Shell Employee Reviews

Found 498 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
Gas Station Attendant/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Aylmer, ON17 July 2017
As I believe all employment, the company has room for improvements in all areas. A typical day at work would include staying focus on the job at hand at all times and go home safe. I've learned several safety precautions, which I do practice at home. Management was in my opinion fare, but room for improvement in the area of working together with their employees (meaning people skills and better communication). The work culture there was a bit stressful because of the division between management and employees. The hardest part of the job would be the lack of tolerance for human error on management's part and the lack of concern on employee's part, whit both hindering the success of production. However, for me the most enjoyable part of the job was working with people. Having the opportunity to relieve the stress of the day, by having a team to laugh and encourage one another made it all worth being there and keep the focus to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shell
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC13 July 2017
Ouvrir le magasin
Compter les lotteries
Faire des rapports de journée de travail
Nettoyer le magasin
Vendre
Compter les caisses
Vider les poubelles
v
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Sales Associate Representative (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 July 2017
working as sales representative and dealing with many clients makes the working hours fun and easy to pass also it's a friendly working environment .
Pros
friendly enviroment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to be an individual
Production Programmer (Former Employee) –  Peace River, AB10 July 2017
Due to Shell Canada's building block system for future development if your job role falls in between the lines and/or does not exist in their platform it makes growth and advancement difficult.
Pros
Free Travel
Cons
Bad atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for students who need money for tuition fees.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON9 July 2017
This job is best suitable for those who are good at dealing with people and want to make some money for side expenses. Do not expect growth of any kind in this job. Just do your job and get the pay cheque.
Pros
Easy money
Cons
No fixed work schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Plant and Field Sites
Journeyman Millwright (Former Employee) –  Caroline, AB5 July 2017
Work was planned out well and co-ordinated on site
Offered a safe working environment
Busy work pace with opportunities and challenges
Good team environment
Close to home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
une belle aventure
Gérant (Current Employee) –  1450 woodland5 July 2017
c,estait un travail ordinaire et aujourd’hui je me sens vraiment a la recherche d`un travail avec mon domaine d` Etude
Pros
temps partiel
Cons
cest pas le domaine de mes etudes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough Times
Logistics Process Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 July 2017
Tough Times in Oil and Gas... difficult for advancement. I have been stuck as a contractor for years now with promise for full-time and no action and still in the same place..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the job, not the people.
Material Handler / Shipper & Receiver (Former Employee) –  Brockville, ON3 July 2017
Shell was a fun job despite my co-workers. I was a "temp" there. There was an unwritten rule about the treatment of all temporary employees. All of us were bullied and otherwise mistreated by all warehouse staff. Management refused to acknowledge there was a problem and turned a blind eye towards it. It was a 2 year contract after which you were laid-off for 6 months. All temporary employees then had the option of returning for another 2 year term. No one ever came back after their 6 month lay-off. No surprise there. In 2014, the entire full-time warehouse staff were fired. The warehouse is now contracted out to an outside warehousing company. Karma is real.
Pros
Fun job
Cons
Excessive Bullying
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working culture
Technical Consultant (Information Management) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 June 2017
always have freedom of opinion and fun at work; no bossing approach paves the way for innovative ideas and solutions . good communication tools and techniques along with good management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Shell?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shell - filgo
Commis (Former Employee) –  Saint-prosper-de-dorchester, QC26 June 2017
très belle gagne mais employeur moyen...
très sévère pour le salaire et les demandes...
Pros
belle gagne, gérante très gentille
Cons
tros strict
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier and Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC25 June 2017
good for the students and less educated, always there is a supporting staff to help you out in any trouble. manager are always cooperative. they can set the shift according to your timings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you have great co workers
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 June 2017
Good for people who are willing to talk to strangers and good for those who aren't short tempered and won't get mad easily because some customers will get you angry and the one bad thing that I can think of that I don't like is that when a drive off happens and the license plate is covered the managers/owners get mad at you and sometimes they want you to pay for it
Pros
Good place to talk to others
Cons
Drive offs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Gas Jockey (Former Employee) –  Nestleton Station, ON23 June 2017
I extremely enjoyed working for the Linington family. I enjoyed working by myself , I loved my roll. Enjoyed working with the people and helping the customers. I also enjoyed the different aspects of the job. It was a great job and good experience.
Pros
great local people
Cons
night hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing to say
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 June 2017
No positive reviews for this place.
Was hired on full time then kept going down hours after 2 or 3 mths to being dimissed...Not impressed with the way the Manager operates his business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 June 2017
Good to work as a part time employee no burden management is good owner is friendly people are good wages are ok but more shifts are available so good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What i learn
Retail Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Acton, ON20 June 2017
Nice place to work and learn so many things like how to work in a busy environment and how to tackle the different type of customers and also learn what is multitasking.
Pros
Effective Management
Cons
Shortage of staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gérante ---
caissier de nuit (Former Employee) –  Trois-Rivières, QC20 June 2017
gérante agressive et intimidante ne supporte pas ses employer et diminue les autres employer
Pros
travail equipe
Cons
insécurité d emploie
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ce que jai appris
caissière (Former Employee) –  Varennes, QC16 June 2017
cest bien, mais je n'ai pas appris grand chose appart faire payer les clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great people
Intern Recruiter / Recruitment Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 June 2017
Diverse work environment
Supportive Managers for your development
Great collaboration among teams

A lot of reorganizations in the current marketplace
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Stability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shell. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,646 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6