Service Canada Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be a mindless robot
Bilingual Information Officer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 August 2017
If you want to work in an environment where you have no shift consistency, a mindless robot and the catch all for stupid procedures and unaccountable government departments then Service Canada is the job for you.

Leave your brain and morals at the door.
Pros
Undeserved high salary
Cons
Everything you could possibly imagine
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Commis de prestations et de services (Former Employee) –  Brossard, QC22 August 2017
Je ne veux pas commenter sur mon ancien employeurs je trouve cela délicat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and productive
Student Placement (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB19 July 2017
Discovering transferable skills, Building personal, interpersonal and leadership skills. Also working on team and personal projects to enhance newly leaned skill to prepare for the job placement at the end of the program.
Pros
they provided what is needed for jobs eg. First Aid, Flags
Cons
They take only people with a barrier to getting jobs eg. Disability, jail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great retirement job
Payment services officer (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON13 July 2017
The position itself was great.Tasks and duties were not too demanding and I was satisfied with every part of my job.

Downfall though, is that the probation period is 52 weeks and at their Employment Insurance Call center in Sudbury, I found that "employee clicks" were a substantial problem as management wasn't always impartial with their decisions.
Management let me down as I went through a rough episode due to mental illness and I strongly believe that their decision to terminate me at 51 weeks into probation as unsuitable for position was a sham just so they wouldn't have me as a liability later due to medical history.
Pros
very good pension plan, benefits and paid leave
Cons
*** see review
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great work environment with great staff
Citizen Service Officer (CSO) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 July 2017
Service Canada is a great workplace for people that love learning and helping clients. Very flexible with hours and lots of great benefits to build a stable foundation for a great future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pick the department wisely
Payment service officer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC16 June 2017
EI is challenging. The job is tricky (calculating claims). You go through training and then get a mentor (mine's awesome but there are others that are super harsh and critical) before you're on your own to do the job and meet a production minimum or risk being fired. Have to be there a year before you can alter your 7.5hr/day schedule. Could easily do your job from home but that is not allowed. Ever.
Pros
Decent pay, good benefits, some coworkers were really nice.
Cons
Some coworkers were really miserable, have to meet production minimums or risk get fired, management not that friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement encourageant
responsable prestations (Current Employee) –  Montréal7 June 2017
le travail est valorisant au ministère de l'emploi fédéral
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful expirence
Citizen services officer (Current Employee) –  New Liskeard, ON22 May 2017
I have worked with several federal departments and they are by far the worst. There is no trust between staff and management. They treated me like I was a child that did not know how to do my job and expected me to be grateful.

0/10 not recommended
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Alone, long hours, no work culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service Canada
Payment Service Officer (Current Employee) –  Bathurst, NB18 May 2017
A typical day at work would be checking emails, getting ready to answer calls for CPP and OAS clients. Job is very repetitive and there is no advancement or challenge.
Hardest part of the job would be sitting and answering phones for 8 hours a day with no opportunity or challenge.
Pros
helping clients
Cons
repetitive and long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face to face client service
Citizen Service Officer (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS9 May 2017
In take of clients dealing with enquiries regarding Employment Insurance, Canada Pension Plan, Old Age Security, Social Insurance Numbers, and other Government services
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

Want to know more about Service Canada?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Citizen Services Officer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 May 2017
If you like to work with the public this is the place to be. You get to meet clients from all over the world. The pay is good and the management is pretty good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at and was given good opportunity to learn something new
Casual Support Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 April 2017
Working hours was great and was given an opportunity to have some overtime depends on budget. It was a good learning opportunity and had a chance to work on different projects. Salary was pretty good considering the type of work that we do. A bit of a downside was lack of lunch hours given to only stay in the work place to have lunch. It was just only 90 days casual position for a full time work hours and no benefits and will have to apply to wait on the pool to get accepted for a term position so therefore job security wasn't that good.
Pros
having some overtime, good salary for the type of work
Cons
just temporary position and no benefits for full time work, lack of lunch hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the job, sometimes long hours
Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Cobourg, ON29 March 2017
Enjoyed this job however sometimes the hours were long which is a given in almost any job. Workplace was great, co-workers were friendly and very helpful
Pros
work mostly on my own
Cons
sometimes long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and interesting projects
Program Officer and Communications Advisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 March 2017
Service Canada is an employer that gave me many opportunities to grow with interesting projects and wonderful people to work with. 2012 was a devastating year for cutbacks and due to HR and management errors in paperwork I was part of those cutbacks.
Pros
Wonderful people. Exciting projects
Cons
Management not understanding HR processes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly stressful and poor pay system
Payment Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Canada6 March 2017
The money is good, if you can receive your pay and can deal with the internal hierarchy issues. Do not expect proper pay or benefits as the payroll system has too many issues. And supervisors (or anyone else) are unable and unwilling to help sort these out. The problem starts at the very top.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place With Friendly Staff
Payments and Processing Clerk (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC17 February 2017
Very welcoming staff made for an easy transition into a completely new area of employment. Willingness to support and train made adapting to a new environment easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Payment Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON16 February 2017
A typical day at work is being on the phone call after call. Constantly talking to individuals who are having financial difficulties and it wasn't the right fit for me personally. Hardest part was exactly that, a lot of negativity during the work hours. The best part was at the end of the shift you didnt't have to worry about work anymore, every call is a new slate.
Pros
Awesome co workers
Cons
Negative calls
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Payment Service Officer (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON1 January 2017
great job and company and very fun enviorment have lots of fun working here its very enjoyable working here and occasionly lunchs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As an Adjudicator
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Timmins, ON19 December 2016
Was on production, had to have great knowledge of the EI program, Act and Regulationstime management, organizational skills. Fluent in both official languages.

Had to have great interpersonal skills to deal with clients, staff and management.

I enjoyed all aspect of the job and to me there was no hard part of the job!
Pros
Gratifying job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work security, okay culture
Agente de Paiement (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC29 November 2016
The work is the same everyday, customer service. Very well paid for what you do. Can get monotone but great job for job security and benefits and possible job advancement. Not the most fun or motivating job environment of culture, but its a typical government office environment. Mostly for 30 years and up.
Pros
good salary and benfits
Cons
boring environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Service Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 87 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8