Find companies:
Securitas
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,612 reviews

Securitas Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place
Security Guard (Current Employee), WindsorApril 16, 2014
Very friendly people. They are a good company. My co workers were nice and easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A dependable employer
Professional Security Guard (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONApril 15, 2014
Like all Security Industry work, this involves protecting the people, property and information of the client.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured environment
Ontario Security Training Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 6, 2014
- Trained all new Securitas security officers across Ontario
- Submitted test results, test documentation, and training hours to the Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services
- Managed all new security officer recruit documentation

- Test and train users on new scheduling software
- Created test cases
- Provide user support and assistance – more... during roll out
- Gathered requirements during pre-launch – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable work experience
Security Guard (Current Employee), Scarborough, ONApril 2, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: management and scheduling
Management needs to work on its communication skills and treat employees with respect.

Did not provide me with hours, gave me the run around and made promises did not honor them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Nuclear Security Specialist (Current Employee), Zion, ILMarch 27, 2014
Pros: good pay
I've been with them for a year and learned a lot. There is plenty of training and opportunities to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company to work for.
Security Officer (Current Employee), windsor ontarioMarch 14, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: long hours
Benefits are great and the and I enjoy the staff I work with. Monitoring site access, facility patrols and survaillence are part of my daily duties on the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great sites!
Security guard (Former Employee), LoblwasFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: scheduling manager
Cons: the scheduling manager's manager.
Securitas is by far the best security company to work for within Toronto, however their management is horrible!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, Strong company values.
Security Guard (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling. laid back environments.
Cons: hard to attain hours sometimes, lots of miss communication.
- I enjoy working for this company.
- Security computer systems.
- Enjoy some management.
- Love my co-workers.
- Making sure people are safe and things run smoothly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable environment with comprehensive development of liability
Security Guard (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 21, 2014
A typical day at work involves the tedious documentation of equipment and maintenance loggings while establishing routine patrols within the property's places of interests. From completing these tasks I have learned the essential liabilities held by property management and the value of minor tasks which ensure a safe and productive work environment – more... for insurance and practical benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total Managment breakdown. Screws up pay.
Security Guard (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONJanuary 17, 2014
Cons: terrible hours, high turnover rate, zero respect, incomplete and wrong training.
My acting supervisor has no idea what we did. After a year of working at the location, they still didn't know the basic layout of the building. I worked at multiple locations under the same supervisor, and when I requested to work only at locations close to my place of residence, I was informed by my supervisor that, that is a bad attitude and maybe – more... I should seek other employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work
Screening officer (Current Employee), Charlottetown PEJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: good wage
Cons: my shift starts at 4am
I have been working there for 12 years, have seen and been through many changes. All screening in Canada is sub-contracted out to service providers, such as Securitas . I have learned a lot about unions and how they work as I was a involved with our union for two years. Our job focus doesn't change much, make sure the safety of the aircraft and passengers – more... is number one. The most enjoyable part of my job is the passengers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average work place
Patrol Officer (Former Employee), Moncton, New BrunswickJanuary 2, 2014
average place. work is very demanding and lots of walking and standing with long hours work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Security Guard (Former Employee), montreal quebecDecember 14, 2013
Pros: salary
Cons: outdoor
I gain a lot of experience working in different environment and the hardest part of the job is working outside
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Security Officer (Former Employee), Markham, ONDecember 6, 2013
Pros: health benefits
Cons: night shift
Securitas was great in the sense that I was sure of a job, however the hours were that good enough for me and I didn't want to work nights anymore.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized and Poor Communication
Security Officer (Former Employee), 909 Simcoe St N, Oshawa, ONNovember 20, 2013
Cons: bad communication, disorganization, union dues for a union that really is no help at all.
From having worked there for 6 years, I was asked numerous times to work a shift that overlapped with the current shift I was working when called.

They were also terrible with getting keys from clients to access the site during non-work hours. One particular example is when I was working over Christmas holidays, I ended up hitting my head really hard – more... on a metal bar attached to a door (for use in locking the door) to the point where I had a headache, was dizzy, and my head was bleeding severely. I called the mobile supervisor to notify them, and when they arrived, instead of having the gate key, opening it, and coming in to check on me, they called me to come open the gate because they didn't have the key for it. Had I passed out from blood loss and they weren't able to get in, they could have been in serious trouble.

When I was in college, they were understanding and gave me shifts that worked with my schedule, but after finishing college, the following 2 years I repeatedly asked to be given full time shifts, with no reply, and finding out that despite having 4 years seniority under my belt, they were giving full time hours to newly hired guards while I was left with so few hours that I was living paycheque to paycheque.

After being laid off from there in October 2011 due to a "lack of site availability" when the one I was at was bought by a new owner, I probably could have fairly easily gone out and been hired by another company, but due to the bad taste Securitas left in my mouth, I've decided the profession isn't for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always working in a new place of work to keep positive
security guard/investigations (Former Employee), Toronto, Oshawa, bowmanville, & pickeringNovember 6, 2013
Pros: working at different locations, learning new skills
Cons: not staying at same type of job for any long periods.
reporting to work at many of the sites, checking the day/night shift for any issues or new instructions,
how to use a hand radio, and computer systems.
great management to work with
co workers are friendly and communicate well.
leaving the job for a career move.
meeting all the diverse people and variety of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Security Officer (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 6, 2013
Pros: free coffee
Cons: average hours
Good company with many opprtinuties for career development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair job
Patrol Officer - Field Supervisor (Former Employee), Moncton, NBNovember 6, 2013
Every day or every shift you are always learning something new.
but from day to day it is a very simple job to work at and co-workers are great to work at but does need some management review.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Guard floating shifts
Security Officer (Current Employee), Cambridge, OntarioOctober 30, 2013
Good company but management needs improvement. They talk about seniority but in fact do not follow it. Salary is basic. No benefits . I kept calling and calling for weeks, but they did not give me any shift even though I am working for them for last 3 months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security
Security Guard / Mobile response (Current Employee), Saint John, NBOctober 28, 2013
I do bldg checks as well as fixed post. my bosses are fair and good to work for. I usually am on my own and do not have many co-workers around me

1 2 3 4 5

About Securitas

We protect homes, workplaces and society. Our core business is security services. The main service offering categories are specialized – Read more