Sears Employee Reviews

Found 1,502 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 February 2017
it is a good company to work for, however change and communication of changes could be better. Managers are open to hear improvements but the culture needs a fix, lots of old employees stuck in the old ways of doing things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible and unreliable
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE23 February 2017
Wouldn't give me enough hours to survive.. when I got another job they were unwilling to work around my other schedule out of spite, wouldn't recommend it at all
Cons
Not full shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE23 February 2017
There is a serious lack of support for employees in this company. Management are generally good people, but are more concerned about losing their own jobs than helping customers and employees. Training is non-existent, new employee's are thrown out to the floor and are expected to learn as they go, and are fired if they do not pick it up fast enough. Hours are given based on "performance", but if you get full time hours one week, prepare to have your hours cut back for the next two.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Poor management, high turnover, hours, training, pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sears
Customer service, cashier, lost and found (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC22 February 2017
Sears was a great high school job which trained me a lot about customer service and retail. This job had great guidance and team environments with a well rounded community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok to work need to pay bills
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 February 2017
good place to work. But since its moved into new location, find it hard to commute going to work. Went farther salary is still the same. Need to find a new workplace that's not too far from home.
Pros
benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive working environment
Product Analyst of Footwear and Luggage (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 February 2017
Productive working environment was professional. I worked a long side it's keep vendors to choose the seasonal stock.
I also tested the footwear to make sure that is was up to the sears standard of excellence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun co-workers
Lancôme Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB20 February 2017
Co-workers were the best part of working there.
Lots of events.
Lots of cold calling customers, informing them of upcoming events and deals in the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closing
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK20 February 2017
I worked here a while ago and it was an ok place to work. Very friendly staff members and that made working here fun. I worked at the Outlet store and right now its not a good place to work as they are closing in April.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, good people
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 February 2017
Review the job duties and goals for the day in department,
Open register and clean the area and floor,
Bring out stock and replenish area,
Greet and assist customers.
Pros
Meeting and sustaining new relationships.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great social club, associates enthusiasm all round good place to work.
Security Guard Supervisor, Logistics lead. (Former Employee) –  3075 thimens Ville Saint-Laurent18 February 2017
: Good environment paid training in many areas.

: The team aspect is great, you are appreciated.

: Information and communication, always time provided.

: PC knowledge to technical and non-technical users.
Pros
The people who are employed, good environment.
Cons
Job security, Downsizing, product knowledge diminished
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment but staff are very friendly
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 February 2017
Walk in and report to your area to serve the customers. Help each person find what they are looking for, provide information to each person regarding products they desire and help them with any requests for installation.

Product information, shipping products, DOS coding, sales.

Management was always busy and sometimes difficult to find but always tried their best.

Friendly and supportive whenever you needed help or had a question.

They job can be physically taxing at times.

Working with colleagues.
Pros
Nice working environment
Cons
Sometimes job can be taxing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
PSW worker.I (Former Employee) –  Yorkdale, ON9 February 2017
Working environment was very good. I enjoyed working over there. They provide very good facilities to their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work
Full time Commission Salesperson (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC8 February 2017
Sears was a great company to work for unfortunately over the past 10 years things have taken a turn for the worst cost cutting dropping employees benefits taking away sick time and dropping employees income
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 February 2017
I worked at Sears for 8 years while I was in University. Great part-time hours, management was always supportive the workload was fair.
Pros
Annual Christmas lunches, snacks provided during inventory hours, flexible hours, getting time off for studying was no issue
Cons
Poor salary, no room for growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed Me To Gain Experience
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Multiple Locations7 February 2017
Working for any retail store can be a task. We all know the deal with Sears closing stores out. But despite the economical difficulties this company faces, they still try to do their best. I was fortunate enough to work with great staff both in Calgary & Halifax. As far as I'm concerned, Sears is a great company nation-wide.
Pros
Great Staff, Good Lifestyle Balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Customer Service Executive (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC7 February 2017
I learnt a lot while working there, it was a great experience..The management was really helpful. Co workers were always there to support me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as a student
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 February 2017
Typical day is placing the clothes back to where they should be.
Working cash was fun once I got the hang of it.
Most enjoyable part was the crew.
Pros
working cash passes the time fast
Cons
Selling credit cards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs a reboot.
Photographer/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 February 2017
I liked my job here, but the location was not the greatest. It was run down and it showed to our customers. I did enjoy the photography aspect however.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
COUNTER MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 February 2017
good work and life balance
nice co-workers
good working hours
fun work place
happy working environment
happy workplace culture
enjoyable work place
fun place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment
Packer (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON4 February 2017
Organizing chutes and confirming order details before packing them into bags/boxes to ship to customer. It was a great environment of many people around but you basically work within your own area.
Pros
employee incentives
Cons
no guarantee of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 16,378 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3