Find companies:
Securitas
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,142 reviews

Securitas Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable environment with comprehensive development of liability
Security Guard (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 21, 2014
A typical day at work involves the tedious documentation of equipment and maintenance loggings while establishing routine patrols within the property's places of interests. From completing these tasks I have learned the essential liabilities held by property management and the value of minor tasks which ensure a safe and productive work environment – more... for insurance and practical benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total Managment breakdown. Screws up pay.
Security Guard (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONJanuary 17, 2014
Cons: terrible hours, high turnover rate, zero respect, incomplete and wrong training.
My acting supervisor has no idea what we did. After a year of working at the location, they still didn't know the basic layout of the building. I worked at multiple locations under the same supervisor, and when I requested to work only at locations close to my place of residence, I was informed by my supervisor that, that is a bad attitude and maybe – more... I should seek other employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work
Screening officer (Current Employee), Charlottetown PEJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: good wage
Cons: my shift starts at 4am
I have been working there for 12 years, have seen and been through many changes. All screening in Canada is sub-contracted out to service providers, such as Securitas . I have learned a lot about unions and how they work as I was a involved with our union for two years. Our job focus doesn't change much, make sure the safety of the aircraft and passengers – more... is number one. The most enjoyable part of my job is the passengers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average work place
Patrol Officer (Former Employee), Moncton, New BrunswickJanuary 2, 2014
average place. work is very demanding and lots of walking and standing with long hours work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Security Guard (Former Employee), montreal quebecDecember 14, 2013
Pros: salary
Cons: outdoor
I gain a lot of experience working in different environment and the hardest part of the job is working outside
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Security Officer (Former Employee), Markham, ONDecember 6, 2013
Pros: health benefits
Cons: night shift
Securitas was great in the sense that I was sure of a job, however the hours were that good enough for me and I didn't want to work nights anymore.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized and Poor Communication
Security Officer (Former Employee), 909 Simcoe St N, Oshawa, ONNovember 20, 2013
Cons: bad communication, disorganization, union dues for a union that really is no help at all.
From having worked there for 6 years, I was asked numerous times to work a shift that overlapped with the current shift I was working when called.

They were also terrible with getting keys from clients to access the site during non-work hours. One particular example is when I was working over Christmas holidays, I ended up hitting my head really hard – more... on a metal bar attached to a door (for use in locking the door) to the point where I had a headache, was dizzy, and my head was bleeding severely. I called the mobile supervisor to notify them, and when they arrived, instead of having the gate key, opening it, and coming in to check on me, they called me to come open the gate because they didn't have the key for it. Had I passed out from blood loss and they weren't able to get in, they could have been in serious trouble.

When I was in college, they were understanding and gave me shifts that worked with my schedule, but after finishing college, the following 2 years I repeatedly asked to be given full time shifts, with no reply, and finding out that despite having 4 years seniority under my belt, they were giving full time hours to newly hired guards while I was left with so few hours that I was living paycheque to paycheque.

After being laid off from there in October 2011 due to a "lack of site availability" when the one I was at was bought by a new owner, I probably could have fairly easily gone out and been hired by another company, but due to the bad taste Securitas left in my mouth, I've decided the profession isn't for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always working in a new place of work to keep positive
security guard/investigations (Former Employee), Toronto, Oshawa, bowmanville, & pickeringNovember 6, 2013
Pros: working at different locations, learning new skills
Cons: not staying at same type of job for any long periods.
reporting to work at many of the sites, checking the day/night shift for any issues or new instructions,
how to use a hand radio, and computer systems.
great management to work with
co workers are friendly and communicate well.
leaving the job for a career move.
meeting all the diverse people and variety of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Security Officer (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 6, 2013
Pros: free coffee
Cons: average hours
Good company with many opprtinuties for career development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair job
Patrol Officer - Field Supervisor (Former Employee), Moncton, NBNovember 6, 2013
Every day or every shift you are always learning something new.
but from day to day it is a very simple job to work at and co-workers are great to work at but does need some management review.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Guard floating shifts
Security Officer (Current Employee), Cambridge, OntarioOctober 30, 2013
Good company but management needs improvement. They talk about seniority but in fact do not follow it. Salary is basic. No benefits . I kept calling and calling for weeks, but they did not give me any shift even though I am working for them for last 3 months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security
Security Guard / Mobile response (Current Employee), Saint John, NBOctober 28, 2013
I do bldg checks as well as fixed post. my bosses are fair and good to work for. I usually am on my own and do not have many co-workers around me
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady employment
Security Officer (Former Employee), Barrie OntarioOctober 24, 2013
Pros: steady employment
Cons: no offers of advancement
I worked for this company for 8 years and have steady employment the whole time. but did not have advancement opportunities offered to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was fun flexible and independent
Security Officer (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBOctober 4, 2013
Pros: it is a flexible work
Cons: no communication with the head office
I was a security guard working only on the weekends 12 hours each shift. The management was only in communication with me through cellphone and radio transmission. There was no measurement of production and less feedback from the head office no proper target and goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team workplace.
Security Officer/Condo Reception (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 25, 2013
Able to work independently.
Quality assurance.
Motivating.
Expose to new tactics to maintain order.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Security Officer (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 23, 2013
working with diferent guards.

learned new exprience everyday.

Management are pros.

co-workers are nice and helpfull.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Security (Former Employee), Dartmouth, NSSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: life skills
Cons: can be dangerous
I interact with people from all walks of life and from this I Learn good people skills. Also management supplies courses on people skills.Co-workers are team players, which is great. In this type of employment you have challenges, dealing with people whose lives are messed up or just plain hurting. I see what goes on around me and I'm able to take inventory – more... of my own life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great clients to talk to from all over the place. The food is great
Security Guard (Current Employee), Rocanville, SKSeptember 11, 2013
A lot of walking, over 20 miles a night, 12 hour shifts. Stressful sometimes dealing with a lot of emergencies. Procedures and expectations are not very clear which adds to the stress and adds to the office politics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Starting Job
Security Officer (Former Employee), Fort Mcmurray, ABSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: meeting different people
Cons: pay
Securitas was a good stepping stone for me as a recently landed Immigrant.

The hours were Flexible and so I was able to fix my schedule so that my wife and I could take turns caring for our toddler

The Management was new and understaffed and so there were many issues but thankfully I never experienced any problems

I learned how to work in Canada – more... and the general Canadian work values like coming to work on time, honesty and integrity.

The best part of the job was meeting different people and interacting with them.

The worst part was the pay and a lack of organizational structure and processes – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company, owner, and upper management.
Security Supervisor (Current Employee), ontarioAugust 4, 2013
Every site is different, I lucked out with a very active, consistently busy site and if not busy you could always find something productive to pass the time. Shifts flew by and so did 4 years of moving up within the company. I never would have left if I didn't run into an unfortunate site manager.

About Securitas

Securitas is the most locally-focused security company in the United States, with over 650 local branch managers and more than – Read more