Second Cup Employee Reviews

Found 188 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect Entry Level Job
Shift Supervisor/Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC13 January 2017
Easy and light duties for those who want a part time and student job. Free brewed coffee and tea drinks, So much fun to learn on how different kinds of coffee blends differ from one another.
Pros
Easy kind of job, not busy at all times, huge employee discounts
Cons
Not enough supplies especially those most important ones like cups, lids, straws and syrups
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Recommended in the Slightest
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON12 January 2017
I'm not sure if this goes for all locations but I would never return to the location I worked at. There were plenty of issues with management, supplies, payment and in multiple cases issues with customers. Co-workers were at least sentimental to each other's problems since they were feeling the same way but Management was for lack of a better word, abysmal.
Pros
Employee Discounts
Cons
Terrible Management and issues galore
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfied and fun to work in this company
Barista (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 January 2017
It was good experienced to work in Second Cup, I learn a lot of things especially this is my first job. My coworkers, manager and customers are actually nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Second Cup
Barista (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 December 2016
fun company to work for. The work isn't bad either. The only downfall is the pay is minimum wage. Had I gotten paid a reasonable amount I would've stayed with Second Cup.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
too little pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and Challenging Place to work
Corporate Café Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 December 2016
You will always learn something new from working at multiple locations, and every day is different. It has been an enjoyable experience working for this company, I am just looking for a new challenge in my life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly environment
Barista/Server (Current Employee) –  Pierrefonds, QC2 December 2016
I love my staff I work with and I love all my customers owner of the store seems stressed at times, but I do love everyone. Drinks and food are amazing and fresh I love representing second cup! Once I did get burned from hot water and only I was working so I had to continue working and it hurt.
Pros
Lots of fun
Cons
Stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 November 2016
I would say its one of the easiest jobs for a coffee shop.
If it was a corporate store instead of a franchise it would be better.
They try to do different things verses a corporate store.
Owners don't pay as good as corporate. But money isn't everything right.
Laid back on the uniform which is nice
Pros
flexable
Cons
not caring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome.
Barista (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 November 2016
i loved working for Second Cup. would do it again if i could. i don't have much to say. but i enjoyed all of the White Hot Chocolates i would have on my breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to build connection with clients.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  North York, ON3 November 2016
The business is great place to meet new people and build connection with clients, but I find that the corporate needs better marketing to advance in market.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company - The company is dying!
REGIONAL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Canada25 October 2016
Senior level manager working for corporate office. Recent management changes have been very poor. CEO and her Executive Team have their heads in the sand and are not looking out for the best interest of their Franchise Partners.

Do not invest in this company and I wouldn't recommend working for them either.
Pros
Assisting Franchise Partners
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cafe with Personality and great Coffee
Barista (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON23 October 2016
Busy little Cafe on the main stretch of downtown Barrie
Great colleagues to work with
Amazing opportunities to meet different people
Learned how to create specialty drinks, the history of Coffee, and the differences between the different roasts available.
Pros
Fun Environment
Cons
Not enough hours, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good student job!
Barista (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 October 2016
I worked as a barista in my last year of high school/first year of university. My manager helped me work out a schedule that didn't conflict with my classes. I was given a fair bit of resonsibility early on (closing the store by myself after the first couple weeks). It was a great experience, and a good 'first job'.
Pros
Laid back environment.
Cons
None, if you're a student.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced.
Barista (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 October 2016
Second cup is an alright place to work. Depending on who manages the store.
What keeps you coming back to work is the staff, and costumer base you make while working.
You're active, always learning and must love to talk to people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast-paced environment
Key Holder/Barista (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON27 September 2016
This job was not only great for the sheer fact of what it was, but also for the experience I gained. I can honestly say that working as a key-holder and a barista taught me more than any other environment. My multi-tasking ability has sky rocketed, and my communication and team working skills have only grown. My only complaint, was the management of my specific location. Customer complaints were made, and many tasks were completed on my behalf that didn't necessarily line up with my job description. Other than that, a fabulous place to work. Thanks Second Cup!
Pros
coffee. all day.
Cons
no breaks, long hours on feet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Experience and Good Working Conditions
Barista and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS27 September 2016
I truly enjoy working as a barista, and hope to be considered for a position in this field. A typical day involves fast-paced and accurate service while picking up on up-sell/cross-selling opportunities for each transaction.
Pros
Friendly customers
Cons
Not currently offering full-time hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experience
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 September 2016
In my last job, i learned to be a leader and guide the new employees in the day to day operations of the business. it was a good place to enhance customer service skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  99 Metcalfe6 September 2016
Very straightforward job and great for college students and young people. Generally flexible hours depending on location and great work culture. WOuld recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for working and making friends
Customer service - Barista - Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 August 2016
I am learned and had many experience from working. The Customers, Manager and Co-worker are friendly. The timetable is flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cafe
Certified Sales Associate /Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 August 2016
Typical cafe work for big company, student job that taught me lots. Became key holder for 3 locations and was inline to be trained as manager. Was trusted to open and close locations and work alone and work overnight shifts
Pros
free coffee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work with
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC12 August 2016
I find this place enjoyable to work, because different type of nationalism is here. Being comfortable working with them.
Pros
Free Tea
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 204 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8