Shell Employee Reviews

Found 519 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to be an individual
Production Programmer (Former Employee) –  Peace River, AB10 July 2017
Due to Shell Canada's building block system for future development if your job role falls in between the lines and/or does not exist in their platform it makes growth and advancement difficult.
Pros
Free Travel
Cons
Bad atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for students who need money for tuition fees.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON9 July 2017
This job is best suitable for those who are good at dealing with people and want to make some money for side expenses. Do not expect growth of any kind in this job. Just do your job and get the pay cheque.
Pros
Easy money
Cons
No fixed work schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Plant and Field Sites
Journeyman Millwright (Former Employee) –  Caroline, AB5 July 2017
Work was planned out well and co-ordinated on site
Offered a safe working environment
Busy work pace with opportunities and challenges
Good team environment
Close to home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough Times
Logistics Process Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 July 2017
Tough Times in Oil and Gas... difficult for advancement. I have been stuck as a contractor for years now with promise for full-time and no action and still in the same place..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the job, not the people.
Material Handler / Shipper & Receiver (Former Employee) –  Brockville, ON3 July 2017
Shell was a fun job despite my co-workers. I was a "temp" there. There was an unwritten rule about the treatment of all temporary employees. All of us were bullied and otherwise mistreated by all warehouse staff. Management refused to acknowledge there was a problem and turned a blind eye towards it. It was a 2 year contract after which you were laid-off for 6 months. All temporary employees then had the option of returning for another 2 year term. No one ever came back after their 6 month lay-off. No surprise there. In 2014, the entire full-time warehouse staff were fired. The warehouse is now contracted out to an outside warehousing company. Karma is real.
Pros
Fun job
Cons
Excessive Bullying
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working culture
Technical Consultant (Information Management) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 June 2017
always have freedom of opinion and fun at work; no bossing approach paves the way for innovative ideas and solutions . good communication tools and techniques along with good management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier and Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC25 June 2017
good for the students and less educated, always there is a supporting staff to help you out in any trouble. manager are always cooperative. they can set the shift according to your timings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you have great co workers
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 June 2017
Good for people who are willing to talk to strangers and good for those who aren't short tempered and won't get mad easily because some customers will get you angry and the one bad thing that I can think of that I don't like is that when a drive off happens and the license plate is covered the managers/owners get mad at you and sometimes they want you to pay for it
Pros
Good place to talk to others
Cons
Drive offs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Gas Jockey (Former Employee) –  Nestleton Station, ON23 June 2017
I extremely enjoyed working for the Linington family. I enjoyed working by myself , I loved my roll. Enjoyed working with the people and helping the customers. I also enjoyed the different aspects of the job. It was a great job and good experience.
Pros
great local people
Cons
night hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing to say
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 June 2017
No positive reviews for this place.
Was hired on full time then kept going down hours after 2 or 3 mths to being dimissed...Not impressed with the way the Manager operates his business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Shell?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 June 2017
Good to work as a part time employee no burden management is good owner is friendly people are good wages are ok but more shifts are available so good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What i learn
Retail Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Acton, ON20 June 2017
Nice place to work and learn so many things like how to work in a busy environment and how to tackle the different type of customers and also learn what is multitasking.
Pros
Effective Management
Cons
Shortage of staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great people
Intern Recruiter / Recruitment Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 June 2017
Diverse work environment
Supportive Managers for your development
Great collaboration among teams

A lot of reorganizations in the current marketplace
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Stability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment, atmosphere and team members great
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB15 June 2017
Shell was a great place to work. The team atmosphere and environment was great. Great to interact with customers . Enjoyed learning new things and skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Analyst
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 June 2017
• responsible for the financial, budget and reporting processes for Canadian operations
• Trained and mentored new hires in the finance branch
Reported for Toronto and Calgary locations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More communicative
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON10 June 2017
I worked for Shell around 7 months and my overall journey of Shell was prey good. While working in the Shell, I enhanced my communication skills and leadership skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun place to work
Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Canmore, AB10 June 2017
Working at the shell station was an interesting work experience as it was an indopdent station I got to work with some great team players unfortunately the management was not all that great as it seemed they did not care about keeping the station which caused high level of stress between the costomers and the employes as we could not always provide the provide the the full service the expected
Pros
Working outside
Cons
Really bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC9 June 2017
Keeping upkeep while at work while you service patrons. Keeping a positive attitude while working and greeting patrons as they walk into the store. always being on your toes because store reps would be coming in frequently to make sure you have the knowledge of the products that you are selling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot in this environment
Sales Associate (full-time) (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB8 June 2017
Provided quality customer service with a good attitude. Cleaned,
stocked, and maintained the store. Helped cut the shift, count cash and complete paperwork for each day. Assisted customers with problems in a respectful manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
IT management (Former Employee) –  Peace River, AB8 June 2017
I have had a good working experience with Shell.
The work culture, safety culture, salaries and benefits are good.
There are equal opportunities to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shell. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,911 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6