Find companies:
Shoppers Drug Mart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
639 reviews

Shoppers Drug Mart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Markham, ONAugust 6, 2014
Pros: eating lunch together with my co-worker
Cons: long hours(waiting for the deliveries of merchandise)
regular day was working with the team.Working with shoppers drug mart for a long time made me learn to be flexible specially with my co-workers and together with the management.The tough part of my job is when do receiving of merchandise from truck and bring it inside the stock room.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive...most of the time
Cashier (Current Employee), Spruce Grove, ABAugust 6, 2014
Pros: mostly enjoyable staff
Cons: non flexable. favorites are played by management
a typical work day at shoppers drug mart includes lots of frustrated customers and some very iffy management and ownership. although the supervisors make things easier to handle the managers can sometimes play favorites with the employees. the most enjoyable part of the job is being able to have and enjoyable day at work with most of the supervisors – more... and some of the regular customers make the day even better when they have a normal conversation with you besides the standard "Hi, how are you?" a cashier must do – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day In the life of a cashier
Photo lab Technician/ Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioAugust 6, 2014
Typical day at shoppers front end would be really slow til around 11am to closing it would generate more flow of customers.

Among factors in the store being understaffed, you maybe reqiured to help out with normal tasks such as facing or stocking, on top of normal duties. Other than that no complaints.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ejoyable. customer service, helping people, good coworkers,..
Cosmetic Manager (Former Employee), Burlington and Hamilton, ONAugust 1, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: long hours
A typical day would start with the review of the previous days result. Plan marketing for day. Help customers and show them new fun items, as well as helping them find what is suitable for their needs. Schedule staff, review performances, stock, market products, deal with sales reps, order, and plan events.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Environment
Cash Office Supervisor (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 28, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: no proper human resources available
Very unorganized management. No communication with staff. Mind you all stores are individually owned, so can't speak for all sdms.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Sales Driven Position
Beauty Consultant (Former Employee), Maple Ridge, BCJuly 28, 2014
-Assistant manager.
-Demonstrated and recommended cosmetics and skin care products to meet customer needs.
-Achieved sales targets and grew business through relationship building.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked here for 20 years and I believe that says alot about the company and my dedication.
National Manager, Cosmetics Operations (Former Employee), Head Office, North York, ONJuly 28, 2014
You can see by my resume that over my 20 year tenure, I enjoyed many different roles: Training and Development, Operations, Business Strategy.

I learned many aspects of business, retail operations, training and project management. I enjoyed all of the roles I did when working here, particularly when working projects that included various divisions – more... and store personnel.

The most difficult decision was deciding to leave, but it was the right decision for me at that time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Post Office Clerk/ Customer Service (Current Employee), Windsor, ONJuly 26, 2014
Pros: nice pace
great place to work
management is great
all staff very friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff at busy store
Part Time Pharmacy Assistant/Cashier (Former Employee), Windsor, ONJuly 24, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: lack of hours
• Worked the cash end in the pharmacy, put away drug orders, answered telephone calls, filed prescription logged and hard copies as well as order entry, filling and compounding prescriptions
• Managed cash register, provided customer service, processed returns, assist with inquiries, sold lottery, bus tickets and stamps, faced merchandise during downtime
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Lead Beauty Consultant (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 24, 2014
working there was great for me in customer relations. As well as learing how to to makeup.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sdm 2200 north Vancouver = bad news
Cosmetician (Former Employee), North VancouverJuly 23, 2014
Pros: nice community
Cons: terrible associate, terrible front store staff!
I would not recommend applying for the cosmetic manager position just posted in North Vancouver on July 21! The store associate is a terrible Tyrant, who will make your life miserable! He will have weekly meetings with you and put his hand on your thigh! Save your self the trouble don't apply!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an enjoyable and learning experience
Food Manager (Former Employee), Markham, ONJuly 21, 2014
Pros: ability to switch shifts if needed to fit in home life
Cons: not always enough staff to get jobs completed on time
I worked an 8 hour day with breaks fitting around activities happening at the store. I learned many things about keeping track of inventory and ordering product both through sales rep and through automatic ordering over the instore web.The management was fair and treated everyone in the store as an equal weather pert time or full time which was respected – more... by most of the employees. The hardest part of the job was trying to fit an order of 20 skids into an area that held only 14 skids while still trying to follow company standards. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to help a customer get the products they needed when they were unable to find them or to special order specific items in order to help someone out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day
Merchandiser/ Cashier (Former Employee), Surrey, BCJuly 21, 2014
A typical day at work included
- dealing with customers and directing them to the correct item they are looking for
- dealing with customer complaints
-Cashier
- Merchandising
-
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Beauty Expert (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 21, 2014
This job allowed me to be my own manager the majority of the time. It was a fun atmosphere with fun products to play with and show customers. The hours were long, and midnight shifts were hard to stay energized for. All in all, it was a fun place to work for a short time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very social, easy to work
Volunteer (Former Employee), London, ONJuly 17, 2014
This is not a very social experience. Waiting for costumers that wanted gifts to be wrapped made it to be a very long day, and made it to be a very boring experience. The Shoppers employees are nice and friendly. They are easy to get along with and seem like they love their job. They always have a smile on their faces.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Postal Clerk (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 16, 2014
Pros: working independently, no one to boss around.
Cons: cannot go for lunch or break as working alone.
Easy to work with customers. Own pace, working independently. Try to help the front store staff for merchandising. When the system is down very hard to satisfy customers with all network problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will be stuck
Cosmetician (Former Employee), bramptonJuly 15, 2014
I have been a cosmetician for a year.. the commission is nice, but if you are part time, your hours suck. it is very hard to advance unless you are full time, and you only get offered full time if the current one leaves. the pay is a little above minimum wage and they want you to perform tasks outside of your job description, i had to work 4-12 then – more... go back the next day at 8-4 and if you get called in on your day off they expect you to come running into work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Encouraging Place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 11, 2014
Pros: great discounts for staff
Cons: long and demanding hours
I learned that working in a retail setting such as shoppers drug mart performing a group of different roles and task can be challenging as a supervisor. It is a very fast paced environment and requires one to be extremely organized and detailed oriented.Shoppers Drug mart is a great place to work because the managers coach and prepare employees for – more... success in whatever they set out to do for the company. The most enjoyable part of this job are the rewards we receive for our hard work such great discounts, fancy Christmas dinners, and party for special occasion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i know about the system very well .
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONJuly 11, 2014
Pros: i am ok
Cons: long hours
I was working till end of June 2014, right now moved to Toronto and looking for a job .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Intermediate CAD Designer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 9, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: commute
Always well motivated working with one of the best teams in Merchandising. A company that makes you feel proud to be a part of.

About Shoppers Drug Mart

Shoppers Drug Mart Corporation is Canada's largest pharmacy chain with more than 1,149 stores operating under the names Shoppers – Read more

Shoppers Drug Mart Photos