Find companies:
Sherwin-Williams
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
613 reviews

Sherwin-Williams Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Formulating experience
Q.C. Chemist, Plant Chemist, Development Chemist (Former Employee), Columbus OHSeptember 10, 2014
Challenging projects
Formulating products
Agreeable management
Reasonable co-workers
Solving process problems
Completing projects in timely manner
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seems to be a dead end
Store Associate (Current Employee), East CoastSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: discounts on paint
Cons: favorites played with promitions/hiring from within
I have worked for this company for over 2 years. I have gone in early, stayed late and generally busted my hump for the entirety.

While the people working in the store understand the every day struggle, upper management is delusional and wants you to drink their cool-aid.

I have interviewed 3 separate times for promotions and got turned down each – more... time for some absurd reasoning, only for them to hire someone off the street with no experience. It is incredibly frustrating and disheartening to be given no opportunity for growth. My positive feelings about the company are non-existant.

That being said, if you get your foot in the door, it's a great company to work for and there are great benefits. But be prepared to wait an incredibly long time for any advancement if you aren't one of their "pets." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and laid back place to work
Finance Intern in the Accounts Payable Department (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: great work environment, amazing experience
Cons: repetitive work
My day started off with checking emails from different sites and vendors and I would process the invoices they sent me or answered the questions they had regarding accounts. Then I would go to our mailboxes and process invoices into our Oracle Processing System. The second part of my day I would work on the open receiver report. This was the hardest – more... job because I had to figure out why we had open dollars on our books. The atmosphere in the office was amazing. Everyone was relaxed and I was able to go to anyone for questions that I had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more technical than most retail
paint maker (Former Employee), Frisco, TXSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: didnt like the customers
i enoyed making paint it was fun, my only complaint would be working in a hot warehouse on same days doing inventory
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managenet and co-workers are enjoyable and frendly, very supportuive
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Tulsa, OKSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: 401k, hoildays (limited)other benifits are if you are fultime, very flrxable with work hours for partime.
Cons: not enough fulltime postions
After arriving at work I make sure any stock in warehouse which has been received is placed in proper location. Make sure forklift has been charged and ready for that days use. Remove all trash and sweep if necessary.
Support showroom staff to pull proper paint or sundries needed for the orders and help customer to load their purchase.
Management is – more... working position and both the manager and assistant are required to work directly with the customer and they are very knowledgeable of the materiel which Sherwin Williams has available to support the internal; sales and the outside sales reps. The co-wokers other than the management are part time and are looking to work their way to a full time position which is either management our sales reps. If there was a hard part it would be having to life 5 gallons of paint and stack in three's for the warehouse stock. But since that is part of the job and I choose to work there it is all in a days work and I am thankful to have a job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
Assistant Service Manager (Current Employee), Wilmington, DESeptember 5, 2014
Pros: not unemployed
Cons: contractors that don't quite tell you exactly how they applied product.
Like greeting contractors/friends in morning. Usually strong work force of painter waiting for me when I open. You never know what will be asked of you as far as color, type of paint, and all aspects of coating application.
Enjoy working with fellow team members. Also like to see retail customers leave with the knowledge that they can successfully accomplish – more... their painting project. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and to get experience
Branch Manager (Former Employee), HawaiiSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: great people to work with
Cons: the work hours can be demanding
Fast paced, able to multitask, and you get reward with great bonuses if you meet and exceed budget.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work and grow.
Manufacturing (Current Employee), Columbus, OHSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: 401k match and bonuses
Cons: poor work life balance
Overall, I enjoyed working for Sherwin Williams. They provide excellent benefits and room to grow. Day to day the job was different, which is what I enjoyed most as a member of the management team. If you like challenges, you will enjoy the culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Learning and work out environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Millington, TNSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: decent pay
Cons: hard work
Hard work and wear and tear on your body. Took years for advancement, and was released after injury on job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
St. Louis Segment Marketing Manager (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: micro management
Good Job with great growth opportunities
Location and placement is also amazing and company works very well with personal needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Management Teams are hibitual Liars Human resources dont give a hoot
operation Tech (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: benefits are excellent if you last long enough to get them
Cons: dont expect to retire from there
The Baltimore Plant is one of the worst places to work the job is stressful from the employees to Management. Do expect teamwork or to form any friendships
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place,grill buggers in sunner time
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Gaithersburg, MDAugust 31, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: i have short breaks and great health benefits
get to work 15min early every mourning and ontime delivery
learn how to tint paints,operate forklift in the wearhouse,
co-workers were great,some times manager buy as lunch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad managment top down, personal conflict every day
Material Handler (Former Employee), Holland, MIAugust 31, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: everything else
co-workers in general lazy always trying to get temps to do there work, everyone is always pointing fingers and not trying to correct problem
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
NATIONAL ACCOUNT MANAGER (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 22, 2014
Pros: great career advancement opporutnties
Sherwin Williams is a great place to grow as a professional. Great training, great people and a great culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Bad for an Internship
Intern (Former Employee), Menifee, CAAugust 14, 2014
This internship can provide the path to advance if you work hard.
As an intern you learn the whole aspect of the business, including the labor portion. Not glamorous, but there are pros and cons to any organization. Pros: $12 an hour, professionalism, great people. Cons: Not glamorous, sometimes bad management, lots of product knowledge. This internship – more... had a project at the end of the 7-10 weeks and I suggest trying hard to gather resources and information to give the best presentation you can. Travel to Dallas, TX is sometimes a plus for this internship. Would recommend. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
Manager, Assistant Manager, Full time (Former Employee), TexasAugust 14, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits, and great customers
Cons: no room for advancement
Its the only job i have had, other than Champion Homes in my entire adult life. I promoted as far as i could without a Degree. Great benefits and good employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place
Temp Worker (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 11, 2014
Great place to work with great benifits, but i was tempoary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company to work for
EDI PROCESSOR (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHAugust 10, 2014
My position was not what I expected
Mostly data entry and not very challenging
I needed more work tasks
This was a part-time position
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company with its ups and downs
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Vincennes, INAugust 10, 2014
Pros: assistant manager as well as customers were great, often making the job fun to do.
Cons: the management.
Sherwin-Williams has a tendency to leave things on the table. By that, I mean there are things they could improve on. Scouting of management candidates is a start. The first manager I worked for was ok. He was someone who could make the job fun, but could also have his off days. The replacement... Not so much... She was extremely lazy, often brought – more... her personal problems to work, often effecting her ability to do her job. She has a tendency to talk down to customers, which in turn made many customers shy away from shopping with us. Most of all, she was in NO WAY a team player. Often leaving most of the work to myself and the assistant manager while she sat in her office texting away on her cell phone. Another point of contention, was lack of benefits. They offer no benefits to their part time employees which was another part of the reason I could no longer stay on. I finally had to leave in January 2014, as the situation did not improve, but got worse. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and great company
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Okmulgee, OKAugust 6, 2014
Sherwin Williams is a great company to work for they appreciate their employees they go above and beyond

About Sherwin-Williams

No matter how you coat it, Sherwin-Williams is one of the largest paint manufacturers in the US and worldwide (along with Akzo-Nobel, – Read more

Sherwin-Williams Photos