Find companies:
Serta Mattress Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

Serta Mattress Company Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work enviroment
Customer Service/Order Entry (Current Employee), Moreno Valley, CASeptember 10, 2014
Pros: motivated work enviroment
Cons: distance
great hours very flexible. Over time was always available.
The co-workers were great, the management was good as well.
The hardest part was the distance and the most enjoyable was the motivating work enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I've ever worked
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), PuyallupAugust 26, 2014
Pros: checks never bounced
Cons: leadership, culture, labor force, management or lack of management, time management, scheduling, planning, and hr
The hours were said in the interview as 9-10 hours with an occasional 12 hour day. No Saturday work. It was also said the training would be great and I would get an opportunity to work with some of the best employees they had in order to get the knowledge needed to run a department effectively. It was also said the Plant Manager was a good person who – more... didn't micro-manage.

They LIED on ALL of it!

The Plant Manager was the worst micro manager ever! Not only that but he would go into your department and purposefully stir up stuff just to see how you'd handle it. I never received any training until the day they were going to let me go and I told them what a terrible place to work this was. The Plant manager would say he knew how to complete a KAIZEN but when it came down to doing the actual KAIZEN he would change the scope and the objective half way through the project. He didn't understand what Lean Manufacturing was really all about. He would yell and scream at his employees in front of everyone and would reprimand his supervisors in front of the employees as well.

Absolutely the worst place to work ever! Harassing environment and definitely a threatening Plant Manager in power as a dictator!

I will never work for or with any Serta Company ever again!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serta had provided me all the necessary tools in order to achieve sales growth.
Account Manager/Inside Sales (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJune 3, 2014
Serta was an extremely positive experience. I thoroughly enjoyed working there and had very positive outcomes during and after my duration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Factory work
Frame Builder (Former Employee), Clear Lake, IAApril 27, 2014
Pros: benefits, somewhat flexible work schedule.
Cons: short breaks, repetitive work
Ability to work as a team required. Repetitive work is a requirement. Job entails ability to work 8 to 12 hours a day. Duties included working as a team member building mattress frames.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay was good at times, tough working conditions.
Inspector - Visually (Former Employee), Grovetown, GAApril 21, 2014
Pros: great employee discount & 401k plan.
Cons: tough working conditions & slow season.
1. Early start, often worked late.

2. Learned to work in factory environment.

3. The management allowed you to do the job with minimal micro management.

4. My co-workers worked well together.

5. The hardest part was the heavy lifting.

6. Working with the people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great while it lasted
Director of Sales and Marketing (Former Employee), Des Plaines, ILMarch 15, 2014
Pros: the position gave me an opportunity to use my selling skills
Cons: company moved to st. louis
the company moved to St. Louis; I had no desire to move to St. Louis since my family is here in Chicago.

I began as a sales representative with Sealy and moved up the ladder to Sales Manager; Serta recruited me to the position of Director. Our sales increased 21%because we educated the retail sales force and always made sure we had prominent space – more... on the retail floor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work place
Shipping Coordinator (Former Employee), Grovetown GAMarch 7, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: bad management. favoritism, clueless & classless people
I am a former employee & got fired after coming off of vacation. I was accused of something that I wasn't aware of & management is clueless, shows favoritism, and in my opinion home office really needs to come down here & clean house starting with the plant manager, shipping supervisor, scheduler. I would advise you not to take a position with this – more... company no matter what they promise you. Please be aware when looking at this company for employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but enjoyable at times
Box-spring/ Shipping Supervisor (Former Employee), Falconer, NYFebruary 17, 2014
I worked from 7-finish, mainly Mon-Fri, some Sat., with 30 employees in 2 departments; shipping and boxspring. I learned how to prioritize quickly because of multiple issues popping up simultaneously thoughout the day. Most coworkers were enjoyable to work with. The hardest part of the job was the multitasking between sewing, upholstery, loading, and – more... logistics. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people and accomplishing the hardest parts every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very organized
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 11, 2013
Good team of workers, enjoyable atmosphere.
fair pay and reasonable workload.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production day
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Current Employee), Forest Park, OHSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: good people healthcare good price on beds
Cons: poor mangement, hours bathrooms, picking up king matts with no help
get the crew together and set up floor to get production going stag all product in the proper spots so it can be loaded on the out going trailers my co workers are all great people and we work well together the hardest thing we do is left beds for 10 to 13 hours a day the beds weigh between 20 to 90 pounds management not easy to deal with because it – more... is their way no other the thing is none of them have done the the job and they think it is easy put we deal with them but at the end of the day we get the job done the most enjoyable part of the job is working with the guys and putting out a good bed – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hours are of work are unsure of everyday 8-16hrs!!!!!
Ruffler (Former Employee), Puyallup, WAAugust 8, 2013
Pros: easy work
Cons: short breaks, non-understanding management, very long hours for a pregnant woman
The not knowing what your schedule will be everyday was the worst part of the job, too long of hours for a pregnant woman to be on my feet for 10+ hours, with a non understanding management people that are like slave drivers with ego trips!!!! But other than that the work itself was easy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible environment! People were very rude and unprofessional. Cussing is the norm.
Accounts payable (Former Employee), Grovetown GAJuly 4, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: unprofessional work environment. favoritism is the name of the game.
Atmosphere was very hostile. Environment was very loud (office area). Management was clueless in dealing with personnel issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mattress worker
Installer (Former Employee), Clear Lake, IowaMay 14, 2013
Build new mattresses for business. A typical work day involves waiting on the work line for the products you need in order to build a Serta mattress.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Consultant and Supervisor (Former Employee), Coxsackie, NYJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: enjoyed the work
Cons: had to live away from my family
Good people and a good position. Lots of opportunity to create a better workflow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay that is about it.
Order Entry (Former Employee), Grovetown, GaJanuary 1, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: too many too list (beware)!
I was the order entry clerk for the Grovetown, Ga. plant. The management has their head in the sand and are also classless. I was the third person in six months to fill the position. Management will not fix what was wrong with positon; they will just fire whomever is in the postion and move to the next person. Good luck working for this plant; they – more... are all about drama and eating .
Had a great work record until Serta; I also let Human Resources know about the poor management and the temper tantrums that were thrown by co-workers (very unprofessional). Someone needs to clean house in that place starting with the front office and employ some professionals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not work at serta
I had many different jobs throughout the plant (Former Employee), Clear LakeOctober 5, 2012
Cons: the whole factory
I worked at serta in Clear Lake for 10 years. I would not recommend woring there to anybody!!!! There are no advancement opportunities, more pay cuts than pay raises, and management only looks out for themselves and only tells u what u want to hear not was is actually going to happen. They promise you alot as far as pay but its all a lie just to get – more... you in the door. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to beging a sales career in the field
National Account Manager (Former Employee), Middleboro, MAMarch 21, 2012
Serta, was a stepping stone in the furniture industry. I worked and learned from that opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clear Lake Plant
Key Accounts Representative (Former Employee), Clear Lake IAFebruary 1, 2012
I worked for Serta for 5 years. They are a good company and would recomend them to any professional seeking a long term career. They supply all the tools you need to be successful, you simply need to implement and follow thru. I went thru some life changing circumstances near the end of my career with them and went out seeking a different path.