Find companies:
Shell
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
636 reviews

Shell Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work place, but satisfying and rewarding
Field Operations Planner (Current Employee), Shell Waterton ComplexAugust 31, 2014
Pros: excellent medical, retirement benefits
Cons: the expectation of doing more with less
Work begins early with reviewing previous day and night activities, participating in morning safety and information meeting. Organizing the days scheduled activities and adjusting according to unexpected and reactive activities. I have learned to work quickly and efficiently with others in a team environment to meet HSE and business goals. I work well – more... with my coworkers and we communicate well with each other. Management places a large amount of trust and responsibility on certain individuals which creates confidence and maturity. The Hardest part of the job is performing a large number of tasks while keeping things organized and safe for everyone. Being busy and being able to help in a timely manner when called upon. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent and safe.
Scanner Technician on board the ALLSEAS SOLITAIRE (Former Employee), globalAugust 28, 2014
Pros: salary/bonuses
Cons: long hours as well as high intensity
The work environment although challenging was dynamic,safe and very productive for all involved. It was an experience I will always be grateful to have had as I move on in my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great environment
Contract - IT Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 24, 2014
At Shell, I was responsible for on boarding/off boarding contractors which included; electronic passes, providing software programs through IT, login IDs, hardware, travel arrangements, excel spreadsheets, office/staff ratio logistics and other related tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
3rd Class Power Engineer Co-Op Student (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJuly 24, 2014
Pros: people/co-workers
Cons: n/a
Felt like I was part of the family right from day one.
Everyone is more than happy to teach me something that would be of value to me and my career.
Great learning environment with a huge potential for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only as a starting job
Cashier/Attendant (Former Employee), CalgaryJuly 24, 2014
Pros: free slurpees
Cons: long hours, no lunch break, worked by yourself, so you always had the fear that you might be robbed, shot, stabbed.
I had to be there before 6AM to open up the store, and get the pumps turned on, fill the squeegee buckets, garbage duty, slurpees machine, make coffee, clean bathroom, dust, count inventory, count starting float, work alone for 8 hours, your only break was when there was no customers. Manager was pushy, i think overtired, and overstressed, truly believed – more... that you could sleep when you're dead. Co-workers were decent, but slightly lazy. Hardest part was dealing with people who stole gas at the pump. Most enjoyable was when I heard that in store sales went up13-19%, somewhere in there since I started. I had the best compliment i've ever had. He said: "I know you have a ***** job, you know you have a ***** job, but you always have a smile on your face, greeting customers, being friendly, and I drive past 2 Shell stations, 1 is cheaper, but I come here for the customer service.have a good day!" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start great place to learn about safety
Water operator (Former Employee), Fort St JohnJuly 2, 2014
Pros: good social activities
Cons: not enough hours
I learned a lot a bit inconsistent but over all a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
welder
shovel maintenance welder (Current Employee), fort mcmurrayJuly 1, 2014
I love my job, I currently work for shell as I love working for the company its unfortunate that I am only a co-op student who has recently obtained a journeyman status and now my contract is coming to an end I am taking finding employment within the oil field companies on my own. the every day learning experience that comes with working within an oilfield – more... company is something that should be greatly appreciated with all the surrounding trades that you work with I can gladly say I am a well rounded individual – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work at
gas station clerk/agent (Current Employee), Ladner, BCJune 27, 2014
Pros: easy job
Cons: no benefits
manager is very friendly, will help you in any way she can.
morning shifts are busy, specially in the afternoon when the kids finish school.
most enjoyable part of the job is that i can converse with people to actually practice my english.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly skilled work force
Senior Process Engineer (Current Employee), Scotford Refinery, Fort SaskatchewanJune 23, 2014
Highly skilled work force and good management. A good working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), West Kelowna, BCJune 20, 2014
Pros: free fountain drinks
Cons: boring
was very clean, great management for sure,
great co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Retail Store Supervisor (Current Employee), Surrey, BCJune 14, 2014
Nice Place to work, Good time spend with customers

Very good co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract Management Analyst
Contract Management Analyst (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 6, 2014
Pros: site visits to fort mcmurray and new learning opportunities
Cons: long hours 5 days a week.
My job description changed significantly from interview to actual work. I worked as a contractor and discovered that I prefer to work as an employee. My preference is buying large engineered packages and at Shell I was responsible for Service Contracts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Stratford, ONJune 1, 2014
Good experience, you learn a lot about movies, cigarettes, and lottery tickets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Builds relationships that contribute to the company's sucess
Principal Project Controls Specialist (Current Employee), Fort McmurrayMay 12, 2014
Pros: actively engages in meaningful discussion about safety with co-workers and clients.
* Understands BeyonZero principles and adhere to safe work practices and standards.

* Keeps commitments and complete work by established deadlines for Project Control functions.

* Produces quality work that meets expections and demondtrates my current job-related fucntional skills and knowledge to update benchmark matrices in accordance with " Industry – more... best" performance and as a tool for continuous improvement in future project executions.

* To Maintain teamwork , for a solution- oriented approach while working with others, even under strained conditions.

*Most Enjoyable part of the Job - HSE Leadership – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineers looking after Engineers regardless of skill set, knowledge
Former employee (Former Employee), Scotford, Fort SaskatchewanMay 8, 2014
Pros: none anymore
Cons: poor ethics, values, morals, work overload, low pay, mediocre benefits, unrealistic expectations
Used to be a great company to work for with great team work and morale. HSSE is out the window, now being managed by engineers who have no knowledge, experience or understanding of what it takes to deliver a culture of safety. Cost cutting everywhere but HSSE was a big hit. Combined Refinery, Chemicals and Upgrader HSSE which was needed but eliminated – more... 7 full time positions to do it, retained people that there were no positions for because they're engineers, brought in contract workers to replace the full time positions. Department now run by mostly engineers, yes men/women, that have no clue how to manage teams. Basically turned a high performing team with a great culture and collaborative approach into a joke. No accountability for senior managers! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Maccallum roadMay 5, 2014
A typical schedule at work includes greeting the customer, achieve upsales target, explaining customer what they are asking etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Customer Services Team Leader (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCMay 4, 2014
Pros: easy going culture
Cons: no breaks
typically dealing with customers who either wanted goods or gas. I learned alot about counting inventory, accounting, and dealing with unsatisfied customers. management treated employees pretty fairly. never had co-workers, mostly worked by my self. hardest part was during rush hour, dealing with an excessive amount of customers. Most enjoyable part – more... was being able to help out a customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Layoffs, staff quitting, company very disorganized
Upstream America (Former Employee), CanadaApril 27, 2014
Pros: company benefits
Cons: unstable company
Shell has a "third party" hired to help turn the company around. Management has no clue what they are doing, no communication, staff members overloaded with work, and no moral anymore.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxing job
sales associate (Former Employee), kennedy rd, and passmore aveApril 25, 2014
Cons: long hours.
there are no major stress factors, because mainly the work that is being done is cashier job. and it is just handling money, and depositing money in the safe, and making sure that you are safe, as well as the store is safe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging
Manager/Retailer (Former Employee), Burlington, ONMarch 28, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: far location
Being the retailer at Macs is a challenge.Its like running multiple businesses in one entity .A typical day would start by signing in to the lottery terminal ,prepare scratch tickets ,greet the morning customers who most times enter the store with me to get the newspaper,to make sure the milk order is in ,check the expiry date on the deli and sandwiches – more... to prepare the morning coffee and making sure all is ready for my customers in the shortest time.
I worked as an attendant ,and when my helper comes I shift to the manager duties in my little back office ,reporting the sales and all financial reports to the head office meeting the deadline in a timely manner .The hardest thing I faced there is long hours as sometimes I had to run a one person show and work for 16 hours .The only disadvantage of this business was the location being far from where I live ,not because of commuting to work but because of the difficulties to get there during extreme weather conditions as there was remote areas with no lights .I still find it a joy there because not only I made loyal customers ,they became my friends and I became a part of their community . – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Shell

Royal Dutch Shell plc is incorporated in England and Wales, has its headquarters in The Hague and is listed on the London, Amsterdam, – Read more