employee), Guelph, ONOctober 24, 2014
Pros: decent cafeteria
Cons: they preach care but don't really deliver
not bad if your the kind of guy who likes banging out the same parts over and over and over.... etc. show every day stay as long as you like. but if the rosters already full prepare to look for a job by fall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting, fast-paced environment
Cycle Counter / Inventory Management (Current Employee), Guelph, ONAugust 14, 2014
Good place to work; they take care of their employees.
I've gone through 3 positions in my nearly 4 years there, and learned much in each.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting work but employees are not valued by company
Assembly Worker R.T. line (Former Employee), Guelph, ONMay 19, 2014
Pros: decent pay
Cons: poor management with no ethics, no job security
Good people to work with but very poor management. A lot of favouritism. It's who you know not what you know.It was a great company before Linamar took it over.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with
Tool Crib Attendant (Former Employee), Guelph, ONJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: team spirit
Cons: poor management
I dealt with the midnight staff, hard working team players, I assisted on getting all their supplies needed for their job title. I didn't feel alot of management support. I enjoyed how hard everyone and myself worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Design Engineer-Current Product (Current Employee), PlantJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: its a great place to start and learn at.
Cons: no benfits/advancements
Its a great place to start and learn at. I have learnt a lot about people management, various aspects of the business and more importantly how to be a practical engineer.

The job is never boring or dull as there was challenges to overcome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean up crew for weekly paint booth cleaning
Industrial Cleaner (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONOctober 29, 2013
was a good place to work kind of dirty but it wasnt horrible, friendly people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place To Work
Senior Buyer (Former Employee), Guelph, ONSeptember 29, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: unethical, poor management
This company treats employees and suppliers as disposable entities. They asked me many times to compromise my moral and ethical values as a Buyer. I was forced to lie to suppliers on a daily basis.
I would not recommend Linamar to my worst enemy.
Be very cautious and go into any negotiations between them and yourself with your eyes wide open.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for the paycheck, terrible job security
Compact Line Assembler Level 2 (Former Employee), Guelph, ONSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: good pay, consistent hours
Cons: stressful
8 hr shifts 5 days a week
Quota HAS to be met or you get in trouble
Constant rumours of layoffs circulate the factory on regular basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place, terrible hours
General Labour (Former Employee), Guelph, ONJuly 22, 2013
Got stuck working night shift and it was ok, hard getting used to the change in sleep pattern. I would build platforms for skyjacks, I learned basic electrical, and wiring, Management was ok, too much favoritism, C-workers were generally good people,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is good but layoffs every year
Employee (Current Employee), Guelph, ONJune 24, 2013
Cons: work environment quite hot in summer, cold in winter
Pay is good but layoffs every year, first time I was off for almost 5 months, ... So really pay may be good while working but in end not so good.

Benefits not good ... start at 50%, then 10% added on for each year service up to 80%

You have to pay your own LTD which comes right off your pay, works out to over $1000 a year
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to learn
Buyer (Current Employee), Guelph, ONApril 28, 2013
Pros: tuition reimbursement
A good place to gain experience when first starting off in your career; the company offers broad learning opportunities in an automotive setting as it falls under the Linamar umbrella. You can expect a fast paced environment with often changing priorities. Management calibre varies as employee mentorship is lacking though you are encouraged to voice your concerns. Those who work hard are recognized and have the potential of progressing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a nice place to work
Production Welder (Former Employee), Guelph, ONFebruary 22, 2013
Easy job very well paid
You will every you need to work
Extremely safe place to work
Nice environment
You work hard and go home with a complete sense of satisfaction.
Really recommendable, they respect people.