Find companies:
Service Corporation International
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
74 reviews

Service Corporation International Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Location Manager (Former Employee), Digby,Nova ScotiaNovember 6, 2013
Pros: everything, sci is a wonderful company
Cons: there were none
Awesome Company,Great Pay,Overtime,Incentives,Great People
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funeral chapel is in good decor accordingly and easy access, good location.
Sales Representative/ Family Service Counsellor (Former Employee), Winnipeg, Mb.May 5, 2013
Pros: bonus, free draws
Cons: very hard to meet the minimum sales qouta
understanding the product/ service to market, the community contacts and targeted recipients are a combination of reluctance, denial, affordability and a very slow pace to respond. Therefore my commitment to reach the sales quota was a complete disappoinment.
The culture development among staff and co workers is outstanding, very supportive and cooperative.
I – more... personally enjoyed the time flexibility to promote maketing strategies, developed business presentations and becoming a member of various marketing business organizations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fulfilling career with an outstanding company made up of truly caring professionals.
Area Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaFebruary 24, 2012
Pros: a great work environment with a sense of purpose.
Cons: can't honestly think of any.
I can't say enough about this company. If you want to work in a neat, clean and well organized environment with a team of people who are committed to giving outstanding service to their client families, then this is the job for you. I loved it. I made a number of close, long-lasting friendships in my 5 years with SCI. The company exudes professionalism – more... and integrity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent friendly link
DIRECTOR OF BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 19, 2014
Pros: all
Cons: people who don't want to grow
Fast paced work environment. Always learning how teams can overcome everyday challenges while achieving goals and expectations.
Hardest part of the day is the end of the work day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Couldn't find a new job fast enough
Admin Asst (Former Employee), IllinoisAugust 12, 2014
Pros: helping families through a difficult time; some great co-workers
Cons: work environment, horrible morale, high turn over, pay
As in other reviews some co-workers were great, helpful and encouraging in a very trying environment. However dealing with management was like an episode of Mad Men, very much a hierarchy. No advancement opportunities and the pay was rediculously low. As an admin asst be prepared to not only do the obvious office work but comfort grieving families, – more... be around all aspects of death and even possibly running a service...with no training and making very little money. Big mistake taking this job! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving our families was our honor and being creative to make it special and personal.
Family Services Counselor (Former Employee), Oregon, OHAugust 12, 2014
Pros: maintaining my own work schedule to accomadate the families
Cons: pressuring people to preplan.
Meeting with the family at the time of death of a loved one. Going over ever thing they will need to coordinate the funeral and visitation night and would encourage family members to be creative for the visitation to make it memorable.
I learned that every family deals with death differently, and they are to be respected no matter what their thought – more... and feelings are in that process.
The directors manage and coordinate the entire funeral experience for the family and working along side them creates a team effort to accomplish this for the family. I also realized they don't get the credit they deserve for all the behind the scene work that they do for the families organizing the whole event and the special care, dedication, and talent they give each person that they are serving. I have much respect for them.
Each person working at the funeral home is a team member working together for every family. Each working together to set up and tear down each event, and individually writing obituaries, preparing financial statements, printing of the stationary, to meet the needs for the family..
The hardest part of the job is talking to the family member that just lost a loved one about their own disposition and making them realize that they need to get their things in order so their family won't have to go through the same experience for them. Being prepared ahead of time takes the stress off the family members who will be taking care of their needs at that time of their death.
My most enjoyable part of the job is working with the families to make the visitation and funeral experience a memorable one. Letting them know that their pain and grief is important to the healing process, and that grief is experienced differently by every person and it's ok to have these feelings. That tears are welcome. And to let them know that I understand and care about what they are going through and want to help them with that process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for this company. For me this was the beginning of a life altering decision as to what I wanted in a career.
Market Admin/ Office Manager/ Admin Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 11, 2014
Pros: the knowledge and experience i gained. i learned who i was and what i wanted in a career.
Cons: very long hours (90-100 week) extensive travel(75%), never saw my husband or family
This is a great company to work for. I met so many interesting people and learned a great deal about management and being a team leader. I was groomed by one of the best men in the business along with his boss. They saw my potential took me under their wing and showed me the path to success. In just a short time I was thriving and was lecturing in other – more... markets all over the United States and our market had thrived after I was brought on board and implemented certain procedural and new ideas. The actual job of Market Administrator was created especially for me in our market and had never been done before. It is my understanding that at this time every market (about 45) with the exception of 4 now have a Market Administrator, which makes me very proud to have been a part of this. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Fleet Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 7, 2014
Great place to work, Management helped you move up and explore more opportunities within company. Good Company Culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Sales (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 16, 2014
Interesting work with dealing with families and local organizations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dishonest description of job
Outside Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXJuly 14, 2014
What was explained to me in the interview process is not at all what I found once hired on. The manager that I had knew nothing about the contracts and how to write them. He spent 2 hours in the office on a good day, and the whole time he was there he just played on the internet. If you have a large network of people that could use these services you – more... could do very well. The commissions are very good, but if you hae no funnel to get leads from it is a very hard and stressful job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor working conditions
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TexasJuly 4, 2014
Pros: good 401 k match if you make any money.
1. You are expected to work 7 days a week, to include conference calls after 8:00 pm.
2. I have learned that if there are 47 ratings on a company and they are all bad you should most likely pass on the job offer.
3. As a manager I have learned that they hire anyone, the more uneducated the better so your expectations are low.
4. Average tenure is 6 – more... months. If you are struggling the managers are told to concentrate on the people who are selling. This is no place for beginners.
5. The hardest part of the job is no personal time.
6. Job compensations expectations do no line up with reality! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Selling pre-need arrangment/people do not want to believe they are going to die.
Community Service Counselor (Former Employee), Riverdale, GAJune 26, 2014
Pros: pre-arrangement save money
Cons: resistance from those who did not believe they needed the service
I learned that it is so important to make your arrangements before you die. By doing so, your family can mourn your pasing so much better. I enjoyed working with families to secure that they would know where they ere going to be laid to rest and have their loved ones near them if desired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Service Counselor
Family Service Counselor (Current Employee), Peoria, ILJune 23, 2014
Dealing with families that have lost loved ones. Helping them prepare their final wishes on the funeral side and cemetery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large, well managed company- serves funeral industry well
Southwestern Regional Trainer (Texas) (Current Employee), Dallas, TxJune 17, 2014
Pros: large, well developed computer programs to work with.
Cons: they should have compared our talent to what they had.
associated due to merger.The two largest companies in U.S. merged. SCI being the larger, already had personnel in place that did our jobs. Therefore we were phased out in merger.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 5, 2014
Great place to work at, the people here are great, and we are always motivated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for corporate office Houston
Payroll Tax & Compliance Analyst III (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 25, 2014
Pros: free lunch. some salaries are great.
Cons: no training. insurance does not cover well. management does not care about employees.
Company not employee friendly. No structure. Some of the managers need management training and how to treat employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked here due to Merger
IS PROCUREMENT - ASSET MANAGEMENT COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Jefferson, LA 70121May 21, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits, great people
Cons: my time was too short to gage
Only with SCI for 6 months, had the great people and management team seems to really care about the business and their employees. They offered an excellent serverance package and have great company benefits! Wish I could have stayed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reputable Company and Honorable Profession for Sales
Preneed Planning Manager (Current Employee), Dallas, TXMay 9, 2014
Pros: top company in the industry, flexible hours
Cons: poor training curriculum and staff
As a Pre Planning Advisor you spend 90% of your time prospecting and the remaining 10% presenting to families and writing contracts. The sales aspect is like any other, make your numbers or you will not get paid or guidance from management. The opportunity to help families is awesome, but unless your in a funeral home all day your focus is only on sales. – more... The initial training and thereafter is well below the standard of any other corporate organization and the old school methods from the training staff do not prepare a person for success. They barely teach you the industry which knowing your product is essential, yet instead they focus on reciting a script that has little value to the full sales process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You Can Do Better
FSC (Former Employee), WhittierApril 14, 2014
Pros: free coffee
Cons: everything else
Recent example - last month SCI location Rose Hills in Whittier, California sent a message to all of their Park Services employees which said, in essence - "Mandatory meeting, now!" When they showed up they were informed that they were all fired and were being replaced by a contracted company (no need to provide benefits; fewer personnel on site to – more... help families). They each received about 3 weeks severance pay and that was that. Some of these people had worked there for many years. One of them, a friend of mine, is devastated. No warning, no notice. But no one familiar with the company is surprised; standard operating procedure. The biggest number in this review if ZERO, as in job security. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and informational funeral director.
Funeral Director (Former Employee), Houston, TexasApril 10, 2014
Assisted families in the most volnurable time of need. Assisted making arrangements, arranging clergy, assisted family service with the cemetery.

1 2 3 4

About Service Corporation International

About Service Corporation International Service Corporation International (SCI) is to death what H&R Block is to taxes. SCI, – Read more

Service Corporation International Photos