Sephora Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, terrible hours
Skincare Consultant (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON18 August 2017
Fun place to work if you love makeup, gratis is fantastic. Hours are terrible and inconsistent, other cast members can be catty, but clients are great
Pros
Gratis
Cons
Inconsistent hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funwork place
recovery specialist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 August 2017
a typical day at work was fun working about make-up etc
the hardest part was busy days
i enjoyed learning about new products and the free gifts we would get
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS31 July 2017
i love working for sephora its a excellent team to work for and very family oriented . i feel comfortable in my position and i'm always wonderful feedback
Pros
great company
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value System driven, Career culture focused on leadership and development
Store Co-Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, Alberta, Canada28 July 2017
Fast-pased, high standards, client focused, innovative, Strong performance development, incredible bonus structure and over lay out of company. Great place to work!
Cons
work life balance is low
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly work environment
Beauty Adviser (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 July 2017
A fun place to work provided that you're passionate about the beauty industry. If you aren't pursuing a career as a make-up artist, you may feel that working at Sephora is monotonous. However, working at Sephora will allow you to build good relationships with clients in a more personal way than any other retail store. By that I mean, since make-up and skincare are personal choices, connecting with clients and advising them on products within these categories can really impact their self-esteem and knowledge of beauty in general. Therefore, Sephora relies heavily on sensitivity and a strong analysis of the clients' needs. Although you won't be penalized for doing an 'adequate' job at work, others who are more passionate than you will move onto gain recognition and become favorites. One one hand it's great that Sephora recognizes its employees as much as they do, although with a large amount of staff, most people who do the job just as well aren't appreciated enough. If that doesn't bother you and you're satisfied with how you're treated then Sephora is an amazing place to work. The in-store challenges and learning workshops are very fun, informative, and bring the entire team closer together. I would definitely recommend working here even if you aren't a beauty/skincare junkie for the experience.
Pros
Gratis, employee discount, friendly and family-like job culture, no commissions (everyone worked as a team), easy to develop relationship with clients
Cons
High volume store, favoritism, few job advancement opportunities in store
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be prepared to turn into a robot
Skincare Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 July 2017
Let's get this straight: If you're not counted as a favourite from your store director, specialist or other leads, you're nothing to them. Sephora does not tell you how to contact HR for a reason. (shady) If you're here, be prepared to keep to yourself and find yourself surrounded by passive-aggressive management and two-faced coworkers. Management does not value autonomy or you. No matter how hard you work, you are not valued. You can't afford to go out on your pay, you can't afford to eat on your pay, you don't get paid enough for what you do. They (management) will love you and act as if they're your best friend for the first few months and then they will show their true colours. If even one product is not shown perfectly aligned, be prepared to be talked to and scolded.

Honestly, the gratis wasn't even worth the bad vibes or negativity I got from my store director. Boy bye.
Pros
Gratis, Fun events
Cons
Management do not value you
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work in
Skincare Specialist (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 July 2017
Meet backstage ready to go, meeting every day before you hit stage (this was an amazing thing which no other company I've worked for has done). On stage, kept busy in our zones, doing consultations, cleaning, dusting. I worked in skincare, so it wasn't as high paced as the color world, but it got hectic at times.
Pros
Gratis
Cons
Long hours, inflexibility in schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colour Consultant
COLOUR CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC11 July 2017
worked as a full-time colour consultant for Sephora Canada...if your looking for artistry experience, go for it! However, I just got tired of selling makeup all the time. Otherwise if you enjoy retail, you'd probably love working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun interactive fast paced work culture
Education Lead (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL27 June 2017
Worked here for 10 + years. Lots of great training for leadership to better coach and develop the staff. A company that's consistently growing and shifting with the consumer demand.
Pros
Benefits. Working with diverse people
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Location, Coworkers like Family
Color Consultant & Sephora Collection Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 June 2017
The location I worked at was particularly busy, but at the same time everyone worked together really well which made the day go by a lot quicker. The benefits at Sephora for a full time Cast member are pretty good! Great job for someone who is passionate about makeup, skincare, or beauty in general.
Pros
Making new friends, and benefits
Cons
Busy, hard working, clientele can be rude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Sephora
Operations Consultant (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON14 June 2017
Sephora can be a fun place to work. Working with people with similar interests as you can be quite enjoyable if you are working in a "world" you enjoy. World means section of the store in sephora lingo.
Pros
Free makeup
Cons
5am shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You're a disposable
Colour Consultant (Current Employee) –  Guildford, BC10 June 2017
The leadership of Sephora doesn't value its people the low wages and long shift make for an awful work environment my final straw was being called a disposable
Pros
Two paid 15 minute breaks
Cons
Low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at work
Makeup Artist (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON8 June 2017
Amazing atmosphere. Everyone is kind and helpful. Judgement-free environment. I love my job there. There company itself is a great company and I'm proud to be working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sephora Cast Member
Skin Care Consultant (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON6 June 2017
I love working at Sephora. It's a high-energy, high-paced, very physical job, considering a cast member sells skincare, makeup, or fragrance. The culture is healthy, with fantastic, approachable management, great perks and tons of education regarding brands and products.
Pros
Gratis of product, great people to work with
Cons
Long hours, occasionally difficult clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good opportunity with poor management and staff
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 June 2017
A typical day at work involved interacting with the customers, suggesting products and doing makeovers. I learned a lot about the different types of products and what worked best with different people. The staff and management were very rude and it had a high school type atmosphere. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the other staff and the constant conflict between my coworkers. The most enjoyable part was being able to use my skills and education to help customers find the best products for themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, exciting, and well-organized
Seasonal Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 May 2017
Sephora is a great place to work if you love gaining make-up and skin care knowledge. The company is well-organized and there is always an interesting event happening in store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
ON Cashier, Colour Artist (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 May 2017
it is always a pleasure walking into Sephora as a cast. The management is amazing ! Basically a job where you walk in and walk out with more energy. The most challenging part of the job is pleasing the client, which is rare because most clients leave happy and feel more confident than they came in. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting the opportunity to change one's perspective on themselves, higher self esteem, boost confidence and lastly the GRATIS
Pros
Free Lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun learning space to work
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON15 May 2017
Sephora is a respected beauty company that is very well known for good cause. My experience at Sephora was an overall enjoyable one, the company itself had very clear and concise guidelines and the customers were always fun and enjoyable to interact with.

The only con in my time at Sephora was the management and some employees. Childish and minor issues between employees would eventually become large problematic issues and management never did anything to put a stop to the issues that would constantly arise. Instead they became apart of the problem like talking about each person rather then helping.

Sephora is an excellent retail company and I would have stayed longer if it had not been the lack of respect and responsibility form management and staff.
Pros
Free lunches on rush hour days ex: Saturdays
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Beauty Expert/Cashier (Former Employee) –  North York, ON7 May 2017
Great atmosphere, lots of diversity and great experience. Working at this store for quite some time was rewarding. I feel that the company truly values the job work/ life balance and also expanding everyone's knowledge. The product knowledge training was extremely fun and important part of the job.
Pros
Gratis
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and engaging job focused on client satisfaction and cast member education.
Cashier & Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 May 2017
Sephora is a wonderful and enjoyable retail store to work for. They teach you endless knowledge on client satisfaction and cast members become highly knowledgeable on all their products. It is a safe working place where management and cast alike encourage growth and self-confidence. The hardest part of the job is learning about the products, however, this is overcome by the great support cast members and management provides you with. The most enjoyable part of the job is watching satisfied clients return to come back for more advice or simply to catch up.
Pros
Great work-life balance
Cons
Sometimes physically draining
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sephora. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,228 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
4.0