Find companies:
Sears
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,255 reviews

Sears Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), BurnabyJuly 29, 2014
Sears slogan states it's a place to Work, Shop, Invest. I spent 18.5 years doing all that and more. I miss the people I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun play to work at, friendly and caring staff
Sales Associates (Current Employee), Fort Mcmurray, AlbertaJuly 24, 2014
Pros: free coffe and donuts
A typical day at work really depends on customer traffic, but there's always stuff to do. I have learned to interact more with customer and catering to there specify and unique needs. Management is awesome as well as my fellow co-workers. The hardest part of the job would be not is not having items readily available when customers are in need for the – more... item immediately which i have no control over than to follow company policy and procedures. my most enjoyable part of my job is to see my customer smiling from ear to ear knowing I've done my best and my customer are perfectly satisfied. which i strive to do everyday with a smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow pace, good for students
Electronics Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Windsor, ONJuly 24, 2014
Good part time job to have when still studying in school.

Can be slow pace at times, but leaves ample time to become more knowledgeable about the company and employment procedures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Shipping/receiving (Former Employee), Belleville, ONJuly 24, 2014
Met a lot of great people. Had fun working with my co-workers. learned a lot new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and Time
Analytics Coordinator (Current Employee), 290 Yonge Street, 7th Floor, TorontoJuly 23, 2014
I have been worked in e-Commerce at Sears over the past two years. This has given me the distinct edge of knowing how to apply, analyze, and bring internet marketing to be succeeded. In these two years of work tenure, I have assisted Merchandise team with pricing and inventory issues. I have used my analytical and logical skills and my experience in – more... my work to come up with profitable solutions so that ensure the data are accurate and relevance with flyers and digests. Also, I provide sales report for different business teams, summarize website performance and recommend possible improvements. Besides working with great minds in my field, I have got the opportunity of learning and enhancing my skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No employee retention
Associate (Former Employee), Saint-Laurent, QCJuly 22, 2014
Pros: nothing.
Cons: low salary, expensive benefits, no advancement, company unstable
Sears does not care about it's employees. They try to get the most out of a person for $11 and hour. Constant lay offs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring and family oriented
Gift Registry Lead (Former Employee), KITCHENERJuly 22, 2014
Pros: the employees are all great people
Cons: not enough staff to help customers
ENJOYED MY 23 YRS OF WORKING THERE. MY POSITION AS A GIFT REGISTRY WAS ELIMINATED SO THEREFORE I AND MANY OTHERS WERE GIVEN A PACKAGE.
THE FEW MANAGERS THAT ARE LEFT AT SEARS FACE MANY CHALLENGES DUE TO MORE JOB RESPONSIBILTIES AND NOT ENOUGH TIME TO COMPLETE.
LOVED MY JOB WORKING WITH CUSTOMERS. EVERY DAY WAS DIFFERENT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fashion
SALES ASSOCIATE & CASHIER (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONJuly 16, 2014
Pros: positive coworkers
Cons: long hours need or not enough hours given to certain workers
Has good fashion styles for ever gender, race, style for modern/formal/casual/ect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and productive place to work
Allocation and Replenishment Analyst (Current Employee), Toronto, Ontario, CanadaJuly 16, 2014
Pros: close to my house
Cons: long hours
It was very excited working for this company and co-workers were very friendly and enjoyable. Work was fun and very productive
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Capilano Mall, North VancouverJuly 9, 2014
Pros: people you work with
Cons: low hourly wage
Love interacting with the different kinds of customers that Sears gets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sears is the best place i ever worked in and always will miss it
floor associate (Current Employee), Chilliwack, BCJuly 9, 2014
i enjoy everything at work, every day i get to learn new things. almost everyone in sears is great their is great bosses and their management is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Although it there was a lot of physical labor involved with my job... it was a fun place to work.
Merchandising Flow (Former Employee), St. John's, NLJuly 8, 2014
Pros: can't think of anything.
Cons: low pay and sometimes not enough hours.
The job itself was the same everyday. Offloading and loading trailers. Preparing defrocking stock to go to the sales floor. Great team of co-workers and a great boss who was always there to help and listen if you had any problems. The work itself was hard. For example there was a lot of heavy lifting and you were on your feet for hours, but on busy – more... days there was always enough help to make the work go faster. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sears
Sales and Retail Associate (Former Employee), Victoria, BCJuly 8, 2014
Great coworkers, good atmosphere. Enjoyed working for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest place to work.
Cashier/Sales Associate Children's Department (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJuly 7, 2014
The flexibility for hours was great. The co-workers not trust worthy. Management not the greatest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Appliance Sales Specialist (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 4, 2014
Pros: friendly atmosphere
Cons: commission base job
Good Company with long time standing in market, Kenmore is there ig ticket item in major appliances.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Productive and Fun Place to Work
Buying Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 4, 2014
Being in the fashion world, the job was very different. I learned about buying Upholstery - fabric, leather,bonded leather and PVC or lather look alike Required to Assemble Furniture, rugs, fireplaces.

Good, friendly management to work with. Co-workers were very helpful, knowledgeable.

Buuilding up items for Catalogue and online shopping, though it – more... was challenging I enjoyed it the most. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good place to work
Material Handler (Former Employee), Belleville, ONJuly 3, 2014
Pros: hours were good
Cons: no raise in pay last 6 years
I enjoyed my job at Sears. The work was as challenging as I wanted it to be. Co-workers were fun and helpful. I most enjoyed setting a daily goal for myself. Was pleased when I could meet or beat it. It made my day go better. A typical day for me was a shipment of appliance parts (10 to 60 skids); I would sort and receive then send to proper areas for – more... putaway. The hardest part of the job was sometimes not having proper equipment to do the job. eg: printer paper for printer used to print receiving tickets. I learned a lot about the operations of a large company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits, great commission with bonuses, fun environment
Sales Associate, Major Appliances (Former Employee), London, ONJuly 2, 2014
an overall great place to work! if you can get a full-time position (they're tough to find)...good benefits, sick pay, paid vacation, personal days and pretty decent commission with bonuses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIL
MPT Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 2, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: management
It was a great experience I would not mind working for Sears again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work fun team atmosphere
Logistics CoordinatorMerchandise Flow Superviser (Former Employee), Vancouver, B.CJune 30, 2014
Pros: hour break half paid for i could take it when i felt like it
Cons: pay rate a little low for amount of work done
typical day at work varied and isnt this on my resume???
unload trailer/load trailer, customer service, inventory, merchandise presentation, visual presentation, etc. co-workers were great managment was good no hard part as i enjoyed working there

1 2 3 4 5

About Sears

Sears, Roebuck and Co. hasn't outgrown the mall scene, but it's spending more time in other places. Beyond its 840 US mall-based – Read more