Find companies:
Sears
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,198 reviews

Sears Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable to work with Sears
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 27, 2014
Pros: free water
Cons: long hours
A typical day at work is when the store is busy. I learned how to handle stress at work, how to prioritized the most urgent. The management is helpful especially in customer service. Have good relationship with co- workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Versatile, diverse client group of people
Manager (Former Employee), Sears, Toronto, ONJune 24, 2014
Pros: great employee discount
Cons: no breaks and lunches
Sears could be always better as before. 10 years ago the company was completely different in terms of taking care of the employees as well as the customers, most of the departments don't have any associates to help customer's making decisions and close the sales, no stocks, stockrooms are all empty, work load is full but employees hours are cut to 1/3.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Sales Associate (Current Employee), London, ONJune 23, 2014
i liked working with my co-workers, and loved hepling and solving problems with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
Catalogue Associate (Current Employee), Vernon, BCJune 23, 2014
Each day at Sears brings a new challenge. Patience is the key with working in a large corporation. I enjoy working with my fellow co-workers and solving customer issues. The hardest part is being unable to solve a customer's problem because of corporate rules and regulations. The best part is finding a way to solve a problem that appeared to be unsolvable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repaired and rebuilt clutch systems
Automotive Technician (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COJune 23, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: nothing
Test electronic computer components in automobiles to ensure that they were working properly. Tuned automobile engines to ensure proper and efficient functioning. Used electronic test equipment to locate and correct malfunctions in fuel, ignition, and emissions control systems. Repaired and replaced automobile leaf springs, defective ball joint suspensions – more... and wheel bearings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work enviorment overall
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONJune 18, 2014
Pros: co workers were excellent, positive work enviornment, selling clothing was fun
Cons: difficult at times to meet weekly sales quotas, salary was not ideal
A typical day of work included keeping my area clean greeting customers and providing excellent customer service. My co workers were all very nice and friendly I have no complaints and management was nice and helpful however I found there was a lot of pressure to sell, sell, sell which in turn took away from helping customers to the full extent because – more... most of our customers didn't have a lot of money. The hardest part of the job was meeting quota on a weekly basis. The best part of the job was helping customers and making them happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Merchandise Flow Associate (Current Employee), Red Deer, ABJune 17, 2014
Pros: having a insurance benefits
everyday i have so many things to experience and to learn about the customer service like to assist to the customer needs, and i am happy to help them and to the thank me with a smile coming from the customer. i am grateful to be part of the sears company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Learning Experience
Sr Financial Analyst, FP&A (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 15, 2014
Good Learning Experience, good co-workers and immediate leaders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I just realized that my resume is not up-to-date as I currently work for the Hudson's Bay as a Beauty Adviser. I started Sept. 2013 with a salary $14.
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee), Erin Mills Town CenterJune 12, 2014
Pros: employees are trusted
Cons: lack of respect from human resorces
The first Beautician in opens all cash registers. Each ensure that their counter is clean and all tools for the job are in place. Once the store opens one has to be ready to greet the customer with a smile and a cheery salutation. Throughout the having eagle eyes for customer as the enter the department.

I have learned that I can sell anything with – more... passion.

Management never seem to understand some of the abuse (verbal) we encounter with our continuous phone calls to customers.

I worked with an amazing team at Sears, as I totally believe in being a team player, much can be accomplished then.

The hardest part of the job was calling customers for every event and gift with purchase.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the relationship with customers. Customers love you when you advise them on the art to looking younger and beautiful. The co-workers were fun to be with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working environment
Sales Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee), Windsor, ONJune 10, 2014
I was a seasonal occupant, therefore only worked for a limited amount of time. however I learned a lot and gained an abundant amount of experience. My co-workers were very friendly and reliable ones that I very much enjoyed working with. A typical day for me as a seasonal employee, would be handing out samples, and greeting people with the stores fragrance – more... sales. The most enjoyable part of the job for me, was being able to interact with people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love working
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Belleville, ONJune 10, 2014
Pros: enjoyed helping the customers
Cons: customers yelling at me because of the issues they are having
I had great days as I like to talk to customer and resolve issues . I do that every day in my home life . the hardest part of the job with getting customers to calm down and explain the issue, so I can assist them in resolving the problems

management and I got along great as I did my job because I took the time to understand the customer issues so – more... we could reach a resolution

I also worked a lot of overtime when they needed help – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good salary,poor management company failing
Sales of major appliances (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 9, 2014
Pros: good working environment.
Cons: poor management
Enjoy the job but poor management but company will not be around for long.co-workers great . Hardest part of job is staying excited to go to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experience
Team Leader (Former Employee), Leader, SKJune 7, 2014
Working at Sears has taught me a lot about customers. There is problems that need solving and working there we learned how to deal with that. The staff was always great and friendly. Management was there to help when needed. You have you slow days but there was always something to do for example clean the floor and fitting rooms.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sears Canada
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONJune 5, 2014
Sears has a pleasant work environment that involves a lot of communication with the public. A typical day involves helping customers purchase items, process returns or help individuals make payments for their sears cards. Another major part is putting merchandise in their proper location and answering various customer questions. The hardest part of – more... my job is standing for long periods of time. The most enjoyable part is talking to unique individuals in my community and being able to help others. As well, I enjoy working on a team and find it rewarding when I can help customers and provide excellent service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work at.
Sales Floor Associate (Current Employee), Fredericton, NBJune 4, 2014
Pros: all
Cons: n/a
Since I have worked at a summer camp the first thing that I did was saying hi to the kids and then moving on and helped the manager plan the day. Then followed the plan. We did different activities, cooking was my favorite.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
extremely fun
Photographer and Sales Representative (Former Employee), Cornwall, ONJune 4, 2014
loved posing people, loved seeing people happy, loved helping people capture a perfect moment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cashier/ Sales associate (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 3, 2014
Pros: fun work environment
Cons: long hours on feet
- worked 8 hour shifts
- Learned how to multitask
- Management was very friendly
- My co-workers were very friendly
- Standing on feet for long periods of time
- The feeling of helping a customers leave happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Logistics/Merchandise Flow Associate (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONMay 30, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short hours, mismanagement
-we two of working shifts in receiving area at sears.. one during the Early morning, we have truck container coming in to received and take out all the stuffs inside, sorted and put on the skid everything Dept. 18 where they are and put on there stockrooms,, other are Afternoons which we helped the customers in Picking their stuffs, and do the deliveries – more... which the truck company to be pick it

- the hardest job is the customer pickup line-up because you cannot able to do your major task if you have a 7 or 8 customers and you can't finished it on time

- the most enjoyable part is you met different people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay work place
Credit Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 25, 2014
Company was okay, Management was great. The salary was not the greatest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Ancaster, ONMay 23, 2014
Pros: manager was very helpful and understanding
Cons: very little hours working
Good place to work. The management was always willing to help with a difficult task and I really love handling customers all day. Very little to complain about got to work in an air-conditioned warehouse in the summer and mainly worked by myself. Very little micromanaging by bosses helped me feel like I was trusted.

About Sears

Sears, Roebuck and Co. hasn't outgrown the mall scene, but it's spending more time in other places. Beyond its 840 US mall-based – Read more