Find companies:
Securitas
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,611 reviews

Securitas Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job if you can deal with emergency situations and occassional aggressive individuals
Security Officer (Former Employee), Portland, MEApril 14, 2014
Pros: travelling to different sites, advancement opportunities
Cons: few benefits and not a very lucrative job as far as pay is concerned.
A typical day begins with reading reports from previous shift, observe caneras, observe employees, contractors and visitors coming and going, perform interior/exterior patrols and then respond to any incidents, perform assignments as needed throughout the day.I learned new ways to deal with different people, some computer skills as well as management – more... skills.Management allowed plenty of training opportunities as well as opportunities to travel to different client sites and advancement opportunities.Coworkers seemed to enjoy the job, communicated well and were prepared and willing to instantly assist each other in any way.The hardest part of the job was some long shifts and working holidays away from my family.The best part of the job was visiting different client sites, learning a cool job and having the opportunity to advance from your initial position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job if you enjoy no life
Security Officer (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIApril 14, 2014
Pros: round the clock lunches
Cons: unreasonable demands and expectations
The client that I worked with had some high demands that we were expected to complete, even when unreasonable. I don't suggest this sort of job unless you hate staying at home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Shift Schedule
Security Guard (Former Employee), Lake Charles, LAApril 13, 2014
I really liked my schedule while working here. I was able to work and have a social life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Securitas
Security Officer (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 13, 2014
Over all my review for Securitas is not negative, the company as a whole I have no complaints on but managment for the location I am at is poor and could use some improving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Mobile Petrol Officer + Static guard (Current Employee), West Bromwich, ENGApril 13, 2014
Pros: differant jobs
Cons: long hours on nights
my day at work was differant every day due to differant dutes as a manager for morrisons as when i joined security not being office based and working a shift pattern the hardest part of the job wasgetting from a to b as being mobile in the midlands . I enjoy
meeting diferant people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best security company in Las Vegas to work for
Armed Security Officer (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVApril 12, 2014
Very cooperative with employees and scheduling.
I mostly did access control and security at high end homer owner's associations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
SECURITY OFFICER (Current Employee), Rockville, MDApril 12, 2014
Pros: its a job
Cons: no benefits
My duties are to work with each of my clients to help assure the security service that meets goals just as an internal department or business unit of the client does.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started off great, not so much after that
Supervisor of Security Staff (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLApril 11, 2014
Pros: learned a lot of skills and trates
Cons: not many positions paying for the required amount of work
When I first started off with the company I was making $23K a year at one of the sites they had up in Sunrise. Great place; office environment with a fair amount of responsibility. Pay was worth the work and we had great benefits. Granted this was back in 2009. I worked there for 4 years, Got promoted to team leader which brought on more responsibility – more... and a fair paying salary of $25K to boot. The team I worked with respected me and I treated them equally. I'd gotten to know a lot of the employees around the office too, working not only with the clients but cooperating with many of the employees there. I went to work with a smile on my face and a sense of pride till one day my manager came to the site and say that they cut the contract and no longer wanted security. I was devastated and heartbroken. I was left without a job. My manager tried finding me a new position, but many weren't paying as much as I was once making, with salaries as low as $15k for double the work, and then when the Health Care act kicked in in 2014 we no longer had any benefits and were forced to find our own insurance. After a while I decided it was best to move on and find something else to do that would hopefully pay fairly for the work that I put into my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
Security Officer (Current Employee), Portland, ORApril 11, 2014
Cons: everything
they don't care about there employees and the management sucks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Security Officer (Current Employee), Kent, ENGApril 11, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: working hours are rubbish, hardly any social life.
management never answers their phone,replies to text messages or emails unless convenient for them,always have trouble trying to book annual leave,have a 18 hour contract been working 40 hours a week for 3 years and not been given new contract when promised my wages are lower than till colleagues from the store I work in,was meant to be put on a CCTV – more... course to obtain my CCTV license when promised 4 years ago when first employed,was put on a customer service course,passed and still not received my certificate been over a year now.only guard working on site at all times (busy retail store) unsociable working hours hardly any social life,an Absolute joke very stressful company to work for seeing as they're one of the biggest in the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great way to gain experience in many fields at the same time if one applies his or herself
Lobby officer/Concierge/ Fire Guard (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 11, 2014
A great company to gain experience if you plan on building a successful career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is detached, workload is unbalanced. Blame is improperly placed.
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Downers Grove, ILApril 11, 2014
Expected to work on call despite any previous scheduling. No consideration for personal issues or medical concerns. Overbearing on workloads.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There were great post to work at.
Armed Security Officer (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOApril 10, 2014
Fully dressed when I arrived at my post. Armed security can be boring. Management was ok. I didn't work with any other employees. The hardest part was staying awake at night. Going to bulls eye was the best part of this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Security Officer (Current Employee), 1412 Broadway, New York, NYApril 10, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
great experiences so far with Securitas!! Ive worked with more than 2 security companies, and they treat me well! Everything so far as far as scheduling, personal days and pay been right and always right on time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If your gonna do it be prepared
Security Officer (Current Employee), Omaha, NEApril 10, 2014
Pros: the money
Cons: everything else
The pay is decent but the stuff you have to deal with on a day to day bases is bull. The management take sides with employees all the times the supervisors lie about the reports on you and how it happened and they feel as though since there a supervisor for 8 hours of the day there kings and queens of the company and they use there so called power to – more... there advantage to take advantage of the employees. The manager is hard to deal with and if you have a problem and go to him its like trying to find a needle in a haystack and he tries to threaten you with your job by playing it off in ways that are unreal like it ok and they hire dumb young people who cant be on time if there lives depended on it and try to act as though there better then you and if your to make friends don't bother because you really cant trust anyone you work with they will throw you under the bus faster then any enemy you have and the workers for the company your guarding always walk around with there heads up there butts about everything and if you have a family that at time demands you to be there this isn't your type of job because when you call off it a write up against you even if you call off 4 hours in advance you get up unless your favorited in the company then you rarely get a write up for anything and you can only call off 5 or 6 times before they send you to corporate to evaluate if they wanna keep you or not. Im a young guy and I cant stand it and this is only for the post im at but it could be different from all posts your working but seriously if it was wroth it I wouldn't be on this site looking for another job. But my philosophy is come to work go home get paid and pay my bills so I don't worry about others but I still notice the underhanded things some of the people in this company do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Securitas
Security Officer (Former Employee), Columbus, OHApril 10, 2014
Enjoyed every bit of it, I just wish they could have gotten rid of those people who didn't enjoy working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Security Officer (Current Employee), Marlborough, MAApril 10, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: work holidays
Great to get to know the site and the people you work for they pay your lunch and you can use the experience to further your career if you happen to be into law enforcement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging job
Security Training Instructor (Former Employee), Shippingport, PAApril 9, 2014
Pros: not glued to a desk
Cons: worked for a contractor
Very challenging job, work day consisted of providing training for all new hire employees and quarterly training for all employees. Management was very good to work for. Co-workers were great. Hardest part of the job was trying to instruct people that did not want to learn new material. Most enjoyable part was seeing a new hire employee graduate from – more... the program – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security
Security Officer/Perc Card (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 9, 2014
Pros: bus route
Cons: short breaks
Ok place to work, company lost the contract at the site I was working so that left me without a job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loss Prevention
Security Guard (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 9, 2014
Pros: great branch manager
Cons: low pay, no room for advancement, scheduling awful, no life.
A day at work doing loss prevention has its ups and downs daily, sometimes you get some action and other days it is very boring with nothing exciting going on. I've learned patience and time-management, being with this company going on seven years now and still progressing. My branch manager is the best because she's always willing to work with you – more... and have your back at the same time or if you needed anything down the line. Although there is two officers we both work alone on our shifts and i'm sure we experience different things on a daily basis. The hardest part of this job is when you have to go after someone and they've decided not to cooperate with you. The best part of the job is having consecutive days off so you can rest. – less

About Securitas

We protect homes, workplaces and society. Our core business is security services. The main service offering categories are specialized – Read more