Find companies:
Shaw Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
204 reviews

Shaw Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Product Worker (Current Employee), Lantz, Nova ScotiaJune 24, 2014
Pros: great co workers
Cons: lack of appritcation
It is an alright place to work for. The biggest down fall is the lack of communication, management. They also pay the blame game for with something happens. My Co- Workers are great. They are fun to be around and make the time go fast. The hardest part of my job is figuring out how to fix the problems in the different jobs that we do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Customer Care/Technical Support (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 17, 2014
good place to work,benefits are good and good team members.Great room for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and have fun with co-workers
Kiln Operator (Current Employee), Lantz, NSNovember 11, 2013
I do my regular routines throughout the day or night. Taking readings, trials, cleaning up around the kiln.Loading and taking cars out of the kiln. Its always something new to learn about the operation of the kiln of how its run. Management treats me well. They buys us ice cream or Gatorade on hot summer days plus give us a bbq in July. They give us – more... rewards when we dont miss any time or any lost time accidents. My co workers make it a fun place to work. Joking around with others and playing cribbage on our lunch breaks. The hardest part of my job is working in extreme heat in the summer or doing maintenance on the kiln in tight spots if no one is around to help. The most enjoyable part of my job is when the kiln is working at its best with very minimum adjustments. Makes the day go really good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best of the best
Instrumentation and Controls Engineer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 24, 2013
This company provides employees with amny flexible choices to do the work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work but can't progreds in the company
Operator/Skilled Labourer (Current Employee), Lantz, NSFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: early start early finish, supply coveralls and boot allowance
Cons: heavy lifting and dirty
Shift starts at 5am
Do walk around of machine complete logs
Complete forklift logs and checks
Start machine
I have learned many safety tips and how to be lean
Management could be in the plant more to see the actual jobs start to finish
Co workers are great group to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible income, and the people are wonderful!
Customer Solution Expert (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: free coffee and benefits are free..
Cons: not enough hours.
flexible hours as a part timer,

the benefits are comprehensive and the product is competitive

management shares a positive and lively attitude,

coworkers are all a team player

no hardship that can be overcome,

the coffee is free and a lot of selection!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN TO WORK AND GOOD MANAGMENT
Customer Solution rep (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 14, 2012
Pros: free lunch and healthy food
Cons: short hours
I HAD GOOD EXPERIENCE WITH THIS COMPANY AND I LEARNED A LOT OF GOOD EXPERIENCE AND WITH LOT OF HELPING HANDS, GOOD SALARY PACKAGE AND GOOD HEALTH CARE PACK.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
Centennial, CO (Former Employee), Mechanical EngineerNovember 3, 2011
Pros: numerous in-office and field opportunities, solid work-life balance, good compensation and benefits
Cons: success driven by current political climate
Great experience for engineers interested in the power industry.
Only downside is the cyclical nature of the industry itself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive. Helping others through a disaster and tragedy
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 28, 2014
My job incorporated helping families that was affected and/or destroyed by hurricane Sandy. We restored and provided heat, hot water and electricity. The hardest part of the job was seeing these families in distress and trying to provide the best service so that they would be able to get back on there feet. I learned alot about working as a team. My – more... coworkers and I found that we were a great unit and did the best we could. I enjoyed seeing these families happy and able to go back int there homes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed with with the service members
Travel Clerk III (Former Employee), Ft RuckerAugust 15, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: them lossing the contract
Really enjoyed doing my job. They were understanding and listened to their employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Project Work with high level of resposibilities
Scheduler II/ Sr. Project Accountant (Former Employee), Jacksonville, Fl and Monroeville, PaAugust 14, 2014
Pros: work independently
Cons: frequent changes in supervisors
My 12 years with CBI/Shaw Group was spent mainly on site for environmental remediation projects with the US Army Corp of Engineers as a project accountant and as a cost scheduler and sometime both roles on the same project. I also was involved in very successful commercial projects. I traveled throughout the US setting up projects, preparing codes and – more... budgets for projects ranging from $1m to $54M. I reviewed weekly labor, material, and subcontractor transactions weekly to ensure correct month end reports. Tracked purchase order values and prepared purchase order requisitions. Prepared schedules in the Primavera software program. Prepare month end cost variance reports along with SOX statements. I reviewed and processed invoices for processing, prepared government inventory reports, tracked and labeled government property, updated equipment logs, prepared lien releases, closed out purchase orders and assisted in demobilization of several projects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Carpenter Helper (Former Employee), Saint Paul, VAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: great pay and excellent benefits
Cons: they are to big on safety they will fire you for about anything
I really enjoyed working at shaw. You have the opportunity to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not alot of work in my area
electrican aprentance (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXJuly 24, 2014
electrical refiners construction ground grids instrumentation they were good company but don't have work in corpus christi area
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun expereince job with great people to work with
Laborer/Iron worker helper (Former Employee), Saint Paul, VAJune 25, 2014
Pros: lunches was great
Cons: health hazards
find steel for ironworkers, firewatch,holewatch, manger of bolt room, clean all debris of trash and safety issues
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJune 20, 2014
Administrative work for Honeywell Baton Rouge and Geismar plants
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Insulator (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJune 19, 2014
Convergys’s
Responsible for answer telephone for sprint customers providing them with the best customer service to resolve issues, take payments, deal with device issues etc...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced EPC Firm
Lead Mechanical Engineer, CB&I (Previously (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJune 17, 2014
Pros: compensation, leadership training, opportunties for advancement
Cons: work hours, aggressive schedule, job culture
CB&I (formally the Shaw Group) is an EPC firm that works in a very competitive environment and as such demand long hours and hard work from their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management
Rim Tech (Former Employee), port saint lucie, flMay 14, 2014
Excellent management. Co-workers were great. I had a good experience working at this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work
HVAC Maintenance TECH (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMay 8, 2014
Pros: clean work
Cons: hot work
Steady work. As an the hvac tech and e&i tech I stay pretty busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed environment workplace
Technical Publications Manager III (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 6, 2014
Pros: my boss is helpful, caring and understanding. work area is ok
Cons: no comment
I enjoyed working in Shaw Group because not only in terms of salary but also because people are so friendly and caring and helpful to achieved our common goals.

Healthcare is very good.

1 2 3 4 5

About Shaw Group

The Shaw Group is one of the world's largest power plant engineering and construction contractors, as well as a top environmental – Read more