Find companies:
Shannex
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

Shannex Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor example of how to operate a Company for Seniors
LPN (Former Employee), Halifax NSMarch 9, 2014
Pros: wages are close to others.fair benefits if you get that far!
Cons: find another place if you can! this company"s bottom line is profit at any cost!!!
Five years with this sad poorly run outfit! Over worked nurses put at risk both professionally and personally.One nurse responsible for over two hundred senior residents. Residential care with most requiring assisted living and no staff!!! Over charged for all their needs! High number of managers all doing nothing !!!
High number of staff turnovers – more... and staff firings!! Complain in any way and you are simple walked out the door!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Personal care assistant (Current Employee), Halifax, NSNovember 12, 2013
A typical day at Shannex included helping the patients with their activities of daily living, and charting information on the patients. The management was very organized, and they had a flexible schedule. My coworkers were friendly, accepting and easy to get along with. I found the hardest part about the job was losing a patient, especially because – more... you develop such strong bonds with them. The most enjoyable part of my day was seeing my patients happy, and enjoying the activities they had planned for the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fun work with elder people
Personal Attendant/Companion (Current Employee), Clayton Park, HalifaxOctober 29, 2013
Pros: free car park for the employees
Cons: short hours (part time)
Really exciting and working with elderly. I have learned and experienced how difficult for the elder people when their families are not around them. They really missed their love ones. We are all team workers just to do the tasks very easy. So far, there's no hardest part of the job I encountered. And the most enjoyable part of the job is when I gave – more... happiness for the residents and I made them laugh. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with the clients
housekeeper (Current Employee), Riverview, NBOctober 1, 2013
Pros: great people
Well my day starts at 7am and ends at 3 pm. I start cleaning my first room which takes about 45 minutes. I have learned that i love working with seniors they are the reason i enjoy my job.The hardest part of my job is working morning shifts i can perform well doing them but perfer nights.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring and fun workplace.
CCA - Client Care Assistant (Current Employee), Quispamsis, NBAugust 30, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: physically, mentally and emotionally at times hard.
It is a long term care/nursing home, you work nursing hours/shift work. You provide hands on nursing care to the clients, be there to assist them with their ADL's, support them physically, mentally and emotionally. Feeding, lifts and transfers, it is a very physical job, you work hard. To me it is a very rewarding career, for on a daily basis it's not – more... only what you give, but what you get back from the clients and their families that makes it all worth while to be doing.

My management team works with its employees so that they can provide the best care possible to their clients. They are also supportive and caring towards their employees.

It is a team effort with my co-workers that on a daily basis we provide the best care possible for our clients, team work is a must.

I must say the hardest part of my job is that you do become attached and grow to love and care for your clients/family members. So, when they do pass you do feel a loss, but you know that you have helped them in their life journey and provided them the best care possible, which is very humbling and rewarding.

The most enjoyable part of my job is getting to know the clients and their family members, to become a part of their lives. Share, love and laugh with them, but also be there to support them in the difficult times. Plus, working with great people from front line workers to management daily. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review on Shannex re:LPNs
Licenced Practical Nurse (Former Employee), Quispamsis, NBJune 16, 2013
Pros: n/a
I worked in Concorde Hall at Shannex which I was taught to poor management and there is far to much responsibility for just one LPN..From what I have been taught from NBCC and ANBLPN...I know that it is not acceptable for one LPN to medicate 60 individuals, do Treatments, Secretarial work, To be responsible for breathing rounds on another floor and – more... assess the situation if and when something goes wrong. Calling the Ambulance and preparing paperwork/charts while assessing the client....Way to much responsibility and in the situation I have been in. There should be either one RN on with the LPN or two LPNs!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
punctual
Resident Service Attendant (Former Employee), Dartmouth, NSAugust 13, 2012
i have learned to work with others as well as male a negative situation into a positive one
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Dietary worker/housekeeper (Former Employee), Halifax, NSAugust 5, 2012
Pros: you get to hear some great stories from the clients you work for
Great place to work/ the staff are very good. Always there to help. Its great to work for the clients that lives there.