Find companies:
Shoppers Drug Mart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
936 reviews

Shoppers Drug Mart Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time job at Shoppers Drug Mart
Cosmetician/Post Office Clerk (Current Employee), Moncton, NBJuly 17, 2015
Pros: %30 off discount store wide
Cons: late nights
A typical day at work with this company, is working in customer service and merchandising on the floor. Learning the cash, putting out stock and facing shelves to make them look good. All around a good – more... place for employment and a good company to grow into. I learned that customer service is an amazing skill to have and I'm glad to have had the opportunity to gain experience with Shoppers. Management is different at every store you go to but all having the same guide lines. All in all reasonable to deal with, and co- workers are a part of every job that you can take or leave, in my experience it wasn't the best situation, however its like that where ever you go. The hardest part of the job is some of the lifting, however that being said there is very little of it. The most enjoyable part is building relationships with co-workers and customers being able to like going into work everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
New Store Setup Crew (Former Employee), Windsor, ONJuly 17, 2015
Pros: Good environment
Cons: Limited hours
This is a good company to be employed by. I was only in the new store set up crew but the few months I was with them it was a good environment and nice people with good management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very kind and welcoming people
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJuly 16, 2015
My co-workers are always willing to help and provide constructive criticism whenever necessary.I was also able to learn a lot of technical and organizational skills under the supervision of the pharmacist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cash Supervisor
Supervisor (Former Employee), NewcastleJuly 14, 2015
Pros: Discount
responsible for:
-cashier and merchandisers
-till and safe counts
-key holder
-team work and organizing everyone's tasks for the day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment with friendly people
Cashier/Merchandiser (Current Employee), Kennedy and EglintonJuly 10, 2015
During a typical day at work, I communicate with different types of costumers and help them shop in a comfortable way. After working at shoppers, I've learned to handle a lot of tasks at once and work – more... in a fast pace. The management in the store is good and the co-workers are friendly and helpful.The hardest part of the job is when i have to deal with unruly costumers, however not all the costumers are rude; most of the costumers are friendly and engage in a nice conversation, which for me is the fun part of being at work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a challenging place to stay due to the way the store is run
Full Time Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONJuly 8, 2015
Pros: good benefits
Cons: management doesn't have time for thier breaks
A typical day is playing catch up from the previous day. The store I'm in the staff and management don't understand working as a team is the way to complete each job and keep the workplace fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind and fun workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee), Acton, ONJuly 8, 2015
Pros: Ability to cover other's shifts, Product discount, Workplace environment
Cons: Sometimes slow
All of my co-workers were very kind and every day was enjoyable. Every day taught me something new which was my favorite part of the job. The management was kind and very understanding with mistakes i – more... made when i was first starting out. I would usually work almost everyday of the week with 5-10 shifts Monday-Friday and 8 hour shifts on weekends. I worked as cash on weekdays and alternated with photo and back-up cash on weekends. I would say the hardest part of the job was the waiting for customers at cash while the was nothing else to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working team but poor security for the area
Supervisor (Former Employee), Victoria Stampede StationJuly 7, 2015
Pros: Enjoyed my position.
Cons: Always a reason to not give me benifits.
I learned a lot from my supervisor position and enjoyed my team. My manager was always giving me new tasks to help her out which was something I loved to do since i like to learn new things and be given – more... more responsibilities.
The hardest part of the job was deal with the Drop-In center located directly in front of our store, but it did teach me new methods in dealing with different kinds of situations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers are too young to cooporate
Postal Clerk (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJuly 5, 2015
- management doesn't really help post office things
- they hire whoever, many no-experience young workers, they always try to cheat. it's stressful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful pharmacy experience
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee), vaughan ONJuly 5, 2015
Pros: Great experience
Cons: no pay (co op oppurtunity)
Shoppers was a great place to get a sense of the pharmacy and not only that, learn some things about the store. Developed great insight and a taste of what its like to work in a pharmacy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cashier (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 3, 2015
Really good job! Really helps to develop skills and is a very friendly workplace. Hardest part of the job is the number of customers we have but it only makes us a better customer service team in the end.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive work environment
Cashier/Deputy Supervisor (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJune 30, 2015
Pros: Product Discounts, workplaces environment
Cons: Shoplifters and agitated customers
A typical day at work involved greeting and helping customers find the products they were looking for in an efficient and friendly manner, and processing their purchases accurately ensuring that they received – more... applicable discounts and promotions. My tasks also involved processing customer's lottery transactions, resolving customer complaints, stocking shelves with products efficiently and accurately, placing and removing shelf talkers according planograms and flyer deals, organizing the store's backroom, and assisting Supervisor's with additional tasks.

Working in retail has taught me that the key in creating a genuine rapport with customers is to listen and understand them. To remain respectful and maintain a friendly demeanor when dealing with agitated customers.

I have to say that the management at the company I recently worked for was extremely supportive, they helped me grow professionally and on a personal level. All members of management were proficient individuals that were motivated and dedicated. My co-workers were diligent, motivated, positive individuals that became family to me.

The hardest of the job was to stay on top of shoplifters during rush hour times. The most enjoyable part of the job was to arrive at such an enjoyable work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast paced
Makeup Artist // Cashier (Former Employee), Lloydminster, ABJune 29, 2015
you are always on your feet at this job,
they do not let you sit down until you get your 15 min break,
they don't let you have your phone,
they check your bags when you leave,
they are untrustworthy workers there,
the management is not fair,
will write you up for anything.

ALTHOUGH
i did learn a lot about beauty products. but that was it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shoppers Drug Mart
Cashier, and Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), GuelphJune 25, 2015
Pros: Amazing Perks for employees
Cons: Seniors are mean to teenagers
I enjoyed my coworkers, very inviting and friendly, no matter the day they were having. Loved everyone there.
Long days, midnights were not fun. Costumers were often mean to me. Did not enjoy seniors day at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Post Office Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 24, 2015
Pros: Learned everyday
Cons: Long hours
working at Shopper's Drug mart was an impeccable experience. I learned how to improve my customer service skills more, I learned to enhance my analytical skills as well as multi-tasking . My co-workers – more... were excellent. The hardest part of the job was being organized but still assisting customers, but it got easier over time. The most enjoyable was knowing that you can help customer's deliver parcels to loved ones. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Supervisor (Current Employee), Langley, BCJune 24, 2015
Nice place to work, people are friendly just like in a family environment, lots to learn, good discounts, schedule is flexible .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxing, slow past job
Stock Person/ cashier (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 24, 2015
Pros: good atmosphere
Cons: didn get a chance to actually work their and get paid
volunteering at shoppers I would wake up in the morning every Saturday put stock on shelves and lining them up the correct way. Also did cashier on some days and help customers any time they needed help
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Timmins, ONJune 24, 2015
Pros: Full time position
Cons: None
All was good there too. Seven workers where replace by a new counting machine and because I was the last one hired, I was the first to get cut but the boss offered me a job in the post office then got transferred to be a manager at the other Shoppers in the post office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like what i do
Cosmetician (Current Employee), 30003 Danforth Avenue,TorontoJune 23, 2015
I get to learn a lot from this job and great management and co-workers.One thing i would like to change is that have more people on the floor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place
Relief Pharmacist (Current Employee), bcJune 22, 2015
mega organiation
perfect work flow
good benefits

well educated staff ,HW allow you to work better , perefed by the patient

About Shoppers Drug Mart

Shoppers Drug Mart Corporation is Canada's largest pharmacy chain with more than 1,149 stores operating under the names Shoppers – Read more