Shell Gas Station Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 97 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead end
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKFebruary 8, 2016
day to day work without room for advancement. No real training given and you are expected to do everything on your own. No benefits either just minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Customers
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Pictou, NSDecember 29, 2015
while working at Shell I enjoyed the interaction with the customer most. The day time hours were good, working out in the winter wasnt good. noisy enviroment. very agreeable boss
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Cashier (Current Employee) –  London, ONFebruary 8, 2016
my shell job is good. I learning more things from it like communication skill,how to creat good thing.and present our idea and new offer to customer.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environmental Friendly, Productive and challenging
Worker (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKDecember 20, 2015
It is really a nice to work in shell. you can actually know about customer care service and people are are cooperative.Flexible working hours too.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Customer service representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONNovember 6, 2015
get to deal with new people (customers everyday).It improved my problem solving and money management skills. Now i can deal with customers more effectively and can handle jay-customers.
Pros
free coffee
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and busy place
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, ABSeptember 7, 2015
Its always fun to work there, its very buys place specially in summers which is good for business. The working environment is very friendly and co workers and the boss is very helpfull and understanding. overall i like working there.
Pros
friendly enviroment, no stress
Cons
hard to get days off of your choice sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple, easy to do job.
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Uxbridge, ONJuly 31, 2015
A family owned gas bar makes working here feel less like a chore and more like working from home. The air is much more relaxed and sales goals are not harshly enforced.

A day involves the supervision of the gas bar, delivering excellent customer service while maintaining the hygiene standards set by management.

A very simple job by nature the most difficult part was dealing was irritated customers who generally dampened the day. Most parts of the job were enjoyable as most people were in and out and those who stayed to chat were pleasant to speak to.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MULTITASKING
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton,OntarioJune 15, 2015
It was end of the day which took atleast 10-20 mins,too much rush at the same time,not even have a microsec to waste but at the end I handle that scenario perfect and there is hidden mystery shopper in b/w that time
Pros
Pushing limits beyond capacity, time management, zero error liability, Customer Satisfaction
Cons
Long hours, Counting cash and Scratch, Remembering too many numbers
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time only, great manager, no room for advancement
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONJune 24, 2015
arrive 15 min. early, count tills, assist customers with purchases. Manager is amazing, co-workers all great. Hardest part of the job was having to assist difficult customers, easiest part was assisting great customers.
Pros
Getting to meet a lot of great people
Cons
No breaks, work alone
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  mississaugaApril 30, 2015
• Greet customers and make sure the customers are being taken care of.
• Ensure a clean and attractive display of merchandise by checking codes, rotating products, and removing out-dated products. Organizing workload and allocating tasks on a daily basis.
• Ensure professionalism & high quality is continually maintained.
• Training of new staff & identifying training requirements of existing staff.
• Opening and closing the work place.
Pros
good hours
Cons
night shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment. fast pace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  GlenwoodMay 14, 2015
It was a nice interactive place to work at. Fast pace and customer service oriented. The people were nice and co-workers were every friendly. Training was thoroughly provided. I learnt how to operate a cash register and how to carry out transactions. I reported to my manager and was paid minimum wage.
Pros
Experience
Cons
Lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have a very good experience while working with shell
site manager (Current Employee) –  edmontonApril 27, 2015
working with shell gas station was a good experience.shell co is world wide and every day you learn so many things for health and safety because shell is very particular about the safety of their employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very social interractions and kind people
Full service gas pump attendant (Former Employee) –  PenetanguisheneApril 25, 2015
Worked at this location for two years and had enjoyed that time. The boss was very nice and understanding. Very repetitive job but if you enjoy meeting new people it's no problem.
Pros
Tips
Cons
No break
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work for. Regular customers are amazing!
Customer Service, Greeting (Current Employee) –  BowmanvilleMay 26, 2015
Just an overall good place to work! Management team is amazing. Co workers are great. Your usual regulars are always friendly!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a fun place
Customer Attendant (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ONJune 12, 2015
it is a fun place to work at we all enjoy our shifts to the most and there is no pressure while working there manager and staff is brilliant
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Full-time Cashier (Former Employee) –  9620 120 St, Surrey, BC V3V 4C3June 26, 2015
work place was good and environment of work was very enjoyable because i would like to talk with peoples and listen to them with quit behavior
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sd
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONJune 30, 2015
great job and got to meet lots of people. You serve many people and you help them with gas and paying for stuff. I was in charge of keeping the store clean as well
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good worker
o Full-time (Former Employee) –  huronJune 15, 2015
Dedicated hard worker, always kind, on time, great communication skills! I was always able to work and would choose work over anything else.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun and exiciting job with fun meeting new customers and talking to them.
sales associates (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONAugust 14, 2014
i have gain a lot of experience from my job at shell gas station.
i have gain experience in doing transactions , handling customers when it gets too busy , arrainging all the stuffs like chips and candies nicely at the shelf , removing expire products from the shelf , filling up the coller with drink , arranging it nicely. cleaning of the store was the most important work so it looks nice and smells good so customers get happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shell Gas
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  London, ONJune 19, 2014
Provided customer service to gas station commercial clients
Resolved customer issues with expediency
Performed cash register functions
Checked and verified inventory reports
Organized merchandise materials and ensured safe operation of gas pumps
Consistently praised by management for the quality and timeliness of reports, attention to detail, exemplary customer service delivery and team-player attitude
High grade given by mystery shopper during sudden audit and was rewarded by Shell
Pros
great work, great hours, simply amazing.
Cons
nothing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 395 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6