Shell Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bon travail et une bonne formation
Caissière, service à la clientèle (Current Employee) –  Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, QC15 January 2018
j'aime bien ce travaille, j'ai beaucoup appris que ce soit sur la caisse enregistreuse ou sur la machine de loto-québec ou sur le service a clientèle. je n'avais jamais utilisé cela et la formation qu'on ma donner était excellente j'ai appris rapidement, il ne m'ont pas donner trop d'informations d'un coup et c'étais très apprécier.
Pros
de bon collègues
Cons
aucune pause vu que c'est un travail ou j'étais seul.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 January 2018
The work environment is not very safe and has a lot of risks. The management does not co-operate with the workers and there are no work benefits. There is also no increment in salary and the salary is very low.
Pros
Shift schedules
Cons
No increment in salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day you will something from gas station
Site Manager (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON15 January 2018
Every day you will something from gas station. Billiant gas station with lots of opportunities and tasks. You will get customer experiance and how you deal with customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Night shift cashier (Current Employee) –  Castlegar, BC13 January 2018
Grave yard shift
How to manage a store
friendly
Like brothers to each other
No complaints my employer is like brother to me.
No strict supervision so i love to work by my own way.
Pros
good working environment
Cons
Night shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shell
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 January 2018
honestly was a great job i did how ever have issues with my owners on a regular basis the were always away on vacation leaving management to do everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees have been good in handling their responsibilities at work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB9 January 2018
I mostly worked with my manager and in return I learned a lot from her. It is not a hard work and very simple compare to my past work experience but talking to different customers everyday at this gas station makes my time go faster and smoother. Less stress and I always finish my job with a smile. I was happy here.
Cons
low salary and no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going Downhill
Chemical Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB8 January 2018
Was a great place to work in the past. Salary and benefits are still good. Toxic corporate culture has taken hold though. No one wants to tell their manager when something isn't working so the systems remain broken.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shell gas sation
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Pemberton, BC6 January 2018
I am a strong work and work hard and always put my customers first and always did my task that was give to me l got along good with my coworkers and boss but l did not get along with the owner of the gas station he did not know how to treat his staff with respect
Cons
I work grave yard shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See comments below
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 January 2018
Work/life balance is good. Some employees take advantage. Morale needs to be brought up. Employees going through job postings continually does not help the morale.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail productif
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Sainte-Marie, QC3 January 2018
On ne manque pas de travail au shell! Toujours occuper a faire quelque chose a faire.
Pros
Assurer d'avoir des heurs
Cons
Pas de pause, assurance maladie
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly enviroment
Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 January 2018
This job helped me to grow as a professionally and personally as well.i enjoyed working in a team ,that helped me to build up confidence and number of technical skills.in starting phase of my job, my team helped me lot where i was lacking
Pros
paid break, health beanifit
Cons
not flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great organization but Not agile
Lead Rotating Equipment Engineer (Former Employee) –  STCC Calgary NW17 December 2017
Shell is overall a great organization to work for with lots of work and life balance. One can chose to work from office or home with a reasonable mix . Shell however is not agile and any change take unreasonably long.
Too many sections with lots pf overlap.
Engineers working in Silos/Compartments
Very rigid hierarchy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours with out a break.
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Oak Bay, BC15 December 2017
The job was standing at the cash register and helping customers. I learned the ability to work for 8 hours without a break. The work place culture was unforgiving and not a very enjoyable place to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Journée typique
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Saint-gervais, QC6 December 2017
Dans nos première journées de travail, nous apprenons à ce servir de la caisse et aussi on doit apprendre à bien servir les clients.
Pros
Un café ou une slush gratuite par jour
Cons
Pas de pause
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC2 December 2017
it was a terrific place to work, it was flexible with hours. and they trained you well and always had someone there for you if you needed help with questions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail difficile
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC29 November 2017
coin pas sécuritaire, bonne expérience, acquis plusieurs qualité.
Pros
Rabais employer
Cons
aucune pause
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Controls Specialist
Project Controls Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 November 2017
Amazing company to work for. Lots of growth opportunities. Really invest in their people. Experience like no other and allow you to grow in multiple positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good staff, bad managing.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC24 November 2017
The boss was HORRIBLE with communication. Wouldn't have schedules ready until just before the two week period was up. Then she would do changes drastically: I worked 4-6 shifts a week during the afternoons and I got cut back to working 2 days a week in the mornings. So doing 2-10pm 4-6 times a week to changing 6am-2pm 2 days a week ON WEEKENDS killed me.
Pros
Free coffee and slushies. Great coworkers. Lovely Customers
Cons
Long hours. Horrible Customers. Not good training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very good
Cook and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB24 November 2017
Worked at a shell gas station about 15 minutes north of lloydminster and the job was awful. Awful hours, and not very organized pay process. Made minimum wage which was 9.55 at the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great company to work for
Project Development Enginee (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 November 2017
I have worked for Shell over 7 years and enjoyed lots. Shell is very structured company and people will know exactly what are expected from them. You will be trained to follow the system with no exception.
Pros
good salary, very good balance between life and work, flexible working style
Cons
long decision process, very unstable due to oil price
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport