Shell Employee Reviews

Found 450 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company with pleasent atmosphire to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Qatar27 September 2016
My company provide me training in various fields I come and learn what is safety and how it is important in everyone life. Apart from Safety requirement I learn first aid and Fire warden training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Supportive!
Gas Station Attendant (Current Employee) –  Dawson Creek, BC24 September 2016
I've been working at the Dawson Creek shell for rougly 2 weeks now, and I really enjoy it! Training was well received, fellow co-workers are friendly and helpful, and you get to meet alot of people!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but could use work
cashier (Former Employee) –  Westlock, AB20 September 2016
One of the employees while i was working there would normally be late on an everyday occurance. He would show up with drugs in his pocket or have just done them which made him very irritable to work with.
Pros
Enjoyed the customers
Cons
employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer
Supply Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 September 2016
A typical day was busy but we were given a lot of flexibility to do our jobs. We also had a lot of support to do our jobs well should we feel we needed help. There was also a very good career management feedback and support.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior HSSE Technician (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 September 2016
- Coaching and mentoring role daily.
- Great management support.
- Great people to work with.
- Very large area to cover lots of driving
- Learning new things daily.
Pros
14 days on by 14 days off rotation
Cons
Being away from my family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent people to work with, environmentally responsible
Instrumentation Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB14 September 2016
A very socially/environmentally responsible company that tries to maintain a safe working environment and a good work life balance. The employees are the best asset that they have. It was an easy place to go in to work every day.
Pros
work schedule
Cons
current path of management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 September 2016
the owner/ manager was very nice they are good people to work with and are very good at training you if needed. great benefits too
Pros
good work
Cons
long bus ride
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed resolving a variety of technical challenges through Root Cause Analysis with Reliability Engineers.
Instrument and Valve Reliability Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB8 September 2016
A great company to work for. I was given the required training and support to allow me to help resolve issues concerning plant equipment failures outside my normal trade skills. Facilitated Root Cause Analysis sessions for many incidents including major power distribution failures and a D11 Cat track failure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customers through out the night.
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Dieppe, NB2 September 2016
The people I serve during my work night are served with respect and good costumer service. I learned cash management skills.i enjoy working with people. My co-workers are great people and easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
ADMIN ASSISNTANT/JUNIOR COMMERCIAL ANALYST (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 August 2016
Great company overall; downside is the fact that the oil and gas prices are not in its favour at the moment. Employees are scared and worries for their jobs and there's nothing really the company can do for it doesn't control the unstable market.
Pros
Career Development
Cons
Job Insecurity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About Shell
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON23 August 2016
It was a great first job experience. Got very boring at times. Had to work alone most of the time. Learned a lot from this job.
Pros
Very good management
Cons
Boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced , inetense
Document Control lead (Current Employee) –  Calgary AB23 August 2016
Great place to work if you like to be on your toes. Challenged daily to meet goals. Fabulous co worked and management. A great day to day environment. Great team to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place. Well organised.
Sr. Process Engineer, Projects & Technology (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 August 2016
Great place to work. Many friendly and nice people to interact with. Learned a great deal about workplace safety. A great opportunity to meet other people from various places around the world.
Pros
Good work culture.
Cons
IT leaves much to be desired.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working, friendly environment.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Morinville, AB7 August 2016
Easy to understand, learn and complete tasks. Staff and management were friendly and approachable. Breaks and working were managed well and fairly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Business Intelligence Developer (Former Employee) –  Calgary4 August 2016
Shell is good company and it takes care of their employees but due to recent lower oil prices shell decided to to outsource IT.
Pros
allowed to work from home
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exposure to work environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Cobourg, ON1 August 2016
This job gave me exposure to work environment.Moreover i got equipped with good communication skills with job. The management was really good. The hardest part of the job was long hours which indeed helped me with my ability to work more and on weekends also
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful company to work for
MARINE ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  london, uk14 July 2016
wonderful company to work for.
i never had any serious problems.
Awesome benefits.
Awesome family welfare policy.
good salary structure
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good employer and emplyees
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON6 July 2016
Better atmosphere to serve the customers. always friendly management and supporting colleague. flexible hours of work and always adjust time in emergency.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive environment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK4 July 2016
I really enjoyed working at bank. It was my first job where i gained a lot of knowledge and confidence to make myself comfortable with others.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Worplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON3 July 2016
Long working hours

Management was good

meet new people

great environment

long day
So, it is not a difficult job. During night shifts there is some work as mopping, filling freezers etc.
Pros
meet people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shell. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,401 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6