Sitel Employee Reviews

Found 267 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meat grinder
Technical Support Representative (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB2 March 2017
Horrible place to work at, its known as a meat grinder, non stop hiring classes because they cannot keep their employees, the wages are a joke and that is why the only people who stay there are immature kids with a few exceptions. after losing so many people in a row i hear they finally raised the wages but there are conditions that agents need to meet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hate this company
customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON1 March 2017
The hours are bad and the management is not trained tk understand their employees. All they care about is the numbers. They know nothing about the benefits.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a part-time job - nothing more
Agent (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB20 March 2017
Don't make this place your career....you will regret it shortly after you begin, I promise you. If you are just looking to make a little money on the side with a shift or 2 a week, that's fine, but anything more will make you want to blow your brains out. The culture is miserable, the mentor/coaches are miserable, they drill the process into you via email and threaten to take corrective action on everything. However, they will not actually "coach" you, just tell you what to do. And don't miss a shift, that's corrective action too. Don't tell a customer the wrong thing, that's corrective action. The whole place is run by fear or at least they try to, hence the reason that turnover is about 90% and they constantly are looking for employees. Take my word for it, stay away, work anywhere else, it's not worth it. Even if you want to go to the bathroom, it's unpaid....
Pros
Absolutely Zero
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to work for
Technical support professional HTC (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB14 July 2016
Sitel was difficult to work for as the would change which supervisor a agent reported to with out informing the agent they would change policy that agents where required to follow on calls with out informing agent and without providing the agents a way to find out if those policy's had changed.
Pros
Health plan was low cost and provided many benefits.
Cons
Poorly managed at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for gaining experience on the phones
Billing Escalations Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON5 January 2017
It is a good place to work if you need to gain quick experience, but not good in terms of advancement, wages, and very little can be done in regards to working with a school schedule.
Pros
quick experience
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for Everyone
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON8 February 2017
A typical day in training may start from 3-30-12 midnight pass weekly and security test before going on floor
strict management low morals and support
Pros
free parking
Cons
long hours timed breaks by the minute no life if got family or religion green walls
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an okay job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB9 August 2016
Sitel was an okay job, the benefits were not great and salary was low. The management was very disorganized. There was a lot of miscommunication aswell.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Truth
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB29 October 2016
Best job ever would work there again

The CEO came in one day and gave us all an incentive bonus for remembrance day, of 500$

The hardest part of the job? Would have to be when I need to go home.

The best and most enjoyable part is when I walk in and receive a hearty healthy welcoming Hello from the lovely and extremely beautiful desk attendant.

The managers are so understanding and friendly, the system we worked with was so well constructed I wouldn't have wanted it change in any way at all.

I've learned so much from working at sitel, I want to advance my education to aid in their success and future growth some day.
Pros
Everything!
Cons
Not enough hours in the week to work there all the time!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poorly handled call centre
Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON6 March 2017
Management frequently stalls promotion. Has garnished commision wages. Has unrealistic goals and expectations of competent employees, while forgiving the mistakes and errors of others.
Pros
none
Cons
Way too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with plenty of job advancements
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NB1 March 2016
Like most other call centers, this one has multiple different campaigns for several big clients, all offering different roles; Customer service, sales and retention, and all have opportunities to advance up the management chain. Hours will be dependant on what the client needs, and can change at any time, and the hours you work will be dependant on a performance-based shift bid, which can last as little as a month, to several months, depending on client needs. The internal atmosphere is fantastic, and makes work easier to come back to, day after day. The only thing to really consider is that call centers are not for everyone; it can be a stressful job, but it can also be very rewarding. It's a fast-paced environment, where you're going to require the ability to multi-task, and to adapt, as change is a constant, regardless of who your client is.
Pros
Break room provides free recreational internet access, a pool table and the location provides easy access to a nearby Tim Hortons, Fantastic heath benefits.
Cons
inconsistant shift bids
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sitel was a learning experience
Customer Service rep (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON30 December 2016
typical day is pretty straight forward
ive learned how to problem solve issue while not physically being present with a customer
management is very supportive
co-workers friendly
hardest part for me was adding a sale
enjoyable part of the job was the different competitive bonuses that were available
Pros
bonuses
Cons
work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want a company you can grow with... this is not the place
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON15 February 2017
They baby you during training and exaggerate everything about Sitel, theres a reason why they have a high turnover rate, its because people hate working there.

Advice to management:
-Pay better
-No office politics
-Reward your workers
Pros
free food
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team environment
Collection agent (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON19 January 2017
everyday i would take calls from cox cable customers who were having trouble with taking care of the balance on their account and attempt to help them set up a payment plan to avoid disconnection.
management was always present and super supportive. most of the people working around you were always friendly and willing to help.
Pros
positive environment
Cons
long wait times between calls on slow days
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay - no life
Call Centre Agent (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON24 November 2016
as good as the paychecks are, i wasnt able to do much else with my life .. hours are from 330-midnight 5 days a week. the training was okay, 4 weeks of class and 2 weeks on the floor with unlimited support but very boring.
Pros
nice people, lots of food, bright attitudes
Cons
long hours, draining
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shifts were not fair to new employees
Tech support and sales agent (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON12 December 2016
Despite being a very high earner for the company, with very high sales and customer satisfaction numbers, I was not given the opportunity to change off of a night shift that ran from 5:30 PM to 2:30 AM after 2 months of work on this shift.
Pros
Room for advancement
Cons
Awful shift times
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still in training and i won't work here past the month
Billing (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON14 January 2016
everything you read is true.

I went into this job like a lot of the people here, fill the void to make a paycheck. You talk or overhear the other workers, hate their job, talk about the favouritism, see the wanna be management act like they are something; its all very laughable ...until you end up there.


I say wanna be managers bc if you see what they are like, how full of themselves, and how they conduct themselves and you have actually worked your butt off in management and you see this all you can do is laugh and realize this is a joke.

Job is there to pay and that is it. You get in and you get out as fast as you can.

Initially they paint such a pretty picture, meanwhile you've read these reviews or perhaps you know people who've worked here, so you know the reality. Sometimes you can even kid yourself and think this is not that bad.

But it is. Pay heed, you are not that desperate. Or are you? Don't worry you will find another job.
Pros
free food, benefits if they mean something to you
Cons
training hours, favoritism, hours, and again the hours that aren't realistic.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
extremely stressful and more focised of sales then solutions
COX communication internet support representative (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON7 August 2016
working here is extremely stressful, we are given very little time to actually trouble shoot problems we are given 11 minutes per call when a simple restart can take 5 minutes, we are expected to push sales of products on every call and in some cases to prioritize the sale over finding actual solutions to the customers problem, and the management is consistently volunteering for increased workload despite an ongoing problem with absenteeism resulting in mandatory overtime almost year round well also increasing the duties of current and new employees with no change in pay or time to prepare for the new duties outside of a short 1-2 hour training session
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workforce. Great co-workers
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON24 August 2016
Customer Service. Call after call, none stop. I've learnt to multi-task, gave excellent customer service. High management recently was very helpful and wanted to take care of employees. My co-workers were the best part of this job. They are great people, fun to work with, supportive.

The hardest part of this job was that I did want to give service in Spanish but because there was no supervisor that would check my calls, I was prohibited to speak Spanish to customers.

The most enjoyable part of the job was to be around my co-workers.
Pros
Good extended health insurance
Cons
Not too flexible with shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, educational, and all about those stats.
Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON13 November 2016
Lots of friendly co-workers, paid training and always room for improvement are some of the brighter tones to this business. All customers are calling either because they are upset or they need help with technology. It is a difficult job as not only do you need to know the product with more intricate detail as to what the trainers teach you but also know how to deal with people of all varieties.
Pros
Incentives, awards, friendly enviorment, free lunches, draws are just some of the incentives to working at Sitel.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay was awful. How companies expect people to be excited about going to work when your being paid nothing for the work that you do. Mentally drsining
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB3 October 2016
I worked at Satellite on 2 separate occasions once for Rogers tech support which I absolutely loved.
Then for Walmart awful!
The pay at Sitel is awful other call centers pay from 12 to 15 per hr and Sitel pays minimum wage. It's not enough money for what a rep has to deal with. To ME if a company wants to keep employees long term then give them an incentive to want to be there Money Motivates Everyone !
Pros
Lots of people
Cons
The money, turn around with Employees
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sitel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 4,761 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4