Find companies:
Sears
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,245 reviews

Sears Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No traffic flow, quiet days
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Sault Ste. MarieNovember 26, 2014
Work was slow and I took on other responsibilities to fill the time. I learned that I needed to work somewhere that allowed me to make commission or move forward. Management and co-workers were civil. The hardest part was trying to make a living at commissioned sales. The most enjoyable part of this job was interacting with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place
Catalogue Associate (Former Employee), Kamloops, BCNovember 26, 2014
very amazing staff! Thank god I met them. Sears can be an awesome place to work and make friends and to learn about managmenent and job enhancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office
Parts Specialist (Former Employee), Belleville, OnNovember 25, 2014
Pros: strong accounting background
Cons: working passed 5:30 pm
Working knowledge of manual and computerized bookkeeping (to trail balance; General Ledger, Accounts Receivable, Accounts Payable, Payroll
Used computerized systems; AccPac, Simply Accounting, QuickBooks Pro, AS400, PBS
Operated an integrated point of sale / computerized accounting systems (incorporating sales, invoicing and inventory)
Followed up with – more... customers regarding outstanding accounts
Balanced cash, reconciled bank statements and made bank deposits
Generated invoices, statements and monthly reports
Processed and followed-up on product warranties
Accurately input data to spreadsheets
Ordered and received inventory and supplies

Works well on my own or with a team – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Hardware Sales Associate (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 25, 2014
Excellent work, customer service and helpful staff. It a good feeling to be a part of this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 23, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: low pay
enjoyed helping customers, every day was different
one day i would open and it would start slow then pick up later on,
other days i would close.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONNovember 21, 2014
co- workers were good and the work load was also not too much to handle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mid market iconic family department store.
Divisional Vice-President (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 19, 2014
Pros: organizational talent. advanced systems and processes.
Cons: bureaucracy. work / life balance. no defined strategy.
Great company to work at in order to learn retail and financial skills. The last 2 years of my time at Sears were spent on projects and cost cutting initiatives which ultimately prepared me for roles where profit needs to be optimized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience, Flexible Hours, and a Great Team.
Loss Prevention Investigator (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONNovember 18, 2014
If your in school or just looking to start your law enforcement career, this job is perfect for accommodating your schedule. You are working with police and other security teams to help assist you and them for investigations. You are going to need to be able to work alone and be ready at an instant. Overall great experience with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Mobile Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Belleville, ONNovember 17, 2014
I started with this company at the age of 18. Started as general labour unloading trucks. Was able to move into operating mobile equipment and was trained on forklifts and order pickers. After 8 years in this environment I felt I was as far as I could go and not many opportunities to advance where available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merchandise Presentation Team
Merchandise Presentation Team (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 16, 2014
Pros: challenging, fun, social
Cons: lack of communication, poor training
A typical day at work involved creating product displays during liquidation at one of the corporation's key locations. I learned how to work under pressure to perform basic tasks such as folding clothing and assisting customers. Management was strict and pressured to ensure that employees performed, but lacked communication with employees. I was trained – more... under another employee without supervision and was not taught all fundamental aspects of the job. The hardest part of the job was being on my feet for over 8 hours a day. The most enjoyable part was seeing the difference I was making in the store each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Customer Service Desk (Current Employee), Oakville, ONNovember 11, 2014
I enjoy my workplace and I am happy working with co- workers.
It's fun to work with them as well my managers too.
The challenging part of the job is customer complaints but there's always a solution for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office work
Catalogue Associate - Part Time (Former Employee), Burlington, ONNovember 7, 2014
Working with salesmen to accomplish daily sales. It could be stressful meeting so many dead lines, but mulit-tasking and prioritizing you are able to accomplish all that is required to get done for that day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy interacting with people
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Grande Prairie, ABNovember 5, 2014
Reliable and Punctual , Approachable, Flexible, excellent multi-tasker
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but job security is lacking
Purchasing Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 3, 2014
Pros: opportunity to learn
Cons: job security
Very caring and dedicated co-workers but wages were frozen and no advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive atmosphere
Senior Sales Manager (Current Employee), Fredericton, NBNovember 2, 2014
Competitive Salary
Good Benefits
Good Balance between home life and career
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Investigative Enviroment
Crime Analyst (Current Employee), OnatrioOctober 31, 2014
Pros: great to work for!
Cons: pay can be better....
If you are seeking a future in Law Enforcement, Sears will open the doors for you to learn how to be an all round Investigator. The types of training and exposure to the Investigative field is not available at other companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun! Great Balance between Work and Life!
CRIME ANALYST - ORGANIZED RETAIL CRIME (Former Employee), Vancouver BCOctober 30, 2014
Pros: filled a passion
Spent 15 years with Sears and enjoyed my involvement within this Corporation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
Marketing (Current Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 29, 2014
- good work life balance
- no expectations at this point in time
- no opportunity for advancement or learning
- just expected to do more work as people keep leaving
- no idea where the company is going and senior management keeps changing
- good opportunity to take on new opportunities as long as you initiate the desire to do so. Don't expect much in – more... return though.
- Learn new skills and get out
- Great location! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONOctober 29, 2014
Pros: meeting and helping new people every day
Cons: sears is undergoing a drop in market share and customer confidence
As a Sears Sales Associate, I have a passion for customer service and thrive in a fast-paced environment. I am a team oriented individual who enjoys working with others to accomplish both common and personal goals.

I enjoy assisting customers with their purchases through relationship selling. My ability to quickly establish rapport with others complements – more... the desire to thrive in this commission sales environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Computer Support Specialist (Contract) (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 29, 2014
Good company and perfect management team. Very nice location as well

1 2 3 4 5

About Sears

Sears, Roebuck and Co. hasn't outgrown the mall scene, but it's spending more time in other places. Beyond its 840 US mall-based – Read more