Sharp Bus Lines Employee Reviews

Showing all 22 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work .Office staff and trainers are very laid back .
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Simcoe, ON1 July 2016
I only been with Sharp for almost a yr.I work in Simcoe
Driving bus mini bus and also Van .After one season I wish now I had done this year's ago.
Very great place to work Head manager is a very down to earth man and the office ladies are very help full when needing help .Trainers are also ever helpful in anything needing to know and talk the time to tell you how to do things the right way and Sharps way .
Working with the students and schools and parents are also ok .Get a lot of support with saying this are team in office also supports us big time as long as you should have it .And if not then you know it's your doing.
Pros
Support from office work hours pay .And family can ride if needed
Cons
Cant say there is any
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transporting High School and Public School Students
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  London, ON16 June 2016
Can be very stressful, but in general I good work environment. The main issue with this profession is that the drivers are underpaid and underappreciated by the School Board, transportation Service, the school and the parents of the children..
Pros
good hours
Cons
poorly behaved children
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay, don't rely on it
Commercial Vehicle Operator (Current Employee) –  Concord3 June 2016
Working here is all right. It's nothing too special. Do not expect to be able to call in sick, and expect constant pay cuts and irregular calls for help.
Pros
Free Training, flexible hours
Cons
No sick days, day off requests require over 2 weeks
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job, poor pay
Driver (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON1 June 2016
great people, great kids, busy work day, hardest thing is saying goodbye to people. very rewarding job, the pay is poor though, it is not a living wage
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
self employed
Driver (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON26 May 2016
Experienced driver with 20+ years of experience, holding a valid class BZ license and a clean abstract
Excellent customer service and interpersonal skills
Able to adapt to numerous environments; team player
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
school bus driver
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON21 May 2016
this is a fantastic place to work for! they are organized group in the Kitchener office and treat you very well! unfortunately the pay kinda sucks...
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to drive for
Part-Time Long Haul B Class Driver (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON27 February 2016
If I was looking to drive part time to earn some spare cash, I would drive for Sharp Bus Lines again. Their a great transport business that treat their drivers nicely.
Pros
Great company to drive for
Cons
I wished it was full time driving
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Driver trainer (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON13 February 2016
Enjoyed working for this company unfortunately it just not enough money
Kids on the bus were great but the parent are something else
co-workers were fantastic and again the hardest part of the job was the parents
Pros
coworkers
Cons
Parents
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love seeing the kids on my run everyday on time
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON28 August 2015
Everyday I look forward to seeing the kids on my run
I get them to and from school on time everyday.
The office staff is great if you are willing to work and not ask questions.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
not enough money
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Bus Driver
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Amherstburg, ON23 July 2015
Fellow employees and management are enjoyable, as so are the student for the most part. Students can be loud and rowdy which makes for some stressful times
Pros
Off time in the day and summer
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sharp bus lines was a great company to work for
school van driver (Former Employee) –  inerkip ontario14 July 2015
i had a set schedule time to pick up children and drop off in another city for school.filled out paperwork daily.and if i needed assistance it was always provided..really enjoyed working for this company...it was only a part time job and i required full time.
Pros
learned how to be a proffesional driver
Cons
only part time - all school holidays including summer months were not paid
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job, Great company, Not enough hours
Driver (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON15 April 2015
I worked split shifts. Starting early mornings then had the middle of the day to myself. Started back just before school dismissal for the end of my day.
Drivers worked as a team to make sure all students arrived where they needed to be.
Most enjoyable part of the job was the interaction I had with the students, parents/caregivers & school staff members.
Pros
Every day was different
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hot but fun job with enjoyable co workers.
Bus Washer (Former Employee) –  Amherstburg, ON28 January 2015
I learned how to swiftly clean and work better with people, especially the mechanics who were nice enough to help when we became low on supplies. Every day was hot and started early but over all the job was enjoyable although the cleaning when it was the hottest point the summer was not an easy task.
Pros
Nice co workers, chose my hours.
Cons
Hot days, may busses
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible position with free training and ability to take your children
Bus Driver, Kitchener (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON26 November 2014
A typical day starts with safety checking the bus to ensure a vehicle which operates in a safe manner. Staying on schedule with the route provided, and adhering to safety measures while loading and unloading children at bus stops and schools in city and rural areas. Management of children's safety on the bus, and noise level. Obeying traffic laws and speed limits.

Management is organized to keep us up to date on new changes, road conditions, closures and traffic slow-downs.

Training for a 'B' class license is free, and after the individual obtains the license, many are offered a position with the company.

The downfall to the job is the rate of pay, and the break in employment because it's a seasonal position, but this is bittersweet because...
The most enjoyable/benefit of the job is that I am allowed to take my children on the bus with me, which saves in daycare costs, and I am off during the holidays, school breaks and summer to avoid daycare costs.
Pros
Able to take children to work
Cons
Seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nil
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ont29 September 2014
some of the office staff do not know how to work well with others.
Pros
nil
Cons
lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seems to be operating well
Special Needs Driver (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON11 July 2014
I am a new employee, there fore I am still learning.

typical day is picking up children from there home address and delivering them to desired school location.

management are approachable on all levels.

most enjoyable part of this job is seeing their excitement coming on the bus and hearing about their day at the end of school.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding
School Bus Operator (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON6 September 2013
I learn everyday about children more and more. The management at work is very nice, I get along very well with everyone when I see them. I get to bring my bus home during the 4 hour break I have in between morning and afternoon runs. The hardest part of the job is not getting enough hours.
Pros
I enjoy driving
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very political company
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON19 December 2012
Continually had to fight for monies owed. Promised one thing given another , end up working for less than minimum wage.
Pros
nothing
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?Yes20No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Bus
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON6 December 2012
So far Sharp in St Catharines is a really good company to work for, very nice people and very understanding
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff
Professional School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON11 October 2012
Helpful friendly people who help you succeed and offer assistance at every step along the way. Great place to work if you only need a part time income !
Pros
free training
Cons
only the weather mother nature gives us
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
2.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.7
Culture
3.6