Shoppers Drug Mart / Pharmaprix Employee Reviews

Found 1,948 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment, but did not give me much to do.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB29 March 2017
They were not great with training and did not let me explore different parts of the job. They left me at the till the whole time. The staff was very nice though. They were great with providing me with help when asked.
Pros
Great staff, had breaks.
Cons
Didn't have much to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON29 March 2017
in my opinion shoppers is a great company just the pay isn't great u should be paid for experience .I have over 30 years in retail and management I don't think cashiers should make more than the supervisors
Pros
great atmosphere
Cons
working till midnight
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding staff
Photo Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Tillsonburg, ON29 March 2017
While working at shoppers in Tillsonburg I experienced a lot of demanding staff. Whether it be a manager or cashier, representatives should act in a professional manner at all times, unfortunately that hardly ever happened. The store isnt that fast paced compared to major cities. In training it was knocked all over the place, that being said before the photo lab tech left to serve, i hardly got any real training from her, so we were all left in the dust when she left.
Pros
Big window to look outside
Cons
terrible staffing and management skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a calm low stress work environment
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 March 2017
i was a merchandiser and other than a few unpleasant co-workers i had a good experience working there. i also enjoyed the 30% discount offered to employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliability with little surprise
Pricing Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 March 2017
Good place to work if you're looking for something stable and routine.

IT is years behind the curve.

Management is heavily stratified, big gap between the employees and senior management.

Most enjoyable part of the job was having a safe environment to learn about the industry.
Pros
Stability
Cons
Routine, IT
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Part time students
Cosmetician (Current Employee) –  Torrent, BC28 March 2017
Good for students looking for an easy part time position. However for anyone looking to progress gradually in a company the Cosmetics department of Shoppers Drug Mart is not for you.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
Management issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON28 March 2017
-Very Busy
-Talking/helping customers
-Organized
-Friendly environment
-Hardest part is making sure customer gets exactly what they need and looking for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good part time job
Part Time Staff (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON28 March 2017
It is a very good to be around people and interact.
Everyone who works there is very friendly to each other
If you need help with anything they are right there to help you.
Pros
easy at cash
Cons
need more hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run Away
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK28 March 2017
It's the only job I have ever had were everyone thinks they are in a union but it's not a unionized job. As soon as people get a title then they assume they do not have to lift a finger and that magical woodland creatures will pick up the slack. In conclusion, run away as fast as you can.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great customers and one customer who baked me banana bread a few times
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 March 2017
Enjoyed the customers that came to the store. It was very nice conversing with people every day. I learned that people really like to interact and that everyone likes a sale.
Pros
large bright customer friendly store
Cons
sometimes people should find jobs elsewhere instead of becoming complacent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor work life balance
Cashier Manager (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON27 March 2017
company pays extreme low wages and has little help or patience for people with disabilities. No guarantees of hours and extreme favouritism. They refuse to give full time or over time because it costs too much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace- great experience
Post Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON27 March 2017
I enjoyed working in the post office. I learned a lot and my management skills grew tremendously; working independently with customers. I highly recommend working here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits of working in customer service
Store Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Binbrook, ON26 March 2017
Shoppers Drug Mart has given me exceptional people skills and has given me to build positive relationships with my clientele. I am fortunate enough to have solidarity with my co workers and to be working in a positive enviornment
Pros
Excellent Staff
Cons
commutes to binbrook
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Serving employee and have generally been a great company
Beauty Boutique Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 March 2017
I have nothing bad to say about my 20+ years with this company. Have seen many changes over the years and all have been good.
Benefits are less than desired However salary and perks are sufficient.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient organization
Pharmacist (Current Employee) –  AB and BC multiple stores25 March 2017
Variation in corporate culture is noted across stores , there is no fixed standards in the business environment despite the presence of rigid preset bylaws unfortunately in Northern AB my experience was very negative due to a hostile business environment in one store however I cannot extrapolate that to any other stores
Pros
money
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced but Enjoyable
Part-time Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB24 March 2017
The job lived up to my standards, it kept me busy and allowed me to further my experience in the workforce. It was a well managed facility and the job kept me on my toes as well as kept me motivated. I was able to cover and gain experience in a large array of positions including merchandising, cashier, as well as cosmetician. The job wasn't particularly hard however it was face paced and a rather enjoyable experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place Culture
Beauty Expert (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON24 March 2017
Honesty, loyalty and hard work don't matter. If you keep quite and pretend everything is ok you get noticed. Its not the knowledge you have and the hard work you put in .... its the old age thing " not what you know BUT who you know" that likes you. Loved what I did and loved the staff and customers.
Pros
Staff and discount
Cons
Bad Management and Associate Owners
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Cashier and Cashier Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB23 March 2017
loved working with my co-workers, was able to learn from almost everyone. learned how to deal with unruly customers and how to make sure they leave happy and willing to come back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB23 March 2017
I was an excellent employee while working there I loved the people there I always made the best out of every situation I would handle the cash register and the phones and deal with customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience with nice and respectful people.
Pharmacy Assistant (CO-OP) (Former Employee) –  Highway 7 and Kennedy23 March 2017
Working at Shoppers Drug Mart was a great experience, because everyone, the workers, the boss, the manager, and even the customers and patients were very respectful.
Pros
Not very tiring work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,985 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

Shoppers Drug Mart / Pharmaprix Reviews by Location