Shell Gas Station Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 95 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very disorginized
Store Clerk (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBMay 21, 2014
very disorganized when schedualing between multipul locations
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience overall.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  vancouver, B.C.May 15, 2014
It has been a good experience so far, while working in Vancouver international airport and at Shell gas station. The most important thing i learned here is how to manage people. Secondly i also learned the key aspects of managing money. Lastly how to prepare the end of day sales files and match it with the cash present and submit the report to Shell online.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, cashier great people
Cashier (Current Employee) –  WinfieldMay 13, 2014
Cashier, good customers, regular customers, friendly people, good manager and boss/ owner.
Pros
free fountain drinks
Cons
slow hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Atmosphere
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BCApril 26, 2014
My work day were usually pretty busy. Co workers were great to work with. I kept myself busy throughout the day. Management was very good to me.

It gives me an experience of how to make cutomers happy through welcoming them and helping out them
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ONApril 22, 2014
Learned a lot from my assistant manager and manager. Very helpful during covering shifts and dealing with any miserable customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accuracy in beginning and closing the shift!!
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 14, 2014
1)Had a problem when all debit and credit machine went down.
2)Gained knowledge when there is no help on site how to troubleshoot.
3)Managed the area which require accurate supervision on sites.
4)Best team I ever worked with when any of the worker seeking assistance.
5)The toughest part of the job when few things are compulsory to serve without any assistance.
6)The most enjoyable part when we win the questionnaire on smokes and when I win the highest amount gift card.
Pros
free drinks and chips and training
Cons
long shift hours and supervise the site alone
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun working place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BCFebruary 26, 2014
working environment was not that good because management was not professional and sometimes partial to some employees.
Pros
free coffee.
Cons
partial management and safety issue sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting for a first job
pumps attendant (Former Employee) –  Saint-Hyacinthe, QCFebruary 7, 2014
This was my first job and i like it.
It was good for develloping some social skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical but flexible work environment
Gas Attendant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 16, 2014
A typical day would consist of multiple duties for the shift and the attendant must find the time throughout his/her shift to complete these tasks. I have learned costumer service skills. Co-workers are very approachable and have a set schedule and switch working days if need be. Management has a simple goal in mind which is to sell as much inventory as possible. The hardest part of this job is dealing with intoxicated customers and other troublemakers. The most enjoyable part is the service well served.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was simple but boring
Gas bar attendant (Former Employee) –  Uxbridge, ONDecember 17, 2013
Pumped gas, served customers, cleaned the garage. It's a car repair shop/gas station.

I learned how to use a cash register and deal with customers in a more mature way

Had no co-workers on the job

Hardest part of the job was dealing with the boredom

Most enjoyable part was receiving tips
Pros
lots of down time
Cons
really boring
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work with great bosses
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Chilliwack, BCDecember 3, 2013
Enjoyed working here, worked at one that had status so it was definatly a little chaotic sometimes did over 15000 status cards a month on average
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Gas Pump Attendant (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ONNovember 27, 2013
everyone there was fun to work with, always had a good time, wasn't a big fan of working outside in the cold.
Pros
nice people
Cons
outside work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Bar Attendant/ Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Fergus ONOctober 31, 2013
worked with cash
sold products
helped costumers
fast paced which i loved the most
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly atmosphere
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BCOctober 21, 2013
it gives me an experience of how to make cutomers happy through welcoming them and helping out them
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic Job
Sales Associate / Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONSeptember 30, 2013
•Estimated or quoted prices, credit terms, trade-in allowances, warranties and delivery dates
•Prepared merchandise for purchase, rental or lease
•Prepared sales, rental or leasing contracts and accept cash, cheque, credit card or automatic debit payment
•Assist in display of merchandise
•Maintained sales records for inventory control
•Operated computerized inventory record keeping and re-ordering systems
•Promoted quickly to assistant store manager
•Prepared weekly orders and organized merchandise on store shelves based on the sponsor’s requirements
•Managed financial aspects of the shift
•Learned how to deal with the different cultures
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Friendly
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BCSeptember 18, 2013
my work day were usually pretty busy. Co workers were great to work with. I kept myself busy throughout the day. Management was very good to me.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job to jump start a future
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BCAugust 26, 2013
I learned useful tools for the working world. I learned cleaning tips, how to stock shelves properly
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easygoing yet stressful
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 25, 2013
I was able to balance this work out for a while with school with no problem until exams arrived but until then, it was easily manageable. It was relaxing to work there as it didn't take a toll on my body or health but it was stressful when it came to dealing with anomalies I had no control over such as customers who would fill gas and drive away without paying. Though I had no control over it, it put a big burden on me. I ended up quitting due to school exams.
Pros
fine pay, easygoing job
Cons
stressful when problems you can't help arise
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with collecting and counting the cash
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 25, 2013
Afternoon time is very typical at my work place because it is so busy time,in between we have to adjust our sales.It is a business time so we get all the delivery stuff in the noon so we have to check it.So many works we have to do in the afternoon.I handle this time by using my time management,communication and leadership skills.
Counting the cigarettes is the hardest part of the job.Collecting and counting the cash is most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
free cofee
Cons
risk of robbery
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace ethics
Gas Station Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONJuly 18, 2013
A nice place to work, lots of interaction with all types, all cultures of people. Being a manager at work, I have learnt the discipline, work culture, managing the employees and handling almost all sorts of work. Your work dedication depends on the work place, your seniors, your staff. in which I found myself quite fortunate to have a good management and staff. My co-workers are always cooperating and ready to help in each and every situation. The hardest part of the job is to deal with some negative minded customers but after you satisfy them, you feel more relieved then anything else and confident as well. Most enjoyable part is the work environment, meeting all types of people and you have to play all type of roles sometimes from an employee to a manager.
Pros
work enviornment
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 389 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture