Find companies:
SGS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
137 reviews

SGS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment
Control Panel Operator (Current Employee), Red Deer, ABOctober 16, 2014
Pros: longer stretches of days off
Cons: long hours
Very busy work environment. It's a great company however it is new to operations at this location and is still trying to get all the fine details worked out. Once they are, they will thrive. Management is great, but will continue to get better as the company gets used to the work flow at this location. A lot of the staff are very new, but are eager – more... and show great potential with the right leadership. This means there is a lot of time dedicated to training.
All in all it's a good place to be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QC Inspection
QC Inspector (Former Employee), albertaJuly 23, 2014
• SGS-QC Inspector long lake Jan 2012. Qualified QC Inspection
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Diverse community, lack of effective communication
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 30, 2014
Pros: good experience.
Cons: long hours, high job demand, high work load
As my supervisor always was grateful about, I had been a valued member of the lab team by always being someone they could count on. However I left that job because I had better job offer and position which suited me better. However there were many issues about relationship among the workers and employers. Also high job demands and pressure on employees – more... was the first reason for workers to quit their jobs. Also there were many conflicts about the relationship and communication issue, I still believe that communication among the workers and employer was not strong as it could be. As l gain experience more and more every year I strongly believe that effectively communicating could be involved more than just providing information when demanded and proactively providing information to the team as issues arise was the best source of conflict in that work place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
Analyst (Current Employee), MississaugaApril 12, 2014
Pros: one shift.
Cons: do not value people, low salary
Worst ever Management. So many politics and favoritism. They do not value people who work hard. Only concern about the profit.
Poor work environment. Not a place for a long term carrier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had many great experiences and learned a lot.
Terminal Berth Operator (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: great training, good wages, job security
SGS Canada was a great company to work for. During my time with the company they enrolled me into many different training programs including Structural Firefighting and many others. The management was great and they offered a competitive benefits package. They treat their employees very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DECEIVING
Fire Suppression Technician (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABOctober 28, 2013
GOOD PAY
GOOD SCHEDULE
MANAGEMENT IS NOT WELL INFORMED
MANAGEMENT IS RARELY AT WORK SITE
EMPLOYEE'S ARE NOT TREATED EQUALLY
VERY MUCH A 'NAME HIRE' ORGANIZATION
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days and Fast paced
Truck inspector (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: shift work 365 days a year
Friendly small team fast paced, work out door all weather conditions.
shift work good pay.
work with B train unites and others like ceda and lube trucks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Geotechnical Technologist (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABAugust 25, 2013
Pros: housing benifit and a lot of overtime
Cons: long hours
Mostly work is on field. Good to work with different oil companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment to work - communication is easy as people are almost of the same age group
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), Phoenix, MauritiusFebruary 28, 2013
Basically, my day involves sample preparation, its digestion and reading them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible experience
analytical geochemist (Current Employee), Lakefield, OnOctober 26, 2012
Pros: some amazing staff
Cons: horrible management, comunication and fairness. big populatity contest
I have worked for geological engineering firms, municipalities and not for profit organizations.

I came to SGS looking for a final place to settle down and start a career. I had an abusive supervisor, very little positive feedback, no proper management (ironic as i was a manager in past jobs).

No one in the Lakefield Company communicates with other – more... departments and has no hope to know who is doing what.

I have never seen a company advertise a job fair at the same time as having mass layoffs. they hire people asap when there is any sort of back log just to lay them and current contracts off because there is soon no work. if you have an education expect to be doing a lot of disposing of scrap metals and cardboard because they actually pay you less than a janitor at SGS (granted the janitorial staff are amazing and deserve their wage)

New lab being built? why? They can't land the contracts to fuel a lab 1/3 the size of the new one.

I am disgusted that a company I grew up near, it was such a disappointment. Every bad review here is accurate and unfortunate for those who get sucked in with promises and hope. NO JOB SECURITY AT ALL RUNNN!

I am working to get out ASAP! and good thing as i and 21 other ppl got handed out 2 weeks notice and there is much more to come.

Thanks for reading this as I am trying to help you not make the same mistake as I by thinking a world wide company has anything to offer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company at all!!
Lab tech (Former Employee), Fort McMurray ABOctober 3, 2012
Pros: none beside good on your resume
Cons: very under paid, horrible management, extremely unorganized
I worked with SGS for over a year 16 months to be exact. While working there, their was many people coming and going. Some of the people I worked with were great people while others not so much. I had a great supervisor :) not all managers were bad, but for the most part.. Most employees are a very under paid, except for the suck ups. Supposedly after – more... 3 months you will get your benefits and a $3 raise! The whole 16 months I worked there I didn't see either of those! There is also a lot of those not so importaint people who think they are god,and when they see someone doing one little thing wrong they go run and tell the management! Which If you ask me, it is pathetic. This company is very extremely unorganized! If you work there for too long the work and management will drive you insane! – less

December 23, 2012

Hi, so far reviews have not been good for SGS but they have a lot of jobs going and I need a job. Just wanted to know from you what the salary for a lab technician/assistant role was at SGS. If anyone else knows please feel free to answer. There are a number of lab jobs at SGS that I wont to apply but I will like to get a rough idea of what they pay is. If its too little I wont even bother. Cheers

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SGS is garbage!
Data Entry Administrator (Former Employee), Fort McMurrayJune 26, 2012
Cons: managers are monkeys, gossips, doesnt matter what position your doing you still have a chance to work in the freezer, low wage, disrepectful managers, supervisors think they are god
This is the worst company i have ever worked. The managers are fighting each every day. I saw one of my managers walked out crying. Bunch of monkeys! My job was data entry clerk yet I was working in the freezer carrying heavy samples.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CFO - for Sustatinable Groundwater
CFO (Former Employee), Watertown, WIOctober 15, 2014
Pros: loved my job
Cons: company went bankrupt
I loved working here. I was responsible for all accounting staff, reconciling the books, A/R, A/P, payroll, tax payments, month-end and year-end close. I came into this position when they needed someone who could handle the accounting department on a daily basis. In the past they just hired a consultant. I went back 2 years and began to balance all – more... their books.

Unfortunately the company owners were taking money from the business and their investors. This led to the ultimate release of the president and vice president of SGS. I stayed on to work for the bank and lawyers to help the close the business and file for bankruptcy. Had things gone as expected I know I would still be working there. I love what I did, many diverse duties and great staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging workplace
Laboratory Analyst I (Current Employee), Anigua, GUSeptember 30, 2014
Work here is fun and i have learned a lot of scientific equipments used in the petroleum/oil industry. A typical day would be in the lab doing various types of testing. The management here is really dissapointing and salary is really low for an analyst. The most enjoyable part of the job is having an awesome coworkers who have helped me with adjusting – more... to this type of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
same as other one
Shift Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), Ellesmere Port, ENGSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: non
Cons: as above
same as other review
dreadful place of work !
Arguments.
people constantly causing trouble
bad management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving tester
Driving Tester (Former Employee), City west TallaghtSeptember 15, 2014
I loved every minute of this job. I met all kinds of people, the members of staff I worked with and the people I tested every day. I would start at 8am and finish at 4.30. , every day was different , exiting and I learnt a lot about people. The hardest part was failing people and the most enjoyable was passing people.

I worked with a great bunch of – more... people. They were all helpful, funny and supportive . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SGS in South Africa is not a great company to work for
Chemist (Former Employee), Richards bay, KZNSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: you'll know what to look for in a company
Cons: it's not a great company to work for, with high staff turnover.
SGS has some of the best policies & procedures BUT management doesn't follow them. It's for show basically... Read through their website and you'll be sold, get in - totally different story. Racial awareness is huge at SGS SA and not in a good way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Shift Technician, ICP/Instrumentation Operator (Former Employee), Ellesmere Port, ENGSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: training and promotion
Cons: salary
Learnt alot about petrochemical and was promoted several times into various roles, only left on the advice of an ex-co worker and made a big mistakeTrain
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Planner/Scheduler (Current Employee), Lynchburg, VAAugust 5, 2014
I have learned a lot within this company, after 11 years. Just ready to do soemthing different.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid working at the Toulon, IL office
Seasonal Office Assistant (Former Employee), Toulon, ILJuly 30, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers
Cons: horrible managers
Management is what makes this company difficult to work for. Co-workers are friendly and helpful.

1 2 3 4 5

About SGS

You know those little stickers that say "Inspected by 2438"? Meet 2438. SGS North America, a division of global testing – Read more