Securitas Security Services USA, Inc

Securitas Security Services USA, Inc Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 168 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was great to work there
Guard (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLApril 9, 2016
they will always work with you if you have work place issues and they were great to work for here in st. johns NL the shifts would consist 12 hours
Pros
great company to work for at the time i was working there
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed . Good values and protocols
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 2, 2016
I enjoy working for this company. I learn to treat people with respect and be accountable of many small tasks. It is hard when more than 1 unsual occurrences happen at a time..
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work culture, love to work environment
Security officer/Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBDecember 18, 2015
Good Management, High scope of learning, Challenging, A good job for the freshers. A good company and management to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Good administrative support.
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ONApril 28, 2015
Day to day guard routine
Good administrative support
Flexible hours
Free Uniform
Union Benefits
A lot of overtime in Mobile Unit
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD PLACE TO WORK.
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 15, 2015
A GOOD PLACE TPO WORK.NEED TO BE A GOOD TIME MANAGEMENT.ABLE TO HANDLE FAST WORK SCHEDULES.SOME TIME WORK LONGER HOURS.STILL NEED TO BE IMPROVE EMPLOYEE BENE3FITS.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Security officer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBMay 20, 2016
good company , always looking for people. Salary not enough. No long term opportunities for improvement. They have some good sites to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Officer
Part-Time Employee (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONDecember 10, 2015
Access control by using CCTV cameras . Wrote shift & occurrence reports . Trailer inventory list as the unloading & loading of equipment , container drums .
Seasonal inventory checklist , on a week night basis such as machinery and maintenance of the site
Pros
Worked independtly, people were friendly
Cons
worked stagnant hours during the weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good starting point.
Security Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 26, 2015
Securitas is a good starting point in the industry. They are of the "Observe and Report" school of thought, which in my opinion tends to limit them in the current security market. They provide lots of training for those who want it.
Management tends to be supportive of staff in general.
Co-workers tend to vary from site to site. Generally they are good.
The hardest part of the job tends to be the shifts.
Pros
Training
Cons
Long hours, pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJanuary 19, 2016
Still working on call. It's a great place to work at but at the moment there hasn't been enough shifts. I used to work 46 hours a week but the client didn't need security anymore and now I'm back to being on call.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low wage and hardly ever worked
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  London, ONOctober 19, 2015
This company was poorly run. Then right hand did not know what the left hand was doing. I hardly ever worked and I was there for 6 months. They also paid me min wage for something I had to pay more to get (licencing). The work was boring and uneventful.
Cons
low pay, no steady work
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical security
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ONNovember 9, 2015
this company doesnt have many sites in durham, ive only been working at one site for the past 6 months for only 2 days a week. i sit in a car and site watch for 12 hours. management is somewhat okay!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace, lots of concentration required,
Agente de contrôle (Current Employee) –  Dorval QuebecOctober 25, 2015
Supportive management, lots of brief meetings concerning the aviation security. Many changes are done that can confuse employees and may lead to a breach.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an OK employer to work for
Security Guard / Shuttle Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  TorontoSeptember 2, 2015
Not the best employer I've ever had and not the worst either. They're OK.

Security work in general is relatively easy to do. You will usually start off as a floater (fill in for other guards). Permanent posts will be advertised on the company's job line and you can bid on the post offering of your choice. Selection of guards for the post is based on seniority and qualifications.

Bare in mind this is shift work, and guards with higher seniority will obviously choose the nicer shifts (days, evenings)
Pros
Relatively well managed
Cons
Lots of night shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJanuary 10, 2015
its an ok job ... management sucks but either than that its not to bad and the pay is great for my specific work site.long hours and shift work... 12 hour days 12 hour nights ....
Pros
salary
Cons
management and long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of shifts
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  MississaugaAugust 27, 2015
Doing security work as a floater was a challenge. The most difficult part about being a security guard was working the strikes i.e. Coca Cola. The most enjoyable part was getting the experience to work alone just to see how much I'd be able to handle on my own
Pros
Get to work individually
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job: interacting with a lot of people daily.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON / Fort McMurray, AlbertaJune 5, 2015
Patrolling, Monitoring Surveillance, Access Control, Conduct investigation, observing, detecting, reporting. You learn how to assist and protect people, properties and how to deal with critical situations. How to communicate and manage assigned missions. Conducting leadership. Hardest part is the human challenge: work condition, lack of sleeping, standing long hours... But it s an enjoyable work when you learn how respect people and being rescpected. Bringing out the human dimension.
Pros
vehicule patrolling
Cons
Standing and walking
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity and opportunity
Facilities/Security Officer (Current Employee) –  844 Don Mills Rd.September 11, 2015
Securitas have many sites where an employee has option to choose where to work. Good management and provide opportunity to grow in the company.
Pros
People are fun to work with
Cons
Weekend shift
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced environment
Regional Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONOctober 11, 2015
Securitas management is a fast paced environment, you must be able to multi task without hesitation. The atmosphere is great, very fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watching over construction sites for theft and vandalism
Security guard (Current Employee) –  ottawaOctober 3, 2015
I had to watch and protect various sites given to me by the employer which included apartment buildings, construction sites, schools, plazas. I had to look out for any sort of suspicious activity like theft or vandalism and report it to the Police.
Pros
less work load
Cons
long days without productive work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable environment with comprehensive development of liability
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 21, 2014
A typical day at work involves the tedious documentation of equipment and maintenance loggings while establishing routine patrols within the property's places of interests. From completing these tasks I have learned the essential liabilities held by property management and the value of minor tasks which ensure a safe and productive work environment for insurance and practical benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 5,647 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture