Find companies:
SimplexGrinnell
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
111 reviews

SimplexGrinnell Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Service Sales Secretary (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 15, 2014
Pros: fellow employees
Cons: distance from my house
Enjoyed working for SimplexGrinnell. Enjoyed the guys I had to work with. Got along well with everyone there. Great company!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large company - several opportunities
National Accounts Coordinator (Former Employee), houston, txApril 9, 2014
Pros: large company
Cons: pay scale
through the course of 18 years - was able to work in all departments and have a fantastic working knowledge of whole company - service scheduling, installation of fire alarm and sprinkler systems - contract management and also serving district manager - fantastic group of professionals and stull continue relationship
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Accounts Receivable Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Westminster, MAMarch 13, 2014
good benefits, room for advancement......................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
who you know not what you know
Contract Administrator/Accounts Payable (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: great 401k plan
Cons: friends hiring friends
I worked here for 5 years. Co-workers were ok. The most enjoyable part of this job was having a happy customer and solving AP problems. A few things need to change in Management. Overall I enjoyed working with my Supervisor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Adminstration and more
Administrator (Former Employee), SimplesGrinnell, West Chester, Ohio 45069February 23, 2014
Pros: major company benifits, healthcare, 401 k
Cons: no advancement opportunities
I wear many hats in my current position at SimplexGrinnell. Starting with first line support to our sales team, reviewing contract terms and conditions and negotiating the terms and conditions with customer. Also providing overview to cost of doing business vs RVI.

I am executive assistant to the District General Manager and manage overall customer – more... invoicing cash flow. Manage disputed invoicing and collections.
I also am acting business manager with added responsibilities of processing bond requests, company vehicle program, company cell phones and issue certificate of insurance policies to customers as required. I also manage inhouse HR duties, onboarding new hires as well as assisting employees with HR issues.

I have over 40 years of business management experience and great integrity to share. My legacy is to make a difference in the lives of those who I can lead and teach to be better at their jobs and lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best 6 years of my life
Senior Data Entry Analyst (Former Employee), Westminster, MassachusettsFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: saving lives
I loved working for this company. I received great training and met great friends. Also the feeling of saving lives is pretty indescribable, and having the opportunity to do so is also a very great feeling of pride and a sense of responsibility to your customers and their businesses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
Installer Helper (Former Employee), Spartanburg, SCFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: good people, job locations
Cons: they had to let helpers go due to slow work load
I enjoyed working here and wish they still had work for me. I got to work with my Father allot. I learn't allot about electrical work and fire alarms. I really enjoyed it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Numbers driven company with massive management-field disconnect
Senior Technical Representative (Construction) (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 27, 2014
Numbers driven company with massive management-field disconnect
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized and Poor Mangement
Dispatcher/Scheduler (Former Employee), Dublin, OHJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: catty atmosphere and regular layoffs
Started as a great place, but then every few months they would lay people off. The company began a central dispatch which was the end of the personal attention for the customers. I worked for 3 different managers and it's my understanding that each one had no idea that I was working for one of the others. They did give gift cards for exceeding goals – more... in your area, but I had to split mine with the employee who did billing. VERY stressful job, but I like that. I was laid off due to the central dispatch and also because the managers did not know the other areas I took over. There was also a "power hungry" CSR who made it hers life's work to make other employees miserable. One manager who only hire young girls so I am not sure what was up with that. Also, the "rules" were different for everyone. They were not interested in new ideas either. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN
Fire Alarm Inspector (Current Employee), East Berlin, CTDecember 31, 2013
Pros: overtine
Cons: trying to become a apprentice
Duties included servicing fire and smoke detection systems, troubleshooting and minor repair and replacements of parts and material, ladderwork and other duties as required. Responsible for meeting customer expectations while performing quality inspections. Perform routine inspections, testing, and preventative maintenance of SimplexGrinnell life safety – more... product lines as well as similar competitive manufacturer's product line. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Company to Work for
Admin (Former Employee), San Diego, CANovember 17, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
My experience was ok, it was a good place to get started, but I did not see a lot of potential for career growth or exploration
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace with room for advancement
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee), Richland, MSNovember 5, 2013
Pros: fantastic management
Cons: short breaks and not great benefits.
Extremely busy, learning something new each day. Management was fantastic and friendly. Co-workers the same. I didn't find anything hard about the job except the amount of work flow. Most enjoyable was the atmosphere, so positive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Sr. Project Manager / Technical Architect (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 29, 2013
Very good good compay to work with. Good work environment, good growth possibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They need to make some changes and it seems to be getting worse not better
Warehouse Operator (Current Employee), N Charleston, SCSeptember 9, 2013
I feel that this place is a dead end for me. the work is fine the people and the branch it self really do not work well as a team. Not the company is a good one to work for but the branch in Charleston needs some work and I don't thing it is the right fit for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Richardson, TXAugust 19, 2013
SimplexGrinnell was an enjoyable place to work with a laid back environment.
I learned a lot about myself professionally and where I would like to take my career.
The best part of my career at SimplexGrinnell is when I proved myself worthy of a promotion!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demanding but satisfying work
Total Service Manager (Former Employee), Elkhart, INAugust 13, 2013
Pros: relative autonomy to do my job
Cons: too many bosses
Manage a $5m dollar service business. Daily review of pl/, financials, customer service, and employee development. Hardest part was answering to regional managers, v/p's, and service directors. Most enjoyable part dealing with customers, employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing job!!
Dispatcher/Customer Service (Former Employee), Westminster, MAJuly 24, 2013
This literally was the best job ever, sadly I do not have it any longer but if I had the chance I would take it back in a heart beat!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not recommend this company to anyone for an admin level position
Operations Assistant (Former Employee), Salem, VAJuly 19, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: responsibilities assigned not equal to compensation
The benefits were second to none, but given the small size of the office, no opportunities for advancement in my field were present.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great coworker bad management
Fabrication tech/Truck Driver (Former Employee), Pawtucket, RIJuly 19, 2013
I worked for there for 33 years enjoyed the jobs and good benefits,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Staff Accountant/Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Westminster, MAJuly 1, 2013
Pros: there was a cafeteria on the premises to purchase a fresh hot or cold lunch during lunch hour.
Cons: 11 hour work days at month end closings, no overtime as salaried position
The hardest part of the job was learning many different computer systems as SimplexGrinnel was created by merging two different companies together. I worked there during the transition period and left on maternity leave before the company had completely transferred to a new system. SimplexGrinnell, at that time, used both BAAN and AS400 main frame computer – more... systems. – less

About SimplexGrinnell

This company does more than simply grin at the thought of fire and security risks, it does something about it. SimplexGrinnell, – Read more