Find companies:
Shell
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
528 reviews

Shell Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
cashier (Former Employee), kelowna bc canadaMay 23, 2013
Pros: free coffee
Cons: rude customers
customer service, management was good and fair to there employees. Co workers were friendly and easy to get along with. The hardest part was the dead period between 2am -6am was the worst time for me. I just enjoy being around the public
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shell-Albian Sands
Operator (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABApril 24, 2013
Very busy and fastpased
What I learned: learned the importance of safety on the work site.

Management: Good group to work with and very organized.
Co-workers: learned to problem solve with others and to become a teamplayer.
The hardest part of the job: keeping on top of things and keeping things in order!
The most enjoyable part of the job: Learning – more... all the diferent skills that this company had to offer..
. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and challenging place to work
Process Operator - Third Class (Current Employee), Fort Saskatchewan, ABApril 9, 2013
Pros: family/work ratio
I truly enjoy the ability at Shell to take on challenges, plus the ability to be involved in projects. From being involved in the Brownfield area of construction, to commissioning/starting up of the new plant. Opportunities at Shell are numerous, and being able to apply for these opportunities is great, unlike other smaller plants I have worked where – more... sometimes those openings do not exist. The co-workers here have been awesome.
Another great thing about Shell is the family/work ratio. Plenty of time away from work to spend with family members, either here where I live, or in other parts of the country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day, being polite to customers, serving with care.
Sales Clerk (Part-time) (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBApril 4, 2013
Enjoy talking with people, no stress atmosphere, working behind cash register and cleaning up store duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 26, 2013
Pros: stability
Cons: high turn over rate
Meeting various customers made every day fun!

I learned new projects and tasks that have benefited where I am today.

Management and co-workers were always very amusing and productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Kaladar, OntarioFebruary 25, 2013
This workplace was owned by family members and it was a good place to start star my work and gain experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne Journee-tabernaque
JV Driver-Construction Millwright (Former Employee), ABJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: great bunch of guys from all over canada
Cons: discriminating millwright superintendent
The millwright superintendent was a jerk-discriminator, trying to keep all the work for east coasters. West coasters were deamed to be stealing east coaster's work. He hated us. He favoured New Brunswicker and the NFLDers. The quebecers, he hated also. They are good workers and a great bunch of guys. The quebecers and west coasters were instrumental – more... in bringing in the job for the client. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great multinational, ahead in technology deployment and technical training
Reservoir Engineer (Current Employee), NigeriaDecember 21, 2012
Cons: too many meetings and reviews
Shell offers a great career in multicultural and multidisciplinary teams. Emphasis is on quality delivery without compromising safety
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow placed not very demanding
Cashier/Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBDecember 13, 2012
Pros: free coffee
Cons: very hard to communicate with manager
-usually help customers and keep things clean
-how to work a cash register
-the employer/manager brought his personal problem to work and was not easy to communicate with
-very friendly helpful and really easy to work with them
-dealing with people stealing for the store
-meeting new people getting experience in how to operate a cash register and learning – more... how to work in sales – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dealing with customers
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Revelstoke, BCDecember 7, 2012
Pros: coworkers, helping customers, meeting new people
Cons: rude customers over prepayed gas, not long enough hours
well a typical day at work for me would be, to help customers and the best i could to satisfy them with what they got or would of liked. i did banking, coin orders, dealt with retailers, other business people bring in product and just always enjoyed working with fun people and always had a good work environment. i love to meet new people and just be – more... around all types of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job that cover my bills not challenging
Manager (Current Employee), burlington ontarioDecember 3, 2012
Pros: not a chalenging job
Cons: low pay no breaks
this job is a temporary situation while i find a job that can challenge my interest in escalation in a friendly enviromet
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall view
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Sudbury, OnSeptember 16, 2012
Pros: great team and management
Cons: i can't think of one
I think it's a great place to work. people i work with are awesome and i really love working as a member of such a wonderful team. I enjoy talking to people, this job allows me to do that while I'm working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Copmpany to work with
Office Manger, Personal Assistant (Former Employee), Al-Khobar, Saudi Arabia.September 4, 2012
Pros: lots of consideration to your needs.
Cons: did not honour the basic signed employment agreement.
Shell is one of the best employers I ever worked. They indeed pay you well, look after you well and provide best working environment in accordance with the HSE regulations. I certainly have enjoyed my time with Shell very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lab Technician
Lab technician in Fort McMurray (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABAugust 30, 2012
 Gravimetric Determination of Moisture Content via Halogen Moisture Analyzer. SOP
 Determination of the Sand-of-Fines Ratio by Halogen Moisture Analyzer. SOP
 Methylene Blue Index Standard Operating Procedure. SOP
 Used the Auto-Sieve Shaker. SOP
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coordination of Shell Open University for 2,800 Employees
Human Resources Generalist (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABAugust 27, 2012
Pros: three day weekends (weekly), meet a lot of new friends, non-stressful
Cons: away from home, long hours
Worked for six months in a dynamic atmosphere, alongside many people who showed me how to adapt to the structure here
The people here are amazing, the foundation is breathtaking when helping others who are very willing to learn new skills.

Roles at Shell:
- Employee Relations Analyst 3 months
- Learning & Development Coordinator 3months

Very strong – more... culture for success in that organization! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The fun part was when a regular customer would come in i had his smokes on the counter befor he came in . I new what he wanted.
CASHIER (Former Employee), Vancouver, BC KITSALINOAugust 13, 2012
Pros: the proas were that i got along with everyone.
Cons: i would get some very angry cusrtomers but you must not get mad at them
When ui was working for Shell Canada in Vancouver it got very busy and other times it was slow. I got along great with the customers and also got along with my co-workers. I remember there was this one customer that would come in every week-end and we would chat when it was slow and he would tell me about his trip to Africa with his family and he would – more... bring me a large box of doughnuts for me and my family.The hardest part of the job was when it got really busy there would be a line up from the door to the outside of the side walk and also a line up at the window. There would also be arguments and people would try to yell at me and tell me to hurry up because they are in a hurry, but you have to be patient and tell them that i will be with them as soon as i can, so then they would go some where else. My boss had told me that i did a good job handling the situation. I did not get angry i was calm and collective and polite with the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy, and fun to work for
Full time Closing manager (Former Employee), edmontonJuly 30, 2012
Pros: free carwashes and slurpees
Cons: rude customers, and drive-offs
my work consisted of helping customers, answering related questions about SHELL and AirMiles. I loved the customers and my co-workers, which ive had many over the past 4years. Hardest part of the job was dealing with drive-offs of fuel. I enjoyed the people and working with the computers and cash.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Compensation, no accountability
Engineer (Current Employee), ScotfordJuly 17, 2012
Pros: every 2nd friday off
Cons: all of the above
Management is trained from within and are typically poor performers technically therefore they are moved into supervisory roles as there is no other placement for them. No accountability for the work therefore poor performers and top performers are ranked equally. Terrible morale within the organization. Compensation used to be great but now Shell is – more... low end and HR guidelines are controlled by the Dutch. As a young engineer Shell is a good starting point to gain experience. If you are a senior engineer, don't waste your time, you will be dissapointed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DAILY
Customer Service (Former Employee), fergusJune 29, 2012
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Monitor usage of fuel, run daily consumption reports. Family run business
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Example: Productive and fun workplace with team spirit
Contract and Procurement - Lead (Current Employee), fort mcmuarryJune 14, 2012
Great work environment, great team spirit and increasing stakeholder values.

About Shell

Royal Dutch Shell plc is incorporated in England and Wales, has its headquarters in The Hague and is listed on the London, Amsterdam, – Read more