Find companies:
Shoppers Drug Mart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
585 reviews

Shoppers Drug Mart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Front Store Manager (Current Employee), London OntarioApril 2, 2014
Hardest part of Job is companay always wants more with less resources.

Great group of people to work with

Enjoy going to work and making customers happy

I have learned to deal with mnay different people and personalities

Enjoy going to work and striving to get most out of employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First introduction to Shoppers Drug Mart in my Home town
Postal Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 31, 2014
Had the chance to see a brand new store come together. It was a good experience at the time. It was a good job to make a little money to spend during summer break
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 31, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: no cons
I enjoyed my time at shoppers, the staff and co-workers were friendly, everyone was always so encouraging, loved working here!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day in Shoppers Drug Mart
Merchandiser (Current Employee), Maple, ONMarch 30, 2014
A typical work day at shoppers is mostly putting out merchandise, i learn how to send stuff back and receive some items, and i also learned how to do relines in the store. My management is very nice and understanding also my co workers are very nice to work with. The hardest part of my job is the merchandising part. The most enjoyable part of my job – more... is doing the relines for the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
repeatitive
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 28, 2014
Pros: customer engagement
Cons: general labour
Your day becomes the same everyday
Alot of general labour
late shifts
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and learning new things
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 28, 2014
Pros: dealing with new people
speaking with new people ,learning new drug names ,co workers easy to deal with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier/Photo Lab Technician (Former Employee), North Vancouver, BCMarch 28, 2014
Pros: long hours
Cons: long hours
greet customers and assist them with their purchases and take payments. as well, i received undeveloped camera films and print them.
the most enjoyable part of my job is i got to print pictures in the dark room.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work.
Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee), Whitby, ONMarch 26, 2014
Learned the Software Health Watch.
Learned how to handle the Prescriptions and deal with the Patients
Learned filling of Prescription.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SDM does not value the needs of its customers.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Markham, ONMarch 26, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: excessive head office micro-managing
While I have always been satisfied with my position at Shoppers Drug Mart, their desire to please shareholders rather than customers has made my job very hard. The city I work in has a Shoppers on every major intersection, and because each store is independently owned, we must compete with each other. As a result, while the head office makes money regardless – more... of where people shop, the individual stores are struggling to maintain sales. Because our Sales Per Labor Hour have dropped, all staff have been required to take hour cuts, including full-time employees. I have lost one day per 2-week pay period, and must do more work in less time. This has made my job extremely stressful and frustrating. It has also compromised our customer service, as there is not enough cash and merchandising staff available to properly serve our patrons. Our losses have increased because there is inadequate staff on the floor to provide a security presence. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
better than mc donalds
Post office Clerk / Other (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBMarch 25, 2014
Pros: great friends and learning
Cons: poor pay
This place was great, one of my long term jobs where i learned many things, such as being a cashier, photo department management and post office duties. The hours were great, but sometimes over worked and did not get paid properly. i knew lots, more than i should but got paid too little. Shoppers was and still is one big family to me, i am still close – more... to the people there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity To Grow
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Scarborough, ONMarch 25, 2014
Pros: sdm university & discounts
Cons: multi-tasking
Shoppers Drug Mart is a excellent company for anyone who wants a job in retail and has no experience.
At this company you can start as a cashier and still learn every aspect of the store. Everyone is willing to teach you as much as you want to learn. Shoppers is a perfect example of working as a team. The hardest part of the job is multi-tasking but, – more... that is something that comes with time and experience. The best part of the job is the feeling of working with a family and interacting with the long-time dedicated customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work, Structured hours and tasks
Cashier/Customer Service, Photo Lab Technician (Former Employee), Stratford, ONMarch 25, 2014
Pros: structured hours and organized to do lists, so you always know what to be doing on the job
Cons: since it is a pharmacy you are in contact with sick people
I enjoyed working at Shoppers Drug Mart, I learned a lot about what it takes to give great customer service and how to multitask in a retail position. A typical day would include greeting and helping customers find what there looking for, taking passport pictures, printing photographs, ringing people through, stalking and facing shelves, and organizing – more... the back room. The most enjoyable part of the job is that you're not doing the same tasks every shift, you have a chance to be more interpersonal and work with customers and sometimes you have a chance to work independently in the back of the store. You also receive a nice store discount that works at any Shoppers Drug Mart. The hardest part of the job initially was knowing were everything was in the store because there is a lot of merchandise, but after a while you just start to memorize where everything is, and it becomes an easy part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location to work at, more hours would have been great.
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONMarch 25, 2014
Pros: i was extremely close and was able to even walk to work.
Cons: not enough hours and not enough training.
Working at this Shoppers Drug Mart location, was great at learning how to multi task since it was an extremely busy location. The only downside would be that since it was so busy, there was not always enough time to have proper training but, other than that everyone was very friendly, you were always given feedback on how you were doing, or where you – more... could improve, I was also fortunate that I was very close to this particular location, but I was not given enough hours since they have a set staff there, that had been working for more than 20 years there. Overall, I enjoyed working there immensely. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 25, 2014
learned cash register and lottery sales, nice people and returning customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I WANT TO GO BACK!
Merchandiser (Former Employee), 770 lawerence ave westMarch 24, 2014
Pros: always felt comfortable on the first day!
Cons: area is pretty bad but there are poilce around
BEST PLACE TO WORK AT! BEST WORKERS! BEST MANAGERS! SALARY IS GOOD!! I LIVE ABOUT 30 TO 40 MINS AWAY FROM THIS SHOPPERS, BUT HONESTLY I DON'T CARE IF IT WAS 2 HRS AWAY! I HATE THE FACT THAT IT WAS A TEMPORARY JOB! IF ANY OF YOU GUYS WANT TO WORK AT ANY SHOPPERS THIS WOULD BE THE BEST ONE TO WORK AT!!!!! I WOULD ALWAYS CHECK ONLINE TO SEE IF THEY ARE – more... HIRING BECAUSE I LOVED IT THERE! ONLY ONE PERSON GOT ME ANNOYED AND IT WAS A MINOR ISSUE BUT EVERYONE ELSE IS AWESOME!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
Nutritionist (Current Employee), Toronto, OntarioMarch 24, 2014
Pros: great people
Enjoy working there.
Great organization.
Great people.
No issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giod working environment with structure
Student Intern (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 24, 2014
Pros: r
Supportive co-workers and elaborate management. I had to put the knowledge gained in my studies into practice and serving the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Absolute Joke
Front Store Manager (Current Employee), SaskatchewanMarch 22, 2014
Pros: scheduling.
Cons: associate owner concept allows hiring of people with zero management experience
Associates can do and say whatever they want. Can hold meetings with young girls alone, and magically they get better hours and promotions. Sure.

Associates can make lude remarks about staff, can lie and be completely deceitful and be highly regarded by upper management.

Mine is a coward and a liar. Never once did he care about the people that worked – more... for him. He just used them as stepping stones.

The HR Rep is as useless as the associate. Staff are scared to come forward with issues as they know names will be given out and they will be on the chopping block.

Reviews are swept under the rug. I have personally not had one in two years, yet they are supposed to be done yearly.

Shoppers needs to pull their heads out of their assets and look at the organization from the VP down. There is zero accountability and training.... But more importantly there is no respect.

Look elsewhere if you're even considering this place. Trust me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional Management Team
Photo Lab Technician and Cashier (Current Employee), Richmondhill, ONMarch 21, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: standing for long hours
The management team are friendly and approachable. Their good attitude were maintained from the day I started working in the store. It was not a hard job as long as you are alert and friendly with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, kind of cliquey, good pay
Cosmetics Merchandiser (Former Employee), Sooke, BCMarch 21, 2014
Pros: the pay, paid breaks, upbeat
Cons: attitude, management
I really enjoyed working here for the most part, I worked there for 3 years and I advanced and received some fantastic raises and my benefit program was fabulous.

About Shoppers Drug Mart

Shoppers Drug Mart Corporation is Canada's largest pharmacy chain with more than 1,149 stores operating under the names Shoppers – Read more

Shoppers Drug Mart Photos