Sharp Bus Lines Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
school bus driver
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONMay 21, 2016
this is a fantastic place to work for! they are organized group in the Kitchener office and treat you very well! unfortunately the pay kinda sucks...
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to drive for
Part-Time Long Haul B Class Driver (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONFebruary 27, 2016
If I was looking to drive part time to earn some spare cash, I would drive for Sharp Bus Lines again. Their a great transport business that treat their drivers nicely.
Pros
Great company to drive for
Cons
I wished it was full time driving
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Driver trainer (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONFebruary 13, 2016
Enjoyed working for this company unfortunately it just not enough money
Kids on the bus were great but the parent are something else
co-workers were fantastic and again the hardest part of the job was the parents
Pros
coworkers
Cons
Parents
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love seeing the kids on my run everyday on time
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONAugust 28, 2015
Everyday I look forward to seeing the kids on my run
I get them to and from school on time everyday.
The office staff is great if you are willing to work and not ask questions.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
not enough money
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Bus Driver
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Amherstburg, ONJuly 23, 2015
Fellow employees and management are enjoyable, as so are the student for the most part. Students can be loud and rowdy which makes for some stressful times
Pros
Off time in the day and summer
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sharp bus lines was a great company to work for
school van driver (Former Employee) –  inerkip ontarioJuly 14, 2015
i had a set schedule time to pick up children and drop off in another city for school.filled out paperwork daily.and if i needed assistance it was always provided..really enjoyed working for this company...it was only a part time job and i required full time.
Pros
learned how to be a proffesional driver
Cons
only part time - all school holidays including summer months were not paid
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job, Great company, Not enough hours
Driver (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONApril 15, 2015
I worked split shifts. Starting early mornings then had the middle of the day to myself. Started back just before school dismissal for the end of my day.
Drivers worked as a team to make sure all students arrived where they needed to be.
Most enjoyable part of the job was the interaction I had with the students, parents/caregivers & school staff members.
Pros
Every day was different
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hot but fun job with enjoyable co workers.
Bus Washer (Former Employee) –  Amherstburg, ONJanuary 28, 2015
I learned how to swiftly clean and work better with people, especially the mechanics who were nice enough to help when we became low on supplies. Every day was hot and started early but over all the job was enjoyable although the cleaning when it was the hottest point the summer was not an easy task.
Pros
nice co workers, chose my hours.
Cons
hot days, may busses
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible position with free training and ability to take your children
Bus Driver, Kitchener (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ONNovember 26, 2014
A typical day starts with safety checking the bus to ensure a vehicle which operates in a safe manner. Staying on schedule with the route provided, and adhering to safety measures while loading and unloading children at bus stops and schools in city and rural areas. Management of children's safety on the bus, and noise level. Obeying traffic laws and speed limits.

Management is organized to keep us up to date on new changes, road conditions, closures and traffic slow-downs.

Training for a 'B' class license is free, and after the individual obtains the license, many are offered a position with the company.

The downfall to the job is the rate of pay, and the break in employment because it's a seasonal position, but this is bittersweet because...
The most enjoyable/benefit of the job is that I am allowed to take my children on the bus with me, which saves in daycare costs, and I am off during the holidays, school breaks and summer to avoid daycare costs.
Pros
able to take children to work
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nil
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ontSeptember 29, 2014
some of the office staff do not know how to work well with others.
Pros
nil
Cons
lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seems to be operating well
Special Needs Driver (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONJuly 11, 2014
I am a new employee, there fore I am still learning.

typical day is picking up children from there home address and delivering them to desired school location.

management are approachable on all levels.

most enjoyable part of this job is seeing their excitement coming on the bus and hearing about their day at the end of school.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding
School Bus Operator (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ONSeptember 6, 2013
I learn everyday about children more and more. The management at work is very nice, I get along very well with everyone when I see them. I get to bring my bus home during the 4 hour break I have in between morning and afternoon runs. The hardest part of the job is not getting enough hours.
Pros
i enjoy driving
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very political company
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ONDecember 19, 2012
Continually had to fight for monies owed. Promised one thing given another , end up working for less than minimum wage.
Pros
nothing
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3

Comment – January 3, 2013

My experience was very different, never an issue getting answers or response to problems.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Bus
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ONDecember 6, 2012
So far Sharp in St Catharines is a really good company to work for, very nice people and very understanding
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff
Professional School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONOctober 11, 2012
Helpful friendly people who help you succeed and offer assistance at every step along the way. Great place to work if you only need a part time income !
Pros
free training
Cons
only the weather mother nature gives us
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoys driving
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONJuly 10, 2012
interacting with people both old and young.
enjoy driving and working with kids.
there is no hard part about the job, very easy and enjoyable.
Cons
limited hours
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture