Shoppers Drug Mart / Pharmaprix Employee Reviews

Found 1,925 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working team
Accredited Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON22 March 2017
My experience at Shoppers Drug Mart was wonderful. I learned a lot about retail, merchandising, pharmacy, and overall customer service. There were at times difficult customers, but my experience there helped me learn to deal with them and always remain calm and professional.
Pros
Good staff communication and regular meetings
Cons
Very busy sometimes and caused some stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work environment
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 March 2017
I would be responsible for making sure everything is in its right place, lined up perfectly, priced properly, stock items that are low. if I had one suggestion it would just be to learn how to work with people with learning disabilities better, was never good enough for them no matter how hard I tried, was why I was let go.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent environment
Pharmacy Student (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 March 2017
excellent environment really good work atmosphere with understanding associate
co operative colleges with team spirit
used to work different shifts
week end and evening
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Divers Culture
Vendor and Project Management (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 March 2017
Proper Work/Life Balance
Good environment and potential career growth
Professional and Divers Culture across the organization
Vendor and project Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC19 March 2017
It was a lot of fun working with such great people. The benefits were nice and management treated you with respect. The hours were long at times and working around the holidays was stressful but, the rest of the year was beyond wonderful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but worth it
Part-time Pharmacy Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON19 March 2017
A typical day at work is very fast paced with constant prescription orders needed to be prepared, cashing out customers, filing prescriptions and putting back stock. But you learn about many medications and how they are to be used. In terms of the workplace culture, the store I work at includes the most equal ratio of people of color to caucasians so everyone feels comfortable and not at all out of place. The hardest part of the job is dealing with customers who try to abuse the pharmacy system and the most enjoyable part of the job is the sense of community you develop with your colleagues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor training
Cosmetician (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON19 March 2017
Besides the training that you do online I wasn't trained in person very much.
I was bored a lot of the time. And felt that working until close in cosmetics made no sense because no one came in that late for makeup.

Loved helping people find products they loved but also didn't find there was much chance for promotions.
Pros
Commission
Cons
Closing, lack of one on one training, no availability to move up in posistion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shoppers Drug Mart was a great place to work at.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON17 March 2017
I worked at Shoppers Drug Mart for 6 years. I really enjoyed working here because I got to build my customer experience, and learn to be a team player. I worked both as a cashier and a merchandiser. It was hard to give up my shoppers job after 6 years for school, but now I would like to seek a different environment and try something new. I think having this job shaped me as a person because I feel more confident with communicating with people, I feel like I have good motivation to complete jobs and tasks. As well, I feel like I have good long work experience to assist me in getting a future job.
Pros
30% discount, good atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
simple
Cashier & marchandiser (Former Employee) –  London, ON17 March 2017
working at shoppers is pretty tranquil because the store never gets all that busy seeing how its a pharmacy so the workload is'nt overwhelming and can always get done.
Pros
good lunch breaks
Cons
it closes at 12:00am
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 March 2017
I had a wonderful time in Shoppers and learnt a lot of skills.
customer service
supervisor
managing 14 people
It was fun and very educational.
people.
Pros
people
Cons
people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, solid employer
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Grimsby, ON15 March 2017
The store I worked at was fantastic because of the staff working there. It was a great experience. The upper management (outside of the store) were a bit detached, and it was frustrating to make the owner and company both happy when they wanted different things. The job is fairly typical of retail, but because it's such a large company, it comes with its' fair share of red-tape for management. However, jobs are secure, and you are provided with tons of training to round out your knowledge.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place
Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 March 2017
love the work ambiance , people and the working time, great place to learn , good pay ,feels like working in a family group, productive place and fun place
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry level job, slow paced
COSMETICIAN AND CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Campbell River, BC14 March 2017
Enjoyed learning the basics of cosmetics and dermatology. Generally was given solid and consistent 6-7 hour shifts, only 1-2 shift per week (as part-time). Shifts were generally slow paced.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable , but unproffesional managment.
Overnight Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 March 2017
with pervious managerial skills I was be promoted within 1 month. I learned how to managed my time efficiently to finished all my checklist in timely manner.Overall I believe Shoppers Drugmart to have a very positive work environment that is especially great for people with very little experience who would like to earn some.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shoppers
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON14 March 2017
I enjoyed working a shoppers , everybody was nice , management was well organized . I most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the customers and the worst part was trying to remember where everything went .
Pros
nice people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON14 March 2017
All of the staff is friendly and extremely helpful, not only to customers but to fellow workers. It is an extremely enjoyable place to work. Questions are quickly answered and management is always available to help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management, and a great environment.
Merchandiser/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ON13 March 2017
Working at Shoppers Drug Mart was a great experience. We had many great loyal customers who made the experience really fun. The managers were very understanding and were there to help us learn and grow as employees. I had a great time working here.
Pros
Great managment
Cons
Poor hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Merchandiser, Team Member (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 March 2017
Loved this job. Management was extremely nice and helpful. The job conditions matched my needs and I was very comfortable in my position as a merchandiser.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely unprofessional company
Wise onlooker (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON11 March 2017
Employees are seen as expendable and do not pay you your worth. I would never work here. Would be tough to make living in this environmnent. Beware.
Pros
A guess a job
Cons
Working for a self serving company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work Environment
Cashier / Floater (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC11 March 2017
Enjoyable Work Environment
Approved requested shift hours
Worked both as cashier and on the floor (Stock and Flier)
Learned a little about departments such as beauty and post office
Has an amazing team who were friendly and helpful and inspirational
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shoppers Drug Mart / Pharmaprix. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,962 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7
81%

CEO Approval

Based on 515 ratings
Add your rating

Shoppers Drug Mart / Pharmaprix Reviews by Location