Shell Gas Station Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 95 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of customer service experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ONMarch 14, 2016
There really isn't a typical day at the gas station. Depending on the price of gas, the season and the time of day a day at the gas station can be slow, moderate or busy. This job taught me how to work quickly and friendly. At this job I wasn't very close with the manager but I did enjoy the chances I got to work with the owner! This job unfortunately give many opportunities to work with my co-workers.

The hardest part of this job was never knowing what if it was not being able to have extended interaction with single people and being unable to work more hours with co-workers. The best part was that it was being able to get more hours when I needed.
Pros
Working with great people
Cons
The smell of gas
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to wok for students
Gas Station Attendant (Current Employee) –  Langford, BCMay 7, 2016
I am currently working graveyards, and I am getting about 2-4 hours of study time between chores. The management are very respectful and a pleasure to work with. The hardest part would be the first shift of the week, when you're not used to an overnight schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work place
Manager (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BCMay 5, 2016
*awesome work life
*handle cash management
* store order
* how to increase store sale
* coworkers are very nice
* the hardest part is when some junky gang come in the store and start stealing.
* the most enjoyable part is when we do order and when any competition going with the employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible workplace.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Kindersley, SKJanuary 7, 2016
I very much enjoyed working at Shell, the people I met were unbelievable, and all the friendships I created working there made it all the more better.
I loved all the social interaction I got as I worked as a Cashier there.
The hardest part of the job... I would say, memorizing all of the cigarettes there were.
A typical day at work was, starting my shift, sometimes In the morning I would put on coffee, open the car wash, do cash outs, sign into the tills, do counts of lottery, cigarettes, scratch tickets, all that fun stuff and then go about my day and be a cashier, turn on gas pumps, ring things\people through for the things they needed.
I enjoyed the whole job, even cleaning the bathrooms at the end of the night.
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quiet during the night which made it easy to get things done around store
cashier, stock, cleaning (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ONJanuary 29, 2016
The typical day at shell is helping customers while keeping the tore stocked and clean, the only bad thing i can think of is that you work by yourself for 4-5 hours in the day and our hole shift at night.
Cons
no break
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
secure and fun environment
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ONDecember 22, 2015
good place to be social and responsible.
safety and surveillance is the major criteria.
great relations can be maintained with customers.
party culture at the time of Christmas.
good pay and maintenance.
healthy relationship with co workers and owner.
Pros
safety at nights
Cons
no stable hours dedicated.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just for Money
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  London, ONFebruary 14, 2016
Among all the jobs that i did this was the one that i did only for the money but i really didn't liked it.
I was just working there to make some money while i searched for the job that ill love to do.
Pros
god pay
Cons
not so good work culture
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BCMay 18, 2016
Took payment for gas, cleaned and maintained the grounds or the gas station. Processed goods to put on shelves. Maintained the gas pumps, as well as the car wash,
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ONJune 12, 2016
Work place is people oriented, self motivated, dependable, able to work effectively and safely in a fast-paced environment while maintaining 100% total customer focus.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to interact with new people everyday
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ONMarch 29, 2016
Nice place to meet with new people and learn new things everyday. Learnt how to deal with difficult customers and how to keep store clean and organised.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helpful and experienced
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBMay 3, 2016
i like my job, because of experienced management who provide me a knowledge to prove my self. due to that now i am a assistant manger.
Pros
trust
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Job Especially For New Immigrants
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONApril 2, 2016
Productive Job Especially For New Immigrants to Ontario. Its easy to get this job. I am gaining nice experience while working here.
Pros
NIL
Cons
Less Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Officer/Cashier:
Sales Officer/Cashier (Current Employee) –  thickwood shell gas station fortmcmurrayApril 1, 2016
Sales Officer/Cashier:
• Handling the cash counter.
• Assist the manager in daily operations.
• To enhance the sale by using strong customer relationship.
Pros
no
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Gas station attendant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 19, 2016
the owner and the manager are very helpful every day i learn new things at the gas station.
cash handling and customer service is the best part about the job
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall company
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 23, 2016
The manager and owner was really nice to me, they are well managed know how to take care of their employees and well organized as a company.
Pros
relaxing
Cons
Laziness behind the desk
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no enough pay to work
Cashier and shift manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCJune 15, 2016
they make you work like a hel. but they don't pay you how much you need it .vdgfsgfdgffdgfdsfdsfgsdfssagf.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Site safety Leader (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ONJanuary 28, 2016
Employee friendly atmosphere. Salary on time. Good management,learn experience ,good team work,good customer,company helpful with employee. Great team work and staff support.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Customers
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Pictou, NSDecember 29, 2015
while working at Shell I enjoyed the interaction with the customer most. The day time hours were good, working out in the winter wasnt good. noisy enviroment. very agreeable boss
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful New Owners!
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, ABFebruary 27, 2016
Job was good until new owners came in. He brought his own people and made them instant managers with no experience! Terrible!!
Pros
non
Cons
terrible now
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead end
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SKFebruary 8, 2016
day to day work without room for advancement. No real training given and you are expected to do everything on your own. No benefits either just minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 389 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture