Securitas Security Services USA, Inc Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 172 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive at some point
Fulltime Guard (Current Employee) –  TorontoAugust 23, 2015
Pay rate is okay but much been more higher and better,
use of force is not included, unless your site requires it.
Union benefit is great though, no complain to that
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Lindsay, ONAugust 18, 2015
Assisting visitors, patients and all levels of staff. Accomplishing all required duties within time alloted. Attend to patients who are in crisis situations with crisis intervention
Pros
interesting
Cons
weird hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  London, ONAugust 1, 2015
This was my first job as a security guard. You can tell they are lacking employees. Management was all over the place and very rude and disorganized I ended up being forced resign because even though I was a floater I wasn't able to miss anytime.
Pros
Hours
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional
Security guard (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJuly 11, 2015
I enjoyed working there, I worked the evening shift which allowed me to attend an academic program in the morning, since there was a lack of social interraction it felt lonly sometimes, but it was still convenient for my situation as a student
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good starting point.
Security Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 26, 2015
Securitas is a good starting point in the industry. They are of the "Observe and Report" school of thought, which in my opinion tends to limit them in the current security market. They provide lots of training for those who want it.
Management tends to be supportive of staff in general.
Co-workers tend to vary from site to site. Generally they are good.
The hardest part of the job tends to be the shifts.
Pros
Training
Cons
Long hours, pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace environment. Good wages and benefits.
Security Guard for Loomis, Coca Cola (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCJune 16, 2015
A professional security company with a small footprint on the west coast. They have some issues with keeping and acquiring new clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no work/life balance
Office Agent (Current Employee) –  Montreal, QCJune 16, 2015
They have interesting contracts but no work/life balance which very important to working parents.

Doing mostly administrative paper work
Pros
paid lunches and breaks
Cons
no work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job: interacting with a lot of people daily.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON / Fort McMurray, AlbertaJune 5, 2015
Patrolling, Monitoring Surveillance, Access Control, Conduct investigation, observing, detecting, reporting. You learn how to assist and protect people, properties and how to deal with critical situations. How to communicate and manage assigned missions. Conducting leadership. Hardest part is the human challenge: work condition, lack of sleeping, standing long hours... But it s an enjoyable work when you learn how respect people and being rescpected. Bringing out the human dimension.
Pros
vehicule patrolling
Cons
Standing and walking
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work/Studies balance
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 5, 2015
During my time at Securitas, I had perfect balance of work and studies. Definitely recommend it for students. It also allows you to meet new and different people. Definitely recommend it to build and expand your professional network.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting job
Security Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 3, 2015
Busy work schedule every day, learn how to meet the deadlines, multitasking. Work environment was friendly, pay scale use to be good under previous union.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the challenges
OFFICIER D'ASSIGNATIONS DES HORAIRES (Former Employee) –  Pierre Eliott Trudeau Airport MontrealMay 25, 2015
Typical day
Busy non stop from the moment I started till end of day.
Enjoyed the challenges each day.
Loved working with the Airports and doing their schedules .
Enjoyed working with the security agents.
Pros
working to help the agents
Cons
No Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Area Administration Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMay 22, 2015
Great People, Great Team.. conversion of systems and change in structure left some of us unemployed. Otherwise a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of responsibility and effort put in for a small reward.
Mobile Supervisor (Current Employee) –  London, ONMay 13, 2015
Given a list of events/places to visit per shift. Responsible for completing all events, responding to any alarms, transporting guards, dropping off and picking up packages.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Good administrative support.
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ONApril 28, 2015
Day to day guard routine
Good administrative support
Flexible hours
Free Uniform
Union Benefits
A lot of overtime in Mobile Unit
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of fun people to work with if you the hours fit your need
Bilingual Security Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  North York, ONApril 7, 2015
A typical day at work would be taking in guard request and following up with the guards on site insuring their safety and updating our awareness of each location being serviced across Canada.

I have learned many different procedures as to how to go about dealing with a sensitive situation.

learned to work in a 24hrs/7 schedule, with having to work
different hours each week. (adjusting my sleep accordingly)

learned how to manage a situation with supervision.

co-workers were fun to work with as we saw each other very often and it being a small call center everyone knew each other fairly well.

hardest part is when we are short staffed and receiving pressure from management.

sometimes there is a lot of down time and team gets to know each other and have good conversations.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain experience
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  durhamApril 2, 2015
with securitas, i get sent out to various sites and venues to provide security. i gain new experience every time i work at different sites, not only do i provide security, i learn more about the outside world!
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Security Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 26, 2015
The job everyday is a new day of learning on the job situations and resolutions, great work environment, great team and team leaders.
Pros
excellent work environment
Cons
zero
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours
Security Officer/ Security Trainer (Former Employee) –  MississaugaMarch 16, 2015
They will try to make you work 14hr shifts and all holidays including Xmas. They will also move you from site without notice.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job to learn how to think outside the box
Canadian National Call Center Lead (Former Employee) –  North York, ONMarch 3, 2015
Comfortable and safe environment.

Training time could be more extensive and provide more time

Worked with a divers group of people
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patrol, alarms, badges phones
Security Guard/ Reception (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth NSFebruary 26, 2015
- Patrols, making badges, answering phones, inputting information on the computer, dispatching alarms

- how to be vigilant

- Management is ok

- Co-Workers great

- I enjoy the enviorment
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 5,884 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2

Securitas Security Services USA, Inc Reviews by Location