Find companies:
Shoppers Drug Mart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
696 reviews

Shoppers Drug Mart Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, very friendly
Cosmetician (Former Employee), Brampton, ONDecember 22, 2014
Pros: first to hear about new products
Cons: retail hours
I would greet shoppers as they entered the store, merchandise and have a sales target to meet. I regularly exceeded the sales target and built up a large client base. I would demonstrate different make-up techniques and advise clients of the pros and cons of an array of cosmetics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing Money, Supervising, Team Leader
Finch and Warden (Current Employee), Warden, FinchDecember 17, 2014
Pros: great team
A typical day at work includes being a back up cashier when it gets busy. Also managing money, book keeping, keeping paperwork neat and organized. Work is a daily learning experience I enjoy working in a friendly environment and it is not hard for me to meet new co-workers and work in a friendly manner. As a supervisor the hardest part of the job is – more... dealing with difficult customers on a daily basis but it's part of the package and when they leave the store satisfied with the service it makes me happy. I enjoy working in a team, I enjoy leading a team on the days and I mostly enjoy meeting new people that come to the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
Cashier/merchandiser (Former Employee), Hamilton, OnDecember 15, 2014
Pros: learning experience
Cons: seasonal help
Taught me to deal with the public and how to interact on a professional level.
Management was inconsistent and created a rotating door of employment for employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shoppers drug mart
Post Office Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 13, 2014
Shoppers as a store is very convenient for us..everything is available on urgent bases..overall im a very good customer of shoppers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loyal Employees but not so much for Owner/Associate
Store Manager (Former Employee), North Bay, ONDecember 10, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: you can be discarded without any reason
I worked here is a store manager(FSM). The staff were dedicated but as a manager you can be used and discarded without any reason by the owner/associate and DMs etc. Even though the store was improving, I was discarded by the owner/associate without any explanation. Very sad because I really started to enjoy working with the great staff and we were – more... getting very positive results. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic
Cosmetician (Current Employee), Bolton, ONDecember 5, 2014
Pros: travel, flexibility
Cons: low chance of promotion do to low turn-over/availability of jobs
One of my best career experiences was working at Red Bull Canada! The best memories and experience. Amazing entry level job for young, talented and intelligent women who studies are in business marketing.

The Toronto branch has a team of talented young, fashionable, intelligent X genes that enjoyed culture, music, art, sports and nightlife in Toronto. – more... We traveled as a marketing team for years, grew up and respected as intelligent, young talent.

I wish I still worked there but turn-over was low and talents usually left Red Bull Canada for amazing opportunities (networking) and in similar fields or with competition.

Best Team experience ever! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome.
Postal Service Clerk and Front Cashier (Current Employee), Bay & DundasDecember 4, 2014
Make a list of the thing you want/need to accomplish for the day, and integrate the things that come up unexpectedly. use your list as a guide and reminder to help keep you on task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place SDM Downtown Fort McMurray, AB
Head Cashier (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABDecember 4, 2014
Good place to work and they commend people for doing a good job. They see your worth and they give chance to the workers. managers are approachable and our big boss is generous and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, challenging, creative, environment
Manager/ Beauty Expert (Current Employee), Calgary, AbDecember 4, 2014
Pros: free cosmetics and building realtionships
Cons: poor leadership from senior managment
-Ensured daily store standards(Infinity); achieved set company quotas for sales, staffing, and Talkers daily
-Marketed and promoted store by participating, creating, and organizing Galas, promotions, and Optimum days
-Organized department client profiles, sales reporting, optimal planogram efficiency, and staff scheduling
-Scheduled monthly/daily staff – more... meetings; cosmetic school attendance; online educational seminars for a staff of six
-Met with corporate and product reps to increase sales awareness and product knowledge for target efficiency
-Maintained departmental communication binder for merchandising standards, rep contact, daily shift starters, etc.
-Increased vendor sales targets over 15%, CSI scores by 65%, quarterly gala sales by 68% during 5 months – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers are very nice, friendly and respectful
Merchandiser (Current Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 2, 2014
Its a busy store, lots of customers complaining about the line up when cashing out. I learned a lot in the store like receiving deliveries, answer customer inquiries, organize the products by category, checking all price making sure that they're up to date and a lot more. The hardest part of the job is that they don't have enough staff and the pay is – more... so little. The most enjoyable part of the job are my co-workers because they have excellent work ethic, and always nice to people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Cashier / Customer service (Former Employee), Squamish BCDecember 1, 2014
Pros: candy in lunch room, friendly staff
Cons: breaks cut short or forgotten
When I first started off working at shoppers I thought I would love it, everyone seemed really friendly and I was excited to get started..
After about four weeks working there I realized I still hadn't received my first pay cheque so I asked my supervisor why this must be, she told me to wait and I was reassured I would have one next time. On the sixth – more... week I awaited for my pay cheque.. still nothing then I went to my manager and told her.. so she replied with a remark as such "we must have forgot". The following day I was brought to the pharmacy where they paid me in cash (I did not receive a pay stub) and I was only paid half of what I earned and was told the rest would come in my next pay cheque. The following week I finally received my pay check.

Another time I was working the midnight shift and had been scheduled to work at 7AM the next morning, I asked my supervisors about this and she said that was correct.. So I showed up and worked until 1PM utterly exhausted (no sleep) and was told to go home by my manager and I was scheduled by mistake.

One supervisor would always take my lunch break and sometimes would forget to even let me go on a break until up to an hour later or not at all.

Most staff was very friendly and I got along with profoundly while others didn't talk and were rude with judgemental characteristics, work environment was decent but easily avoidable mistakes were made.

Some supervisors were lovely people and would offer me rides home when I worked midnight shifts.

I know for a fact I was not trained properly with lottery and proper codes which was frustrating.

I would not recommend working at Shoppers Drug Mart. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and supportive management.
Merchandiser - P/T (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBNovember 29, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: difficult to obtain ft work
Shoppers is a good company and believes in advancement for staff. Salary and hours are fair for part time employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Merchandiser (Current Employee), Scarborough, ONNovember 26, 2014
There is always something that can be done . I learned to prioritize my work and be able to run a team without supervision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice environment to learn and grow
Model Store Merchandiser/ Cashier (Current Employee), toronto OnNovember 26, 2014
Shoppers Drug Mart is a very good place where one could learn many important work skills ( for example Customer Service).
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, good people.
Cashier Supervisor/Customer Service (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 25, 2014
As a cashier supervisor, and working in customer service, you learn to deal with almost anything a customer can through at you, are able to cover shifts at the drop of a dime, and work under pressure. Overall, the good days win over the bad. Was a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the employee was very friendly and support each other when they need.
merchandiser (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABNovember 25, 2014
my everyday job in shoppers was to organize the product in shelves, re-stock if needed. greeting and assisting customer at the sametime. i learned how to deal with races. the management was good. my co-workers was very helpful, we are working as a team. the harderst part of being a merchandiser is to lift some heavy boxes. the most enjoyable part of – more... my job was the facing and restocking of products especially if there are new products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i really enjoy working as a pharmacy technician
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Edson, ABNovember 25, 2014
I enjoyed working for shoppers drug mart. A typical day consisted of busily filling prescriptions, blister packing, making compounds and helping customers. My co-workers were great we all got along pretty well. The hardest part of the job was sometimes how crazily busy it got. The most enjoyable part of my job was blister packing and compounding I just – more... like the technical part of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Merchandiser/Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 25, 2014
A typical day at work is helping set up the opening of the store. Unpacking items and stocking them in the shelves. I learned a lot in how to deal with customers, like giving them advice and information on what ever they inquire about. The management is very friendly, they make sure that the tasks set out to the merchandisers/cashiers are complete. – more... Every job has its ups and downs, working at shoppers only had its good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work, great staff.
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee), Sydney, NSNovember 24, 2014
Pros: working with people in our community and meeting new people through customer service.
Cons: shift work
Working in a retail pharmacy can be hectic but staff make each shift enjoyable. Its nice to work in retail as you meet people from many walks of life. This allows one to learn great customer relation skills and work with many wonderful coworkers. The management team is very friendly and are open to ideas. I enjoyed this job very much as it is fast paced – more... and rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place but the management team was not good
Merchandiser (Former Employee), vaughanNovember 18, 2014
Pros: good place near my residence
Cons: less hours
the management team does not behave nicely and treated the employees with arrogance.

1 2 3 4 5

About Shoppers Drug Mart

Shoppers Drug Mart Corporation is Canada's largest pharmacy chain with more than 1,149 stores operating under the names Shoppers – Read more