Find companies:
Sephora
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
406 reviews

Sephora Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Product Consultant (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKMay 29, 2014
I worked here part time. It was a very fun place to work and I learned a lot of my customer service skills from here. The management was wonderful and was very flexible with our schedules. The co workers were great and easy to get along with. It was a fun environment to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a stepping stone or a walk in the park.
Beauty Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 29, 2014
Pros: something to do in the meantime
Cons: read above
I left Sephora after 4 months the first time. Due to personal family issues. The second time around I was asked to return. I was told that this location is very challenging. I was asked to help set the tone at the so and so street location. A challenge it was. Everyday I was reminded the mistake I made. The employee's who put an effort where actually – more... the target. I was verbally attacked more then 3 times by my " team members". Attempted cyber bullying and so on...

One thing that bothered me to the core was when a person would asked if we were hiring and with more work experience then those who I was working with " they know who they are" but were turned down. Instead someone from Victoria secret, Best buy, H&M Borders... you get the point people who didn't have any beauty experience or the skills to attain them. Training at Sephora is a joke. Vendors are sent to push there products. The only way to get the "cast member" attention for those 10 mins or less were the prospect of "gratis" free product.

No one in there right mind would go from a established department store or free standing store to work at Sephora. The going rate ranges from $10-$16. Well I did. Never again – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun work enviorement
Skin Care Expert/ Cashier Manager/ Sales Associate (Current Employee), Brea, CAMay 27, 2014
Pros: brand focus days, meeting new people, having fun.
Cons: company information
Working at Sephora is always fun, upbeat, helping clients find their direct needs is always the best. Clients that are willing to learn more about products and get information about new products coming out are always the best!.

I have learned more about myself and how to do the job at hand the best of my ability and to always work with a smile on my – more... face. Keeping energy alive in this setting is always the easiest and makes everything so much better.

Hardest part about working for Sephora is sometimes you run into some obstacles along the way. Whether it be clients, cast, management no one is perfect but you have to push through it and keep doing what you do best to make the environment stay alive and allow the clients to know you are there for a reason. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
CASHIER (Former Employee), millbury, maMay 27, 2014
great place to work, good company, and a lot of opportunity to be promoted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoy work
beauty advise (Former Employee), White Plains, NYMay 25, 2014
Pros: oen lounche
Cons: short break
all is same anteriority
iam very easier to go on and very polite love people and many other thing on the job .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but enjoyable
Product Consultant (Current Employee), Dickson City, PAMay 21, 2014
The environment is very fast paced, but I enjoy my coworkers and have learned a lot since I started working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy with a very fast paced environment
Product Consultant (Current Employee), Greenwood, INMay 14, 2014
Pros: meeting new people, helping people find products
Cons: inconsistent hours and education
Typical day consists of make overs, selling product to clients, suggesting new products to clients
Management is very easy to talk to and really emphasizes work life balance
My coworkers are very personable and welcomed me with open arms, they are also very driven.
The hardest part about the job is the inconsistency in hours
The most enjoyable part – more... about the job is, meeting new people everyday! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Wayzata, MNMay 12, 2014
I worked at the register most of the time, efficiently ringing up customers and selling Sephora cards. During some shifts I was at the front of the store greeting customers. After store close about every other week I helped out with shipment, putting out items on the floor that we received. Helped organize and arrange the store in what they call “animation” – more... which was putting out the new items of the month that the store was focused on selling. The hardest part of my job was having to do many different tasks at once, but with that I did learn how to overcome the stress of doing many things at once, and now I'm good at performing many different tasks all at one time. The most enjoyable part of my job was the customer interaction and always being busy. My co-workers were very helpful and made it a great working environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun workplace
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAMay 8, 2014
Pros: discounts, free gifts
Cons: not enough shifts avaliable
If you enjoy working with makeup or anything beauty related then Sephora is a good place for you. I loved my time there. My favorite part was getting to sell, learn about, and apply the makeup. My biggest issue I had was that they do not give you enough hours to work. I wanted to stay longer and could not most days. The people are always very friendly – more... as well which was definitely a positive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sephora was great!!
Product Consultant (Former Employee), Fenton, MOMay 7, 2014
Pros: gratis, fun job
Cons: uniform, poor management
I absolutely loved working at Sephora, for the most part. The job was fun and constantly exciting and the pay was decent but the best part was all the GRATIS! It definitely helped me to sell the products when the company was giving us free product to try out on ourselves. That way, when a customer asks your opinion, YOU KNOW WHAT YOURE TALKING ABOUT! – more... The only downer was my manager and I've actually heard the same about all the stores in my area. It seems to me that the company is trying to find people so good at managerial stuff that they end up with people who are lacking in the makeup department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leading, Managing, Client servce, sales
Skincare Lead (Current Employee), Scottsdale, AZMay 6, 2014
Good Company overall, high volume, client service oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Architect (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAMay 1, 2014
Very complex architecture. The team and people are all very smart.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
petty
Cashier / Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 27, 2014
not what i thought it would be ! mangers are horrible , and the girls are catty
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok but not the best
Seasonal Holiday Associate (Former Employee), chicagoApril 23, 2014
this job was a great resume booster for me there was no job security and management was not helpful in preparing you for success
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
super fun place to work.
Shipping Clerk (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTApril 23, 2014
Pros: great dicounts on prouducts
Cons: short breaks
well i really loved working at sephora , i had a blast with the crew and managers i worked with . they were also very under standing with my personal life , they would reward us with partys if we did great . they also made me feel important like i had meaning there not like i was just another worker and i loved that about my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxed work place
Customer Service and Sales Professional (Current Employee), Davenport, IAApril 21, 2014
Pros: upbeat, fun environment.
Cons: owned by jc penney, management
In my experience working at Sephora I have learned to appreciate all different types of personalities and that helped me become a well rounded customer service representative. Everyday was fun and energetic with different tasks to keep me on my toes. I have become part of a wonderful team that strives towards reaching different goals. The hardest part – more... of Seohora, despite how much I have come to love the company, there was simply no room for me to grow. I had hoped if I worked my hardest I would reach a more challenging and fulfilling position in the company. I have always enjoyed doing my best to help current clients as well new clients find what they needed and answer any and all questions provided. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Makeup Artist Color Consulted (Current Employee), Memphis, TNApril 21, 2014
Pros: grow in the company
Cons: balance and life
great place to intreact with clients. management is great a place for you to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people at work
MAKE-UP ARTIST/BEAUTY CONSULTANT (Former Employee), Buckhead, GAApril 19, 2014
good company with great workers. hardest part was customers but it was ok
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Cashier, Operations Department (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 19, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere
Cons: do not have any
-Amazing company
-Great with promotions
-Over all loved the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching clients the importance of taking care of our skin
Beauty Consultant (Former Employee), Burton, MIApril 17, 2014
My typical day would start at home making sure that my uniform that I wore was pressed and I had my pin on that was required as part of my attire.

I always arrive 1/2 early just to make sure that I was ready to start my job and talked to my manager to see if any changes were made and what our sales goal was for that day. When I clocked in I checked – more... in with the manager on the floor to see what my area was for that day or night and if any new products came in that I was unaware of. I started my shift usually greeting customers as they entered the store and would ask them what they had come in for and if they were looking for something specific. I would guide them to the area and consult the products they we had and demonstrate it on skin so they knew what the texture was like, if it was too heavy, if it irritated their skin or just right for them. I would always suggest something else that would compliment the product (suggestive selling).

On my down time it would be cleaning our areas that I was assigned at the beginning of the week. What ever my area was, everything had to be taking off the shelf, dusted and wiped down. I also got graded on how clean my area was and if it was not cleaned right I was marked down on it. Bare Essentials was a nightmare! Powder was everywhere and could never look clean.

I loved my team. We work well together and it was a team effort to get our commission and most months we made our goal. I love being part of a team. My team that I worked with complemented each other well. – less

About Sephora

Shopping for cosmetics at Sephora is meant to be a hands-on experience. Through more than 280 stand-alone stores in North America – Read more