Find companies:
Shoppers Drug Mart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
594 reviews

Shoppers Drug Mart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working as the staff are very friendly
COSMETICIAN, CASHIER, PHARMACY ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Summerside,PEApril 10, 2014
I worked in a few sections therefore my tasks varied. Customer service and dealing with transactions at the cash register were typical in all different sections of the store. I learned many things working in the pharmacy and cosmetics. In the pharmacy, I learned how to prioritize work as there were many concurrent tasks assigned at once, also I learned – more... about different medications and their uses. In cosmetics, I was taught how to recommend products that suited individuals needs by using my knowledge on different products and the benefits they have to different skin types. I also learned to work under a sales system as there were specific sales targets assigned to us each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly work environment.
Supervisor (Current Employee), Red Deer, AlbertaApril 9, 2014
The most enjoyable part of working with Shoppers Drug Mart is being in contact with customers and ensuring they have a great experience while visiting the company. The company has strong beliefs in charity and helping others be their best which is another reason why a job at Shoppers Drug Mart is great and very inspiring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
on my experience at shoppers
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Innisfail, ABApril 8, 2014
Pros: break times
Cons: too high of expectations for someone who was pregnant
everything at shoppers was really good i was pregnant at the time unfortunately they had cut my hours back before my mat leave which didnt help me at all
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work with opportunity for advancement
Beauty Expert (Former Employee), Whitby and Port PerryApril 8, 2014
Shoppers drug mart is an excellent company. With locations across the country they make it very easy to transfer and choose the location you'd like to work at. They offer competitive wages and excellent health benefits.
Overall a great employer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual employment
Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee), London, ONApril 7, 2014
Pros: shoppers discount
Cons: no set hours
Can be very busy, has helped me greatly with priority setting and constantly learning and getting me ready to become regulated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy enviroment. Respectful management
Merchandiser, Cashier (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONApril 6, 2014
Show up and head to the back of the store where the product was and load out as much merchandise as possible and help out customers as they come in and ask questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Cosmetician / Cosmetics Merchandiser / Cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 4, 2014
I am a hard working individual who can work as a team or on my own with little or no supervision. I am punctual and reliable. I am always willing to gain more knowledge to increase my skills and experiences. I work quickly and efficiently to meet customers' needs. I look forward to a long term employment with any company who is willing to hire me as – more... a dedicated employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hard place to work, but at the same time easy and interesting
Cash Supervisor (Current Employee), richmond hill, ONApril 3, 2014
As a new Comer in Canada, SDM is the one of the best place for anyone who wants to upgrade themselves for living and working in a new country with different cultures and rules. There are a lot of thing to learn every single day. There are people ,so nice and friendly who are really pleased to help you to settle down in there if you really want to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Front Store Manager (Current Employee), London OntarioApril 2, 2014
Hardest part of Job is companay always wants more with less resources.

Great group of people to work with

Enjoy going to work and making customers happy

I have learned to deal with mnay different people and personalities

Enjoy going to work and striving to get most out of employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First introduction to Shoppers Drug Mart in my Home town
Postal Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 31, 2014
Had the chance to see a brand new store come together. It was a good experience at the time. It was a good job to make a little money to spend during summer break
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 31, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: no cons
I enjoyed my time at shoppers, the staff and co-workers were friendly, everyone was always so encouraging, loved working here!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day in Shoppers Drug Mart
Merchandiser (Current Employee), Maple, ONMarch 30, 2014
A typical work day at shoppers is mostly putting out merchandise, i learn how to send stuff back and receive some items, and i also learned how to do relines in the store. My management is very nice and understanding also my co workers are very nice to work with. The hardest part of my job is the merchandising part. The most enjoyable part of my job – more... is doing the relines for the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
repeatitive
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 28, 2014
Pros: customer engagement
Cons: general labour
Your day becomes the same everyday
Alot of general labour
late shifts
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and learning new things
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 28, 2014
Pros: dealing with new people
speaking with new people ,learning new drug names ,co workers easy to deal with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier/Photo Lab Technician (Former Employee), North Vancouver, BCMarch 28, 2014
Pros: long hours
Cons: long hours
greet customers and assist them with their purchases and take payments. as well, i received undeveloped camera films and print them.
the most enjoyable part of my job is i got to print pictures in the dark room.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work.
Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee), Whitby, ONMarch 26, 2014
Learned the Software Health Watch.
Learned how to handle the Prescriptions and deal with the Patients
Learned filling of Prescription.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SDM does not value the needs of its customers.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Markham, ONMarch 26, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: excessive head office micro-managing
While I have always been satisfied with my position at Shoppers Drug Mart, their desire to please shareholders rather than customers has made my job very hard. The city I work in has a Shoppers on every major intersection, and because each store is independently owned, we must compete with each other. As a result, while the head office makes money regardless – more... of where people shop, the individual stores are struggling to maintain sales. Because our Sales Per Labor Hour have dropped, all staff have been required to take hour cuts, including full-time employees. I have lost one day per 2-week pay period, and must do more work in less time. This has made my job extremely stressful and frustrating. It has also compromised our customer service, as there is not enough cash and merchandising staff available to properly serve our patrons. Our losses have increased because there is inadequate staff on the floor to provide a security presence. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
better than mc donalds
Post office Clerk / Other (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBMarch 25, 2014
Pros: great friends and learning
Cons: poor pay
This place was great, one of my long term jobs where i learned many things, such as being a cashier, photo department management and post office duties. The hours were great, but sometimes over worked and did not get paid properly. i knew lots, more than i should but got paid too little. Shoppers was and still is one big family to me, i am still close – more... to the people there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity To Grow
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Scarborough, ONMarch 25, 2014
Pros: sdm university & discounts
Cons: multi-tasking
Shoppers Drug Mart is a excellent company for anyone who wants a job in retail and has no experience.
At this company you can start as a cashier and still learn every aspect of the store. Everyone is willing to teach you as much as you want to learn. Shoppers is a perfect example of working as a team. The hardest part of the job is multi-tasking but, – more... that is something that comes with time and experience. The best part of the job is the feeling of working with a family and interacting with the long-time dedicated customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work, Structured hours and tasks
Cashier/Customer Service, Photo Lab Technician (Former Employee), Stratford, ONMarch 25, 2014
Pros: structured hours and organized to do lists, so you always know what to be doing on the job
Cons: since it is a pharmacy you are in contact with sick people
I enjoyed working at Shoppers Drug Mart, I learned a lot about what it takes to give great customer service and how to multitask in a retail position. A typical day would include greeting and helping customers find what there looking for, taking passport pictures, printing photographs, ringing people through, stalking and facing shelves, and organizing – more... the back room. The most enjoyable part of the job is that you're not doing the same tasks every shift, you have a chance to be more interpersonal and work with customers and sometimes you have a chance to work independently in the back of the store. You also receive a nice store discount that works at any Shoppers Drug Mart. The hardest part of the job initially was knowing were everything was in the store because there is a lot of merchandise, but after a while you just start to memorize where everything is, and it becomes an easy part of the job. – less

About Shoppers Drug Mart

Shoppers Drug Mart Corporation is Canada's largest pharmacy chain with more than 1,149 stores operating under the names Shoppers – Read more

Shoppers Drug Mart Photos