Find companies:
Sephora
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
492 reviews

Sephora Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing atmosphere
Sales Associate (Cast Member) (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: gratis/cast members/managment team/enviroment
Cons: long hours/standard pay
Sephora is by far the best job I have worked at yet! Amazing team, fun enviroment and very motivational.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fun, friendly place to work
Beauty Consultant (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MbJanuary 22, 2013
Sephora is a great company to work for because they care so much about work life balance. A typical day would consist of helping clients, team building and tasking (stocking, tidying). Management was very easy to talk to and approachable and caring. I most enjoyed helping clients find what they were looking for, showing them how to use and apply products – more... and even helping people find things that they weren't sure they wanted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
From dancing in meetings to helping the world become a more beautiful place, Sephora is a happy place to work!
Personal Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), New YorkNovember 25, 2014
Pros: flexible with schedule, growth.
Cons: health benefits is expensive
Have a fun touch base before starting our shift where we discuss our goals for the day (dollar amount and any special focus) and watch educational videos about products.

Help clients looking for beauty products on the floor and sit down clients with appointments to give them a 90 minute mini facial and makeup lesson.

Every hour there is a new Director – more... in Charge on the floor, this person supervises everything that happens in that hour from lunch breaks, to sales, and directing clients to the right consultant.

The hardest part is helping multiple clients at once because I want everyone to feel they received the best client service.

The most enjoyable part about my job is meeting people from all over the world and having them learn something new from me. I have had clients say that I have changed their life and that is very rewarding! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work at
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee), New york,NYNovember 24, 2014
Your day at sephora will go by usually pretty fast. It is a very fun place to work at sometin=mes doesnt even feel like work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could be a fun place to work
Certified Makeup artist (Former Employee), nyNovember 20, 2014
sephora could be a fun place to work but management is sooooo terrible they scream at you like your a child it is not a good place to work i love make up and love applying it on clients skin but management is just horrible
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not My Favorite Job....
Product Consultant (Former Employee), Johnson City, TNNovember 20, 2014
Pros: some gratis (but mostly just mascara), good work/life balance
Cons: management, no makeup training, low pay
Let me first say that my experience at Sephora wasn't exactly the best because A) I was inside a JCPenney, and B) the management in my particular store didn't really seem to have it together. Obviously, the dress code at Sephora kind of sucks, especially that weird tunic they give their employees that I "accidentally" lost my first week into employment. – more... As for the job itself, it honestly isn't bad and you have exposure to a lot of cool brands. The most embarrassing part of working at Sephora is the lack of actual training they give their employees in Makeup Application. A lot of "artists" at Sephora just aren't up to par with current trends and technical ability, so the fact that you don't actually get schooled on how to do makeup is a huge downer, especially since they have customers paying $50 to have their makeup done by someone who has no formal training other that what they've learned on YouTube. Next, JCPenney employees didn't seem to understand why Sephora employees didn't have to help clean the rest of the store when closing and would sometimes pitch a fit over that. Lastly, management showed a lot of favoritism and promoted people based on the buddy system rather than qualification. I was passed up for a promotion by someone who was obnoxiously loud and frequently complained about by customers because management loved her even though she had never held a supervisor position in her life and I had several times before. Oh, and most of the "gratis" we got was mascara. I have enough mascara to last the next five years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
REALLY FUN PLACE TO WORK
BEATY ADVISOR (Former Employee), Brandon, FLNovember 20, 2014
Pros: free products
Cons: heathcare
EVERY DAY WAS FUN........THAT EVERY BOBY WORK IN THE BEST WAY THEY CAN.......MAGNEMENT WAS AWESOME....MY CO...WORKERS THEY LOVE ME AND I LOVE THEM AS WELL..IS WHEN SOMEONE HA TO GO TO ANOTHER STORE BECAUSE IS A FEMALY THAT I WILL MISS....DOING MAKE ON EACH OTHER ON ARE FREE TIME WHEN THEY ARE NO CUSTOMERS...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working with clients. Great incentive with gratis. Can be a bit unprofessinal.
Operations manager (Former Employee), Greenwich, CTNovember 18, 2014
Learned a lot from working at Sephora. A lot of work for Ops Lead, especially during the holiday season. Awesome opportunity to become familiar with different brands and products. Great product and client service trainings. Can be a bit unprofessional at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Operations specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 14, 2014
Great environment to work. good work life balance. most managers nice and accepting. just come do your work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of fun!
Visual Merchandising (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UtahNovember 12, 2014
You can tell that this company takes care of its people because everyone enjoys working here. Management was incredible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive work place
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), Bucuresti, IFNovember 10, 2014
I really liked to work in this company. was a new and beautiful experience for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free stuff
Operations Coordinator/ Cashier (Current Employee), Christiana, DENovember 10, 2014
free stuff, my co workers. More free stuff. That is all i have to say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Color Lead- Full-Time Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Durham, NCNovember 3, 2014
Sephora is a fantastic company to work for. Despite internal issues in understaffing at my particular location, the company as a whole is wonderful. The time that is invested into each individual employee's development is unbelievable! They truly care about your personal success within their organization!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product Consultant
Product Consultant (Former Employee), Burleson, TXNovember 1, 2014
Pros: products
Cons: full time position un-available.
As a Product Consultant, it was my responsibility to find products and merchandise based on the client's needs specifically. A duty i had ,was the product and store knowledge, and honestly giving opinions to clients about our products and advice based from my product knowledge. I had almost always met the daily goals or sells, i made sure the store – more... was in great shape, and that our tester products were always neat, as well as always being presentable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Operations Coordinator (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALOctober 31, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: credit card goals
I love working with people and my coworkers! Reaching our sales goal is always a challenge because of our location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well orgnized and everyone takes theiw
Store Assistant Manager (Former Employee), 重庆市, C33October 31, 2014
I learned many things there about store management. The company give us some basic training and encouraged the part-time workers to become an employee after graduation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experiences
Saleswoman for Clinique, Kenzo and Givenchy (Former Employee), Paris, A8October 30, 2014
I started my day at 11 and finished at 19.
I was alone in my stand. I animed a brand during the day, Givenchy and Kenzo was in perfumes,Clinique in skincare and Benefits Cosmetics in makeup.
The thing that i preferred was contact with people, help them to make a choice between the differents products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Responsible Co workers
Cashier (Former Employee), Aventura, FLOctober 28, 2014
Pros: free products
Cons: short breaks
Organized racks and shelves to maintain the visual appeal of the store.
l Verified that all customers received receipts for purchases.
l Developed positive customer relationships through friendly greetings and excellent service.
l Demonstrated use and care of merchandise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sad belittled no good
Color Consultant (Former Employee), pasadena caOctober 27, 2014
Pros: education
Cons: 4hr shift with a lunch and its the only shifts given
would of been a great place if mangers were more professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Montrose, COOctober 20, 2014
A typical day of work at sephora is always fun! Explaining all the great products and tips and tricks with makeup!

About Sephora

Shopping for cosmetics at Sephora is meant to be a hands-on experience. Through more than 280 stand-alone stores in North America – Read more