Sephora Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 75 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing coworkers, that's it.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 15, 2016
Face paced environment where you can learn exemplary customer service skills and selling techniques, good place to start in the retail/cosmetic world. Some of the best coworkers and comradery you'll have the pleasure of working with. Benefits for full time, gratis occasionally received, monthly bonuses are possible.

Not on commission, still a large pressure to sell. Training is inconsistent.

Management team is big and there is little consistency between them. Favouritism means that some will advance, while most won't. Coaching moments are demoralizing.

Absolutely no work-life balance, nine hour days, clopens are regular, inconsistent shifts, availability often ignored. There is no compassion for calling in sick, having constant health issues, and generally any non work related things.

Any complaint or request for availability or actions for development can be ignored or used against you, very hostile environment.

Unless you are management, there is a wage cap on what you can earn. You will earn anywhere between $11-$15. You are disposable at the floor level, and they pay you accordingly,
Pros
Amazing coworkers
Cons
Poor management, no work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cashier/ Customer Service/ Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BCJuly 3, 2016
Unorganized management when it comes to scheduling and have the zone chart planned out for the day. Would constantly forget to put workers on the schedule, caused a lot of confusion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not all it's hyped up to be...
Colour Consultant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCJune 17, 2016
This is a great job if all you want is products to bulk up your kit or a decent discount and training on brands but as far as moving forward and a career this is not the type of place for that. There are some opportunities but it's limited and based on favouritism from management. Although it it's not commission based the wages are very low and not adjusted based on knowledge or experience. Management also lacks sympathy and flexibility when it comes to illnesses and injuries.
Pros
gratis, discount
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided a good foundation for my current job
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJune 7, 2016
Great first job in the makeup world, learned a lot about the basics of customer service, sales transactions and store operations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCMay 24, 2016
company values are lived day in and day out. great growth opportunites. amazing training classes.. open door policy is lived and true,, always high energy
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense learning experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 17, 2016
Working at sephora was intense. Long shifts and fast pace may not be everyone's cup of tea. But I did learn a lot through this experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun!
Skincare Consultant and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 15, 2016
this is a really fun job, we often receive training on brands and products from brand representatives, receive gratis for learning about products, and get to make clients feel great about themselves. However this is still a retail job, and the pay is the biggest drawback to this job.
Pros
Gratis from brand trainings
Cons
Not great pay
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting fast paced work environment
Seasonal-Temporary (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BCMay 10, 2016
It was a very fast paced environment in on of the busiest malls in the lower mainland during one of the busiest seasons of the year Christmas but overall i enjoyed working there. I learned so much more about the many make-up and beauty products sold and also how to apply them properly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, busy, fast paced work environment
Colour & Cash Consultant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONApril 13, 2016
- assisting clients with product knowledge, makeup and skincare routines
- providing mini makeovers, foundation matches, etc.
- I learned how to multi client service, how to manage my time, excel in a fast paced environment
- management was supportive, encouraged growth
- co-workers were friendly, respectful, caring
- often times the store felt understaffed, extremely busy
- being able to work with amazing co-workers and clients
Pros
free lunches, free product, extensive product knowledge trainings
Cons
long hours, inconsistent hours, difficult to book time off
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, awful pay
Beauty Studio Captain (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONApril 4, 2016
Always busy, the day flies by. However, unless you're kissing the right butt, you'll never advance no matter how qualified. I worked there for three and a half years, full time hours, with no advancement. Not to mention you're paid basic minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Experience at Sephora
Skincare Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 29, 2016
My overall experience with Sephora was pleasant and it is a work place I would encourage people of all diversities to apply to because the company really values their employees for their contribution to the success of the company!
Pros
Work/Life Balance, Gratis, Incentives, Training/Education, Employees, Company Values, Fair Breaks
Cons
some issues with manager, each individual store will be different
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable/Productive workplace
Stock Coordinator, Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 22, 2016
A typical day can consist of receiving products and simply merchandising them in the according areas.

Management and co-workers are friendly/welcoming and are always maintaining a positive experience.

Hardest/most tasking aspect of the job is the attention to detail in the late hours of the morning when fatigue starts to set in.

Most enjoyable part of the job is the reviewing the end result of a hard days work.
Pros
Consistent hours, Stable/safe workplace, friendly staff
Cons
Overnight, Unable to independently listen to music/podcast etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What an awesome place to be
OPERATIONS CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NSFebruary 22, 2016
It was a wonderful work experience. I worked with some wonderfully talented people,and under an amazing boss. I grew an astounding amount as a sales person, and as a employee over all.
Pros
Positive work enviroment
Cons
I only worked there a few months before I had to move
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to learn
Senior Makeup Artist (Former Employee) –  senior artistFebruary 19, 2016
they give great opportunity to advance as long as you work hard
great teaching strategies
great educators
management is horrible in most locations
Pros
learn lots in fragrance skin care and make up
Cons
too many
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace! Wage, not so great..
Cashier, makeup advisor (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ONFebruary 15, 2016
working at sephora was a great experience. i gained a lot of knowledge on top of the knowledge i previously had about makeup and cosmetology. management was set up well along with the employees i worked with. everyone was friendly and welcoming. the only down side was the wage. i was travelling a distance from Hamilton to Burlington and only getting paid minim wage, which i was not pleased about. I was experienced and a certified makeup artist and was not getting paid accordingly. other than that, sephora is a great company to be a part of.
Pros
many breaks, free products!
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun company to work for
Seasonal Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 6, 2016
Awesome co-workers and great management. There are no stripes. Everyone is treated respectfully, clients and other co-workers.

Learned a lot more about the beauty industry than ever before and met down to earth brand reps.

Hope to reapply for the holiday season in 2016
Pros
Amazing gratis
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work if you don't need to focus much on your earnings
cosmetic consultant (Former Employee) –  CanadaFebruary 1, 2016
The people and culture typically are the best parts of the job. Its a fun place to work and it definitely will keep you busy. However for such a prestigious company the pay is practically unethical and sometimes feels like a scam. People who were hired years after me started to make more money than I did which makes 0 sense. And it's not uncommon for this to happen. It is a demanding job ill say that, as clients usually need a lot of time and attention when being assisted. It can be fun and usually the time will pass by well since you can be with one client for a fairly long time. With that said, since your job requires a lot of training and your work is fairly specialized you would think the pay wouldn't be minimum wage. Even for those who worked there for years. It's a good job for teens i'd say.
Pros
Gratis incentive, usually very fun and exciting
Cons
pay is outrageously low, moving up in the company is unattainable, do not let you travel from November 1st- January
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Store Director (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 29, 2016
interesting place to work
luxury goods retailer a different environment
a different way of managing
team was fun many different associates
Pros
make-up gratis, managing 20-30 cast members
Cons
extreme early morning schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, colorful and fast paced environment
Operations Consultant/ Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 28, 2016
I have enjoyed working at Sephora, I've learned about different skin care techniques, how to achieve sale goals, and all the different types of make up products. The people working there are wonderful as well, bright positive energy! The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to make clients happy after recommending different products they would try out as well as testing products on ourselves too! Other than being on the floor and working at the cash register, I handled stock and items being shipped to the store weekly. Had to update inventory and managed where products belonged and if they were in or out of stock.
Pros
Gratis; Free makeup products and bonuses if sales goals are met
Cons
Long busy holiday hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 20, 2016
A typical day at work would be at the till ringing the customers through, answering the phones, helping people find products that they need. I learned a lot of excellent customer service tips that I will carry with me. There wasn't anything that I would say was hard, very easy simple job. The most enjoyable part was the team. The people I worked with were wonderful to work beside.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,214 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
4.0