Find companies:
Second Cup
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
44 reviews

Second Cup Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment serving lattes and coffee.
Barista (Current Employee), Rutherford Marketplace, Maple, ONApril 7, 2014
Pros: easy going managment, flexible hours, great coworkers
Cons: not enough hours, closing shift work load
The things that I would tend to is everything behind the counter, such as the following; customer service, product stock, cleaning and maintenance, and cash management. The management of the establishment is more than a delight; they respected me, if not more, as I did them. The most challenging part about this position is the amount of work that needs – more... to be done during the closing shift. As you do work there on your own, the work maybe overwhelming and strenuous. I value my coworkers as if they are my family and they are the most enjoyable part of my job as a barista at Second cup. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and friendly work place
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 26, 2014
A typical work day would include greeting and serving customers, making beverages, cleaning tables and handling cash flow,
I have learned how to deal with customers who may not be satisfied with there product, and how to maintain high energy in a fast paced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive environment with teamwork emphasis
Manager, Barista (Current Employee), Richmond Hill, ONMarch 12, 2014
interactions with satisfied customers makes my day more enjoyable. Working efficiently in a team setting to complete tasks. Gained great customer service skills as well as working under pressure efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun challenging customer service
Associate (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 12, 2014
Pros: free drinks, great pace
Cons: long hours, early mornings
Second cup was an excellent experience for me as a whole. I learned so much working for them, attributes such as initiative,patience and maturity.

Management was very demanding of me, but while they were tough on me they were also fair, i owe alot of my positive traits to their guidance.

My co-workers were all very nice girls with different personalities, – more... who i got along with very well who pushed me to become a better co-worker. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work Place
Sales Associate/ Customer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Focus skill, time management, team Player, Motivated,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so bad
Order taker, floor manager (Former Employee), Lawrence & BathurstFebruary 10, 2014
I was a bit new to the whole coffee making & the fast paste it came with but i gradually became more adapted to it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Way to Spend the Summer
Barista (Current Employee), St. John\s NLFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: free coffee and a vibe.
I took this job as a PT Barista to occupy some spare time and meet new people. Turned to be the funnest and most enjoyable job one could do. I would manage of retail locations and do the odd shift at this amazing downtown cafe on the corner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Coffee Agent (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: company christmas dinner
Cons: pay rate
Thankful for working at Second Cup.
Learn a lot about working with others and serving customers in a fast paced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job but min wage salary
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 5, 2014
Good job. Flexible hours but still working for minimum wage after one year of working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cultured work experiance
Barista (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 28, 2013
Pros: regular weekly hours, reasonable pay, and tips
Cons: tight spaces, rude customers, eccentric staff.
Decent people, free drinks while working, smells like coffee all day which isn't bad, get to talk to lots of different people, and make friends with regulars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, lack advancement opportunity
Sales Associate and Barista (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 18, 2013
Pros: the great people you will meet, 30% all food and drinks at any cafe
Cons: no raise, no advancement
Often people compare second cup to starbucks.. and in terms of the job culture and work, it is essentially the same.
But because second cup is franchised... every franchise partner is different in terms of how they treat their staff, and how they manage.
So for 4 years at a franchised second cup, I did not have a raise ever. Only time I got a raise – more... was when minimum wage when up. But I loved my experiences there. Met tons of great people, build a lot of relationship with a lot of my regular customers. My boss was also extremely flexible with the hours that we asks for (perks of bieng franchise). Honestly, the hardest part about the job, was wanting to stay for all the wonderful people you meet on a day to day basis, but cant, because it is not challenging enough and because you know you will not get anywhere in life with that job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great transitional job
Prima Barista, Lead Key Holder (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 18, 2013
Pros: relaxed work
Cons: no weekends
On a regular day I would effectively and efficiently provide customers with desired products from the company. I found my coworkers to be exceptional to work with as they provided a good support system. This job was a very good transitional position to allow myself time to figure out what my next step would be in my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisor
Supervisor (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 12, 2013
Learned alot how to handle liquid cash.
Ordering inventories on time and scheduling employees
Train new employees and review everyone's work.
Reconciling day end sales receipt with cash collected.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, friendly staff
Cashier and Barista (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 14, 2013
Pros: 50% discount on food during shift, 20% off shift
Cons: not enough hours
Working with people as part of a team and with the customers is something I really enjoyed. You were never put in the same position, you could be moved to multiple stations through out one shift and just made it work. My co-workers were all fantastic they made it a positive environment. The hardest part of the job would be slow days when there were – more... no customers coming in because we weren't able to sell as much product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Conseillère en café / Barista (Current Employee), Promenades Saint BrunoJune 2, 2013
Very good relationships with my peers
Co-Workers are very fun and undestanding
We are a tight gang
Our boss is very impressed with my work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very slow progress of the staff due to slow promotions..
Primo Barista (Former Employee), Dubai, DUApril 29, 2013
Busy days comes normally during weekends , i had learned to work fast as giving guest satisfactions.management needs to observe on how the colleagues doing their own responsibilities according to our designations., my co-colleagues are trully supportive in terms of how they share their experience.sometimes i enountered difficulties in my job is ,if – more... the guest don't want or hard to explain them what really the situation is.The most enjoyable part in my job was when the guest acknowledge and prasise you and on my daily performance, is when i felt that the was trully satisfied and made their day.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very hard job overall.
Barista (Current Employee), Calgary, ABApril 8, 2013
Pros: great co-workers, free drinks, and tips.
Cons: salary, and hours.
I enjoy going to work because of the environment, it's very safe and welcoming. I have learned barista skills, as well as how to handle all different types of customers. The management is good, my bosses are kind people. Many of my co-workers have become my friends and are great people. The hardest part of the job is maintaining everything. As an employee – more... you have to make sure the coffees are up to date, help customers, make drinks, clean the cafe and many other things through out the work shift. The most enjoyable part of the job is talking to some of the customers and getting to know new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy location with tons of entertaining patrons
Cashier/ Barista- (Current Employee), Yorkmills and BayviewApril 4, 2013
It is essential to work with your heart in this branch as customers are mostly seniors and children due to the area of the neighborhood and in the middle of three different school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible Environment - like family
Barista (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 23, 2013
Pros: all you can drink coffee
Cons: all you can drink coffee (think about it...)
This Second Cup is like family to me - customers and owners treat you with dignity and respect. I have gained so many amazing friends and acquaintances working in this location and a true appreciation for the diversity of Toronto. The hardest part of this job is leaving Toronto to find other work. The most enjoyable are the range of customers who walk – more... through the door. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing and fun work environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 19, 2013
Prepared coffees, made beverages, cleaned around cafe etc with a great team of co workers that made the job enjoyable.

1 2 3