Find companies:
Shell
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
636 reviews

Shell Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my typical day at work
Customer Service Representative (Full / Part Time) (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 23, 2012
my typical day at work is operating cash register and help the customer in chosing the oil products we carry in our store. at the end of my shift i have to do end of day closing and than i have to do bank reconcilation, lottery reconcilation, complete the paperwork for that day. the one thing i really enjoy on my job is to interact with new people on – more... daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
personally owned and operated
clerk (Former Employee), Spruce Grove, ABApril 21, 2012
the boss was also the owner and was very rude and had no respect
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the bigger the slower
Senior Mine Planning Engineer (Former Employee), CalgaryApril 10, 2012
Pros: pay well, job secure, opportunities for on-line training
Cons: bad management, too many managers less specialists.
The pay was great. As a super giant oil corporate, if your key board is broken, you better buy it for yourself, because it takes a month after have filled up the form to get a replacement.
Over concern in safety at work site.
Most of managers are white and tall. I don't see Asian/African face managers in Heavy Oil.
Too many meeting/talking, less technical – more... works – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where you look forward to come to work every morning
Accountant Analyst (Former Employee), CalgaryMarch 6, 2012
Best working atmosphere, friendly employees and supervisor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work for them
everything (Former Employee), Killworthy OnJanuary 27, 2012
Pros: great boss
Cons: only short hours
it was great working for this company they had me work when i wasnt working constrution
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great compensation and job security, exceptionally low morale, poor work-life balance, dictatorial high-handed management
Engineer (Former Employee), Fort Mcmurray, AlbertaJanuary 5, 2012
Pros: great compensation, good benefits, subsidized lunch
Cons: terrible working conditions, no accountability or ownership, hence high job security (nobody ever gets fired), high-handed and bureaucratic management
-- Excellent compensation and benefits
-- High bureaucracy
-- Low morale due to zero accountability, and high-handed management style
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Working Place
Cashier (Former Employee), Amboy, ILSeptember 12, 2014
Helping customers and making them smile was the highlight of working there. Seeing new faces and old. The hardest part about the job was never being able to move up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not pleasant
Gas Station Clerk (Former Employee), Gretna, NESeptember 12, 2014
The store manager for Shell really lacks in giving employees reasons to want to work for him. No one ever got 40 hours or full time. No benefits ever. Minimum wage. Promises of raises that never happened and also not getting my bonuses from passing a sting. I always worked the closing shift and found myself doing the tasks and cleaning routines of the – more... previous shifts. I also was getting personal "coachings" about how my closes were not up to par after having done my responsibilities and others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy and Enjoyable place to work
Gas Attendant (Former Employee), Andover, NJSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: easy job
Cons: cold weather and rain
Day started at 1:30 or 2 and ended at 8-8:30. I learned how to pump gas as well as diesel, learned to check tire pressure and put air in tires, also learned to check level of oil and put oil in, I worked alone besides my Boss being there working on cars. The hardest part was when it got cold and having to stay outside for long periods of time. The most – more... enjoyable part was getting to meet many different kinds of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok experience
Customer Service Assistant/Cashier (Former Employee), Manchester, ENGSeptember 7, 2014
Cons: most of franchises don't have any staff discounts.
Lot of responsibility and your of your own all alone. Good if your manager and most importantly the franchise boss is good man and not irritating lice. I have worked under 2 different bosses, 1st one was irritating guy, the other one was good and all management & staff was good. Good for students as well if they are looking for part time job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive days
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 5, 2014
Shell was a great starter company for me while I was in college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Customer service (Former Employee), TonypandySeptember 4, 2014
i was given task to complete and enjoyed working in a team. i had great co-workers who i got along perfectly which enabled me to work harder
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get experience in the Fuel Business
Cashier/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), San Rafael, CASeptember 3, 2014
Pros: free coffee and drinks
Cons: no healthcare
Cashiering, cleaning, preparing food and making coffee, stocking, preparing daily cahier reports, data entry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fist hand at Telesales
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Crompton Way Shaw OldamSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: good benifit
Cons: not really an exciting job.
The job was fairly strait foreword, it was a nice team of people I was working with, if we made a sale it was £10 extra commission, so there was a lot of intensive to do a great job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
forecourt attendant (Former Employee), Liverpool, ENGAugust 24, 2014
at my time at working at shell i had my good days and bad days but i left for personal reasons not because of the job. the manger Karl hardie was fair and relaxed and never did wrong. My co workers were a pleasant group to work with and i have enjoyed my time working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Senior Information Security Focal Point (Former Employee), Manchester, ENGAugust 19, 2014
Great Company to work for.

Worked with some fabulous Colleagues
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Process Operator (Current Employee), Deer Park, TXAugust 14, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: great place to work
Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been the industry's standard dummy text ever since the 1500s, when an unknown printer took a galley of type and scrambled it to make a type specimen book. It has survived not only five centuries, but also the leap into electronic typesetting, remaining essentially – more... unchanged. It was popularised in the 1960s with the release of Letraset sheets containing Lorem Ipsum passages, and more recently with desktop publishing software like Aldus PageMaker including versions of Lorem Ipsum. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 14, 2014
Pros: work experience and company luncheons
A typical day at work was fast paced. Contracts were always being awarded, which means more jobs opportunities were available. Management as well as co-workers were very easy going and helpful. The hardest part of the job was trying to assist 5-8 executives at one time. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to assist with operation of the – more... office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place/ First Start
Kelly Services, General Clerk I (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 12, 2014
Overall, was a great environment to work in.

Learned a lot in administration and office management.

Good work atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Cook (Former Employee), Cairo, GAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: rude customers
Cons: breaks
Great customers
Great staff
typical day mostly cooking and helping customers
I learned how to properly stock food
The most enjoyable part was meeting new people everday

About Shell

Royal Dutch Shell plc is incorporated in England and Wales, has its headquarters in The Hague and is listed on the London, Amsterdam, – Read more