Find companies:
Sears
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,207 reviews

Sears Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN WORK PLACE
Logistics-Shipping/Receiving (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 14, 2014
I unloaded trailers put together skids brought them up to the departments helped customers when needed. I also shipped packages
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
appliance repair technician
Service Technician (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBOctober 14, 2014
I drive from each job to the next. I have learned all aspects of in home appliance repair. I enjoy this job very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCOctober 13, 2014
Pros: discounts in all departments
Cons: unreliable scheduling
Working for Sears Canada is rewarding and enjoyable for anyone that thrives in a customer service setting. Days are filled with routine work (opening cash, stocking and cleaning displays, assisting customers with purchases and products), but the environment provides variety through the day. I learned a lot about how larger companies work, as well as – more... many things about the products I was selling. Sears provides plenty of opportunity to learn (as well as incentives for doing so!). Management is steady, amicable and understanding, though sometimes hard to get in touch with. Supervisors move around the departments frequently, but all are friendly and easy to work with. I enjoyed the busy Christmas season the best, when line ups at the cash desks never end, as well as seeing regular customers from time to time. The hardest part of the job was posting sale signage; it is a long, and sometimes complicated process that needs to be done quickly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Sales Associate (Current Employee), TorontoOctober 11, 2014
typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the hardest part of the job
sales attendant (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 10, 2014
If im alone for the whole day I have to be quick as possible to make all my customers happy,To give all the orders in time to accomplish my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lost of transition
General Manager (Former Employee), winnipeg, manitobaOctober 6, 2014
Pros: trying to help rebuild an icon
Cons: inner turmoil
started the day pulling numbers and getting ready for meeting with sales associates, then throughout the day coach my management team to better motivate their staff to achieve targets.

I learned that making people accountable for their jobs is an ongoing task the moment you let up focus shifts.

i liked coming in and interacting with the associates – more... as well as customers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Department Manager (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBOctober 5, 2014
At every job you learn something, I enjoy working a long side of my people's , I feel a Manager must be involved on the floor in order for your people to work the way you want them to succeed like you do.There is always room for improvement from learning and teaching.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not work for them again
Sales Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee), oshawaOctober 1, 2014
gave them one star because i had too, but i would not work there. as a temporary worker for sears Canada. i was thoroughly not impressed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Job
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: decent salary, good atmosphere, friendly people
Cons: training not a priority as of now.
Good Management team, pretty much organized to other retail places that I have worked. Growth opportunities are available. Is encouraged to learn, develop and hone skills. Freedom to do things independently. Does opening, closing, training new hires, freedom to decide floor model clearance pricing with store manager; thus enabling to bring new receipts – more... which also helps in good merchandising. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor company to work for
Counter Manager (Former Employee), Burlington, OntarioSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: discount, coworkers
Cons: every weekend, poor management
Coworkers were great.
-Management is negative and constantly micromanaging.
-Constant pressure for sales, credit card sales
-No positive reinforcement
Good discount 25%
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Coquitlam, BCSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: part time
Upgraded my skills and have a lot of fun doing so, co workers and management are great, overall a great place to work at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Moncton, NBSeptember 29, 2014
I worked for this company for a long time. no advancements, I haven't had a raise in 9 years. They force you to shove credit cards. If you don't your fired. They say they are customer oriented. That's bull. Work for this company you work for chase Morgan ( owner of their sears card.) don't waist your time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sears
Material Handler 2 (Former Employee), Regina, Sask.September 29, 2014
Pros: steady employment, great hours and people
Cons: building closed and was laid off
I worked for 26 years and enjoyed the employment. Our building was closed and operation moved to Calgary. I am now seeking employment with your company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
useless
Sales Associate (Current Employee), markhamSeptember 28, 2014
useless place where employee don't have a future that's why so many sears stores are closing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merchandising and inventory Management
Merchandise Presentation Associate (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: great culture and benefits
Got good exposure in managing inventory, merchandising and handling customer inquiries
Great culture and benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work. Most are team players.
Customer Service Desk/Cashier (Former Employee), SherwaySeptember 26, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: store closed
I loved working at SEARS. I started off merchandizing, moved up to cashier in Home Decor, then was placed in Modern shop Clothing.
Although I only worked a few months before the store closed, I enjoyed my job, and wished I could have stayed working at SEARS.
The employees are friendly with a few exceptions of some thinking they were more superior to – more... you because the worked there longer.
There was no real hard part about the job only when the store closed and the customers bombarded you with racks and racks of clothes to cash out. The most enjoyable part of working there was you worked a few days got a few days off. I really did not mind the shift changes. I also got more experience on the cash register which helped me find another job on cash/CSD. I love working with people and interacting with my customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Sales Floor Associate (Current Employee), Guelph, ONSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: people, managers, breaks, in a mall
Cons: minimum wage
I really like working at Sears. Everyone who works there from the MPT team to Management are all really nice, understanding and friendly people. It is a really nice work environment! Only downside, minimum wage but that's retail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Work Atmosphere
Customer Service Desk Associate (Current Employee), Brantford, ONSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: training
Cons: stressful days
I really enjoy the family work atmosphere at Sears . It is all about Teamwork & Customer Service and a Positive Boost to start your day. Your day would start with the 15 minute morning meeting and try to tidy up your work area to get ready for your Customer's. Your always learning professional customer service skills to help you effectively provide – more... the customer with their needs at that time, whether it was a billing problem, activating new accounts, complaints or helping them find that perfect item; All the management staff are there too help and support you either with extra training or just jumping in too handle a busy day. All your co-workers are just as quick too jump in and help with any questions you may have about a particular job or lend a helping hand if needed. The hardest part of my job is making sure that all our customers are satisfied with their purchases. I try too make sure that they all have a smile and feel important while they are there and when they are ready to leave. The Greatest part of my job is getting that special compliment from our customers on how satisfied they are with their shopping experience and friendly service. It's always a Good Feeling!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Managment and Lack Of Hours
MPT (Former Employee), Halifax, NSSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: fun staff
Cons: no hours, poor management
When I First started as a Merchandiser There was a good amount of hours but after 4 months of working there my hours dropped first to 10 hours a week then down to one 4 h shift a week. and it wasn't just the hours that where bad the Managers Had no idea how to manage there staff all they would do is yell at you until your ears bleed and then tell you – more... to do something you weren't certified to do.

The only Positive thing I can say about this company is that the staff was out of this world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team focussed environment with strong emphasis on celebrating successes for management and associates alike
Sales Mgr/Replen Co-ordinator (Current Employee), Cornwall, ONSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: a strong focus on accomplishments
Cons: currenly under a wage freeze
Sears, Cornwall ON has a strong focus on success with consistent acknowledgement and recognition for individual as well as team accomplishments. Associates and management employment anniversaries and successes are celebrated daily and monthly. Senior Management is extremely flexible, understanding both the needs of the business as well as balance in – more... their management and associates personal life. The General Manager, is extremely approachable with an Open Door Policy which she has implemented for everyone. – less

About Sears

Sears, Roebuck and Co. hasn't outgrown the mall scene, but it's spending more time in other places. Beyond its 840 US mall-based – Read more