Find companies:
Shell
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
528 reviews

Shell Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close to home
Customer Service Attendant (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJune 6, 2012
Pros: close to home
Cons: dangerous, and no job security
CSR job, best thing about this job was it was close to home.
The worse thing was that it was not safe environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Integrity Assurance Data analyst (SAP-PM) (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMay 17, 2012
I learned lot of new thing.
Good working environment.
My co-workers are co-operative, supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best.
Receptionist/Switchboard Supervisor (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONMay 9, 2012
i worked a variety of positions for Shell Canada. I was head switchboard operator. I had five girls reporting to me on a daily basis.
Otherwise very much the same duties as Axisource. Great company to work for. Lost my job due to reorganization in 1993.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place with customer dealing
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), MississaugaApril 29, 2012
Pros: free car wash
Cons: long hours
Addressed customer complaints and solve their issues.
Report all issues to the manager.
Reconciled sales reports.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Logistics Team Lead, OSG (Current Employee), Calgary, ABApril 23, 2012
Pros: excellent pension and benefits
Cons: calgary
Lots of opportunity for additional training and advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my typical day at work
Customer Service Representative (Full / Part Time) (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 23, 2012
my typical day at work is operating cash register and help the customer in chosing the oil products we carry in our store. at the end of my shift i have to do end of day closing and than i have to do bank reconcilation, lottery reconcilation, complete the paperwork for that day. the one thing i really enjoy on my job is to interact with new people on – more... daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
personally owned and operated
clerk (Former Employee), Spruce Grove, ABApril 21, 2012
the boss was also the owner and was very rude and had no respect
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the bigger the slower
Senior Mine Planning Engineer (Former Employee), CalgaryApril 10, 2012
Pros: pay well, job secure, opportunities for on-line training
Cons: bad management, too many managers less specialists.
The pay was great. As a super giant oil corporate, if your key board is broken, you better buy it for yourself, because it takes a month after have filled up the form to get a replacement.
Over concern in safety at work site.
Most of managers are white and tall. I don't see Asian/African face managers in Heavy Oil.
Too many meeting/talking, less technical – more... works – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment but management not very transparent
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Arlington, TXApril 22, 2014
I wasn't pressurized much in terms of work load and was satisfied with payment. However, previous management promised me a more desirable work schedule but it did not deliver accordingly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
HR Operations Analyst (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 21, 2014
Very Cut-throat. trying to be more like Exxon. Very little job security. Shell was divesting unconventionals assets.

Co-workers were all very intelligent. Almost all that I know of worked on the weekends or afternoons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and enjoyed working with my co-workers
Customer Service Professional II (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 15, 2014
It was a high volume of calls location and gain plenty of skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable customer relationed workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toowoomba, QLDApril 14, 2014
Pros: staff discount
Cons: sometimes clean very dirty toilets
A work day consisted of Customer Service along with stock filling and cleaning duties. All work activities are determined by priority and self organisation skills. Also awareness of site safety at all times in shop and customers on forecourt. All important information and site issues are reported to Site Manager.
Management was available, at different – more... levels, from site manager and area manager and up, for all or any enquiries.
Fellow co-workers, like any persons, are a mixture of personalities. But if any assistance in procedures or enquiries on work duties, any experienced team member is willing to assist.
Sometimes the long hours on your feet can be hard, particularly after a busy day.
I enjoyed the diversity of customer interaction and freedom to apply creativity and advice on store issues, such as, product displays and location in-store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management and workers shared job responsibilities
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 10, 2014
Overall environment with management and workers was very good and always open for improvement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work
Cashier (Former Employee), Warrior, ALApril 8, 2014
Pros: helping people, talking to them
Cons: cleaning up especially the bathrooms
Typical day at the shell was clocking in, cleaning, preparing food. I loved all my co-workers! I am a very friendly likeable person. There's not a lot of people who do not like me. Management was amazing, i loved my boss.' The hardest part was mainly constantly picking up after people. The most enjoyable part were my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
Forecourt Attendant (Former Employee), Auckland, NApril 8, 2014
excellent company to work for great benefits and wonderful training, would recommend this company to other people I know like friends and family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the people I worked with.
Contract employee (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 7, 2014
Document review of materials to determine time frames regarding whether they were ready for destruction or if they were to be kept because of audits, lawsuits, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work & Crazy Hours
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Riverside, CAApril 5, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: no benefits 401k
A typical day at the job is not to bad, cleaning customer service and dealing with all types of people.I learned a lot of things here at this job: Money Handling, Inventory, Customer service, dealing with vendors and many more. All co-workers were very kind and respectable. The hardest part of the job is the hours you have to work because you don't – more... get a set schedule. The most enjoyable part of this job is all the people you get to encounter with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved working there
Vehicle Mechanic (Former Employee), Drums, PAMarch 31, 2014
i worked for a whole day on vehicles..
it was here where i found passion in engines and decided to try aircraft engines.
the hardest part was that we had to use old tools to work,chalenges daily
i enjoyed some part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Design Intern / Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), GAMBAMarch 30, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks and healthcare
Analysis of oil after production and befor loading it in tankers.

I leaned more about oil: composition, production, and storage.
My manager was good and fun. Very simple man.

My co-works were great. I thing it was the best team.

The hardest part of job was when I went to the levy on different sites. I must to be very very fast.

The most enjoyable – more... part of job was after to finich loading a tanker. that used mean the job was good – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and productive
Document Control (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAMarch 27, 2014
Working here is very challenging I like a challenge and I like to stay busy.

About Shell

Royal Dutch Shell plc is incorporated in England and Wales, has its headquarters in The Hague and is listed on the London, Amsterdam, – Read more