Sephora Employee Reviews

Found 113 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Client Service Specialist/Beauty Advisor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 February 2017
Love the place to work, provide loads of training to learn about new products and brands. Helps you maintain integrity, loyalty and honesty. Co workers are supportive and helpful. The leaders are role models to follow
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with great people!
Seasonal Fragrance Consultant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 January 2017
I enjoyed my time at Sephora so much and I would definitely continue to pursue a career there. Days of work were a little tiring, but still really worth it. I learned a lot about fragrance, makeup and skincare! The management was generally really nice. Hardest part of the job was mean clients and the most enjoyable was my fellow cast-mates!
Pros
Lots of hours if you want them, free goodies
Cons
Manager forgot my name
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Color consultant
Colour Consultant (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ON28 January 2017
This job all depends around your management team. Some stores have it better than others. They will advance whom they like to at least that was my experience.
Pros
gratis...sometimes
Cons
pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work with great people
Skin Care Consultant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC16 January 2017
Great place to work, super fast paced. Team work, passionate work mates. There's a great work culture that everyone really believes in so its very easy to jump on board. Everyone is very helpful so its easy to learn very fast. Management is amazing!
Pros
Gratis
Cons
Holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment, with good benefits and opportunities.
seasonal colour consultant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 January 2017
Although a fun work environment that was an excellent experience I found that the management did favorite certain individuals because they were friends thus giving them preferred treatment. Although it didn't affect me. I found it unprofessional. Besides that, I had a good experience there and would recommend this job to others.
Pros
Benefits, opportunities
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun environment and great team work
Packer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON8 January 2017
good company and people around.Eco friendly environment.All the members in team have great accuracy and ability of team work in them .
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Gratis,
Operations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 December 2016
As a seasonal worker it was a creative company to work for, but I would only work for Sephora again if I was in corporate or in management. There was a lot of favouritism with the management and that can affect the work life balance.
Pros
gratis
Cons
long hours, catty environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities to improve and advance
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON19 December 2016
Sephora is a good place to work for those who are in high school unless you are a part of management or trained in makeup artistry. They do give the opportunity to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Color Consultant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 December 2016
Nice environment, pro-active people, willing to teach and help you with sales skills, good customer service.
Fast pace environment, specially at eaton centre.
Pros
excellent teaching on sales and customer services
Cons
long hours, no comission
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced client inspired atmosphere
Skincare Specialist (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON11 December 2016
Very fast paced environment and client inspired. Product knowledge essential to achieving sales targets. Team oriented to reach goals ...no commission. Very structured as to breaks and lunches for optimal sales. Focus for employees is growth within company and creating positions for incentive.
Pros
No commission
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and upbeat work environment, good place to grow and learn.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 December 2016
Working at Sephora was very interesting, especially being interested in the beauty industry as a career path. There will be long hours, especially during the holidays, but it is overall very fun.
Pros
Upbeat and chance to learn a lot.
Cons
Long hours and short breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you're young.
Skin Care Consultant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS28 November 2016
sephora is a great job if you're young and don't have to pay your own bills and have the time it takes to move up. It does not pay enough to cover living and can be very stressful because of this.
The company is also very good at telling you what you want to hear regarding promotions and then making you work hard and demonstrate how badly you want something with no more pay and then no follow through from the company.
Favouritism is HUGE, people will get promotions who dont deserve them and vice versa.
The training from brands and being sent away for training was really nice and for sure the best part of working there.
It really is all about who you work with, my first management team was amazing and then the next was a disaster. Some store directors like to hire externally for promotions which usually causes good staff to leave.
The hours are long, there's no consistency in shifts and it is very difficult to have a life around it.
Finally, sometimes at Sephora you began to feel like a robot... You're coached on how to speak to clients,how to act.. Etc., The company wants you to be an individual but then makes you wear the same makeup, same lip colour and so on with visits and occasions. I don't know if this is a good thing or bad thing I just know the company started to feel very much not me.

I think if you love makeup and are young this could be either a great foot in the door or you could make a career out of it. I loved the company when I first started and have just unfortunately found that the company doesn't really align with who I am anymore!
Pros
Gratis
Cons
Low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, but the salary lacks.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC25 November 2016
Although Sephora is a great environment to work, and place that offers a lot of room to grow, the management is stressful and the salary is not sufficient for the amount of work that they require you to do.
Pros
free products, great customer service knowledge
Cons
salary and management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Backstage Pass
Seasonal Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 October 2016
As an operations consultant I worked behind the scenes, making sure inventory was up to date, checking products, and pulling things out to go onstage, among many other things.

My co-workers were wonderful and caring, including the management and owners.

I learned how a big business operates as this Sephora is the busiest Sephora in all of North America.
Pros
Free lunches and wonderful people
Cons
Irate clients
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and Inspiring place to work
Skincare Consultant & Colour Artist & Cashier (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC20 October 2016
Was able to grow as a person
Become much more outgoing and approachable
Sales skill definitely increased
Was inspiring being able to meet new people and help them along their skin care and make up journey- no matter how small or big
Was able to make lots of friends and now family
Pros
working doing somehing i love!
Cons
lack of detail in training.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the environment
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 September 2016
Not a lot career opportunities for employees. Very good training system from different brands.
Loving working in the fragrance filled environment, and helping ladies to be more beautiful and confident.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but stressful workplace
SALES ASSOCIATE AND CASHIER (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL17 August 2016
A typical day at work is long fast pace environment with a lot of repetition even though it is asked for no repetition but being a cashier it can not be avoided.
I have learned that making the client happy makes a really big difference and clients are more willing to come back to have the same experience.
Management and co-workers where okay at times but sometimes co-workers made you feel less than them by making remarks at your makeup.
Hardest part of the job is standing up for long hours and repetition should be avoided but it can not.
The most enjoyable part of the job was trying new styles of makeup and pushing your self to work on your skills outside of the box.
Pros
Products given to employees for them to try them and have reviews for clients
Cons
Long exhausting hours and not to much respect
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing coworkers, that's it.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 August 2016
Face paced environment where you can learn exemplary customer service skills and selling techniques, good place to start in the retail/cosmetic world. Some of the best coworkers and comradery you'll have the pleasure of working with. Benefits for full time, gratis occasionally received, monthly bonuses are possible.

Not on commission, still a large pressure to sell. Training is inconsistent.

Management team is big and there is little consistency between them. Favouritism means that some will advance, while most won't. Coaching moments are demoralizing.

Absolutely no work-life balance, nine hour days, clopens are regular, inconsistent shifts, availability often ignored. There is no compassion for calling in sick, having constant health issues, and generally any non work related things.

Any complaint or request for availability or actions for development can be ignored or used against you, very hostile environment.

Unless you are management, there is a wage cap on what you can earn. You will earn anywhere between $11-$15. You are disposable at the floor level, and they pay you accordingly,
Pros
Amazing coworkers
Cons
Poor management, no work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cashier/ Customer Service/ Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC3 July 2016
Unorganized management when it comes to scheduling and have the zone chart planned out for the day. Would constantly forget to put workers on the schedule, caused a lot of confusion
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not all it's hyped up to be...
Colour Consultant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC17 June 2016
This is a great job if all you want is products to bulk up your kit or a decent discount and training on brands but as far as moving forward and a career this is not the type of place for that. There are some opportunities but it's limited and based on favouritism from management. Although it it's not commission based the wages are very low and not adjusted based on knowledge or experience. Management also lacks sympathy and flexibility when it comes to illnesses and injuries.
Pros
gratis, discount
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes15NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sephora. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,749 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
4.0