Sears Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not honour their own signed agreement
store sales support (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON18 October 2017
P/T position yet unable to get fixed shift to combine with second P/T job - in spite of signed agreement.
Told to make choice between Sears and other job ... the other paid more, and gave more hoyrs once I had better availability
Pros
Nice co workers
Cons
Lousy pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work
Health & Safety Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 October 2017
It was a great place to work. The hours were great. The work team was fantastic which made for a great culture. It will surely missed as it closes its doors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out of Business
Belt Loader (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON17 October 2017
Out of Business . It was typical factory work. Pick customer orders, prepare for shipping. The hardest part of the day was keeping up with the many different functions of the job that took me away from my primary one. Check for tickets, grab replacement orders, keep the cardboard under control in the machine.
Pros
Occasional lunches
Cons
Inconsistent hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
logistics (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON16 October 2017
Working at Sears was a great experience for me as it was one of my first jobs. Daily tasks included, unloading the truck shipment, making in store deliveries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Friendly workplace
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NB16 October 2017
Loved coming to work, always an adventure. All the Managers and Tl's have a great attitude, and it rubs off on all of us. We answer calls for Mattress exchanges, furniture problems. answer calls for Delivey inquires as well
Pros
Great Atmosphere
Cons
Company is closing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment.
Cashier and Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 October 2017
good management.

nice co-workers
helpful and good managers.
Flexible hours.

respectful environment.
good breaks during long hours.

experience of working in different fields in store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly co-workers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON14 October 2017
I cant believe they have jobs posted on here. There are plenty of people who have lost their jobs because of store closings and plenty more when all the stores close. This is truly disgusting. The powers that be ran this company into the ground.
Pros
My co-workers
Cons
The high ups that ran this company. Wasted so much money. Didnt know how to run it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good till company went into liquidation
Floor sales associate (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON13 October 2017
was good till company went into liquidation ,sears is closing its doors so unfortunately now need to look for work elsewhere,was good company ,good coworkers
Pros
employee discount
Cons
closing for good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bon travail
Telephoniste (Current Employee) –  Edmundston, NB13 October 2017
j aime travaille a cette endroit.
Il ferme alors je doit me trouver autre chose
Pros
beaucoup apris de chose
Cons
fermeture de sears
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonne expericence de travail
Thimens, Saint-Laurent, QC (Current Employee) –  Saint-Laurent-du-Var (06)13 October 2017
bonne ambiance, ça fait toujours plaisir de d'etre en contact avec les clients et satisfaire leurs besoin ainsi que de regler leurs problemes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and constructive
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC13 October 2017
Contact with lots of customers,sales,maintaining contact with old customers,presenting appliances that fit the customer needs,close sales,good product knowledge to be able to recommend the right product based on the customer needs.
Pros
Time goes fast being busy with customers.
Cons
Sometimes long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Merchandise Manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC13 October 2017
Enjoyed working here. Would continue to work here had it not gone into bankruptcy. The great team to work with and great environment. Sears will be missed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment and self management with less supervision
Dispatcher (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 October 2017
I enjoyed working at Sears. I learned to appreciate working as a team and welcomed the thoughts, actions of team mates in group projects to achieve results. The hardest part of my job was to call customers and explain technician would not be able to come to their house for service but calm and polite tone of speech won the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place with fun colleagues
Front End Developer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 October 2017
Great learning place with good and brilliant teammates.
Great opportunities to work on new technologies and new projects.
Had Developer workshops to learn new technologies that help in career growth.
Pros
Good Team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail propre et agréable
Cariste (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 October 2017
Un endroit agréable pour travailler et possibilité d'apprendre plusieurs tâches si nous sommes polyvalent.
Pros
Rabais aux employés et avantages sociaux
Cons
Salaire gelé depuis 10 ans
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sears is closing
Logistics Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 October 2017
Sears Canada is closing and twelve thousand people will be loosing their jobs without any severance and even after multiple years of service we all walk away with nothing
Cons
Closing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Part-time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON12 October 2017
Sears was a great workplace with amazing people. I very much enjoyed my experience there, and learned many great skills from this job that I will use in all other future jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy Staff
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC12 October 2017
Lots of pressure at Sears, to push there credit cards, a fast paced environment which made the day go by very quickly. Dealt with all foams of payments. Staff was great to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing job experience first job to have open scripting
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NB12 October 2017
I definitely grew as a customer service representative because I learned to be more emphatic to customer will resolving there issue. Learned through this company that word choices does make a really big difference in helping a customer. I was starting to Grow strong there i got as far as being floor support for amazing group of agents and would had more opportunity to grow but they are going out of business. If they could of stayed open i would loved to stay here.
Pros
Customer service made fun
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place
Communications & Events Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON12 October 2017
Sears has been a great learning experience and enjoyable work place. A great job culture with friendly, driven and passionate associates. It will be sad to see the company go..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sears. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 20,475 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2