Shell Employee Reviews

Found 481 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Banff, AB12 May 2017
Day always starts with the warm welcome by the fellow colleagues. As learning process never ends, i always try to learn new things. After joining the team I've learned a lots of things like;working in a fast paced environment, customer solving skills, control in stock loss and always try to boost in daily sales by up-selling and cross selling skills. Patience is the key things in this work place. There seems nothing hard if we love our work and worship it. Giving the best customer experience in an open friendly environment is the best part which i enjoy the most.
Pros
Extra hours
Cons
Slow growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB12 May 2017
Able to demonstrate high-level understanding of sales professional selling.
Plan customer calls and visits to provide the appropriate level of service to existing and new customers with a focus on retaining/expanding existing business relationships and acquiring new business relationships.
Increase the value for existing Shell customers through cross, range and right selling
Understand the activity, business and needs of customers, provide sound information and advice on products and services.,
Sell and negotiate win-win solutions with customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job and learnt a lot about customer service
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON11 May 2017
sometimes it gets busy but still I loved working there.I like the cleaning art to its always fun with other co workers and good experience to learnt. I like the staff too
Pros
gifts cards
Cons
drunk people at night
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB9 May 2017
I Learned many things after working shell. I developed my communication skill, my confidence and great customer dealing. my relation with my Manager is like a family member
Pros
enhance communication skill
Cons
fear about safety
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC8 May 2017
Enjoyed working their, the customers made the job lots of regulars, easy going environment, Their commitment to safety is impeccable.
The store managers were great!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not happy to work for a company
Cashier / Bar Attendant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON4 May 2017
Handling money with customers as a cashier
Not good scheduling for employers (no fix schedule)
unloading packages from inventory
Working with your co-workers to solve problems
no benefits for longterm employers
Pros
Communicating with customers
Cons
Schedule, long hours, not good disability accommodation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work, providing an opportunity to be more active and responsible personalility
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 May 2017
Working with shell, was a great experience. Learned about the customer services like in what to treat a person coming to the station or inside the store. Moreover, I learned how to manage the things for which I was given the training. Its a nice place to work which provides an opportunity to deal with people of different cultures which is the most loving part of the job.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Nights are boring sometime
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work with a supporting staff
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 May 2017
Safety standards are well planned with a very flexible schedule that fits your job requirements. A very supporting and friendly staff specially managers at every gas station. Worked at almost three locations and work experience is really awesome.
Pros
Free Coffee
Cons
Night shifts can be bit annoying due to work load.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay and benefits
Surface Land Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 May 2017
No room for advancement.
great pay and benefits
Managers and Team Leads do not think for themselves (yes men).
Back stab culture
Safety is not a priority
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive customer service
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 April 2017
- learning new communication skills
- interacting with new people
- cash handling
- shifts were good depending on my time
- working in a team was comfortable
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good and friendly workplace
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC24 April 2017
the work was good and the environment was good . the work was very intreasting and it was a type of work a oerson never gets bored doing that. i use to work outside
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and laid-back job
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON13 April 2017
Working at Shell is sometimes laid-back but other times it can get busy. Training is stressful because there was rarely any down-time so you are put into it right away. The hardest part of the job was that you just had to last alone until the next shift person.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Turnaround Planner / Shutdown Planner (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB10 April 2017
4&3 shift, O/T paid at x2
Bonuses were good
Management fair
Camp life good
Benefits good
Overall people were good to work with.
Contractors paid well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with good work life balance
Exploration Geologist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 April 2017
Shell is a good company. The struggles of the industry at large has affected this company, but it is a good company. I enjoyed the work culture at Shell.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they suck
Cashier/customer service representive (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB4 April 2017
they are terrible people and i was sexually explotieded by my manager i felt like i didnt want to come to work anymore because of the harrassment i undertook
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Port Moody, BC4 April 2017
Pretty straight forward job, quite easy to do, but god forbid someone calls into shell complaint. You can literally lose your job over the stupidest of reasons if it's called into the complaint line
Pros
Simple
Cons
Complaint line
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good compensation, poor management
Mine Optimization Intern (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB4 April 2017
Shell Canada no longer exists so this doesn't really apply to anyone anymore. The new management may be very different. New and/or current employees are the best ones to speak to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but minimal job security
Manager Convenience Retail North America (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 March 2017
Excellent pay, benefits and people to work with but with very little job security. Global organization with a matrix reporting relationship. So it may be difficult to have a cohesive country strategy
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Poor Job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers were great to work with
Clerk/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK28 March 2017
It was a good place to work. Shift work is required. Customer relations we're good. Co-workers were great to work with. Job was easy, and not to back breaking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Alliston, ON15 March 2017
loved working there. would get busy sometimes but overall liked working there. but hard to deal with some crazy people, they just enter the gas station for fun..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shell. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,571 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6