Sears Employee Reviews

Found 1,719 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable work environment, but exploitative of employees.
Promotional Sales Analyst, Home Decor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 June 2017
Overall relaxed environment, and can wear casual attire on typical days. Inefficient management--take credit for everyone else's work after dumping their work on subordinates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Loss Prevention Lead Investigator (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON27 June 2017
Great workplace environment, the management is extremely friendly. The culture for this company is changing to the needs of the customer and will look to have a big year in 2017.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned from Customer experience as well as lots of driving and new technology
Helper Technician/Technician (field technician) (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON27 June 2017
From working at sears I learned to deal with new machinery and technology while assisting with repairs. I learned to communicate well with customers as well as my team members and partners.
Pros
Meeting new customers/people
Cons
Lots of driving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Great experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON27 June 2017
Working at sears was great. My co-workers were super friendly, and so was my manager. Unfortunately I was only there for a seasonal period. But it was a great experience!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sears
Sr Buyer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 June 2017
challenging
minimal growth
fast paced
constant change
job security
good benefits
multi channel
good people
minimal supervision
multiple job functions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Security Guard and office clerk (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON27 June 2017
Sears is a great company to work for.
Amazing people! Awesome environment!
Lots of opportunities and room for growth.
Good pay and lots of positions to choose from!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON26 June 2017
Work was great, met a lot of great employees, customers for the most part were good. I loved working there. I learned a lot about cashing out, opening the store and closing.
Pros
Great discount.
Cons
Sometimes you got put on schedule although you asked for it off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Isolated Feeling
Mail Filler (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON26 June 2017
i disliked this job i had nobody to talk to there was alone alot due to the job itself always on the go. the thing i did enjoy was early mornings at the time worked for me and i had the afternoon to mysel
Pros
25% discount in store
Cons
isolated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace, encouraging and motivating managers, excellent people and teamwork.
Human Resources Lead (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB24 June 2017
Sears has been my best work experience so far. Fast-pace work environment, strong communication skills in managers.
Excellent support and knowledge from my managers.
Team work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful people, conflicting corporate strategy
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 June 2017
Day to day operation was quite chaotic and also appeared to be retrofitting where we were into where we needed to be from a strategy point of view. I was with the company during a period of extreme change which offered great opportunity but at the cost of my personal life. Ended up going highly unappreciated but I wish them all the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice coworkers, cr**** management
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 June 2017
Other then the coworkers (individuals, who are worthy of mentioning), company has major issues which will hardly ever be addressed properly.

A lot of management, from the top, CEO, level, to the regular store ones, sell and pitch stories of companionship and positivity and respect, which they don't follow themselves.
There is a lot of problems in organisation and micro management, that are visible every day but are not resolved at all.

Not to mention serious property selling to combat the inadequate business plans and future investments. Basically, sell what you have so that you can lease it afterwards...More of a strategy for a third world country's cr**** business.
Pros
Nice coworkers
Cons
Management (top to bottom), workplace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not treat employees with respect
Systems Programmer (Former Employee) –  100 Valleybrook Drive23 June 2017
Sears has treated their employees very badly for the past 5 years.
Sears used to be a great place to work but has gone downhill in the last 10 years. The company has become more focused on making money at the cost of how it treats its employees. Since the company is about to go bankrupt and have locked out thousands of employees without a decent severance package for their hard work I wold say it is not a good place to work, nor has it been for the last 10 years.
Pros
co workers are great hard working people.
Cons
upper management treat lower management and employees with disrepect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faced paced environment, always kept busy
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON22 June 2017
Management was so-so, not very understanding whatsoever. Co-workers either were kind and enjoyable to work with, or completely rude and draining; no in between. Overall, it was a good learning experience as different situations came up daily, and we were taught very well how to handle certain situations should they arise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disorganized and back stabbers
Loss Prevention Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 June 2017
In the very beginning during the hiring process, it was told that what news corps say about Sears is incorrect and that the company was doing well and there was nothing to worry about. well, after 3 months of employment the words we were told to ignore were actually true and a massive layoff occurred without warning and no severance was given.
Pros
Freindly co-workers
Cons
back-stabbing supervisors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
J'ai adoré travaillé pour cette compagnie
PP (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 June 2017
La flexibilité travail/famille était super et horaire constante.
Pros
flexibilité dans les horaires
Cons
Baisse des revenus de la compagnie
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't give a lot hours
Flow Merchandiser/Shipment Receiver (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON22 June 2017
Nice location, well maintained, few managers actually care about their employees. Other than that, the other managers are disrespectful and unappreciative of hard work. They love to give part time hours so don't apply if you want a lot of hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Store
Customer Service/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC21 June 2017
Great people. Great products.
Hi performance expected. Held accountable for actions and in actions.
Supportive of family life but it is Retail, so no holidays off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Caring
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Thornhill, ON20 June 2017
Friendly and professional work place. Very clean and well organized Good benefits. Staff and Management work will together. Social events very regular.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Low Wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company in transition
E-Commerce Content Writer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 June 2017
Poor communication with staff. Not respected for what you can do.
Day to day priorities shifted with no clear leadership. Not much chance of full time work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good woorkplace
Sales (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK20 June 2017
• Top sales in mattresses and furniture and excellent upgrading to protection plans
• Great communication with customers and employees

• Excellent organization skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sears. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 18,728 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3