Find companies:
Shaw Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
189 reviews

Shaw Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and have fun with co-workers
Kiln Operator (Current Employee), Lantz, NSNovember 11, 2013
I do my regular routines throughout the day or night. Taking readings, trials, cleaning up around the kiln.Loading and taking cars out of the kiln. Its always something new to learn about the operation of the kiln of how its run. Management treats me well. They buys us ice cream or Gatorade on hot summer days plus give us a bbq in July. They give us – more... rewards when we dont miss any time or any lost time accidents. My co workers make it a fun place to work. Joking around with others and playing cribbage on our lunch breaks. The hardest part of my job is working in extreme heat in the summer or doing maintenance on the kiln in tight spots if no one is around to help. The most enjoyable part of my job is when the kiln is working at its best with very minimum adjustments. Makes the day go really good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work but can't progreds in the company
Operator/Skilled Labourer (Current Employee), Lantz, NSFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: early start early finish, supply coveralls and boot allowance
Cons: heavy lifting and dirty
Shift starts at 5am
Do walk around of machine complete logs
Complete forklift logs and checks
Start machine
I have learned many safety tips and how to be lean
Management could be in the plant more to see the actual jobs start to finish
Co workers are great group to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible income, and the people are wonderful!
Customer Solution Expert (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: free coffee and benefits are free..
Cons: not enough hours.
flexible hours as a part timer,

the benefits are comprehensive and the product is competitive

management shares a positive and lively attitude,

coworkers are all a team player

no hardship that can be overcome,

the coffee is free and a lot of selection!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN TO WORK AND GOOD MANAGMENT
Customer Solution rep (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 14, 2012
Pros: free lunch and healthy food
Cons: short hours
I HAD GOOD EXPERIENCE WITH THIS COMPANY AND I LEARNED A LOT OF GOOD EXPERIENCE AND WITH LOT OF HELPING HANDS, GOOD SALARY PACKAGE AND GOOD HEALTH CARE PACK.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each project was something different
Laborer/UXO tech (Current Employee), NY, NC, Utah, NJ, Cal, NHApril 8, 2014
Pros: great money, per-diem, travel, people
I liked the variety of different jobs thru each project, enjoyed the travel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed everyday working in Shaw Group with engineers & coworkers
Record & Information Management Tech. (Former Employee), Moorestown, NJApril 7, 2014
Learned how to handle people, software Documentum & other relative works
Enjoyed working with co-workers
Hard part was to meet the dateline, submit all the docs in time.
Most enjoyable part was to go to work everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
W2 Hotline (Temp) (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAApril 2, 2014
Pros: hour lunch
Cons: temp. position
-a typical day at work was alwyas busy.
-I learned alot about taxes and W2's.
-No complaints about management.
-I got along with all my co-workers.
-The hardest part were the hours.
The most enjoyable part was learning something new.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shaw Group
Transaction Processor 5 Disaster Recovery (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 1, 2014
Pros: awesome company to work for
Cons: had to move with the work
Disaster Recovery Work. Managed and worked with compliance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Craft Personnel
Lead Training Coordinator (Former Employee), Aiken, SCMarch 20, 2014
Pros: craft and subcontractors
Cons: no advancement
I was extremely blessed to work with some of the most experienced craft personnel, they were the best part of my job. I also had the pleasure of being Point of Contact for numerous subcontracts. I worked with them on a daily basis on getting them access to the correct information to be able to do their work on the government site.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
geat
plant assisting (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 3, 2014
great place to work there r some hot days but working monday thru sat was good
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of interesting coworkers
electrician top helper (Former Employee), Cliffside, NCMarch 2, 2014
Pros: the coworkers, the money, was close to home
Cons: some peaple have no pride in there work others have to go back an fix it
start day with safety meeting .then go to my area. evaluate what I need for the task . gather parts an tools I need . map out where from an where im going .then start running conduit or cable tray ,pulling wire or what ever the job is for the day. take my brakes when its time. about an hour before nocking off time we clean up. take tools an unused parts – more... back to there place an go home safe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for, they really care about their employees
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: free gear, always had what you needed at the tool room, on top of their game
Great safety communication, my supervision was great to work for, made a bunch of friends here, cant complain
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of confusion
Paint Foreman (Former Employee), Hilltop, NCFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: healthcare
A typical day of work consists of making sure the site is safe and productive all day. I have learned that working for this company will cause you a lot of stress. The management team has no idea what is going on within this company and treats employees very bad. The hardest part of this job was working for this company for 2 years and given a promotion – more... just to have it taken away within 15 minutes because management forgot that they already hired someone else. My co-workers were wonderful. The most enjoyable part of this job was that it was close to home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Insulator (Former Employee), Luling, LAJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: everything was great
Cons: when shaw was outbidded
Shaw was an awesome company to work for... Great pay, great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with great people.
QA Specialist III/Lead Auditor (Current Employee), Aiken, SCJanuary 24, 2014
Great people trying to do the right thing and work the best they can in a shifting workforce. Unstable future of project and low chance of promotion has made the morale unfavorable. Still, each day everyone tries to do their best to keep the project alive and on track. There are great unrecognized talents and truly remarkable individuals that I work – more... with each day. I enjoy my co-workers and working as a team. The hardest part of the job is the not knowing whether the project will continue to the end or even to the end of the year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workspace and great coworkers
Intern, Civil Engineering (Former Employee), Aiken, SCJanuary 22, 2014
-Great company to work for!
-Learned how to create, update, and track work packages
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too bad the office is closing
Electrical Designer (Current Employee), Moorestown, NJJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: great work environment, co-workers
Cons: office closure
I really like my job, however the company is closing the office in NJ and I don't want to relocate to Charlotte.

I have learned that organization is the key to success. Spreadsheets are your friends, being able to access information quickly is very important in this business. I designed several spreadsheets with this in mind. I can track individual – more... drawings and packages, I keep an accurate accounting of holds on the drawings and when they were issued and at what rev's they are.

I do a lot of drafting, and collaborating with my co-workers. I work well with senior engineers and designers, I am capable of managing my workload and coordinating with others. With teamwork, skill and organization you can accomplish anything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
lto (Current Employee), Calhoun, GAJanuary 3, 2014
No one cares no room for advancement it seam's likes you don't have a chance to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun
union laborer (Former Employee), byronDecember 21, 2013
what a circus, worked with shaw in Byron quad cities and Clinton.brought up numerous safety problems, got shoved under the rug. when it's time to fire up it,s I enough and they canned me and another girl. it was their way out. they laid the lead crew off on wed and myself another guy and 2 ladies had to get 20000 pds of lead off 426 and I had too do – more... the final walkdown with nrc, shift over at 6 pm out of can at 630. didn't get paid for the overtime, the rad tech gave me a meal ticket thanks kelly – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse job I ever had
Senior Cost Estimator-Trend Engineer (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCDecember 10, 2013
Cons: terrible insurance and terrible management.
8 estimators quit in a year.

2 lawsuits in the department .

Worse managers I ever ever worked around.

Very unprofessional work environment, with plenty of back stabbing to go around.

I lost 15 pounds working there .

I will never go back to them . I worked field assignments and the office. All were bad from the word go.

1 2 3 4 5

About Shaw Group

The Shaw Group is one of the world's largest power plant engineering and construction contractors, as well as a top environmental – Read more