Find companies:
Sherwin-Williams
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
531 reviews

Sherwin-Williams Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
customer service (Former Employee), Novi, MIMarch 16, 2014
A typical day at work would be helping customers with specific paint selections. Mixing paint, customer service and handling the cash register. Management was wonderful and very hands on and helpful with any questions that came their way. Co workers were team players and for the most part worked very well with each other. the hardest part was handling – more... difficult customers. the most enjoyable part was interacting with people on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits but GCDC sucks
color stylist marketing (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCMarch 15, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: politics
Good benefits

not a good place to work if you have an education, people at the non management level work their way up. Good old boys

be ready to play politics at GCDC.

manager needs more training
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with availability to always move up.
Lab Technician Temp (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHMarch 13, 2014
Great place, amazing coworkers, continuous opportunities to be promoted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management not very adept of hourly employees issues
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, GAMarch 12, 2014
Pros: great employees
Cons: bad management
Very unhappy with the management and their treatment of the hourly employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low stress job with few growth opportunities
Management Training Program/Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Wichita, KSMarch 11, 2014
The day to day operations are moderately challenging and often fun. The client base is always up for a good laugh and coworkers are very supportive. Unfortunately career growth extends to becoming the Store Manager in the middle of the country or an area manager if you are lucky.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Gardendale, ALMarch 11, 2014
Customer service and sales all day long.
Customer relationship building environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Part-time sales associate (Current Employee), Astoria, NYMarch 10, 2014
great store, you will learn a lot from this store. plus they pay 10/hr
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Haverhill massMarch 10, 2014
Pros: one on one customer base and co workers friendly and knowledgeable
Cons: part time work only
Sherwin Williams is one of the best jobs i have had in my work history. Fun fast up beatwork with fantastic coworkers and excellent customer base.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sherwin 2014
Corporate IT Specialist (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHMarch 7, 2014
Pros: pay scale
Cons: availability for advancement
Handled inbound calls from upper tier employees ranging from regional managers and VP's. These calls were in direct relation to Corporate IT advancements in the iphone to data network path within the companies international marketing scheme. Co-workers within my group were average in education and performance levels in comparison to my daily output. – more... I was trained directly on the advancements of the iphone in relation to the data path that was yet to be written. Overall the staff was knowledgeable and courteous as well as always professional under all circumstances. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work View
Counter Sales Associate (Former Employee), Big Spring, TXMarch 6, 2014
Pros: nice part-time job
Cons: not good hours, worked weekends
I was a sales associate, my task consisted of mixing, selling and delivering the product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
DECORATOR (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 3, 2014
Helping costumers with color selections and sales. Also helped with store up-keep. Management was nice about flexible hours but otherwise hard to deal with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good comapany
counter sales /driver (Former Employee), Tampa, FLFebruary 28, 2014
mixing and driving paint. Learned about paint. Great mamnagement and co workers. Hardest part opf the job was store owners and most enjoyable was driving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Involved in daily contact with customers
Assistant Manager and Manager (Former Employee), PRFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: good time
Involved in daily contact with customers to troubleshoot and resolve problems pertaining to billing, unpaid tax balances, excessive charges or short payments, warranties, inventory control, counter sale, services contract renewals, and other services-related matters while maintaining good customer relations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay
Human Resources Manager (Current Employee), Cleveland,OHFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: salary
Cons: diversity
Fortune 500 Company that pays very well.Great Leadership at the top of the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation is average, Benefits are above average. Company culture is highly centralized and lacks any sense of job autonomy.
Product Specialist (Current Employee), Alton, ILFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: healthcare, pension, and 401k benefits, in-store culture, relatively high job security
Cons: no autonomy, difficulty in advancing career, top-heavy organization centered on micromanagement, highly subjective performance appraisal methodology
- Sherwin-Williams operates in a variety of retail, commercial and industrial segments throughout the global economy. My affiliation and knowledge base lies within the retail and commercial segments of the manufactured coatings industry. Typically, this involves working with commercial/industrial contractors and homeowners to achieve their professional – more... and personal coating needs. Product recommendations/troubleshooting, personalized service and pricing considerations are the primary components of this aspect of my job. In addition, inventory management, new employee training, following environmental and EPA regulations, and the proper operation and maintenance of company resources are essential components of my job.
- The working culture within each Sherwin-Williams location is unique. Fortunately, the working culture within our location is largely based on teamwork. We all work together, as a team, to ensure we fulfill our job duties and assigned tasks. This solidarity is the most rewarding aspect of my employment with Sherwin-Williams.
- Considering the highly competitive nature of the retail and commercial segment of the manufactured coatings industry, the most difficult part of my job is finding a "happy medium" between our relationship with customers and upper management. Including the increasing levels of corporate driven micromanagement to this equation, it is essential to manage our time resources efficiently. This complicates the premise of providing personalized service and products at a fair price, while exceeding the imposed budgetary requirements, in addition to fulfilling the multitude of reporting and checklists required by upper management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Work Environment with Team Oriented Workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Tracy, CAFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: being able to have multiple responsibilities throughout the day
Cons: not receiving a good explanation of 401k and company stock plans
My responsibilities would change from day to day but being Assistant Manager I would always have to delegate different responsibilities as well as provide the best customer service possible each and every day. I made sure our store was clean and then also merchandised our store month to month according to an ever changing Company Plan-O-Gram. Weekly – more... I was responsible for making 50 sales calls that were made to either existing customers or new customers that we were trying to do business with. I would take notes and keep a database of all the information that was received from those phone calls. I also made inside and outside sales of everything from paint and brushes to spray equipment and obtaining a contractors commitment to purchase their material from us. On top of any normal responsibilities I had, I would also do whatever else was asked of me to ensure that all assigned tasks were completed. I also resolved any customer complaints and processed any payments from clients and or bills that we had to pay for outside services. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and ver sociable
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Chicago ILFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: you get good communication skills
Every day you meet new people that like to tell stories and they appreciate when you have jokes for them. it was a fun environment. Managers were strict when they had to. when everything was good with numbers and they seen no problems happen they bought us the employees food and makes jokes like everyone else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative atmosphere
Decorator specialist (Former Employee), Willow Grove, PAFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: great working atmosphere, great paint!
Cons: part-time, no benefits, slow periods of time during the afternoons
As being the only female working in a male based industry was challenging on that alone but I was able to prove my worth. And within weeks I had gained the confidence of the contractors as well as homeowners as a person who knew my way about colors and paints. Great training and received certificates to be able to sell industrial paints. Management – more... was great it has the feel of a family owned company where you are looked at as a person and not as a number. The hardest part of the job was the labor of picking up and carrying 5 gallon buckets of paint. The most enjoyable part of the job is when a customer is afraid of color, takes that chance for a pop of color and they love it so much they want to do every room in the house. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace, very comfortable working environment
Intern (Former Employee), Santiago de Chile,February 18, 2014
Pros: free lunch and transport aid.
Cons: only 30 minutes for lunch
*I learned about the imports and export process.
*a typical day at work I had to review the system in order to purchase the materials that were out of stock
*my co-workers were really nice to me, I was doing an internship at the company and all the time they were willing to teach me.
*the hardest part of the job was to learn how to use the system. but – more... once you learn how to use it the tasks become easier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company to work for
Lab Technician (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: hour breaks, 1st shift
Cons: no benifits because of temp. hard to become permanant
This was my first job, the main reason I liked my job was because of my co-workers it was a lot of fun & it was a team effort 100% of the time.

About Sherwin-Williams

No matter how you coat it, Sherwin-Williams is one of the largest paint manufacturers in the US and worldwide (along with Akzo-Nobel, – Read more

Sherwin-Williams Photos