Find companies:
Sears
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,192 reviews

Sears Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loss Prevention
Loss Prevention Officer/Security (Former Employee), Halifax, Nova ScotiaMay 21, 2014
Watch and Profile customers
Apprehend and make arrests
Make court & police burnt cds for vid evidence
catching multiple thieves at the same time is very difficult
Variety was always good to have
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing superior customer service.
Manager/Estee Lauder Cosmetics (Current Employee), St. Catharines, Pen CentreMay 21, 2014
A typical day at work involves greeting customers and providing superior customer service by recommending the best products to suit their individual needs. I work with a great team of beauty advisors, we all help each other and work well together when dealing with promotions and events. The hardest part of the job is recruiting when its not busy in – more... the department. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping every women feel beautiful by providing them with signature services, teaching them different makeup techniques. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corn Detasilling
Customer service (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONMay 20, 2014
Pros: got a tan from being outside all day.
Cons: extremely hot weather.
It was not enjoyable, but it was a start to becoming responsible as a pre-teen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not amazing
General Manager (Current Employee), Lethbridge, ABMay 20, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: legalities, loop holes, union
Let's just say that as an associate their are a lot of benefits and loop holes to ensure payment and employment. As a manager it is frustrating and tireless to get things approved and done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my job at Sears for the time I had there
Merchandise Presentation Lead (Former Employee), Chatham-Kent, ONMay 20, 2014
Pros: new faces new smiles
Cons: none come to mind
I totally enjoyed working in the merchandising aspect of things. I like the idea of doing something different everyday but still giving perfect customer service at the same time. This is the reason I went into management in the merchanding area. I enjoyed working with my co workers as a team and communicating about any changes or work that wasn't finished – more... off at end of day.( Although I myself would normally stay extra hours to finish up a job unfinished.) I learned something new everyday in the merchandising field or in retail in general. I like meeting new people and facing new challenges – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was good working there.
Sales person (Current Employee), Nanaimo, BCMay 19, 2014
I love working there, but there was no advancement for my job as sales person. A typical day would be opening new account of customers. Deal with 50+ customers while handing phone call from customers as well. Provide customer services. I had best co-workers. All were very good at doing their job. I learnt a lot of things ( job related) from them. Management – more... was good. The most parts of my job fairly easy except dealing with though customers. The most enjoyable part of my job was helping customer find what they are looking for. I also suggest if what they want weren't available in store. I love working with people, so I enjoyed my job at Sears. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it has a nice experience for me, And to deal with cash handling and clerical work was amazing.
Administrative clerk (Former Employee), Regina,SKMay 11, 2014
Pros: good to have a fast paced working environment, for my experience
Cons: long hours and no body available for replacement to go for break
Its a very good job but lot of disturb changes in management,so job is not fix at all
Having fun with work and to help customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry level lab position.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 7, 2014
Worked in a research lab carrying out molecular genetics experiments. Lots of freedom to pursue own studies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive. Advancement
Account Manager - Salesperson (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 7, 2014
Never board always work to be done. Co-workers were friends.
Hardest keep open communication with some higher management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
full of great people
Commision Sales (Current Employee), Burnaby, BCMay 7, 2014
no job security.......................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work - learned a lot
Finance Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Belleville, ONMay 7, 2014
Is a great place to work. I learned a lot in the department I am in. The management and my co workers are really goo dpeople.
I enjoyed my job. I love going above what I have been asked to do and then get the appreciation from my manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun and positive work environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Prince George, BCMay 5, 2014
I enjoy working at this location. I am happy with the expectations and responsibilities set out for me. I have had positive feedback on all monthly reviews. I am satisfied with management and believe that everyone is treated fairly and equally. I look forward to going into work every shift and am proud to be a part of this organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxed place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Belleville, ONMay 5, 2014
Pros: located not far from home, enviromentally friendly
Cons: depending on hours
Answer customer inquires and help correct and resolve them.
Co-workers are great to work with.
Management is friendly to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too much expectation and too little reward
Product Knowledge Specialist (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBMay 2, 2014
Pros: occasional free lunch, good people & good scheduling for students
Cons: no raises, hard work, few hours & inadequate training
Every second of your day must be micro managed in order to keep up with work load and expectations. There is not enough training to prepare new associates in the hardware department and not enough compensation to attract worthy associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Material Handler Fork Lift Operator
Material Handler (Former Employee), Vaughn, OntarioMay 1, 2014
 Knowledge of WHMIS
 Load/Unload products and materials, by hand or with material handling equipment
 Ability to operate various mobile equipment, ie. Forklift, truck, hoist, motorized conveyor, stackers
 Also, posses the ability to operate pump trucks, conveyor systems, hand-held scanners, and tuggers
 Monitor and ensure mobile equipment is operated – more... according to safety regulations outlined by the company
 Fill orders promptly and efficiently with stock, move inventory,read/scan tickets
 Maintain and organize inventory
 Verify and maintain all supporting documents accompanying shipments. Report any discrepancies to appropriate area via online, or written – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with amazing energy
Cashier (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONMay 1, 2014
I work in the baby section and provide product knowledge to new parents or grandparents. Folding and sizing clothing and creating registries happen on a daily basis. I learned many different things about products and even about what it is like to have a baby and I also strengthened how to help worried customers. My co workers are amazing and are always – more... eager to lend a hand when things get busy. The hardest part of the job is trying to get as many things done as possible before a shift ends which can be a little challenging when you may be the only one working at that time. The most enjoyable part of the job is making new connections with customers and being able to know that you were apart of their new life as parents! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customers services/
Agent service à la clientèle (Former Employee), Saint-Laurent, QCApril 30, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: lunch time too short
Nice place &good location
learned a lot
First time in a call center
Good peoples trying to earn a living.
Very long hours just sitting....
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and always learning
Sales Associate parts an service (Current Employee), Burnaby bcApril 29, 2014
always solving problems
have learned how to do a manual to do different jobs/
management and y team lead great have always been able to trust me to work on my own with out them watching over me

co workers i am able to work with \

hardest part of the job would have to be when i com back from holidays and had mountains of work to get done .

when someone – more... is willing to learn something and that i have been able to teach them – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sears management team tries to keep associates upbeat
Sales Associate (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONApril 26, 2014
Pros: employee perks
Cons: the customer gets the benfit of the doubt over the employees.
A typical day would be assisting customers with their purchases and suggestive selling
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work...fun fellow associates
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Sault Ste. Marie, ONApril 25, 2014
Pros: extra % off purchases
Cons: no raises in 8 years...no rewards for being a loyal employee
Like the feeling of helping women to get the right fit for a bra.

About Sears

Sears, Roebuck and Co. hasn't outgrown the mall scene, but it's spending more time in other places. Beyond its 840 US mall-based – Read more