Second Cup Employee Reviews

Found 196 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job working in my neigbourhood
Barista/ Opener/ Key holder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 February 2017
I enjoyed working for this franchisee. Got a taste of the coffee world and met some amazing people. I have continued a relationship with the owners and appreciate all I had been taught
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe working environment
Barista (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB6 February 2017
A typical day at work consists of helping customers out with beans, taking orders and making drinks. As a learning experience so far i have learned that organization and routine work is key to a well worked shift, and experience for the customers. Management prioritizes the safety and proper training of the employee. The hardest part of the job is getting the hang of making the drinks, such as steaming the milk, pulling the shots, and remembering the key ingredients of each latte. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with the customers and giving them a pleasant experience each and every time they step in the cafe.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace.
Key holder and Barista (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON31 January 2017
Second Cup is a great, easy going job to have while you're in school. You learned customer service skills, leadership, initiative, and managerial skills.
Pros
Flexible hours, sometimes free lunches
Cons
Malls are busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace while serving regulars daily.
Barista (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 January 2017
Opening the store and setting up the coffee and food for opening was fine, early work hours but got off early which is good as well. Doing inventory weekly for ordering, and closing till after shift and balancing money. supervising other staff to help keep the day to day simple and easy and efficient.
Pros
Free coffee while you work
Cons
Picky customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and flexible place to work for students
Supervisor/Head Barista (Former Employee) –  North York, ON28 January 2017
I enjoyed most of my time here. The staff and old management were very gracious and helpful when I first moved to Toronto.

Scheduling was fair and easy to work with. In general, if I needed shifts,I got them.
Pros
Flexible scheduling
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor support from Second Cup Head Office
Owner (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON26 January 2017
Working at Cafe is like work with family, customers who comes on daily basis are part of your family. Quality of drinks are excellent,
Pros
25% discount by owner
Cons
shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Barista (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON22 January 2017
This job was not the right fit for me. I did not enjoy dealing with food and drinks. There was always a constant rush to make drink and deal with difficult people. It is where I learned to deal with all different types of individuals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect Entry Level Job
Shift Supervisor/Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC13 January 2017
Easy and light duties for those who want a part time and student job. Free brewed coffee and tea drinks, So much fun to learn on how different kinds of coffee blends differ from one another.
Pros
Easy kind of job, not busy at all times, huge employee discounts
Cons
Not enough supplies especially those most important ones like cups, lids, straws and syrups
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Recommended in the Slightest
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON12 January 2017
I'm not sure if this goes for all locations but I would never return to the location I worked at. There were plenty of issues with management, supplies, payment and in multiple cases issues with customers. Co-workers were at least sentimental to each other's problems since they were feeling the same way but Management was for lack of a better word, abysmal.
Pros
Employee Discounts
Cons
Terrible Management and issues galore
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work enviornment
Key Holder/Barista (Current Employee) –  Maple, ON4 January 2017
Lovely time working with staff and customers. I would consider it to be a social and fun place to work. Management is very understanding and helpful.
Pros
flexable hours
Cons
unpredictable shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfied and fun to work in this company
Barista (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 January 2017
It was good experienced to work in Second Cup, I learn a lot of things especially this is my first job. My coworkers, manager and customers are actually nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Second Cup
Barista (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 December 2016
fun company to work for. The work isn't bad either. The only downfall is the pay is minimum wage. Had I gotten paid a reasonable amount I would've stayed with Second Cup.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
too little pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and Challenging Place to work
Corporate Café Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 December 2016
You will always learn something new from working at multiple locations, and every day is different. It has been an enjoyable experience working for this company, I am just looking for a new challenge in my life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly environment
Barista/Server (Current Employee) –  Pierrefonds, QC2 December 2016
I love my staff I work with and I love all my customers owner of the store seems stressed at times, but I do love everyone. Drinks and food are amazing and fresh I love representing second cup! Once I did get burned from hot water and only I was working so I had to continue working and it hurt.
Pros
Lots of fun
Cons
Stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 November 2016
I would say its one of the easiest jobs for a coffee shop.
If it was a corporate store instead of a franchise it would be better.
They try to do different things verses a corporate store.
Owners don't pay as good as corporate. But money isn't everything right.
Laid back on the uniform which is nice
Pros
flexable
Cons
not caring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome.
Barista (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 November 2016
i loved working for Second Cup. would do it again if i could. i don't have much to say. but i enjoyed all of the White Hot Chocolates i would have on my breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to build connection with clients.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  North York, ON3 November 2016
The business is great place to meet new people and build connection with clients, but I find that the corporate needs better marketing to advance in market.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company - The company is dying!
REGIONAL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Canada25 October 2016
Senior level manager working for corporate office. Recent management changes have been very poor. CEO and her Executive Team have their heads in the sand and are not looking out for the best interest of their Franchise Partners.

Do not invest in this company and I wouldn't recommend working for them either.
Pros
Assisting Franchise Partners
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cafe with Personality and great Coffee
Barista (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON23 October 2016
Busy little Cafe on the main stretch of downtown Barrie
Great colleagues to work with
Amazing opportunities to meet different people
Learned how to create specialty drinks, the history of Coffee, and the differences between the different roasts available.
Pros
Fun Environment
Cons
Not enough hours, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good student job!
Barista (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 October 2016
I worked as a barista in my last year of high school/first year of university. My manager helped me work out a schedule that didn't conflict with my classes. I was given a fair bit of resonsibility early on (closing the store by myself after the first couple weeks). It was a great experience, and a good 'first job'.
Pros
Laid back environment.
Cons
None, if you're a student.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Second Cup. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 213 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7