Find companies:
Self employment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
91 reviews

Self employment Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Regina, SKNovember 7, 2014
I learned how it would sort of be working at a hotel or a cleaning company.
Working with my team mate couldn't be anymore fun

Long hours and bending over & always on your feet was hard at first but then you get used to it doing it everyday, especially when you have children to clean after

Getting to talk to the person who hires you about more work – more... and getting to know a little bit about them – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and active.
Home Organizer (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJune 26, 2014
Pros: set your own hours.
Cons: no benefits.
Every day was a new experience. The best part was just getting in there and creating the space without a structured plan. I just let it organically evolve. For me as a natural organizer it's fun, it's creative, it's productive, it's enjoyable. I get to see a project come to life before my eyes, that's the real joy of it. Always included the client in – more... the whole process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn alot during period of Self Employment - But not profitable enough
Minimizing Employee Cost, Logistics Costs, Labor (Former Employee), C30March 22, 2014
Pros: very fun and enjoyed the work
Cons: not enough pay
Learn alot during period of Self Employment - But not profitable enough

Was able to handle all sectors of a company, from shipping, to packing, to accounting, to services, every single task was handled by the same person, alot of work but not enough hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not job I want
Various jobs to have some income (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 28, 2013
Pros: lots of free time
Cons: not much money
for personal reasons i did this type of work hours and amount of work varied not steady employment only a fill in till i had other employment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with horses/dogs, being on the road driving , and saving animals
Livestock transport / Horse Training / Care taker (Former Employee), Coburg, ORNovember 11, 2014
Pros: being around animals, learning new things from new horse/dog people
Cons: sometimes working all day and night, have the vet out
wake up feed the horses and dogs and the bull calves , and then turn out horses that needed to go out and cleaning stalls , restocking the feed room with grain and hay , grooming horses and riding and working with the horses that needed the exercise/training, cleaning dog kennels ,working on what ever repairs the barn or fences needed. and hauling horses – more... for other people where ever their horse/s needed transported to .and I learned to drive in most any weather and driving conditions. learned to have more patience with animals and backing up all types of horse/stock combo trailers and flatbed hay trailer. I worked mostly by my self mainly when I was driving , but I had friends and other knowledgeable people help me with the horses and dog training , I really enjoyed working with horses and dogs and being on the road driving is very peaceful . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love to work for myself and enjoyed my patients very much
Home Health Aide (Former Employee), Norwich, NYOctober 28, 2014
Pros: getting so close to someone
Cons: losing them god is ready for them to come home
A typical day at work would be when i get there help her out of bed and to the bathroom. I would then bathe and dress her. Then i would make breakfast and clean up around the house. We would then run to town and any errands she may have. Usually we would have a Dr. appointment or something to do everyday. I would then take her out to lunch and make – more... our way back home. After getting her back into the house and all set up to watch some TV I would finish cleaning and make dinner. After dinner i would get her dressed again into her pj's and get her back into bed lock up the house and go home. Between 3 of us we would take shifts and make sure the end of her days were the best we could make them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different with different clients
Independent Provider Nurse (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHOctober 15, 2014
Pros: self-employment, flexible
Cons: some client's homes are very dirty, one cannot leave a case without giving a 30 day notice.
•a typical day at work: I first check to make sure the client is safe and then I do the assessment needed for that day. Depending on which client I am seeing, I help with ADLs and AIDLs and do the treatments and medicating needed. The client or his/her guardian signs my documentation at the end of the shift.
•what you learned: Different people react – more... to ailments differently.
•management: All patients have case managers from their insurance companies or from the state. They are supposed to see the client at least once every 60 days so the nurses can also see them and talk to them otherwise communication with the case managers is by phone and E-mail.
•your co-workers: No co-workers
•the hardest part of the job: When you have to move to different clients homes in the day (driving in the winter).
•the most enjoyable part of the job: Usually the clients are glad you came and appreciate your efforts. One can also choose cases and reject cases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yay
Trading and Real Estate Investment Management (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 13, 2014
nuthin like working 4 yourself
set your own hours
only thing bad is if you don't make $
you don't get paid
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i really cant say i dont play but ,it looks like fun.
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Dayton, OHOctober 10, 2014
it starts off early with coffee an laughter from myself I like to start happy.then we get serious an get the morning rush out the way basically handling business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
PC Building and Repair (Former Employee), SittingbourneOctober 3, 2014
Working for yourself is great, so long as you can motivate yourself to work without a rigid structure
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place with friendly people to work with.
Hairstylist/Maintenance Etc. (Former Employee), Bronx, NYOctober 2, 2014
Pros: i made my own schedule according to the work available.
I love coming into work for myself. My customers were friendly and I known them for years. They were always there to help out when needed. My job wasn't hard you just had to get the work done. I enjoyed staying busy and multi-tasking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Freelance Graphic Artist and Photographer (Current Employee), Alexandria, LASeptember 11, 2014
I worked for myself using Adobe Suites programs and Canon PowerShot S2IS to create the best outcome for each individual clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interactive exciting work environment
Cam Model (Current Employee), Green Bay WISeptember 3, 2014
relaxing with friends and getting payed to have fun. don't let the rude people get you down. i am my own management and i set my own hours. the hardest part is tearing my self away from work to have a life. i really enjoy making new friends and the interesting topics that are sometimes brought up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Working Envioronment
Tutor/ Private Nanny (Former Employee), Margate, FloridaAugust 24, 2014
I was a private nanny/ tutor. I took care of the children i was supposed to care for and teach them reading and mathematics. I worked with kids from the ages of 7-11. The hardest part was working with children who had no desire to learn but after creating fun games and activities that stimulates the mind I got that under control. I loved working with – more... kids and seeing them excel and advance in their homework, class work and their general grades – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
earning my way into doing what i love
Private Caregiver (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 22, 2014
Pros: i enjoy working with children and people
Cons: short breaks
when working with child the day is always high energy. non stop standing and moving around. this job was private care and was not in a facility where the atmosphere would have been a little more demanding . I would come in make sure the children where dressed properly and fed .I would looked over the family schedule and proceed with the day as planned – more... one the schedule . I would take the children either on a outing or entertain them indoors. i learn diversity and leadership skills, my 2 co worker were great and very supportive. I wouldn't have any complaints about this job because I enjoyed being able to work with children.coming in and having the children rush me at the door working with a family of 9 children a disable mother and a workaholic father i gained a appreciation for helping others, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a very intense but life altering experience
Care Giver (Current Employee), Florissant, MOAugust 19, 2014
Pros: seeing my person happy she loves going places with the children
Cons: watching my person suffer from this condition.
This position can be intense and heartbreaking, but it is also rewarding in so many ways.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poultry Production and Health Consultancy
Consultant (Current Employee), Pretoria, GPAugust 8, 2014
Pros: meeting new people and learning new things.
Cons: hectic, working endlessly.
New starting small business specialized in poultry production and health consultancies.
It requires discipline and sacrifice.
Doing technical and administrative tasks,
Very exciting as opportunities to meet with new people at executive level.
Hectic doing all tasks myself due to the size of business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with the elderly
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Millbrook, NYJune 24, 2014
Arrive to work at 10:00am,I would make my client breakfast and give her morning medcine,light house keeping.Once she finish we go to the gym and excerise,if she has a doctor appointment I'll take her
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workmanship, quality work.
Bespoke Joinery/Setter Out (Former Employee), London, ENGJune 21, 2014
I would just like to say that i am extremely glad to work with. All work was done to an excellent standard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
time consuming
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Dothan, ALJune 18, 2014
This job is better than any other job i have had so far; cleaning houses, don't get me wrong isn't easy. there really isn't nothing hard about it, it's like a typical day at home ,cleaning your own house ,except you don't get paid to clean your own house.

1 2 3 4 5