Find companies:
SERCO
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
744 reviews

SERCO Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Call Centre Agent (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONMarch 4, 2013
It was nice to work with friendly people, receive calls about road test appointments. Supervisor was very friendly and easy to talk to. It was difficult to have angry or upset people on the phone. It was great to talk to happy people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A poor company to work for
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Barrie, OntarioJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: decent wages
Cons: horrible environment, stressful, lacks job security, bad management
Work environment stressful, no support from management, extensive travel involved, not fair distribution of workload between staff. Hopefully you'll be a favourite, if not watch out. Management from supervisors to top of company not good. It's a shame, the wages are decent, but no job security. You'll get sent home all the time when it's quiet so don't – more... actually think just because your full time or you have seniority that you will work a full week. You will have to work weekends in the summer, mandatory overtime and sent home in the winter. It's constantly an unpleasant environment. the reviews I read on hear none of them are from Serco DES all different parts of the company from all over the world. so take them with a grain of salt, company is not run the same everywhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work for
Driver Examiner (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: stressful working conditions, no management support, negative environment
Employees are a liability to this company. Treated awful. Paycheck was only reward. No room for advancement, management terrible, very very negative environment. No job security, sent home all the time if quiet, and docked pay. Laid off, called back, laid off... Dangerous, stressful job with no support from supervisors. Treated as children, the only – more... thing that matters to this company is making money at any expense. There is a terrible attrition rate which is surprising becausing it does pay decent. But the environment in most of the offices is terrible. I highly recommend choosing another career choice. This is a privatized government contract that does expire this September 2013. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"A day late, and a dollar short"
General Clerk II- Telephone Support (Former Employee), Rogers, ARDecember 15, 2014
Pros: 401k, sick and vacation
Cons: expensive insurance, lack of productive days
A typical day at work we sit at our cubicles reading quick reference guides or surfing the companies one and only available web page; our daily goal is to stay awake and stay seated. This is because there is hardly any work to be done due to the fact, (I'm assuming), that they have over-hired. The work trickles in every once in awhile. When new tasks – more... are developed by the company, they train a hand full of teams. The training is very un-organized. For example: 6 teams were trained for a special task that was recently developed. We would get trained in groups. By the time we all got trained for the special tasks, all the work was completed before the last 4 teams could even attempt to work the new task. I do, however, understand that this is a new company and they are still trying to get there standard operating procedures in order.

Management could be better. Most days if we ask a question, we are told to look for it in one of the many quick reference guides; we rarely are ever given an answer to our questions.

Co-workers varied from young to old, little to big, black to white. It was a very cultured place to work and I had no problems with the co-workers.

The hardest part of the job is dealing with changing guidelines for tasks and application processing. The easiest part was getting paid to sit and do nothing some of the time.

Overall, in a few years this company might be decent to work for...but the drawback to working for this particular government facility is that it has only a 5 year contract with the government. Who knows what will happen to your job at the end of that contract. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only been with company x 1 month
General Clerk 2 (Current Employee), Wentzville, MODecember 14, 2014
Pros: nice salary
Cons: hours
Very rigid environment; some of my co-workers are not very qualified for the position. Different approaches from different managers. Difficulty balancing home life and job, have young child and working 3-12a which makes me unavailable for child during evening hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product orientated
Academics Manager/Curriculum Developer (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CADecember 14, 2014
SERCO was a good company to work for. Once they gave you the assignment there was not a lot of micromanagement. The only real drawback was they did not keep the lower level employees in the loop when it cam to contract negotiations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Services Team manager (Current Employee), Cardiff, WLSDecember 14, 2014
Serco is an extremely fun, proactive place to work. All members of staff are coached and developed to achieve extremely high levels of customer service whilst identifying the need for following process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
RTM (real time manegment (Former Employee), Aurangabad, MHDecember 10, 2014
Pros: no
Cons: no
fun and enjoyment place to work
means i am working in very freely and enjoyment at this post
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful time
Relationship manager/ Sr. Sales Manager (Former Employee), Mumbai, MHDecember 10, 2014
wonderful time to spent in Serco , I am very happy to say Serco is my first satisfactory company .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work overall.great team great management
customer service executive (Former Employee), New Delhi, DLDecember 6, 2014
Pros: management and training staff and floor support was awesome
Cons: no free lunch
most enjoyable part was the first call i took at Serco.i made a sale on the first call.everyone encouraged and appreaciated me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solving the credit card holders through phone
Role: Sr Executive & Back End Executive (Current Employee), Hyderabad, APDecember 5, 2014
there are no typical days at work till today,serco is my 1st company where i have learned so many things how to talk with customers and co-workers,management & etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serco
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Reston, VADecember 5, 2014
It is a great place to work but I need to advance my career for greater income.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Mission, Poor Management
Career Counselor (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYDecember 4, 2014
Pros: assisting soldiers as they transition
Cons: poor pay, management, and no opportunity for growth
The nature of the work is admirable - assisting soldiers as they transition out of the military. Unfortunately, it becomes a statistics game and management only cares about meeting and exceeding percentages. It has become less customer service and assistance roles and more 'meeting quotas' to be the best SFL-TAP program. Upper management refuses to – more... pay quality workers what they are worth and lower management refuses to fight for their workers. The pay is poor, especially when it is required for a counselor to have a master's degree. Turnover is high due to the poor pay, graduate degree requirements, and poor management. You are so micro-managed decision making isn't an option. The benefits have decreased over time and since Serco employs so many military spouses they do not allow enough time for leave or time off. Co-workers, for the most part, are fantastic though. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurnace
General Clerk II (Current Employee), Rogers, ARDecember 4, 2014
Health insurance coverage
processing applications
calling consumers
verifying applications
Management is awesome
Mon thr Friday
awesome hours
Everyone is fair
Computer skills, Make around 70 calls a day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Rapid response (Current Employee), Plymouth, ENGDecember 3, 2014
a typical day at work would be collecting my radio from our main serco office, walking to the help desk to collect a job with will consist of the decontamination of bed spaces and cubicals and any areas where there was a possible infection, I would be contacted via radio if there was any urgent jobs that needed doing asap!
I would also do general cleaning – more... duties which would include the cleaning of toilets, dusting, moping, general cleanliness within the hospital with would be of a very high standard of quality. I learn how to work extremely well under time schedules whilst completing the same high quality of work, the hardest part of the job was keeping good communication to supervisors as some were not able to do as you ask, they need a lot more training. the most enjoyable part of my job was successfully completing a job with the high standards needed and actually having a little recognition for the good job id done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to have a cool pressure less work envirement
Analyst (Current Employee), Hyderabad, APDecember 3, 2014
Pros: free food, cab facilities by company
Cons: shift
Company supports its employees to achieve higher positions. We have a good,disciplined,corporate environment. We work at client location(Google)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to go if you are serious about a career.
General Clerk (Former Employee), Rogers, ARDecember 2, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: management was not very trained.
I enjoyed the people. I did not enjoy the lack of knowledge the management had on the job duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
confronting place to work
Acting Client Servive Manager (Former Employee), MelbourneNovember 30, 2014
Long days,
I learned how to become a manager in the work place.
Higher management was not supportive.
Best people to work with and I can count on them to have my back.
Hardest part dealing with distraught, angry people.
knowing at the end of the day all my workers went home safely and know one got hurt.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Recreation Assistant (Former Employee), Preston, ENGNovember 26, 2014
During my time at serco I was able to develop excellent customer service skills. through the guidance of senior management and my own self drive I was able to become the youngest Acting Duty Manager at the age of 19.

The most enjoyable part of working at Serco, is the enjoyment the patrons get out of every visit to the leisure centre and working in – more... an environment that is very social.

the hardest part of the job is the workload demands from senior management when understaffed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Client Service Officer (Former Employee), Adelaide, SANovember 25, 2014
Pros: good money..easy work if you can handle the negativity
Cons: horrible staff morale, infighting, lack of appropriate facilities for staff, very long hours at short notice (14 hr shifts are normal 18+ hrs isn't unusual), always severely under staffed
Horrible gossip culture that's actively and openly encouraged by management. No procedures for anything, No one takes any responsibility for anything.
Paid very well to look the other way.
Do not value staff at all.

1 2 3 4 5

About SERCO

Serco employs over 100,000 people in more than 30 countries, delivering local services informed by many years of international – Read more