Sephora Employee Reviews

Found 99 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's still retail
Skin Care Consultant (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC10 March 2017
My particular store is great but management can be a hassle. Since there are so many managers, communication between them is an issue. There are great perks: lots of free products, occasional extra discount, and first pick of product. However, this is still a retail job. Sales is everything and room for growth is limited unless the managers really like you. Sephora is great for getting experience and making money to put you through school but this is not a life long career.
Pros
Free lunch, free products, discount
Cons
Frequent hour cuts, sales driven, work life balance non-existent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with great people!
Seasonal Fragrance Consultant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 January 2017
I enjoyed my time at Sephora so much and I would definitely continue to pursue a career there. Days of work were a little tiring, but still really worth it. I learned a lot about fragrance, makeup and skincare! The management was generally really nice. Hardest part of the job was mean clients and the most enjoyable was my fellow cast-mates!
Pros
Lots of hours if you want them, free goodies
Cons
Manager forgot my name
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff was friendly, some management need to work on their skills better.
Colour Consultant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC9 February 2017
When you get to work you get a touch base of where you're zoned. Very organized because the days are always busy. Overall most of the management are very nice and welcoming. I've just had issues with how a situation was dealt with. The hardest part of the job would be how busy it is all the time. I love the staff, and customer service aspects of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment, with good benefits and opportunities.
seasonal colour consultant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 January 2017
Although a fun work environment that was an excellent experience I found that the management did favorite certain individuals because they were friends thus giving them preferred treatment. Although it didn't affect me. I found it unprofessional. Besides that, I had a good experience there and would recommend this job to others.
Pros
Benefits, opportunities
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interesting place to work
Color Consultant (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON6 February 2017
Working at Sephora is rewarding due to being able to use your knowledge of the beauty industry and its products in order to assist clients with their needs. It can be difficult to navigate due to working with so many different people and their own unique personalities and temperaments
Pros
Working in the makeup industry
Cons
long hours on your feet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced client inspired atmosphere
Skincare Specialist (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON11 December 2016
Very fast paced environment and client inspired. Product knowledge essential to achieving sales targets. Team oriented to reach goals ...no commission. Very structured as to breaks and lunches for optimal sales. Focus for employees is growth within company and creating positions for incentive.
Pros
No commission
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Backstage Pass
Seasonal Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 October 2016
As an operations consultant I worked behind the scenes, making sure inventory was up to date, checking products, and pulling things out to go onstage, among many other things.

My co-workers were wonderful and caring, including the management and owners.

I learned how a big business operates as this Sephora is the busiest Sephora in all of North America.
Pros
Free lunches and wonderful people
Cons
Irate clients
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work with great people
Skin Care Consultant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC16 January 2017
Great place to work, super fast paced. Team work, passionate work mates. There's a great work culture that everyone really believes in so its very easy to jump on board. Everyone is very helpful so its easy to learn very fast. Management is amazing!
Pros
Gratis
Cons
Holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and Inspiring place to work
Skincare Consultant & Colour Artist & Cashier (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC20 October 2016
Was able to grow as a person
Become much more outgoing and approachable
Sales skill definitely increased
Was inspiring being able to meet new people and help them along their skin care and make up journey- no matter how small or big
Was able to make lots of friends and now family
Pros
working doing somehing i love!
Cons
lack of detail in training.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and upbeat work environment, good place to grow and learn.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 December 2016
Working at Sephora was very interesting, especially being interested in the beauty industry as a career path. There will be long hours, especially during the holidays, but it is overall very fun.
Pros
Upbeat and chance to learn a lot.
Cons
Long hours and short breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Gratis,
Operations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 December 2016
As a seasonal worker it was a creative company to work for, but I would only work for Sephora again if I was in corporate or in management. There was a lot of favouritism with the management and that can affect the work life balance.
Pros
gratis
Cons
long hours, catty environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, but the salary lacks.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC25 November 2016
Although Sephora is a great environment to work, and place that offers a lot of room to grow, the management is stressful and the salary is not sufficient for the amount of work that they require you to do.
Pros
free products, great customer service knowledge
Cons
salary and management
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Client Service Specialist/Beauty Advisor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 February 2017
Love the place to work, provide loads of training to learn about new products and brands. Helps you maintain integrity, loyalty and honesty. Co workers are supportive and helpful. The leaders are role models to follow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, but chances of moving up internally are slim
Seasonal Cashier (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON8 March 2017
As a cashier, I really stayed in one area throughout my entire shift. The typical day includes dealing with a lot of returns and exchanges, as well as recommending products to customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Color Consultant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 December 2016
Nice environment, pro-active people, willing to teach and help you with sales skills, good customer service.
Fast pace environment, specially at eaton centre.
Pros
excellent teaching on sales and customer services
Cons
long hours, no comission
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Store Director (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 February 2017
Your day typically involves working with clients to ensure they find the right products they're looking for. Lots of exciting events in-store and the staff are extremely knowledgeable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Color consultant
Colour Consultant (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ON28 January 2017
This job all depends around your management team. Some stores have it better than others. They will advance whom they like to at least that was my experience.
Pros
gratis...sometimes
Cons
pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but stressful workplace
SALES ASSOCIATE AND CASHIER (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL17 August 2016
A typical day at work is long fast pace environment with a lot of repetition even though it is asked for no repetition but being a cashier it can not be avoided.
I have learned that making the client happy makes a really big difference and clients are more willing to come back to have the same experience.
Management and co-workers where okay at times but sometimes co-workers made you feel less than them by making remarks at your makeup.
Hardest part of the job is standing up for long hours and repetition should be avoided but it can not.
The most enjoyable part of the job was trying new styles of makeup and pushing your self to work on your skills outside of the box.
Pros
Products given to employees for them to try them and have reviews for clients
Cons
Long exhausting hours and not to much respect
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities to improve and advance
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON19 December 2016
Sephora is a good place to work for those who are in high school unless you are a part of management or trained in makeup artistry. They do give the opportunity to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun environment and great team work
Packer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON8 January 2017
good company and people around.Eco friendly environment.All the members in team have great accuracy and ability of team work in them .
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sephora. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,520 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
4.0
85%

CEO Approval

Based on 374 ratings
Add your rating