Shell

958 reviews

Shell Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working experience
Safety, salesman ship (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 28, 2015
nice working experience with a potential to grow with not enough salary benefits.that work experience was quite valuable for me as it was my 1st ever job experience in canada and i learnt alot from that personally and professionally
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours
Cashier (Former Employee), Regina, SKAugust 27, 2015
I enjoyed how I was able to work different shifts during the week. The management of the Shell gas bar that I was employed at was awesome to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World class global company to work for.
HSSE Coordinator (Current Employee), Calgary, CanadaAugust 23, 2015
World class global company to work for. Great work life balance and learning.Global career opportunities and growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Field PC Manager (Former Employee), Peace River, ABAugust 22, 2015
Excellent Company to work for, in all aspects. Camping, flights, work environment all high standard. Staff are very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Manager (Former Employee), Ridgeway, ONAugust 14, 2015
This was my first job being promoted from a gas attendant to supervisor all the way to being a manager.
My coworkers were all amazing I never had any issues with them at all.
Typical day at work when – more... I wasn't at school would start at 6am to 9pm. Coming in counting the cash, making sure all the pumps were on and working, car wash was working smoothly, employees had checked in on time for work.
The hardest part of the job is that it was full serve so winters were very cold and bitter but we make it through them.
The best part of my job was being given such s great opportunity for working as a manager and meeting some amazing and understanding customers who always made my job better without making a hassle. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Automotive technician
auto tech (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABAugust 7, 2015
I worked 12 hour shifts.7 on 7 off .Week of days week of nights .I stayed in camp ,Flew home to Grande Prairie on days off, I repaired company equipment .I took courses to enhance my knowledge on other – more... mining equipment .Highly competent in Diag and repairs of automobiles .Very strong people skills .I am an excellent team player .Management team were supportive and helpful .I enjoyed working with my team .Great bunch of guys .Job was not difficult for the most part. I enjoyed working and learning along side my team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
treat people very well
Project Financial Accountant (Current Employee), CalgaryAugust 4, 2015
As Shell has offshored accouting transaction work load to oversea FO so I maily worked on oversea coordinating, process improvemenet, vendor management, and across department communication.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
With the Oil price decline, the company is shedding many jobs
Downstream (Former Employee), London, UKJuly 28, 2015
I have enjoyed working for Shell, but recently the environment has gotten much tougher with lots of good staff being transferred or being let go, so hopefully soon it will go back to being a great company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
better than other minimum pay jobs
Sales Associate (Current Employee), maple Ridge, BCJuly 26, 2015
There's not much to be worried about,
so, there's work/life balance.

Light activities which we do as fun in a team.Time passes by fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly skilled staff and crew
Journeyman Millwright (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJuly 25, 2015
Wonderful place to work; with great benefits. Unfortunately with the low price of oil 150 skilled trades people were laid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with good lunch rooms and all available vendor machines ,stoves etc.
Heavy Equipment technician (Former Employee), Albian sands fort mcmurrayJuly 24, 2015
Pros: everything is in place
Cons: long hours
This is one of the best company`s too work for with good wages and benefits for individuals.The workplace is very relaxed but very safety concerned.Decent amount of politics on the floor but expected.excellent upper class management [workshop manager] otherwise not everyone has the same opinion and experience of this great company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Work Atmosphere
Customer service / key holder (Former Employee), leducJuly 23, 2015
A typical day at work is helping customers with their purchases and stocking shelves and make sure the cleanliness of the overall store inside and out is up to store standards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work place effected by huge cuts.
Electrician (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJuly 21, 2015
Pros: Flights provided
Cons: Worst lunch selection have ever seen.
Due to recent cutback the Albian Site has become a uneasy place to work with little or no job security. No body wants to share or help each other for fear of losing there job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Cashier (Former Employee), London, ONJuly 16, 2015
Pros: Taco Bell was across the street
Cons: Drunk customers
Working at shell was a great way to interact with customers and co workers. Being social was never a problem so the job was easy to handle. The hardest part of the job was working nights, and being afraid – more... of what could happen. Although nothing happened, I learned a lot about being prepared for any scenario. A typical day at work required salting the pavement, daily counts of lottery tickets and cigarettes. Thoroughly cleaning of shop and restrooms. I also had the privilege of helping manager with counting safe drops, and storing them at the bank. The last thing the job required me to do was stock shelves and maintain a clean, well stocked look in the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brand Recognation
Operational Cluster Manager (Current Employee), Victoria, BCJuly 4, 2015
Pros: Always be a Leader in Customer service, Health and safety oriented company, Teachnology oriented organisation.
Cons: Long Hours. It's hard to find employees for Gasoline industry.
It's honor to work for a Gasoline company. I would like to keep continue working and want to establish my self as a brand Ambassador.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prior to the market fall out Shell was a great place to be employed.
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Fort Saskatchewan, ABJuly 4, 2015
Pros: Workdays were 8.25 hours with every second Friday off
Cons: Oil and gas market.
Shell provided great learning opportunities, of which I took advantage of during my time there.

Until the market stabilizes I am not confident to work in this industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Attendant (Former Employee), Langley, BCJune 22, 2015
Pros: relaxing
Cons: n/a
I have learned being a gas attendent is alot harder then it looks but i thought it was more for me in the industry. i liked meeting the new ppl everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About Lubana Foods
Retail Operational Manager (Former Employee), St. Albert, ABJune 16, 2015
Pros: good environment
Cons: less opportunities
Company and Management was good but there was very slow growth and less opportunities.
I would love to work in same environment as staff was awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 16, 2015
Working for this location was often times hectic with management and staff not knowing what each other was doing. Dealing with the customers was always a positive experience though
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard on the mind
Maintenance trade (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJune 6, 2015
Pros: money
Cons: long long hours 415am to 730pm
Absolutely no accountability for management. Constantly watching money being thrown away and mismanaged. Safety routes don't make sense and are to such an extreme that they have forgotten the whole point – more... to begin with. All about the amount of check marks in the boxes whether it makes sense or not. If you can turn your brain off its the right place for you. Money is really good if you can handle being surrounded by idiots and bombarded by idiocy. – less
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
Shell headquarters:
Carel van Bylandtlaan 16, 2596 HR The Hague, The Netherlands

Postal address:
PO box 162, 2501 AN The Hague, The Netherlands

Revenue
more than $10bn (CAD)
Employees
10,000+
Industry
Links
Shell website

Twitter

Facebook