Find companies:
Simon Fraser University
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
37 reviews

Simon Fraser University Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SFU Varsity Athletics
Athletic Therapist (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCApril 2, 2015
Member of the SFU Athletic Therapy staff responsible for advising varsity team athletes in regards to injury prevention, proper care and treatment of injuries, including arranging referrals to appropriate health care providers. Organized and administered pre-season condition screening for all varsity athletes, coordinated and/or provided initial on-site injury assessment and designed the treatment plans for the safe return to athletic competition. Attended practices and all home games as required in relief to other therapy team members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Build relationships with CPA, civic, business, faith, community, clubs and other organizations or individuals that will help in raising awareness
Faculty of Health Sciences (Current Employee), Harbour Center, VancouverMarch 7, 2015
Maintain and build relationships with Community Partner Agencies, in order to facilitate community outreach at events to ensure that the community is informed about the study
Build relationships with civic, business, faith, community, clubs and other organizations or individuals that will help in raising awareness about the study
Present information sessions about the study so that those interested can contact the researchers for participation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work with knowledgeable professionals.
Statistical Analyst (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCFebruary 27, 2015
Did work that expanded my sills in statistics and statistical programming and analysis.
Received the support I needed to do my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, well equipped and organized
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Surrey, BCFebruary 6, 2015
Working at Simon Fraser University as a research assistant has been very rewarding for me since the research topics are up to date and require deep knowledge in a specific area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Videographer (Current Employee), Burnaby, BCJanuary 15, 2015
I enjoyed the ability to be creative at this job, and the workplace environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive environment geared towards personal growth
Recreation Sports Manager, Part time, 8hrs/wk (Current Employee), Burnaby, BCJanuary 15, 2015
• Provided superb services by managing aspects of day-to-day operations and following correct procedures as manager of SFU Recreational Intramural Leagues
• Supervise and mentor five to eight staff members every semester to provide excellent service evidenced by positive feedback from participants
• Contributed to maintaining great service by organizing and planning staff training sessions and performance evaluations
• Built an effective line of communication between participants and staff including introducing feedback procedures and changes implemented as a response to feedback
• Implemented several innovative changes to improve Recreation’s services such as introducing All-star games, creating promotion material and initiating new sport leagues
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive environment geared towards personal growth
Recreation Sports Manager, Part time, 8hrs/wk (Current Employee), Burnaby, BCJanuary 15, 2015
• Provided superb services by managing aspects of day-to-day operations and following correct procedures as manager of SFU Recreational Intramural Leagues
• Supervise and mentor five to eight staff members every semester to provide excellent service evidenced by positive feedback from participants
• Contributed to maintaining great service by organizing and planning staff training sessions and performance evaluations
• Built an effective line of communication between participants and staff including introducing feedback procedures and changes implemented as a response to feedback
• Implemented several innovative changes to improve Recreation’s services such as introducing All-star games, creating promotion material and initiating new sport leagues
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent enviroment
Teaching Assistant for Statistics (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJanuary 10, 2015
people are friendly. helping students feels good. profs are very knowledgeable,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Space for Research
Graduate Student/ Research Assistant (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCJanuary 8, 2015
While the facilities require upgrading, Simon Fraser University offers job-specific skills training in addition to a heavy emphasis on academic and research pursuits. It is an enabling and encouraging atmosphere that is excellent to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passinate about finance
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), VancouverDecember 17, 2014
● The reason why I desire to be a teaching assistance is related to my belief. I believe that finance is an important and useful tool to reallocate resource and risk, and assists individuals or coperations to achieve their goals. Thus, I want to help my professor in teaching finance knowledge to more student. This is my enjoyable part of this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assistant
Assistant to 4D LABS Director (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 14, 2014
administration for material institute, working in small group and nice people always helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
Teaching Assistant Economics (Current Employee), EconomicsSeptember 18, 2014
great benefits

enjoyed working with students.

friendly staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to earn work experience.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCAugust 29, 2014
Great place for students to earn work experience and learn how to communicate with others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great institution
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCAugust 11, 2014
Pros: excellent location, great people, nice salary
Cons: no cleanroom facilities
Simone Fraser University was a very nice place to work and the people were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bloomberg, Excel Analysis
Fund Economic Analyst (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 20, 2014
Pros: able to learn a lot
Cons: somtimes study and work clash with each other
Obtained statistics and data from Bloomberg to perform forecasting analysis by deploying econometrics models (VaR, Time-Series, Cross-sectional Panel regression, Garch)
Help the fixed income team to performed fixed income analysis based on results generated from the econometrics models.
Monitored financial and economic news on a daily basis to make sure the whole team can stay on top of most major financial events around the globe. The hardest part of the job is when team members disagree with the conclusions that we issued, and most of the time we can arrive on rational conclusions. Every quarter the whole team has to report and present the performance of the fund to a panel of market practitioners who sit on the SFU endowment fund board, and handled questions and objections from these market experts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working there for 2 weeks.
General Laborer (Current Employee), Burnaby, BCMay 7, 2014
Pros: nice to people to work with
Cons: only temp work
Currently my union 1611 got me a temp position at the university for clean up with the carpentry shop. I am looking for full time reliable work close to home. This is just a stepping stone to my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience, very self motivating
Student (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCApril 27, 2014
Pros: excellent program
Cons: costly
The only complaint I have about SFU's DDP program, which I'm apart of, is it's lack of babysitting. That may sound silly when a person should really be the only one responsible his or her own schooling and graduation progress However, DDP (Dual-Degree Program) is a very fresh and new program that collaborates with Zhejiang University located in Hangzhou, China. This program lets students, us, take part in both school's computing science studies and thus uses a complicated system to keep track of credits from both schools. In the end, the students are awarded with degrees from both schools, and a more enriched skill set which includes fluent in Mandarin and English.

What does this all mean? It means that, SFU kicked me off the cliff like parent eagles teaching their young to fly and I soared further than I could have imagined.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pleasant short contract job
Visiting Scholar (Former Employee), Vancouver, BC., CanadaApril 22, 2014
Pros: good environment, good job/life balance
Cons: in a remote area of vancouver
I worked in SFU as a visiting scholar for a one semester short research project. The environment was very nice, colleagues are helpful and passionate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to to do research in CS field
Post Doctoral Researcher (Current Employee), Burnaby, BCApril 15, 2014
SFU is a great place full of enthusiastic well-qualified people. It is real pleasure to do research there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment; challenging; educational
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJanuary 24, 2014
I learned skills for teaching social science while improving my verbal and written communication skills.

About Simon Fraser University

Simon Fraser University (SFU) is a public research university in British Columbia, Canada, with its main campus on Burnaby Mountain – Read more