Find companies:
Sephora
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
354 reviews

Sephora Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for growth with the ability to show artistic side
Beauty Studio Captain/Artist (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: fun, great growth, self expression
Cons: not what i went to school for
Sephora was a great learning experience. I learned a lot about make-up application as well as management. It was a pert time job that became a full time job, due to the lack of Pharmacy jobs in my area. At Sephora I was able to go from working the register to being in Charge of the Beauty Studio, Being beauty Studio captain gave me the ability to work – more... side to side with other artist as well as making sure that the studio ran smoothly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, but still retail
Skincare and Color Consultant (Former Employee), Coralville, IAJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: store manager was awesome, food available many times, great educational experience, fun work environment, diverse clientelle and cast members
Cons: still retail, long hours that can go closing to opening back-to-back, tiring to be on feet all day, too much/not enough staff available at times
A typical day at work starts with a "touch base" where management gives cast members a review of what the past day/week looked like and how cast members can improve their "love" score (stores and cast members are rated on a love score based on client reviews). Most of the day involved a few cast members being able to CMA's (customized make up applications) – more... on clients, but otherwise it was the same retail you'd imagine- stocking shelves, cleaning areas, and helping clients. I learned many different techniques and how to use products in various ways of learning-- audio/visual/hands on. Sephora has the best educational system that I've seen thus far in retail, bringing in cosmetic and skincare gurus to teach cast members one-on-one on proper cosmetic etiquette. Our store was brand new and our management was recruited first hand, but It would have been nice to have a chance to apply for management in the beginning. All management was chosen prior to applications being accepted and therefore left no room for new management or applicants to show the team what they could bring to the table. The co-workers were fun to be around-- most very young (late teens, college part-timers) but there was a nice age range overall and a diverse group of cast members. I would say for the younger ones with little customer service experience, were a little less concerned with crucial aspects of customer service than the "veterans" and the things that could be improved didn't seem to be addressed ever or handled. On the other hand-- some of the cast members that had years of prior retail/customer service experience tended to have an ego at times. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to educate other cast members on knowledge as well as help clients learn about products and how to use them. You really get an idea of how you can improve, what you do well, and who your best clients will be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefit is not bad, love my co-workers
Makeup Artist/ Board Certified Fragrance Expert (Former Employee), Columbia, MDJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: i love to get trained on new product launch.
Cons: love to try new products from vendors
A typical day is standing in front of the store and greet everyone that walk your area. I learn to smile more. I have several different managers over the past several years. I learn to say less and do more.Great staff, we enjoyed working together. Over crowded on the weekends because people come in to hang out and socialize. the most enjoyable part – more... of my job is when i can sit my clients down and do a full face makeup application on their face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Make Up Artist (Former Employee), Palm Beach Gardens, FLJanuary 2, 2014
whether it was fast paced or not, I loved working at CVS. The customers were always happy to see me, and I got along great with the rest of the staff. The best part was getting to know everyone and always being able to help. There really wasnt a hard part about the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sephora
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Menomonee Falls, WIDecember 30, 2013
Pros: free products, great co-workers
Cons: lots of standing, long hours
A typical day at work would include communicating with clients to get a basic understanding of what they are searching for in terms of cosmetics and skin care. I learned a lot in regards to both skin care and cosmetics, as well as how to work in retail. The hardest part of the position at Sephora was learning how to operate and function in a retail – more... position and find a balance in work and school. I enjoyed the job because I am greatly interested in cosmetics and it helped me gain an understanding of the cosmetology field. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Makeup Artist/Product Consultant (Current Employee), Millbury, MADecember 29, 2013
Love working here great opportunitys and amazing work life balance does depend who your managers are though I love where I am now but my first experience was not as nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, creative environment.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hoover, ALDecember 29, 2013
Pros: interacting with some many people and gratis.
Cons: often long, abnormal hours.
I completely loved working at Sephora. Everyday was something new and exciting. The company often had nation wide contests and did a lot of training to ensure the staff was comfortable and knowledgeable about the thousands of products they carry. Unfortunately, the store I worked in had some management problems that ended up forcing me to leave the – more... company. Also, the pay for sales associates is not enough to survive on but I was willing to work for less money because I enjoyed my job so much. The best part of my job was being able to make people feel better about themselves and boost their self-confidence. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work with plenty of room for growth
ASSISTANT STORE MANAGER (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 28, 2013
I worked for Sephora as an Assistant Store Manager for 10 years and will never forget my amazing experiences there. They have a fun culture and are very proud of their values and work very hard to make sure they live.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), London, ENGDecember 27, 2013
Brand Knowledge:
Perfums and Make-Up: CHANEL, YSL, ARMANI, GUERLAIN, HERRERA, CLARINS, ESTÈE LAUDER,

Cosmetics / Beauty Treatments: GUERLAIN, CLARINS, ESTÉE LAUDER, CHANEL, KENZO, YSL, CLINIC

Team nice interpersonal relations / Fashion / Luxury products

Client advising

Xmas crazy days on selling!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced workplace
Picker/Packer (Former Employee), Magna, UTDecember 23, 2013
Pros: get hours
Cons: pay for what you work for
You have to be ready to pick fast paced and send out alot of packages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at Sephora
Skin care expertSephora (Current Employee), The Woodlands, TXDecember 12, 2013
Pros: complete freedom to be me and really make an inpact in my clients lifes
Cons: no cons at all
I would still be at my store in The Woodlands, Tx I was very recently married and moved to the Round Rock area. Would loved to be there till I retired!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perks is beauty - but you lose everything else
Full Time Management (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 12, 2013
Pros: free product
Cons: lack of compensation for your skills
VERY difficult company to work for. This is a matter of games. Yes, the perks of free product is enticing, but to have management hold your job over your head and turn it personal when you look for opportunities to advance is wrong and immoral.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Color Artist (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSDecember 11, 2013
I loved this job how ever I just out grew it and was felt Like I was stuck in a dead end job at the mall
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be
Color/Skin Consulantant (Former Employee), Charlottesville,VADecember 11, 2013
Always liked being there to learn new make up techniques and new product information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hope you have a heafty savings account to cover start up costs!
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), Durham, NCDecember 9, 2013
Good Company but high fees. Training provided. Managers are helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be sketchy and taxing mentally and physically
Inventory Control Specialist (Former Employee), Belcamp, MDDecember 6, 2013
Pros: good overtime compensation.
Cons: just about everything you can think of.
Difficult place to work. Especially around the holidays. Turnover is very high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Fragrance consultant (Former Employee), West Nyack, NYDecember 6, 2013
Sephora is an amazing company to work for. I learned so much everyday and never stopped learning about make up and skin care. The benefits are great and provides lots to room for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Product Consultant (Current Employee), Biloxi, MSDecember 5, 2013
Pros: gratis
Cons: not enough hours
I love my job here, very thorough training and loads of freebies. I enjoy makeup already and I love letting people see how much I enjoy my work. It really is no longer work when you're having fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Enviorment
Beauty Consultant (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 4, 2013
Pros: multiple brands in the store
Cons: short breaks
When I worked at Sephora I got to interact with people from all over the world so that was great. A lot of the clients were tourist and travelers so they were almost always pleasant. I learned about different brands and products which was great and I also felt it was great because I was able to grow as an artist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make Artist, Cashier
Cashier/Color Consultant (Current Employee), Burlington, MADecember 2, 2013
Pros: good atmosphere, great co-workers, great company
Cons: varied scheduling, difficult customers
Throughout the day I apply make up to clients. I assist them to find the best products for their skin and with other concerns they might have about products. When I am not applying makeup, I ring out customers at the cash register. I constantly provide multi-client service and customer service all day. I learned how to manage my time through multi-client – more... service. I also put out new products and clean as well as organize the store before and after store opening and closing. I have worked at Sephora for three years and I have to say the people I work with are amazing. The hardest part of my job is having a very varied schedule with different shifts being at different times of the day. The part I enjoy most about my job is my co-workers. My co-workers are very fun to be around and are constantly teaching me new things. – less

About Sephora

Shopping for cosmetics at Sephora is meant to be a hands-on experience. Through more than 280 stand-alone stores in North America – Read more