Find companies:
Shaw Industries
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
214 reviews

Shaw Industries Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Use to be a good place to work
Administration (Current Employee), DaltonNovember 13, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: favoritism, bias, discrimination, no growth opportunities
If you are in college or graduated from college recently this is the company for you. You will have more opportunities than those that have help build the company. Once you are hire don't expect to grow, unless you are from the area and had build good relationships. It's about who do you know. A lot of favoritism and discrimination (age/ ethnicity). – more... Managers are mostly engineers with no people skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company.
Boilermaker (Former Employee), Corpus ChristiNovember 12, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: contract work
Good work flow. Things always seemed to get done in good time. good communication. Good pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Suessen / Heatset operator/ Trainer (Former Employee), Calhoun, GANovember 12, 2014
Cons: 12 hour swing shifts
This was a carpet yarn mill. Probably the most enjoyable job I've had, but it didn't pay very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Flooring Manufacturing
Territory Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 11, 2014
Strong Leadership channels
Was educated on how sell
Collegues were very congenial
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have already rated this.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Cartersville, GANovember 4, 2014
I do not know why i have to do it all over again. It makes no sense to write a second review on the same company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Columbia, SCNovember 3, 2014
Pros: every quarter they would give free lunch for perfect attendence
Cons: didn't like being layed off
I worked as a machine operator working the extruder and the spinner. I learned how to operate my machinery in a effective and productive manner. My supervisor and my co-workers were great and there was no hard part because I enjoyed my position
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Went out business
Heatset Operator (Current Employee), Aiken, SCOctober 30, 2014
Great place, great management, great pay. Went out of business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My life with Shaw Ind. Plant #6
Superba Operator (Former Employee), Dalton, GAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: great pay for the time, great working environment
Cons: management needed better people skills
great place to work, just needs a little tweeking.. I worked 12 hr shifts to begin with, then they changed it to 8 hr shifts, This was a major pay cut for everyone. The material we needed to perform our job was always where we needed it to be. Co-workers worked very well together. Training was a group effort, even though you were assigned a trainer. – more... Management was a little hung up on himself. He was more worried about what other managers thought of him, than he was his employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe enviroment to work in, but work 6 days a week
Tufting Machine Operator (Current Employee), Cartersville, GAOctober 14, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: short breaks, 6 to 7 day work weeks
During my 8 hour shift I operate a tufting machine, watching the carpet as it is made making sure it is defect free. When defects are found I locate the problem causing it and fix/repair it. I learned how to creel and splice yarn on a creel. I also learned how to operate and replace parts on a tufting machine. All my co-workers were very good at helping – more... me learn the aspects of my job, and helping me after I mastered them. The hardest part about working at Shaw is having to work 6 to 7 days a week most of the year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful workplace
Operator/Technician (Former Employee), Cartersville, GAOctober 6, 2014
Pros: company bonuses and celebrations of company sucess
Cons: a lot of management that doesnt seem to communicate to one another
Pre work stretch
Verbal handoff from previous shift(problems, upcoming orders, etc...)
Worked hand in hand with engineers to better fine tune large and small mechanics.
The management are very friendly and knowledgeable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spinning operator
Spinning operator (Former Employee), Fitzgerald, GAOctober 3, 2014
As a spinning operator I operate the machine to make carpet thread for the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small team of people, more like familly
Shipping and Receiving Agent (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKOctober 2, 2014
Due to the small amount of employees in our building, we were a family.

Everyone pulls their weight.

Pay scale is outstanding
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shaw Industries is a GREAT Plact to work
Safety Manager (Former Employee), Cartersville, GAOctober 1, 2014
Pros: safety is a core element of how they do business
Cons: lack of human resourse support and very demanding work hours.
Would have loved to stay with Shaw. However the commute was a bit much as was the number of hours demanded each week.
Shaw takes Occupational Safety and Health seriously and I commend the company for it's forward leaning thinking. Great ESH team!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company with high quality and great reputation
Innovation Product Manager (Current Employee), Dalton, GASeptember 24, 2014
Shaw is a good employer with a family-like atmosphere for such a large company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2 Thumbs Down
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Cartersville, GASeptember 17, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: management, poor job culture, lack of professionalism, poor job resources, do not care about employees
When I first started working at Shaw, I absolutely loved it and thought it was the best place ever. Great pay, great benefits, and they showed their appreciation for their employees constantly. Well that's gone. You are consistently berated, management has zero clue on how to do their job, and the job culture is pitifully miserable. It is really sad – more... to see what used to be a great company quickly slipping at the hands of inexperienced imbeciles. God speed to you if you get a job here and good luck on moving up. You're not going anywhere unless you know someone or brown nose your way to the top like the rest of them. The best day of my life will be walking out of that gray walled jail cell into a new job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work.
Driver (Former Employee), Union city, ca.September 13, 2014
Pros: great management support.
If you are a driver and need a job Shaw is the place for you. hard to find a company that supports drivers and not treat you like garbage. kirk, cullen, adam and all the guys there support the drivers. I loved my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced enviroment & supervisors willing to help
creeler & doffer (Former Employee), chickamuaga, gaSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: 12 hour shifts with every other weekend off
Cons: long hours on feet
multitasking & prioritizing your responsibilities. meeting maximum production with minimum off quality packages
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall rating is good
Twister Operator (Former Employee), Andalusia, ALAugust 28, 2014
Good company to work for. I would go to work and do my job. I learned the requirements necessary to perform my job. Management was great to work with. Co-workers for the most part were nice. The hardest part was working 4/12-night shift. The most enjoyable were the days off in between.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, poor environment
Customer Service (Current Employee), Dalton, GaAugust 17, 2014
Pros: compensation, benefits
Cons: work load, stressful environment
The pay and benefits are great. I have gained a lot of knowledge and experience working here. However, management is poor which has a trickle down effect on co-workers. Hardest part is doing everyone else's work, most enjoyable part is staying busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment.
Material Handler (Current Employee), Andalusia, ALAugust 1, 2014
I enjoy working at Shaw. Don't like the long drive. Love the work schedule. Just want to move closer to home, more money and wants to do work in my study at Reid State.

1 2 3 4 5

About Shaw Industries

Shaw Industries, Inc. designs and manufactures approximately 1,800 styles of tufted and woven carpet for residential and commercial – Read more