Shell Employee Reviews

Found 485 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you have great co workers
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 June 2017
Good for people who are willing to talk to strangers and good for those who aren't short tempered and won't get mad easily because some customers will get you angry and the one bad thing that I can think of that I don't like is that when a drive off happens and the license plate is covered the managers/owners get mad at you and sometimes they want you to pay for it
Pros
Good place to talk to others
Cons
Drive offs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Gas Jockey (Former Employee) –  Nestleton Station, ON23 June 2017
I extremely enjoyed working for the Linington family. I enjoyed working by myself , I loved my roll. Enjoyed working with the people and helping the customers. I also enjoyed the different aspects of the job. It was a great job and good experience.
Pros
great local people
Cons
night hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing to say
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 June 2017
No positive reviews for this place.
Was hired on full time then kept going down hours after 2 or 3 mths to being dimissed...Not impressed with the way the Manager operates his business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 June 2017
Good to work as a part time employee no burden management is good owner is friendly people are good wages are ok but more shifts are available so good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What i learn
Retail Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Acton, ON20 June 2017
Nice place to work and learn so many things like how to work in a busy environment and how to tackle the different type of customers and also learn what is multitasking.
Pros
Effective Management
Cons
Shortage of staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gérante ---
caissier de nuit (Former Employee) –  Trois-Rivières, QC20 June 2017
gérante agressive et intimidante ne supporte pas ses employer et diminue les autres employer
Pros
travail equipe
Cons
insécurité d emploie
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ce que jai appris
caissière (Former Employee) –  Varennes, QC16 June 2017
cest bien, mais je n'ai pas appris grand chose appart faire payer les clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great people
Intern Recruiter / Recruitment Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 June 2017
Diverse work environment
Supportive Managers for your development
Great collaboration among teams

A lot of reorganizations in the current marketplace
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Stability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment, atmosphere and team members great
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB15 June 2017
Shell was a great place to work. The team atmosphere and environment was great. Great to interact with customers . Enjoyed learning new things and skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Analyst
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 June 2017
• responsible for the financial, budget and reporting processes for Canadian operations
• Trained and mentored new hires in the finance branch
Reported for Toronto and Calgary locations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More communicative
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON10 June 2017
I worked for Shell around 7 months and my overall journey of Shell was prey good. While working in the Shell, I enhanced my communication skills and leadership skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun place to work
Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Canmore, AB10 June 2017
Working at the shell station was an interesting work experience as it was an indopdent station I got to work with some great team players unfortunately the management was not all that great as it seemed they did not care about keeping the station which caused high level of stress between the costomers and the employes as we could not always provide the provide the the full service the expected
Pros
Working outside
Cons
Really bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC9 June 2017
Keeping upkeep while at work while you service patrons. Keeping a positive attitude while working and greeting patrons as they walk into the store. always being on your toes because store reps would be coming in frequently to make sure you have the knowledge of the products that you are selling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot in this environment
Sales Associate (full-time) (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB8 June 2017
Provided quality customer service with a good attitude. Cleaned,
stocked, and maintained the store. Helped cut the shift, count cash and complete paperwork for each day. Assisted customers with problems in a respectful manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
IT management (Former Employee) –  Peace River, AB8 June 2017
I have had a good working experience with Shell.
The work culture, safety culture, salaries and benefits are good.
There are equal opportunities to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Customer service oriented Security and Safety (Former Employee) –  KW8 June 2017
It is your own business and put lots of time and money in the business. You should be ready any time to go to work.
Yes, you can make money and no live.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn many things and good place to interact with customers.
Store supervisor (Current Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB6 June 2017
Good staff, very cleaned store, learned many small things about management and how to run the store.Every items in the store use to be well organised. Never use to get complains from the customers because I always use to keep the store well cleaned and organised, also always solved issues in best positive attitude.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great salary and benefit but inefficient work culture
Project Engineer (Engineer-In-Training) (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB5 June 2017
Great salary and benefit with inefficient work culture, mainly due to the huge variety of the employees and what they care about, especially on site. Hard to compare with the local oil companies operating in the same area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enterprise safety culture.
Portfolio Risk Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 June 2017
I really liked the Shell safety culture that has contributed to change myself with respect to my HSSE contribution in our day to day work and my impact on the environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Company, But still needs a union to ensure fair treatment
Predictive Maintenance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta19 May 2017
Shell is generally a good company. However they have some internal systems with Occupational Health that need to be updated and improved. And in certain cases supervision is not up speed with modern day practices
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shell. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,580 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

Ben Van Beurden
74%
834 ratings
Add your rating