Find companies:
Sephora
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
472 reviews

Sephora Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal cast member
Seasonal Cast Member (Former Employee), NYJune 24, 2014
Pros: free products
Cons: long breaks
Great company to work for. Sephora appreciates their employees and recognizes hard work. Best part of the job is the happy clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance
Make-Up Artist (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 20, 2014
Pros: gratis
Cons: short breaks, minimal growth
This is a great company to work for. You have the opportunity to learn about every aspect of the business from customer service, skincare, makeup, fragrance, etc. Some locations are busier than others, mine in particular was quite busy almost everyday of the week. Therefore everyone was busy multiple client servicing. However most of the coworkers got – more... along and were friendly. The hardest part of the job is the non stop talking and walking back and forth in the store which will leave you beat at the end of the day. The most enjoyable part are the trainings, gratis and work life balance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting all types of people
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), Tallahassee, FLJune 16, 2014
I enjoy working with clients to provide them with the best service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SEphora
Cashier (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 14, 2014
I love working at Sephora it is one the best jobs I have ever had I have been with the company now for 7 years
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace but doesn't pay enough
Make-up Sales Associate (Former Employee), Queens, NYJune 13, 2014
Pros: gratis, see new products
Cons: a lot of expectations for little pay
No room for growth.

Fun environment.

Cool customers.

Learn ALOT about products and company culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work
Beauty Studio Artist / DIC (Current Employee), Pasadena, CAJune 10, 2014
Pros: gratis, education of products, fun, motivational.
Cons: not much opportunity to move up
It doesn't feel like you are working because you are having so much fun. Of course every place of employment has its ups and downs. I love working here. The drive from my house is just very far.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic, fun and educational workplace.
Sales Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 6, 2014
Pros: gratis, education, salary
Cons: costume/uniform
Sephora is an excellent place to work, especially if you are interested in being promoted into management. Great work environment and the company really invests in your education of the beauty industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun makeup job
Color consultant (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 6, 2014
Pros: the reps bring food
Cons: short lunches, and not a set schedule
I love my job at Sephora, my typical day is all about helping clients with all there makeup and skincare needs, My co workers are amazing, we always help each other out, managment for me has always been good. Hardest part of my job is when a client who needs alot of attention and this usually happens right before my shift is over. The best part by far – more... is helping people and watching them leave happy knowing i made the difference. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and inspiring workplace.
Operations Consultant (Current Employee), Southlake, TXJune 4, 2014
Pros: exciting environment to work.
Cons: there's no financial accounting jobs in texas.
I have been honored to work for such a great company for many years and just wish there were financial accounting jobs available to transfer internally to in Texas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands on experience with providing clients with cosmetic application
Color Consultant (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAMay 29, 2014
Pros: free makeup and working with multiple brands!
Cons: heavy foot traffic while being understaffed
My typical day at Sephora Powell consists of assisting clients on the sales floor with their cosmetic needs. Multitasking/multi-clienting is a HUGE part of the job considering it is located by Union Square of downtown San Francisco. When I'm not circling the sales floor I am engaged in 45 min consultations providing clients with a customized makeover. – more... These consultations are definitely the highlight of my day, where I can use my communication skills and makeup to make someone feel amazing about themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Product Consultant (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKMay 29, 2014
I worked here part time. It was a very fun place to work and I learned a lot of my customer service skills from here. The management was wonderful and was very flexible with our schedules. The co workers were great and easy to get along with. It was a fun environment to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a stepping stone or a walk in the park.
Beauty Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 29, 2014
Pros: something to do in the meantime
Cons: read above
I left Sephora after 4 months the first time. Due to personal family issues. The second time around I was asked to return. I was told that this location is very challenging. I was asked to help set the tone at the so and so street location. A challenge it was. Everyday I was reminded the mistake I made. The employee's who put an effort where actually – more... the target. I was verbally attacked more then 3 times by my " team members". Attempted cyber bullying and so on...

One thing that bothered me to the core was when a person would asked if we were hiring and with more work experience then those who I was working with " they know who they are" but were turned down. Instead someone from Victoria secret, Best buy, H&M Borders... you get the point people who didn't have any beauty experience or the skills to attain them. Training at Sephora is a joke. Vendors are sent to push there products. The only way to get the "cast member" attention for those 10 mins or less were the prospect of "gratis" free product.

No one in there right mind would go from a established department store or free standing store to work at Sephora. The going rate ranges from $10-$16. Well I did. Never again – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun work enviorement
Skin Care Expert/ Cashier Manager/ Sales Associate (Current Employee), Brea, CAMay 27, 2014
Pros: brand focus days, meeting new people, having fun.
Cons: company information
Working at Sephora is always fun, upbeat, helping clients find their direct needs is always the best. Clients that are willing to learn more about products and get information about new products coming out are always the best!.

I have learned more about myself and how to do the job at hand the best of my ability and to always work with a smile on my – more... face. Keeping energy alive in this setting is always the easiest and makes everything so much better.

Hardest part about working for Sephora is sometimes you run into some obstacles along the way. Whether it be clients, cast, management no one is perfect but you have to push through it and keep doing what you do best to make the environment stay alive and allow the clients to know you are there for a reason. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
CASHIER (Former Employee), millbury, maMay 27, 2014
great place to work, good company, and a lot of opportunity to be promoted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoy work
beauty advise (Former Employee), White Plains, NYMay 25, 2014
Pros: oen lounche
Cons: short break
all is same anteriority
iam very easier to go on and very polite love people and many other thing on the job .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but enjoyable
Product Consultant (Current Employee), Dickson City, PAMay 21, 2014
The environment is very fast paced, but I enjoy my coworkers and have learned a lot since I started working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy with a very fast paced environment
Product Consultant (Current Employee), Greenwood, INMay 14, 2014
Pros: meeting new people, helping people find products
Cons: inconsistent hours and education
Typical day consists of make overs, selling product to clients, suggesting new products to clients
Management is very easy to talk to and really emphasizes work life balance
My coworkers are very personable and welcomed me with open arms, they are also very driven.
The hardest part about the job is the inconsistency in hours
The most enjoyable part – more... about the job is, meeting new people everyday! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Wayzata, MNMay 12, 2014
I worked at the register most of the time, efficiently ringing up customers and selling Sephora cards. During some shifts I was at the front of the store greeting customers. After store close about every other week I helped out with shipment, putting out items on the floor that we received. Helped organize and arrange the store in what they call “animation” – more... which was putting out the new items of the month that the store was focused on selling. The hardest part of my job was having to do many different tasks at once, but with that I did learn how to overcome the stress of doing many things at once, and now I'm good at performing many different tasks all at one time. The most enjoyable part of my job was the customer interaction and always being busy. My co-workers were very helpful and made it a great working environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun workplace
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAMay 8, 2014
Pros: discounts, free gifts
Cons: not enough shifts avaliable
If you enjoy working with makeup or anything beauty related then Sephora is a good place for you. I loved my time there. My favorite part was getting to sell, learn about, and apply the makeup. My biggest issue I had was that they do not give you enough hours to work. I wanted to stay longer and could not most days. The people are always very friendly – more... as well which was definitely a positive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sephora was great!!
Product Consultant (Former Employee), Fenton, MOMay 7, 2014
Pros: gratis, fun job
Cons: uniform, poor management
I absolutely loved working at Sephora, for the most part. The job was fun and constantly exciting and the pay was decent but the best part was all the GRATIS! It definitely helped me to sell the products when the company was giving us free product to try out on ourselves. That way, when a customer asks your opinion, YOU KNOW WHAT YOURE TALKING ABOUT! – more... The only downer was my manager and I've actually heard the same about all the stores in my area. It seems to me that the company is trying to find people so good at managerial stuff that they end up with people who are lacking in the makeup department. – less

About Sephora

Shopping for cosmetics at Sephora is meant to be a hands-on experience. Through more than 280 stand-alone stores in North America – Read more