Find companies:
Sears
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,364 reviews

Sears Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not work for them again
Sales Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee), oshawaOctober 1, 2014
gave them one star because i had too, but i would not work there. as a temporary worker for sears Canada. i was thoroughly not impressed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Job
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: decent salary, good atmosphere, friendly people
Cons: training not a priority as of now.
Good Management team, pretty much organized to other retail places that I have worked. Growth opportunities are available. Is encouraged to learn, develop and hone skills. Freedom to do things independently. Does opening, closing, training new hires, freedom to decide floor model clearance pricing with store manager; thus enabling to bring new receipts – more... which also helps in good merchandising. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor company to work for
Counter Manager (Former Employee), Burlington, OntarioSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: discount, coworkers
Cons: every weekend, poor management
Coworkers were great.
-Management is negative and constantly micromanaging.
-Constant pressure for sales, credit card sales
-No positive reinforcement
Good discount 25%
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Coquitlam, BCSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: part time
Upgraded my skills and have a lot of fun doing so, co workers and management are great, overall a great place to work at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Moncton, NBSeptember 29, 2014
I worked for this company for a long time. no advancements, I haven't had a raise in 9 years. They force you to shove credit cards. If you don't your fired. They say they are customer oriented. That's bull. Work for this company you work for chase Morgan ( owner of their sears card.) don't waist your time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sears
Material Handler 2 (Former Employee), Regina, Sask.September 29, 2014
Pros: steady employment, great hours and people
Cons: building closed and was laid off
I worked for 26 years and enjoyed the employment. Our building was closed and operation moved to Calgary. I am now seeking employment with your company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
useless
Sales Associate (Current Employee), markhamSeptember 28, 2014
useless place where employee don't have a future that's why so many sears stores are closing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merchandising and inventory Management
Merchandise Presentation Associate (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: great culture and benefits
Got good exposure in managing inventory, merchandising and handling customer inquiries
Great culture and benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work. Most are team players.
Customer Service Desk/Cashier (Former Employee), SherwaySeptember 26, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: store closed
I loved working at SEARS. I started off merchandizing, moved up to cashier in Home Decor, then was placed in Modern shop Clothing.
Although I only worked a few months before the store closed, I enjoyed my job, and wished I could have stayed working at SEARS.
The employees are friendly with a few exceptions of some thinking they were more superior to – more... you because the worked there longer.
There was no real hard part about the job only when the store closed and the customers bombarded you with racks and racks of clothes to cash out. The most enjoyable part of working there was you worked a few days got a few days off. I really did not mind the shift changes. I also got more experience on the cash register which helped me find another job on cash/CSD. I love working with people and interacting with my customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Sales Floor Associate (Current Employee), Guelph, ONSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: people, managers, breaks, in a mall
Cons: minimum wage
I really like working at Sears. Everyone who works there from the MPT team to Management are all really nice, understanding and friendly people. It is a really nice work environment! Only downside, minimum wage but that's retail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Work Atmosphere
Customer Service Desk Associate (Current Employee), Brantford, ONSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: training
Cons: stressful days
I really enjoy the family work atmosphere at Sears . It is all about Teamwork & Customer Service and a Positive Boost to start your day. Your day would start with the 15 minute morning meeting and try to tidy up your work area to get ready for your Customer's. Your always learning professional customer service skills to help you effectively provide – more... the customer with their needs at that time, whether it was a billing problem, activating new accounts, complaints or helping them find that perfect item; All the management staff are there too help and support you either with extra training or just jumping in too handle a busy day. All your co-workers are just as quick too jump in and help with any questions you may have about a particular job or lend a helping hand if needed. The hardest part of my job is making sure that all our customers are satisfied with their purchases. I try too make sure that they all have a smile and feel important while they are there and when they are ready to leave. The Greatest part of my job is getting that special compliment from our customers on how satisfied they are with their shopping experience and friendly service. It's always a Good Feeling!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Managment and Lack Of Hours
MPT (Former Employee), Halifax, NSSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: fun staff
Cons: no hours, poor management
When I First started as a Merchandiser There was a good amount of hours but after 4 months of working there my hours dropped first to 10 hours a week then down to one 4 h shift a week. and it wasn't just the hours that where bad the Managers Had no idea how to manage there staff all they would do is yell at you until your ears bleed and then tell you – more... to do something you weren't certified to do.

The only Positive thing I can say about this company is that the staff was out of this world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team focussed environment with strong emphasis on celebrating successes for management and associates alike
Sales Mgr/Replen Co-ordinator (Current Employee), Cornwall, ONSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: a strong focus on accomplishments
Cons: currenly under a wage freeze
Sears, Cornwall ON has a strong focus on success with consistent acknowledgement and recognition for individual as well as team accomplishments. Associates and management employment anniversaries and successes are celebrated daily and monthly. Senior Management is extremely flexible, understanding both the needs of the business as well as balance in – more... their management and associates personal life. The General Manager, is extremely approachable with an Open Door Policy which she has implemented for everyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Sales
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 17, 2014
Good work environment with supportive management and excellent training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with the public to fulfill their needs
Furniture Associate (Former Employee), Moncton, NBSeptember 16, 2014
Enjoyed my time as a furniture associate but due to restructuring I was laid off after 8 full time years and my last year as part time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a fun place to work
Assistant Dept. Manager (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONSeptember 16, 2014
Cons: job position elimination
In the past it was a great place to work. Co workers were great. The most enjoyable part of the job was the customer satisfaction/interaction as well as my cohesive 'team' that worked for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sears Canada was a great place to work, with lots of opportunities to realize personal goals
Accounts Payable Supervisor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: the family atmosphere
Cons: often long hours accumulated during various phases of restructre
Although I stayed in the Accounts Payable department, The company allowed the opportunity to learn and excel in various roles within but not subjective to specific departments.
I met and communicated with some wonderful people (internal/external) throughout my tenure and will treasure those memories.
The gratification of knowing I addressed or brought – more... some degree of satisfaction/resolution to a business partner (internal/external) on a daily basis were the joy of various roles.
The most difficult part of the job was the thought of a family no longer being able to coordinate efforts as we parted due to a major change in the company's direction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gained retail experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Prince George BCSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: customers
Cons: never received enough hours, horrendous management skills, awful planning, no respect, constant harassment
Sears was a good place to gain retail experience. I learned about many different processes and jobs it takes in order to run a company, and how each team affects each other. The manager was awful, and unreliable, and constantly harassed/embarrassed employees. The co-workers were amazing in details, and proficient in their jobs. The hardest part was – more... signing people up for credit cards. The most enjoyable part I found was working in my department and helping the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience to start with basic job.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), London,ONSeptember 7, 2014
• Served customer orders in an accurate manner
• Prepared and served fast food menu items
• Participated in meal production and distribution
• Handle cash, credit and debit card transactions on an electronic cash register
• Experience working in a fast paced kitchen environment
• Arrange tables and chair settings
• Followed Canada’s Food Handling Safety – more... Standards – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Clerk (Former Employee), London OntarioSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: good co workers
Cons: poor management and organization skills
No organization skills.
Poorly managed.
Major cut backs on hours.
Poor wages.

About Sears

Sears, Roebuck and Co. hasn't outgrown the mall scene, but it's spending more time in other places. Beyond its 840 US mall-based – Read more