Shell Gas Station Employee Reviews

Found 108 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC11 October 2014
Works on the Tell
Customer Service
Product Display
Clean up counter and store areas.
Bag and wrap merchandise.
Cares about safety procedures.
First Aid Certificate, St. John Ambulance (Jun 2013)
MS Office, internet/emails, typing skills= 25 wpm.
Have valid class 5 BC driver license (can drive both manual & automatic vehicles)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working here
Cashier and Manager ( part time-full time ) (Current Employee) –  Victoria23 September 2014
It was my first job in canada so I was really excited and nervous at the same time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 August 2014
some time we got out of gas due to shortage in refinerries due to which i have to deal with angry customers. learned lot about upselling produtcs while attending a customer
Pros
great work enviroment
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is Toronto's biggest and busiest gas station and was a good experience working there.
Cashier/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 August 2014
Learned to organize things
Staff was good
It was closed to TTC subway so got to know different types of people
Closing time gave me some difficulties
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun and exiciting job with fun meeting new customers and talking to them.
sales associates (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON14 August 2014
i have gain a lot of experience from my job at shell gas station.
i have gain experience in doing transactions , handling customers when it gets too busy , arrainging all the stuffs like chips and candies nicely at the shelf , removing expire products from the shelf , filling up the coller with drink , arranging it nicely. cleaning of the store was the most important work so it looks nice and smells good so customers get happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers were friendly
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 August 2014
-Customer Service and day today activities,
-Sales
-We worked as team always ready to help each other
-it was fun doing this job becoz it was a big learning piece for me
-everyday was a new day for m
Pros
Customers were friendly
Cons
short breaks, and bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
training the new co-workers
Assistant Manager/Cashier (Current Employee) –  London, ON22 July 2014
Training and helping out new workers is fun and most enjoyable moments at the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Lead Attendant (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC6 July 2014
 Provide exceptional customer service
 Site Safety Leader
 Handle cash and cash register
 Perform general stocking and cleaning
 Use judgment to obtain accurate information
 Answer incoming client phone calls
 Prioritize multiple tasks

Steady work that covered a broad spectrum of duties some listed above.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
full time
Sales Agent (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 June 2014
deal with money
team player
very good customer service
problem solver
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shell Gas Stations
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 June 2014
I worked at shell for an entire summer and after that job i worked at a shell in winnipeg for about two weeks. I got there at 11 in the morning and worked till 5. It was awesome i really enjoyed it. I learnt how to work the cashier and change garbages but that is pretty simple stuff and i would like to learn more.
Pros
really enjoyed working as cashier.
Cons
no breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shell Gas
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  London, ON19 June 2014
Provided customer service to gas station commercial clients
Resolved customer issues with expediency
Performed cash register functions
Checked and verified inventory reports
Organized merchandise materials and ensured safe operation of gas pumps
Consistently praised by management for the quality and timeliness of reports, attention to detail, exemplary customer service delivery and team-player attitude
High grade given by mystery shopper during sudden audit and was rewarded by Shell
Pros
Great work, great hours, simply amazing.
Cons
Nothing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Shell Gas Station
gas attendant (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK4 June 2014
A typical day at Shell is pumping gas or being the cashier. I've learned how to run a cashier and how to help people better with problems. Management is great, the manager is a nice person to get along with. My co-workers are great, they make the time fly by. There is no hard part to this job. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with really great people and helping customers.
Pros
Sometimes people give you tips
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Kirkland, QC23 May 2014
getting to work enjoying the company of employees
and just have an aloud supper day!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very disorginized
Store Clerk (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB21 May 2014
very disorganized when schedualing between multipul locations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience overall.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  vancouver, B.C.15 May 2014
It has been a good experience so far, while working in Vancouver international airport and at Shell gas station. The most important thing i learned here is how to manage people. Secondly i also learned the key aspects of managing money. Lastly how to prepare the end of day sales files and match it with the cash present and submit the report to Shell online.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, cashier great people
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Winfield13 May 2014
Cashier, good customers, regular customers, friendly people, good manager and boss/ owner.
Pros
free fountain drinks
Cons
slow hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Atmosphere
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC26 April 2014
My work day were usually pretty busy. Co workers were great to work with. I kept myself busy throughout the day. Management was very good to me.

It gives me an experience of how to make cutomers happy through welcoming them and helping out them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON22 April 2014
Learned a lot from my assistant manager and manager. Very helpful during covering shifts and dealing with any miserable customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accuracy in beginning and closing the shift!!
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 March 2014
1)Had a problem when all debit and credit machine went down.
2)Gained knowledge when there is no help on site how to troubleshoot.
3)Managed the area which require accurate supervision on sites.
4)Best team I ever worked with when any of the worker seeking assistance.
5)The toughest part of the job when few things are compulsory to serve without any assistance.
6)The most enjoyable part when we win the questionnaire on smokes and when I win the highest amount gift card.
Pros
Free drinks and chips and training
Cons
Long shift hours and supervise the site alone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun working place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC26 February 2014
working environment was not that good because management was not professional and sometimes partial to some employees.
Pros
Free Coffee.
Cons
Partial Management and safety issue sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 450 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6