Shell Gas Station Employee Reviews

Found 103 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Miramichi, NB29 September 2016
Rarely get breaks, no part-time worker benefits, no raises. Able to get shifts off on short notice. Easy to switch shifts and pick up shifts. Nice workers. Shifts were long.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Worplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON3 July 2016
Long working hours

Management was good

meet new people

great environment

long day
So, it is not a difficult job. During night shifts there is some work as mopping, filling freezers etc.
Pros
meet people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work place
Manager (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC5 May 2016
*awesome work life
*handle cash management
* store order
* how to increase store sale
* coworkers are very nice
* the hardest part is when some junky gang come in the store and start stealing.
* the most enjoyable part is when we do order and when any competition going with the employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helpful and experienced
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB3 May 2016
i like my job, because of experienced management who provide me a knowledge to prove my self. due to that now i am a assistant manger.
Pros
trust
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customers through out the night.
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Dieppe, NB2 September 2016
The people I serve during my work night are served with respect and good costumer service. I learned cash management skills.i enjoy working with people. My co-workers are great people and easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work there
Counter cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON30 September 2016
i like to deal with customers . I feel that job is fun creating and i never bore at work.as we all know all days are not good we have some prepay pumps which need to pay before pump the gas sometime customers getting late to reach their destinations, so they become frustrated and start fighting with us . We try to calm down the residents and sometime we offer complimentary coffee or slush to them.i won mystery shopper last quarter and he gave me $ 25 gift card i felt happy that day
Pros
free coffee or tea
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 June 2016
great and work experience
supportive administration
career support and field support
aggressive and achieving
all are enthusiastic and supportive towards personal and organisational goals
works at great pace
Pros
great working pace
Cons
sometimes over aggressive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working, friendly environment.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Morinville, AB7 August 2016
Easy to understand, learn and complete tasks. Staff and management were friendly and approachable. Breaks and working were managed well and fairly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good employer and emplyees
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON6 July 2016
Better atmosphere to serve the customers. always friendly management and supporting colleague. flexible hours of work and always adjust time in emergency.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love to communicate to different people.
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON17 October 2016
My current job at Shell gas station is awesome, i like that job. My job there is to
• Receive payment in exchange of filled gas or goods from the convenience shop
• Make receipts and bills for customers
• Price and shelf incoming goods
• Calculate total payments received at the end of the day to tally with goods sold and more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to wok for students
Gas Station Attendant (Current Employee) –  Langford, BC7 May 2016
I am currently working graveyards, and I am getting about 2-4 hours of study time between chores. The management are very respectful and a pleasure to work with. The hardest part would be the first shift of the week, when you're not used to an overnight schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead end
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK8 February 2016
day to day work without room for advancement. No real training given and you are expected to do everything on your own. No benefits either just minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible workplace.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Kindersley, SK7 January 2016
I very much enjoyed working at Shell, the people I met were unbelievable, and all the friendships I created working there made it all the more better.
I loved all the social interaction I got as I worked as a Cashier there.
The hardest part of the job... I would say, memorizing all of the cigarettes there were.
A typical day at work was, starting my shift, sometimes In the morning I would put on coffee, open the car wash, do cash outs, sign into the tills, do counts of lottery, cigarettes, scratch tickets, all that fun stuff and then go about my day and be a cashier, turn on gas pumps, ring things\people through for the things they needed.
I enjoyed the whole job, even cleaning the bathrooms at the end of the night.
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Site safety Leader (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON28 January 2016
Employee friendly atmosphere. Salary on time. Good management,learn experience ,good team work,good customer,company helpful with employee. Great team work and staff support.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of customer service experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON14 March 2016
There really isn't a typical day at the gas station. Depending on the price of gas, the season and the time of day a day at the gas station can be slow, moderate or busy. This job taught me how to work quickly and friendly. At this job I wasn't very close with the manager but I did enjoy the chances I got to work with the owner! This job unfortunately give many opportunities to work with my co-workers.

The hardest part of this job was never knowing what if it was not being able to have extended interaction with single people and being unable to work more hours with co-workers. The best part was that it was being able to get more hours when I needed.
Pros
Working with great people
Cons
The smell of gas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Job Especially For New Immigrants
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON2 April 2016
Productive Job Especially For New Immigrants to Ontario. Its easy to get this job. I am gaining nice experience while working here.
Pros
NIL
Cons
Less Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just for Money
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  London, ON14 February 2016
Among all the jobs that i did this was the one that i did only for the money but i really didn't liked it.
I was just working there to make some money while i searched for the job that ill love to do.
Pros
god pay
Cons
not so good work culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON12 June 2016
Work place is people oriented, self motivated, dependable, able to work effectively and safely in a fast-paced environment while maintaining 100% total customer focus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no enough pay to work
Cashier and shift manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC15 June 2016
they make you work like a hel. but they don't pay you how much you need it .vdgfsgfdgffdgfdsfdsfgsdfssagf.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shell Gas
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  London, ON19 June 2014
Provided customer service to gas station commercial clients
Resolved customer issues with expediency
Performed cash register functions
Checked and verified inventory reports
Organized merchandise materials and ensured safe operation of gas pumps
Consistently praised by management for the quality and timeliness of reports, attention to detail, exemplary customer service delivery and team-player attitude
High grade given by mystery shopper during sudden audit and was rewarded by Shell
Pros
Great work, great hours, simply amazing.
Cons
Nothing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 427 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6