Shell Employee Reviews

Found 524 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there, like interacting with customers
Cashier/Stockperson (Former Employee) –  Wembley, AB14 October 2017
Enjoyed the job working with the public. Would still be there if Shell hadn't closed down location.My boss was very easy to work for and understanding, for needed time off.
Pros
Enjoyed my job with coworkerand customers
Cons
closed down business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job here is quite moderate it’s not so good and not so bad!
Store Attendant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 October 2017
Firstly they do not provide a fresh uniform!! Secondly they delay the payment!! The should at least provide a fresh uniform and clear the payment as soon as possible because I’m a student and I have to pay my due bills!!
Pros
No Pros
Cons
Delayed payments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First impressions are very important in this job
Sales Associat (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK7 October 2017
First impressions are very important in this job. The moment one begins to communicate with a customer, one is being judged. The way one communicates with a customer will not only influence how the conversation develops, but the overall impression of the CSR and the organization they represent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail agréable
Caissier/pompiste (Former Employee) –  Venise-en-Québec, QC4 October 2017
Belle job! Le personnel est chaleureux & amicale. Au pompe tu peux faire bien du tips
Pros
café gratuit
Cons
courtes pause
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work in
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  windermere,Edmonton,AB25 September 2017
It has Friendly environments, Its wages aren't that good. Sometime long hours to get yourself smooth on the expenses. Most of the time bosses asked you more work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 September 2017
The working place was very clean. I was able to learn new things that how to operate a Gas station and how to deal with problems(mechanical and theft).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very safety, career and performance minded
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB13 September 2017
I will always be grateful to have experienced the Shell safety cultured and will take it with me for the rest of my life.
Over 11 years, I have gone through 5 roles. There is always a new possibility for a career change.
Shell always works towards making high performers, those that are on the lower end do get some help however that depends on the direct supervisors. Be mindful, a low performer for Shell is likely an average performer anywhere else.
Shell has a ranking systems and based on that, some will make it to independent contributor, others into management positions and the few groomed to become VPs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced with lots of learning
Sales Attendant (Former Employee) –  Regina SK11 September 2017
Your day will fly by because there is cleaning customers and stocking to do. Safety is top of list of things to learn and if you good with multi-tasking you will love it here it is challenging.
Pros
easy shcedules
Cons
no breaks taken when you can
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly structured workplace with good benefits.
Internship - Production Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 September 2017
Shell is a well established company with many processes in place. For those that do not enjoy such structure, Shell is not the place for you. I enjoyed my work term as a coop student as they seemed to provide many opportunities to grow.
Pros
Good training
Cons
Many processes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast-paced
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC4 September 2017
I enjoy working there, there's always something to do. Never a dull moment, always get to learn how to deal with different kind of customers.A nice place for people to work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonne
commis (Current Employee) –  Batiscan, QC31 August 2017
jai beaucoup appris sur le fonctionnement d'un commerce comme celui si
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Project Controls Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB29 August 2017
Shell treats its employees very well. Excellent work/life balance and compensation package. The job security however, is something that you can not rely on. Because of oil price fluctuations, even full-time employees are getting laid off.
Pros
work life balance and compensation
Cons
culture and unstable job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Shell growing every minute
Process Engineer - GTL (Former Employee) –  QA29 August 2017
Working with Shell growing every minute, as a process engineer I had learned a lot. The higher management team was so supportive, expert in their fields so in conclusion working under this supervision you will gain a massive technical knowledge such as preparing P&IDs drawing and modified it when it is required.

Thank you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good customers terrible boss
Cashier/ Gas Attendant (Former Employee) –  Shoal Lake, MB25 August 2017
The job postion itself was good, decent hours and good staff to help.The boss wasn't very good at what he was doing and he usuallywasn't even around if you needed a manager or some help.
Pros
decent pay
Cons
boss
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good starting job
Manager Kathy Pratt (Former Employee) –  Lindsay, ON23 August 2017
Enjoyed working there, very first work experience, Was very educational. Learned a lot about customer service and dealing with issues that may pop up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun at job with lots of responsibilities
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 August 2017
Being independent was one of the best dreams of mine.And going to work is a fun experience.You meet new people every day of different cultures and different races. You won't believe that variety of people come there. There are many responsibilities also about security and hazards.
You have to be very Active while working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and rewarding experience as a contract IT Consultant
Senior Business Analyst (Contract) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 August 2017
Ability to work on various Retail IT projects while learning new skills across a diverse network of retail sites.
Point of Sale software plus inbound & outbound integration experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I choose it as I was student and need part time work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Comox Valley, BC13 August 2017
I liked to work here but It didn't provides me growth. I was flexible, good working environment, near from my home. I liked my supervisor. He was a nice guy. Always helped me.
Pros
flexible
Cons
not growth in career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Petroleum Technologist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 August 2017
Typical day at work is database and software management.
I learned new skills and software.
Management is very supportive.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the nice building and offices.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Lead Civil QA (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB2 August 2017
It was a good experience working with shell. I worked closely to the management learned alot. All the required tool for the job was provided. All in all it was a good experience.

thanks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shell. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,956 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6