Sears Employee Reviews

Found 1,502 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours were not always enough
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON3 February 2017
The hours fluctuated from 8-40 a week.
The staff had a lot of drama in the workplace.
A Typical day at work was fine, changing signage, moving merchandise as well as stocking the floor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty laid back
IT Operator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 February 2017
Overall its a pretty laid back workplace at least where I worked anyway. Pay wasn't the greatest and the benefits were ok but there wasn't much room for advancement.
Pros
Management leaves you alone for the most part
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Levis
Levis Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 February 2017
Welcomes customers by greeting them; offering them assistance.
Directs customers by escorting them to racks and counters; suggesting items.
Advises customers by providing information on products.
Helps customer make selections by building customer confidence; offering suggestions and opinions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no extra curricular activities
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON1 February 2017
it was ok working there even if there were no benefits to the job, it was just unfortunate that the store had to close down because of no flow of customers
Pros
no pros
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement opportunities
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 February 2017
Job work/life balance was maintained well enough. Management not always adequate. Lots of micro-management happening there. Business not doing well as they are closing many locations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots wrong with this company
Sales Consultant/Department Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC31 January 2017
Did not like working there at all, lots of red tape and a mountain of paperwork for everything. No one wants to take responsibility for there actions. No surprise that they are going under.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dull and Inefficient
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ON31 January 2017
This workplace needs to be improved for many reasons from efficiency to inaccuracy. I could turn the shipping department into a much better place to work and improve the process, no one there has any motivation to change the old ways although they have recently changed a great deal of their system.
Pros
Physical work
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits and trade-off
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 January 2017
It provide a good employment benefits such as employee discount. The location is central in downtown Toronto which is very convenience for people who travel from different part of the city
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail enviroment
Sales Team Lead (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON31 January 2017
Retail is always difficult but all the employees were fun and optimistic during the work day. Job was demanding and stressful at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close, Friendly Team Relationship
Retail/Catalogue Merchandise Flow Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 January 2017
Having worked for a few teams within the same department, my coworkers have made the transition easy and welcoming. If there were any questions or concerns, we were able to bring it up and have it addressed. Not everyone in upper management was as receptive to our concerns. It came right down to the bottom line and constantly changing our job description based on the needs of the business. That's not necessarily a negative but it does make it more difficult to complete projects. Even though there was different associate levels within a team, we along well together
Pros
Great Team Relatioship
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Spécialiste service technique (Former Employee) –  Ste. Laurent, QC28 January 2017
I was an ok job nothing fantastic. I think they should have younger Team leads the older ones are very rude and don't care about a thing. Only upside was the cafeteria and the lounge room
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too much work little pay
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ON27 January 2017
associates do all the work and are not rewarded. management is terrible and LP is rude.

job security is terrible, they fire people very often because they want to change the image of sears and bring in a younger audience, they dont value people who have been working their for 20+ years.
Pros
co workers
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Commis de ventes / services à la clientèle (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 January 2017
Unfortunately company not doing as well for my needs as a salesman so my needs are not being met.The most difficult part of day is waiting for clients. The salesmen are frustrated and causes some envy among the staff. I am an experienced sales person who needs to contribute to any company .
Pros
Good enviroment
Cons
Not enough clients
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC25 January 2017
It is a nice place to work at, easy to get along with your co-workers. They offer flexible schedules. It is really convenient in terms of being in a mall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stock person
Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB24 January 2017
I really enjoyed my time working at Sears. Although it was career start work experience I enjoyed the other employees as well as the managers. The job was very exciting and would have loved to stay on further.
Pros
experience
Cons
career starts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Environment
Assoc CM (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 January 2017
Severely over worked, under appreciated work environment. No clear direction, with NO communication or collaboration between other business areas.
Pros
Lots of wonderful colleagues
Cons
Bad Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Canada23 January 2017
Typical retail job. Very little interaction with management. Worked at cash. Served customers and kept area tidy. Met many pleasant coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It started good but went downhill fast.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB23 January 2017
When i started at sear i loved it but now being there 5 years i now don't feel appreciated at my job nor do i feel like it is an enjoyable place to work anymore
Pros
Mostly friendly staff
Cons
Horrible managment, Under appriciated staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly staff
Loss Prevention Officer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 January 2017
I would definitely go back to sears if given the opportunity. A great place to work. Great management. Hardest part of the job is language barriers.
Pros
Calm environment
Cons
Language barriers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Bonnie Doon, AB22 January 2017
Worked at Sears for many years. Made some great friends. Had some good times. Learned many new skills. Very diverse work cultures. Fair employers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 16,378 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3