Sears Employee Reviews

Found 1,711 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable to go and work, feel at home and comfortable/ belong.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON31 May 2017
i loved working at Sears. i wish i did not quite but due to my school load i didn't have a choice. working with the the other workers made the job more enjoyable.
Pros
good people to work with
Cons
system wasn't up to date
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely people to work with, friendly environment
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 May 2017
I worked with great with people at Sears. It's a friendly environment and atmosphere at Sears is great. I think i improved my customer service skills by working at Sears. I really miss working there!
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK30 May 2017
I loved working at Sears, it was always fast paced but when it slowed down it was a nice break and it would allow my team and i to get the floor and the fitting rooms tidy.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon environnement de travail
Commis (Former Employee) –  Rosemère, QC30 May 2017
bon emploi, les employés sont agréables et super gentil.

la gérante n'arrivait pas à comprendre que les études étaient prioritaires...
Pros
bonne équipe de travail
Cons
mauvais équilibre travail/études
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON28 May 2017
A typical day at work would consist of greeting customers and helping them find what they are looking for, or trying to go above and beyond to fulfill their needs. I have learned to collaborate with different types of people and enhance of work ethic as well as my customer service skills. The management team has taught me a lot about sales and to make them more effective for the customers. The hardest part of the job was when a customer would come in looking for something specific and we didn't carry it at our store so I would have to refer them some place else. The most enjoyable part of my job was that day every day was a different experience and I learned something new, along with meeting new faces.
Pros
Understanding managers, flexible scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Associate/Sales Lead (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 May 2017
Good place to work. Very fun, exciting and challenging work place. Growing company, provides a lot of growth opportunities for staff. Great teams, great upper management. Always promotes a good work-life balance. Great company to work for and learn from.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable job and place to work at too.
Call rep, order taker, receiver (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON26 May 2017
great hours, environment, pay, people, customers, etc...
the training for the job was very easy and the use with the systems as well was great also!! Paid training which was wonderful, and then as soon as your done your training after about a week or 2 your able to get put on the floor right away and get working by yourself taking calls right away.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON25 May 2017
manager was very rude and wasnt nice it was in woodbine centre mall costumers were nice i learned that never to work for this company i only worked there for 2 months
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient
Brand Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON25 May 2017
Awesome work experience and retail work.
Time management a pro.
Working with colleagues was fun.
Management is good .
the standing part was the hardest one.
Inspiring customer service experience
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good environment, but no security
Customer Relations Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga25 May 2017
Gained leadership skills, gained customer development, learned problem solving & multitasking. Learned to interact with different customer types. Culture - Customer focused
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience
Director, Internal Controls (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 May 2017
Has been a great term with Sears with lots of learning, challenges and understanding of retail market despite uncertainty and stiff cost cutting measures.
Pros
Discount on retail products
Cons
instability, poor management, lack of vision
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place
Admin Sales Support (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 May 2017
Great learning opportunity with nice working environment. pays special attention to grooming of workers and friendly manager always willing to help and support
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Customer service associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 May 2017
- I have increased my capability to deal with angry or fair customers.
- Challenging part of the job was making sales by opening credit accounts of the customers where all co workers must make a minimum of 5 per day.
Pros
discounts
Cons
credit accounts
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer a good place to work
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON24 May 2017
This company has become a high stress place to be employed. Long term associates are just waiting for a package to be offered. Management no longer is willing to work with associates to provide a challenging and satisfying place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun enviorment
Administrative Assistant & dispatch (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON23 May 2017
great opportunity and first office job, team was supportive to all new
members ~ encouraging and willing to open new posistions to keep the core staff improving.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun place to work. was seasonal employment
Sears Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON22 May 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed working at Sears. the work was fairly easy and fast paced so days went by quickly. the atmosphere was very fun and the work was fun as well to do. the management was excellent and easy to work for. being pregnant at the time of working there, there were some parts that were hard being I was short and unable to reach but had a wonderful team who would help out if I needed them. also I loved the hours and the fact it was seasonal work.
Pros
very enjoyable workplace to work in
Cons
machines were too high and I was too short to really operate them fully
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for a first job
Sales/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC22 May 2017
very bad management
new employees every month it seems
great place to understand retail
you will be bossed around
people can be very impatient so you must be patient
Pros
walk around the mall
Cons
very busy
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Que de beaux souvenirs
Vendeuse et caissière (Former Employee) –  Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville, QC22 May 2017
Pour un étudiant, c'est le travail rêvé.
Intéressant,
Bien payé.
Continuellement encouragés.
Belle relation avec mes patrons et mes collègues
Pros
Sentiment d'être appréciée variété dans les tâches
Cons
J'en cherche encore.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miserable
Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK21 May 2017
I worked at Sears for over two years. It started out alright, and I liked the people I worked with, but the place went downhill fast. By the time I left, the store was a mess and morale among employees was at an all-time low. Thngs were constantly changing, resulting in confused and angry customers. The management is awful and the people above them are even worse. Non-commission employees were paid minimum wage with no raises, ever. Hours were constantly cut back -- to the point where we had to close our department before the store even closed! Customers were never happy about that either. After that they started cutting back staff and combining departments. As far as I can tell, they are still scrambling. In short, I hated the place and couldn't wait to get out!
Pros
Health benefits, nice coworkers
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly well run and stable large retailer
Vendeur (commission) (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC21 May 2017
Nice to work for full time. Less stable hours as part time with next to no work at times. Clear and easy to follow policies and expectations. Overall, a good experience. easy to transfer between cities if needed
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sears. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 18,657 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3