Serta Mattress Company Employee Reviews

Showing all 29 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of options
Staging/Shipping (Former Employee) –  Clear Lake, IA11 September 2015
I had the opportunity to choose between most of the jobs available and settled on staging in the shipping department. Our work day started at the same time every day and we were able to leave as soon as our orders were done for the day. Sure, some days were longer than others, but we rarely worked weekends. And the pay was great with quick advancement for raises. We also received a discounted price on products which was pretty cool.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not work at serta
I had many different jobs throughout the plant (Former Employee) –  Clear Lake5 October 2012
I worked at serta in Clear Lake for 10 years. I would not recommend woring there to anybody!!!! There are no advancement opportunities, more pay cuts than pay raises, and management only looks out for themselves and only tells u what u want to hear not was is actually going to happen. They promise you alot as far as pay but its all a lie just to get you in the door.
Cons
the whole factory
Was this review helpful?Yes41No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay was good at times, tough working conditions.
Inspector - Visually (Former Employee) –  Grovetown, GA21 April 2014
1. Early start, often worked late.

2. Learned to work in factory environment.

3. The management allowed you to do the job with minimal micro management.

4. My co-workers worked well together.

5. The hardest part was the heavy lifting.

6. Working with the people.
Pros
Great employee discount & 401k plan.
Cons
Tough working conditions & slow season.
Was this review helpful?Yes43No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great experince
Hybrid Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GA21 November 2015
Four year career ended due to corporate restructure. Unfortunate to lose my position based on merits other than performance. Stepped into new industry and learned the product and Serta environment very quickly. Top performer in region 2 of 4 years. Great Sales Manager as well as business associates. It was a great four years unfortunate it ended so soon.
Pros
Great Sales Manager and sales team
Cons
worked alot of Holidays and weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work.
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  Riviera Beach, FL30 November 2014
Advance in the company quickly and great benefits. Management is very supportive of the team.
Was this review helpful?Yes27No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Factory work
Frame Builder (Former Employee) –  Clear Lake, IA27 April 2014
Ability to work as a team required. Repetitive work is a requirement. Job entails ability to work 8 to 12 hours a day. Duties included working as a team member building mattress frames.
Pros
Benefits, somewhat flexible work schedule.
Cons
short breaks, repetitive work
Was this review helpful?Yes38No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work, very dishonest company
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lancaster PA4 January 2015
Most unprofessional company I have ever worked for, management is very unprofessional. No training provided for almost everything you do. Long hours (11-13 + hour days), you come to work and never know what time you will go home, if people call off or materials don't show up on time you just stay longer, that's the company solution. Nothing was accurate, they will tell you whatever you want to hear to get you there, then once you get there the truth comes out. Do not consider to work here if you want a life.
Pros
steady pay check
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes45No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work as a CFO for a growing company
Controller and Vice President (Former Employee) –  Hoffman Estates, IL18 May 2015
II had two main responsibilities. First was the leading the accounting and finance departments of the company. Second was acquisition of targeted strategic companies.

My staff for accounting and finance was very good. I trained them to perform newly created positions.

We compiled daily metrics and reported to local and corporate management.

Acquisitions were of family held businesses that were in the family for many years. Skilled diplomacy was required to acquire those companies.
Pros
Variety of work load. Worked closely with team
Cons
Too much travel
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hours are of work are unsure of everyday 8-16hrs!!!!!
Ruffler (Former Employee) –  Puyallup, WA8 August 2013
The not knowing what your schedule will be everyday was the worst part of the job, too long of hours for a pregnant woman to be on my feet for 10+ hours, with a non understanding management people that are like slave drivers with ego trips!!!! But other than that the work itself was easy.
Pros
easy work
Cons
short breaks, non-understanding management, very long hours for a pregnant woman
Was this review helpful?Yes35No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work place
Shipping Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Grovetown GA7 March 2014
I am a former employee & got fired after coming off of vacation. I was accused of something that I wasn't aware of & management is clueless, shows favoritism, and in my opinion home office really needs to come down here & clean house starting with the plant manager, shipping supervisor, scheduler. I would advise you not to take a position with this company no matter what they promise you. Please be aware when looking at this company for employment.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Bad management. favoritism, clueless & classless people
Was this review helpful?Yes50No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just look somewhere else!
quilter (Former Employee) –  Clear Lake, IA19 February 2015
Worked for Clear Lake facility for 2.5 years...applied for several positions to move up within the company only to be turned down and they hire outside help with less experience and education than I have...this facility is headed by corporate personnel because no one will work here and they are severely DECEPTIVE! Violating laws and lie all the time...get ready for months of 16 hr days! Very unsafe and hostile work environment with under qualified management that will throw you under the bus at any moment.
Pros
NONE
Cons
Poor pay, unpredictable hours, hostile, deceptive
Was this review helpful?Yes27No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production day
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Current Employee) –  Forest Park, OH18 September 2013
get the crew together and set up floor to get production going stag all product in the proper spots so it can be loaded on the out going trailers my co workers are all great people and we work well together the hardest thing we do is left beds for 10 to 13 hours a day the beds weigh between 20 to 90 pounds management not easy to deal with because it is their way no other the thing is none of them have done the the job and they think it is easy put we deal with them but at the end of the day we get the job done the most enjoyable part of the job is working with the guys and putting out a good bed
Pros
good people healthcare good price on beds
Cons
poor mangement, hours bathrooms, picking up king matts with no help
Was this review helpful?Yes31No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay that is about it.
Order Entry (Former Employee) –  Grovetown, Ga1 January 2013
I was the order entry clerk for the Grovetown, Ga. plant. The management has their head in the sand and are also classless. I was the third person in six months to fill the position. Management will not fix what was wrong with positon; they will just fire whomever is in the postion and move to the next person. Good luck working for this plant; they are all about drama and eating .
Had a great work record until Serta; I also let Human Resources know about the poor management and the temper tantrums that were thrown by co-workers (very unprofessional). Someone needs to clean house in that place starting with the front office and employ some professionals.
Pros
good pay
Cons
too many too list (beware)!
Was this review helpful?Yes54No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN!!!
Master Production Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Houston, Texas29 June 2015
This is a horrible company to work for. It's like a modern day plantation. The pay is horrible, managers stay over your shoulder, you have to be almost dead to take a day off and management is a joke!
Pros
80% of mattress
Cons
Horrible work environment, horrible pay, horrible managers!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TIRESOME
production supervisor (Former Employee) –  Puyallup, WA23 April 2015
Their is no such thing as life, work balance. Leadership and order fulfillment are not balanced. It is had to determine from day to day just how many hours one is required to work.

Enjoy the tempo, the staff but the lack of respect and communication from upper management is the hold back from being excellent place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes18No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
General Accounting Manager (Current Employee) –  Beloit, WI11 January 2015
Great company to work for. The only reason for looking for a new position is my position is being eliminated. Looking to move Tennessee to be closer to my family after living in Wisconsin for 12 years.

I started working as a plant accountant in the Cullman, Alabama facility then transferred to the Beloit, Wisconsin facility as the General Accounting Manager. I have supervised the accounts payable, accounts receivable, staff accountant and hourly payroll. I have also been responsible for the Human Resources for the Beloit facility. I am responsible for the monthly financials and the year end audit work.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clear Lake Plant
Key Accounts Representative (Former Employee) –  Clear Lake IA1 February 2012
I worked for Serta for 5 years. They are a good company and would recomend them to any professional seeking a long term career. They supply all the tools you need to be successful, you simply need to implement and follow thru. I went thru some life changing circumstances near the end of my career with them and went out seeking a different path.
Was this review helpful?Yes35No21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I've ever worked
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Puyallup26 August 2014
The hours were said in the interview as 9-10 hours with an occasional 12 hour day. No Saturday work. It was also said the training would be great and I would get an opportunity to work with some of the best employees they had in order to get the knowledge needed to run a department effectively. It was also said the Plant Manager was a good person who didn't micro-manage.

They LIED on ALL of it!

The Plant Manager was the worst micro manager ever! Not only that but he would go into your department and purposefully stir up stuff just to see how you'd handle it. I never received any training until the day they were going to let me go and I told them what a terrible place to work this was. The Plant manager would say he knew how to complete a KAIZEN but when it came down to doing the actual KAIZEN he would change the scope and the objective half way through the project. He didn't understand what Lean Manufacturing was really all about. He would yell and scream at his employees in front of everyone and would reprimand his supervisors in front of the employees as well.

Absolutely the worst place to work ever! Harassing environment and definitely a threatening Plant Manager in power as a dictator!

I will never work for or with any Serta Company ever again!!
Pros
Checks never bounced
Cons
Leadership, Culture, Labor force, Management or Lack of management, Time management, Scheduling, Planning, and HR
Was this review helpful?Yes63No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work enviroment
Customer Service/Order Entry (Current Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CA10 September 2014
great hours very flexible. Over time was always available.
The co-workers were great, the management was good as well.
The hardest part was the distance and the most enjoyable was the motivating work enviroment.
Pros
motivated work enviroment
Cons
distance
Was this review helpful?Yes32No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but enjoyable at times
Box-spring/ Shipping Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Falconer, NY17 February 2014
I worked from 7-finish, mainly Mon-Fri, some Sat., with 30 employees in 2 departments; shipping and boxspring. I learned how to prioritize quickly because of multiple issues popping up simultaneously thoughout the day. Most coworkers were enjoyable to work with. The hardest part of the job was the multitasking between sewing, upholstery, loading, and logistics. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people and accomplishing the hardest parts every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes26No10Report

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 29 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.6
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
2.8