Find companies:
Shell
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
714 reviews

Shell Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall view
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Sudbury, OnSeptember 16, 2012
Pros: great team and management
Cons: i can't think of one
I think it's a great place to work. people i work with are awesome and i really love working as a member of such a wonderful team. I enjoy talking to people, this job allows me to do that while I'm working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lab Technician
Lab technician in Fort McMurray (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABAugust 30, 2012
 Gravimetric Determination of Moisture Content via Halogen Moisture Analyzer. SOP
 Determination of the Sand-of-Fines Ratio by Halogen Moisture Analyzer. SOP
 Methylene Blue Index Standard Operating Procedure. SOP
 Used the Auto-Sieve Shaker. SOP
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coordination of Shell Open University for 2,800 Employees
Human Resources Generalist (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABAugust 27, 2012
Pros: three day weekends (weekly), meet a lot of new friends, non-stressful
Cons: away from home, long hours
Worked for six months in a dynamic atmosphere, alongside many people who showed me how to adapt to the structure here
The people here are amazing, the foundation is breathtaking when helping others who are very willing to learn new skills.

Roles at Shell:
- Employee Relations Analyst 3 months
- Learning & Development Coordinator 3months

Very strong – more... culture for success in that organization! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The fun part was when a regular customer would come in i had his smokes on the counter befor he came in . I new what he wanted.
CASHIER (Former Employee), Vancouver, BC KITSALINOAugust 13, 2012
Pros: the proas were that i got along with everyone.
Cons: i would get some very angry cusrtomers but you must not get mad at them
When ui was working for Shell Canada in Vancouver it got very busy and other times it was slow. I got along great with the customers and also got along with my co-workers. I remember there was this one customer that would come in every week-end and we would chat when it was slow and he would tell me about his trip to Africa with his family and he would – more... bring me a large box of doughnuts for me and my family.The hardest part of the job was when it got really busy there would be a line up from the door to the outside of the side walk and also a line up at the window. There would also be arguments and people would try to yell at me and tell me to hurry up because they are in a hurry, but you have to be patient and tell them that i will be with them as soon as i can, so then they would go some where else. My boss had told me that i did a good job handling the situation. I did not get angry i was calm and collective and polite with the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy, and fun to work for
Full time Closing manager (Former Employee), edmontonJuly 30, 2012
Pros: free carwashes and slurpees
Cons: rude customers, and drive-offs
my work consisted of helping customers, answering related questions about SHELL and AirMiles. I loved the customers and my co-workers, which ive had many over the past 4years. Hardest part of the job was dealing with drive-offs of fuel. I enjoyed the people and working with the computers and cash.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Compensation, no accountability
Engineer (Current Employee), ScotfordJuly 17, 2012
Pros: every 2nd friday off
Cons: all of the above
Management is trained from within and are typically poor performers technically therefore they are moved into supervisory roles as there is no other placement for them. No accountability for the work therefore poor performers and top performers are ranked equally. Terrible morale within the organization. Compensation used to be great but now Shell is – more... low end and HR guidelines are controlled by the Dutch. As a young engineer Shell is a good starting point to gain experience. If you are a senior engineer, don't waste your time, you will be dissapointed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DAILY
Customer Service (Former Employee), fergusJune 29, 2012
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Monitor usage of fuel, run daily consumption reports. Family run business
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Example: Productive and fun workplace with team spirit
Contract and Procurement - Lead (Current Employee), fort mcmuarryJune 14, 2012
Great work environment, great team spirit and increasing stakeholder values.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close to home
Customer Service Attendant (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJune 6, 2012
Pros: close to home
Cons: dangerous, and no job security
CSR job, best thing about this job was it was close to home.
The worse thing was that it was not safe environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Integrity Assurance Data analyst (SAP-PM) (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMay 17, 2012
I learned lot of new thing.
Good working environment.
My co-workers are co-operative, supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best.
Receptionist/Switchboard Supervisor (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONMay 9, 2012
i worked a variety of positions for Shell Canada. I was head switchboard operator. I had five girls reporting to me on a daily basis.
Otherwise very much the same duties as Axisource. Great company to work for. Lost my job due to reorganization in 1993.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place with customer dealing
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), MississaugaApril 29, 2012
Pros: free car wash
Cons: long hours
Addressed customer complaints and solve their issues.
Report all issues to the manager.
Reconciled sales reports.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Logistics Team Lead, OSG (Current Employee), Calgary, ABApril 23, 2012
Pros: excellent pension and benefits
Cons: calgary
Lots of opportunity for additional training and advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my typical day at work
Customer Service Representative (Full / Part Time) (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 23, 2012
my typical day at work is operating cash register and help the customer in chosing the oil products we carry in our store. at the end of my shift i have to do end of day closing and than i have to do bank reconcilation, lottery reconcilation, complete the paperwork for that day. the one thing i really enjoy on my job is to interact with new people on – more... daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
personally owned and operated
clerk (Former Employee), Spruce Grove, ABApril 21, 2012
the boss was also the owner and was very rude and had no respect
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the bigger the slower
Senior Mine Planning Engineer (Former Employee), CalgaryApril 10, 2012
Pros: pay well, job secure, opportunities for on-line training
Cons: bad management, too many managers less specialists.
The pay was great. As a super giant oil corporate, if your key board is broken, you better buy it for yourself, because it takes a month after have filled up the form to get a replacement.
Over concern in safety at work site.
Most of managers are white and tall. I don't see Asian/African face managers in Heavy Oil.
Too many meeting/talking, less technical – more... works – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where you look forward to come to work every morning
Accountant Analyst (Former Employee), CalgaryMarch 6, 2012
Best working atmosphere, friendly employees and supervisor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work for them
everything (Former Employee), Killworthy OnJanuary 27, 2012
Pros: great boss
Cons: only short hours
it was great working for this company they had me work when i wasnt working constrution
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great compensation and job security, exceptionally low morale, poor work-life balance, dictatorial high-handed management
Engineer (Former Employee), Fort Mcmurray, AlbertaJanuary 5, 2012
Pros: great compensation, good benefits, subsidized lunch
Cons: terrible working conditions, no accountability or ownership, hence high job security (nobody ever gets fired), high-handed and bureaucratic management
-- Excellent compensation and benefits
-- High bureaucracy
-- Low morale due to zero accountability, and high-handed management style
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Cashier (Former Employee), Port Saint John, FLDecember 21, 2014
I enjoyed this job because I was the shift manager. I was responsible for making things flow properly. I enjoyed working in a convenient store. You get to see interest things and get to focus solely on tasks and providing the best environment for your customers.

About Shell

Royal Dutch Shell plc is incorporated in England and Wales, has its headquarters in The Hague and is listed on the London, Amsterdam, – Read more